

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

JOINT LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL MINUTES

Room 411 South, State Capitol Madison, Wisconsin

<u>February 15, 2017</u> 8:30 a.m. – 9:40 a.m.

[The following is a summary of the February 15, 2017 meeting of the Joint Legislative Council. The file copy of this summary has appended to it a copy of each document prepared for or submitted to the committee during the meeting. A digital recording of the meeting is available on our website at http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc.]

Call to Order and Roll Call

Co-Chair Brooks called the meeting to order. The roll was called and it was noted that a quorum was present. Co-Chair Brooks reminded members that bills recommended today will be considered for introduction into the Legislature by the Joint Legislative Council.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS Rep. Robert Brooks and Sen. Roger Roth, Co-Chairs; Reps. Tyler

PRESENT: August, Peter Barca, Dianne Hesselbein, Gordon Hintz, Cory

Mason, John Nygren, John Spiros, Jim Steineke, and Robin Vos; and Sens. Alberta Darling, Scott Fitzgerald, Howard Marklein, Mark Miller, Terry Moulton, Jerry Petrowski, Fred Risser, Jennifer

Shilling, Lena Taylor, and Van Wanggaard.

COMMITTEE MEMBER

EXCUSED:

Rep. Joan Ballweg.

COUNCIL STAFF PRESENT: Terry C. Anderson, Director; Jessica Karls-Ruplinger, Deputy

Director; Scott Grosz and Rachel Letzing, Principal Attorneys; Anna Henning and David Moore, Senior Staff Attorneys; and Steve McCarthy, Amber Otis, Jessica Ozalp, and Rachel Snyder, Staff

Attorneys; and Julie Learned and Kelly Mautz, Senior

Administrative Assistants.

APPEARANCES: Rep. John Spiros, Chair, Study Committee on Publication of

Government Documents and Legal Notices; Rep. Amy

Loudenbeck, Chair, Study Committee on the Preservation of Burial Sites; Rep. Cody Horlacher, Chair, Study Committee on Access to Civil Legal Services; and Rep. Jeffrey Mursau, Chair, Special Committee on State-Tribal Relations.

Approval of the Minutes of the Committee's February 1, 2017 Meeting

Co-Chair Brooks asked for a motion to approve the committee's February 1, 2017 minutes.

Rep. August moved, seconded by Rep. Hesselbein, that the minutes of the February 1, 2017 meeting be approved. The motion was adopted by voice vote.

Committee Report of the Study Committee on Publication of Government Documents and Legal Notices

Representative John Spiros, Chair, Study Committee on Publication of Government Documents and Legal Notices, accompanied by Steve McCarthy and Scott Grosz, Legislative Council staff, presented the report of the Study Committee. Representative Spiros gave a brief description of the committee's work and the two recommendations before the Council.

Co-Chair Brooks asked for a motion to introduce the committee's recommendations:

Sen. Roth moved, seconded by Sen. Marklein, that LRB-0462/1, be introduced by the Joint Legislative Council. The motion passed on a roll call vote as follows: Ayes, 21 (Reps. Brooks, August, Barca, Hesselbein, Hintz, Mason, Nygren, Spiros, Steineke, and Vos; and Sens. Roth, Darling, Fitzgerald, Marklein, Miller, Moulton, Petrowski, Risser, Shilling, Taylor, and Wanggaard); Noes, 0; and Excused, 1 (Rep. Ballweg).

Sen. Miller moved, seconded by Rep. Vos, that LRB-0463/1, be introduced by the Joint Legislative Council. The motion passed on a roll call vote as follows: Ayes, 21 (Reps. Brooks, August, Barca, Hesselbein, Hintz, Mason, Nygren, Spiros, Steineke, and Vos; and Sens. Roth, Darling, Fitzgerald, Marklein, Miller, Moulton, Petrowski, Risser, Shilling, Taylor, and Wanggaard); Noes, 0; and Excused, 1 (Rep. Ballweg).

Committee Report of the Study Committee on the Preservation of Burial Sites

Representative Amy Loudenbeck, Chair, Study Committee on the Preservation of Burial Sites, accompanied by Anna Henning and Amber Otis, Legislative Council staff, described the course of the Study Committee's work and outlined the committee's recommendation.

After discussion and questions from committee members, Co-Chair Brooks asked for a motion to introduce LRB-0821/1:

Sen. Miller moved, seconded by Rep. Vos, that LRB-0821/1, be introduced by the Joint Legislative Council. The motion passed on a roll call vote as follows: Ayes, 20 (Reps. Brooks, Barca, Hesselbein, Hintz, Mason, Nygren, Spiros, Steineke, and Vos; and Sens. Roth, Darling, Fitzgerald, Marklein, Miller, Moulton, Petrowski, Risser, Shilling, Taylor, and Wanggaard); Noes, 1 (Rep. August); and Excused, 1 (Rep. Ballweg).

Committee Report of the Study Committee on Access to Civil Legal Services

Representative Cody Horlacher, Chair, Study Committee on Access to Civil Legal Services, accompanied by David Moore and Rachel Snyder, Legislative Council staff, gave a summary of the Study Committee's meetings and described each of the committee's three recommendations.

After committee discussion, Co-Chair Brooks asked for a motion to introduce the following recommendations *en masse* of the Study Committee on Access to Civil Legal Services:

Rep. August moved, seconded by Rep. Barca, that LRB-0982/1, LRB-1263/1, and LRB-2006/1, be introduced by the Joint Legislative Council. The motion passed on a roll call vote as follows: Ayes, 21 (Reps. Brooks, August, Barca, Hesselbein, Hintz, Mason, Nygren, Spiros, Steineke, and Vos; and Sens. Roth, Darling, Fitzgerald, Marklein, Miller, Moulton, Petrowski, Risser, Shilling, Taylor, and Wanggaard); Noes, 0; and Excused, 1 (Rep. Ballweg).

Committee Report of the Special Committee on State-Tribal Relations

Representative Jeff Mursau, Chair, Special Committee on State-Tribal Relations, accompanied by David Moore and Jessica Ozalp, Legislative Council staff, gave a summary of the committee's work and described the three recommendations of the Special Committee.

Co-Chair Brooks asked for any questions from committee members. After a brief discussion, Co-Chair Brooks asked for a motion to introduce the Special Committee's recommendations *en masse*.

Sen. Roth moved, seconded by Rep. Mason, that LRB-0410/1, LRB-1832/2, and LRB-1920/1, be introduced by the Joint Legislative Council. The motion passed on a roll call vote as follows: Ayes, 21 (Reps. Brooks, August, Barca, Hesselbein, Hintz, Mason, Nygren, Spiros, Steineke, and Vos; and Sens. Roth, Darling, Fitzgerald, Marklein, Miller, Moulton, Petrowski, Risser, Shilling, Taylor, and Wanggaard); Noes, 0; and Excused, 1 (Rep. Ballweg).

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:40 a.m.

TCA:ksm