Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary

Assembly Bill 396

Relating to: blocking a thoroughfare as part of a riot and providing a criminal penalty.

By Representatives Spiros, Brandtjen, Jagler, Kleefisch, Kremer, Quinn and Ripp; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Kapenga and Nass.

June 19, 2017 Referred to Committee on Judiciary

September 21, 2017 Public Hearing Held

| Present: | (9) | Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher, |
|----------|-----|--|
| | | Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler, Kerkman, Wachs, |
| | | Hebl and C. Taylor. |
| Absent: | (0) | None. |
| Excused: | (0) | None. |

Appearances For

- Representative Spiros Bill's author
- Mike Crivello Milwaukee Police Association
- Dean Pitts Marathon Co. Sheriff Dept.
- Alice O'connor WI Chief of Police Association

Appearances Against

- Matt Rothschild WI Democracy Campaign
- Patricia K Hammel National Lawyers Guild Madison
- Will Gruber Self

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Van Wanggaard Bill's author
- Caty McDermott WI Sherrifs and Deputy Sheriffs Association - Badger State Sheriff's Association

Registrations Against

- Chris Nyland self
- Lisa Wells Self
- Representative Chris Taylor
- Representaive Fred Kessler
- Genie Ogden

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 12, 2017 Executive Session Held

| Present: | (8) | Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher, |
|----------|-----|--|
| | | Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler, Kerkman, Hebl and |
| | | C. Taylor. |
| Absent: | (0) | None. |
| Excused: | (1) | Representative Wachs. |

Moved by Representative Tusler, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

| Ayes: | (8) | Representative Ott; Representatives |
|-------|-----|--|
| | | Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler, |
| | | Kerkman, Hebl and C. Taylor. |

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Horlacher, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Assembly Bill 396** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Ott; Representatives Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Jacque, Tusler and Kerkman.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Hebl and C. Taylor.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 2

Virginia Mueller Committee Clerk