Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Benefits, Licensing and State-Federal Relations

Senate Bill 296

Relating to: the establishment of a self-certification registry operated by the Department of Safety and Professional Services, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Darling, Kapenga and Stroebel; cosponsored by Representatives Hutton, Brandtjen, R. Brooks, Knodl, Kooyenga, Murphy, Rohrkaste and Tittl.

June 15, 2017 Federal Relations Referred to Committee on Public Benefits, Licensing and State-

August 24, 2017 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Kapenga; Senators Harsdorf, Craig,

Johnson and Vinehout.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Rob Hutton 13th Assembly District
- Senator Chris Kapenga 33rd Senate District
- Samuel L. Haack WPRI
- Albert Walker WPRI
- Lee McGrath Institute for Justice
- Jason Arnold
- Shayla Tillman
- Billie Johnson
- Rolf Lindgren

Appearances Against

- Stephanie Bloomingdale AFL-CIO
- Katie Voss Wisconsin Association of the Deaf
- Katy Schmidt Wisconsin Association of the Deaf
- Marika Kovacs-Houlihan Wisconsin Association for the Deaf
- Stephanie Zito WisRID
- Jonathan Thomm Wisconsin Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (WisRID)
- Jonathan Bronk
- Jay Gehler

- Shawn T. Kelly American Society of Landscape Architects
- Sarah Lerner, RLA
- Rosheen Styczinski
- Cody Axness Wisconsin Chapter-ASLA
- Sarah McDonald
- Ning Gao Smithgroup JJR
- Bradley T. Vowels
- William Babcock Wisconsin Society of Architects (AIA Wisconsin)
- Sheila Sullivan Legal Action of Wisconsin
- Jason Wilke
- Tom Delahunt WI Limousine Association
- Mike Hartmann WLA-Wisconsin Limo Association
- Randall Griswold WI Society of Radiologic Technologists
- Sandra Helinski WI Society of Radiologic Technologists
- Dan Carpenter WI Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics
- Laura Isaacson Wisconsin Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics
- Laura Katter
- Amy Devine Disability Rights WI
- Bradlee Bertram
- Mary Fruits
- Sarah Close

Appearances for Information Only

- Michael Jahr WPRI
- Erik Kanter WI Cemetery and Cremation Association
- Collin Roth Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty
- Matthew Mitchell Mercatus Center at GMU

Registrations For

- Senator Alberta Darling 8th Senate District
- Christoper Lawrence

Registrations Against

- Mary Gehin
- Greg Spicer
- Katherine Beaton
- David Seligman
- Terry Hayden WI Pipe Trades Assoc.
- Connie Kittleson Wisconsin Physical Therapy Assn.
- Erin Longmire Funeral Service & Cremation Alliance

- Nik Swartz
- Ross Golly
- Denise Johnson
- Cathy Peltier
- Rhonda James
- Karen Dishmo
- Daniel Schmitt
- Carissa Wegner
- Jared Smith
- Amanda Soelle Wisconsin Podiatric Medical Association
- Suzanne Vincent
- Jared A. Vincent
- Patricia Saiki
- Jordan Teichen
- Joe Porter
- Tom Martin
- Megan Corcoran
- Jeff Steen
- Aaron Williams
- Tom Dvorah ASLA Student Chapter
- Cameron Braatz ASLA Student Chapter
- Lindy Boeding
- Brian J. Boeding
- Janet Schmidt, PE
- Sally Swenson, P.E.
- Kathleen Kane, PLA CPSI
- Mike Sturm, RLA LEED AC
- Shane Bernau
- Representative Christine Sinicki 20th Assembly District
- Jason Stangland
- Bill Patek SmithGroup JJR
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Occupational Therapy Association
- Peter Theo WI Dental Hygienist Assoc.
- David B. Morrow
- Caitlin Blue
- Sarah Kotnik
- Wenting Li
- Jeff DeLaura
- Robert Stein
- Peter Theo Wisconsin Optometric Association
- David Ken Saiki
- Ross Pinski

- Jules West
- Autumn Behringer
- Eric Schuehardt
- Khaled Bid
- Nathan Novak
- Lybra Lindke
- Connor Nett
- Abigail Burlile
- Alissa Santurri
- Philip Carlson
- Peter Bridge
- Thomas J. Rogers
- John R. Klatt
- Christa Schaefer
- Nathan Hilmer
- Chris James
- Alex DeSmidt
- Gary Brown
- Theresa Schmechel
- Bill Ruznik
- Alejandra Lira
- Gregg Bogost, MD WI Radiological Society
- Michael Blumenfeld American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
- Samuel Dennis Jr. Landscape Architecture Program @ UW-Madison

Registrations for Information Only

None.

September 28, 2017 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Kapenga; Senators Harsdorf, Craig,

Johnson and Vinehout.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Craig, seconded by Senator Harsdorf that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Kapenga; Senators Harsdorf, Craig,

Johnson and Vinehout.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Craig, seconded by Senator Harsdorf that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Kapenga; Senators Harsdorf, Craig, Johnson and Vinehout.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Craig, seconded by Senator Harsdorf that **Senate Bill 296** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Kapenga; Senators Harsdorf and Craig.

Noes: (2) Senators Johnson and Vinehout.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Timothy Duffy

Committee Clerk