2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE
November 9, 2017 - Introduced by Representatives C. Taylor, Anderson, Ballweg,
Berceau, Crowley, Fields, Hebl, Hesselbein, Novak, Ohnstad, Pope,
Sargent, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Subeck, Tittl, Tusler, Vorpagel, Zamarripa and
Zepnick, cosponsored by Senators Risser, Erpenbach, Miller, Ringhand and
Wirch. Referred to Committee on Rules.
AJR85,1,2 1Relating to: congratulating the Dane County Farmers' Market on its 45th
AJR85,1,43 Whereas, the Dane County Farmers' Market, established in 1972 by Mayor Bill
4Dyke, is celebrating its 45th anniversary; and
AJR85,1,85 Whereas, the Dane County Farmers' Market started with only five farmers on
6a Saturday morning and has grown to nearly 300 vendors throughout the year, which
7draws crowds from all across the state of Wisconsin, making it one of the top farmers'
8markets in the nation; and
AJR85,1,129 Whereas, the Dane County Farmers' Market is the largest producer-only
10farmers' market in the country, connecting the rural and urban areas of our state for
11over four decades by selling a diverse variety of Wisconsin grown and produced
12goods; and
AJR85,2,213 Whereas, the Dane County Farmers' Market creates a community space for
14families, students, and friends, and encourages healthy lifestyles through the

1consumption of fresh, local produce and goods, while supporting our state's
2agricultural economy; and
AJR85,2,53 Whereas, the Dane County Farmers' Market builds lasting community
4relationships that support Wisconsin agriculture and local businesses, thus
5strengthening the Wisconsin economy; now, therefore, be it
AJR85,2,9 6Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin
7Legislature hereby commends and congratulates Dane County, as well as the
8market's staff, volunteers, and vendors that have made this weekly market possible
9and the success it is; and, be it further
AJR85,2,11 10Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint
11resolution to Dane County Executive Joe Parisi.
AJR85,2,1212 (End)