Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Higher Education

Senate Bill 375

Relating to: delaying the restrictions on participation by the University of Wisconsin System in selling or providing telecommunications services.

By Senators Moulton, Galloway, Holperin, T. Cullen, S. Coggs, Schultz, Taylor, Risser, Olsen, Vinehout and C. Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Wynn, Nass, Doyle, Tranel, Bernier, Bies, Spanbauer, Kaufert, C. Taylor, Petrowski, Berceau, Marklein, Molepske Jr, Ripp and Danou.

January 10, 2012 Referred to Committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Higher Education.

January 19, 2012 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Schultz, Harsdorf, Kedzie, Moulton,

Hansen, Shilling and King.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Terry Moulton 23rd Senate District
- Ray Cross Chancellor, UW Colleges/ UW Extension
- Ross Wilson Wiscnet
- David Lois Wiscnet
- Terry Dawson WisconsinLibrary Association
- Tim Schell SAA & WEMTA
- Morna Foy, Madison Vice President, Wisconsin Technical College System
- Jon-Mark Bolthouse South Central Library System
- Stefanie Morrill Wisconsin Library Services

Appearances Against

- Bill Esbeck Wisconsin State Telecommunications Association
- John Klarer Mount Horeb Telephone Company
- Brad Welp Richland Grant Telephone Cooperative, LaValle Telephone Cooperative
- John Klatt Luck Telephone Company
- Scott Jensen Amery Telephone Company
- Lorenzo Cruz Century Link

- Mark Weller Access Wisconsin
- Bill McClenahan Access Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• Kara Slaughter, Madison — Wisconsin Farmers Union

Registrations For

- Jack O'Meara UW-Madison, Faculty
- Jennifer Kammerud DPI
- Kathryn Kuhn Medical College of Wisconsin
- Rose Smyrski UW- Platteville
- Pam Galloway Senator, 29th Senate District
- Pete Christman UW Medical Foundation
- Lisa Maroney UW Health
- Dan Rossmiller WASB
- Paul Merline WI Hospital Association
- Wendy Wink Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
- Don Nelson UW-Madison
- Lisa Strand Wisconsin Library Association
- Deb Sybell WEAC
- Evan Wynn Representative, 43rd Assembly District
- Paul Gabriel, Madison Executive Director, WI Technical College Dist Bds Association
- Jessica Tormey University of Wisconsin System

Registrations Against

- Celeste Flynn Time Warner Cable
- Celeste Flynn Time Warner Cable
- Rebecca Hogan WMC
- Drew Petersen TDS
- Tom Moore WI Cable Communications Association
- Steve Baas MMAC
- Kent Disch AT&T

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 23, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Schultz, Harsdorf, Kedzie, Moulton,

Hansen, Shilling and King.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Shilling, seconded by Senator Hansen that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senators Hansen, Shilling and King.

Noes: (4) Senators Schultz, Harsdorf, Kedzie and Moulton.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1 NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 4

Moved by Senator Moulton, seconded by Senator Shilling that **Senate Bill 375** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (6) Senators Schultz, Harsdorf, Moulton, Hansen, Shilling and King.

Noes: (1) Senator Kedzie.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 1

Sanchit Mulmuley Committee Clerk