Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Benefits, Licensing and State-Federal Relations

January 2018 Special Session Senate Bill 2

Relating to: statewide FoodShare employment and training program requirement for able-bodied adults.

By committee on Senate Organization, Senators Kapenga, Craig, Cowles, Darling, Feyen, LeMahieu, Nass, Stroebel, Vukmir and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Vos, Felzkowski, Thiesfeldt, Jagler, Sanfelippo, Tusler, Petersen, Duchow, Petryk, Kuglitsch, Tittl, Knodl, Brandtjen, Murphy, Neylon, Spiros, Wichgers, Bernier, Krug, Kleefisch, Rohrkaste, Katsma, Born, Kremer and Swearingen, by request of Governor Scott Walker.

January 26, 2018 Referred to Committee on Public Benefits, Licensing and State-Federal Relations

January 31, 2018 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(5)	Senator Kapenga; Senators Olsen, Craig, Johnson and Vinehout.
Absent: Excused:	~ /	None.

Appearances For

- Representative Jesse Kremer 59th Assemmbly District
- Doug Ender
- Matthew Hoffland
- Andrew Dellinger
- Margaret Fincham
- Christopher Muller
- Dave Drewes
- Stephen Kapps
- Chytania Brown DWD, Division Administrator Employment and Training
- Jennifer Malcore Assistant Deputy Secretary, Department of Children and Families
- John Nothdurft The Heartland Institute
- Senator Chris Kapenga 33rd Senate District
- Representative Robin Vos 63rd Assembly District

Appearances Against

• Karen Tredwell - Food Pantry of Waukesha County, Inc.

- Kevin Runnie Hunger Relief Federation of WI
- Maureen Fitzgerald Hunger Task Force
- Bianca Shaw
- Vicky Selkowe Legal Action of WI
- Jonathan Bader WISCAP
- Courtney Waller
- Lisa Pugh Survial Coalition of Wisconsin
- Amy Devined Wisconsin Disability Organization
- Pastor Cindy Crane Lutheran office for public policy
- Chase Tarrier End Domestic Abuse WI
- Peter Bakken WI Council of Churces
- Reverend Michael Rehak WI Faith Voices for Justice

Appearances for Information Only

• Tami Jackson - WI Board for People with Developmental Disabilities

Registrations For

- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity
- Wendy Herr
- Chris Adams
- Sandra Roellich
- Larry Vangen
- Carrie Wisinski
- Melissa Moss
- Dorothy Tambornino
- Jean DeGuire
- Loren Arends
- Jamie De Guire
- Juliya Gabrielle
- Kayla Gabrieke
- Lindsey Fillian
- Scott Smith
- Caty McDermott Opportunity Solutions Project
- Kevin Lundy RESCARE
- Chris Reader WI Manufacturers and Commerce

Registrations Against

- Amy Devine Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Erin Miller
- Charisse Danielis
- David Lee Feeding Wisconsin
- Sarah Shatz
- Laurie Rudie

- Leslie McAllistor
- Adrienne Ramirez
- Chris Nyland
- Elizabeth Klons
- Emily Lassiter
- Norm Littlejohn
- Becky Schigiel Worker Justice Wisconsin
- James Penczykowski
- Stacia Connedy
- Amanda Meloy
- Elise Buchbinder
- Diara Parker
- Michael Goodman
- Lauren Gerger
- Representative Melissa Sargent
- Marsha Mansfield UW family Court Clinic
- Karen Banaszak
- Jeff Rainke

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 14, 2018 Executive Session Held

Present:	(5)	Senator Kapenga; Senators Olsen, Craig,
		Johnson and Vinehout.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Senator Craig, seconded by Senator Kapenga that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Kapenga; Senators Olsen and Craig.

Noes: (2) Senators Johnson and Vinehout.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Craig, seconded by Senator Olsen that **Senate Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (3) Senator Kapenga; Senators Olsen and Craig.
- Noes: (2) Senators Johnson and Vinehout.

SENATE AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Olsen, seconded by Senator Kapenga that **Senate Amendment 4** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Kapenga; Senators Olsen, Craig, Johnson and Vinehout.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 4 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Olsen, seconded by Senator Craig that **January 2018 Special Session Senate Bill 2** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Kapenga; Senators Olsen and Craig.

Noes: (2) Senators Johnson and Vinehout.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Timothy Duffy Committee Clerk