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Fiscal Estimate Narratives
DOR 2/6/2020

LRB Number 19-5095/1 Introduction Number AB-0750 Estimate Type  Original

Description
medical marijuana, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty

Assumpftions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate

This bill creates a program that allows for the possession and use of medical marijuana by registered patients
and that licenses medical marijuana producers, processors, dispensaries, transporters, and laboratories to
operate in this state.

The bill imposes an excise tax on a licensed processor at the rate of 10 percent of the sales price on each
wholesale sale in this state of marijuana to a licensed dispensary. All proceeds from the tax, and all fees and
penalties collected by the commission, are deposited into a segregated fund, identified in the bill as the medical
marijuana fund. ‘

Wisconsin does not have any state specific data to construct an accurate estimate for medical marijuana given
that the use and possession of cannabis is illegal under state law. 33 states have legal medical marijuana, 11 of
which also allow recreational use. However, there is significant variation in medical marijuana laws from state to
state, including how it is produced and distributed, how it can be consumed, and qualifying medical conditions it
can be used for. Trends in all states indicate that the population of registered patients continues to increase over
time.

Using the most recent data from states that legalized medical marijuana may overstate our estimates.
Considering Minnesota's geographical proximity and population similarities to WI, it is assumed that Wisconsin
will closely mirror the trends observed in MN. The Minnesota medical marijuana program was started in 2015 and
is still evolving. MN currently has 3 qualifying medical conditions (Tourette Syndrome, Intractable Pain &
Terminal lliness) that are not covered by the WI bill, but all other qualifying medical conditions are the same. The
proposed Wisconsin bill is very similar to the MN medical marijuana program when MN law was enacted, both for
delivery methods and qualifying medical conditions. MN has since added more qualifying conditions and
proposed additional delivery methods.

In the WI proposal, medical marijuana must be in the form of a liquid, oil, pill, or tincture or in a form that is
applied topically. In MN the delivery methods allowed are liquids, pills, or vaporize whole plant extracts (also in oil
form), but not the actual leaves of a marijuana plant. Both MN and WI do not allow smoking medical marijuana or
allow patients to grow their own plants.

For the sake of consistency, DOR used population estimates from the US Census Bureau. The number of
patients enrolled in the Minnesota program in 2019 is derived from the MN Department of Health and closely
matches the number of patients reported by Statista. Both data sets yield the same percentage of the population
who were medical marijuana patients by the end of June 2019. Using the data from Statista for US medical
marijuana retail sales and the percentage of US population who were medical marijuana patients in 2019, the
department allocated sales revenue to each state.

Method 1: Using US Retail Sale Data

The retail sales figures for medical marijuana in the US from Statista shows retail sales of $4.2 and $5.2 billion in
2019. The data also shows the percentage of the population in the U.S. who were medical marijuana patients as
of July 2019, by state. Using this information and the population estimates for each of the states from the US
Census Bureau, the department determined that the total populations of these states to be 205,685,466 and that
the medical marijuana patients totaled 3,134,098 in 2019.

Assuming WI has the same share of the patient-population share as MN (0.31%), the department estimates that
WI will have 18,050 (5,822,434 x 0.31%) registered patients. Using the same formula, the department can project




that WI patients will generate sales revenues of between $24 million (18,050/3,134,098 x $4.2 million) and $30
million (18,050/3,134,098 x $5.2 million). Data from Yukon Liquor Corporation Cannabis Markup Structure for
2019 shows a wholesale markup (wholesale price that will be charged to private cannabis retail licensees) of
22%. Using this as the markup suggests wholesale revenues between $18 million and $22 million. An excise tax
imposed on medical marijuana wholesale transactions at the rate of 10% would result in an excise tax revenue of
between $1.80 million and $2.34 million by the end of the first year (an average of $2 million). Given the
restrictiveness of the MN program (a maximum of 2 producers/processor and 8 dispensaries), the patient
registration in WI could be at a much more robust and faster than was observed in MN.

Method 2: THC Infused Medical Marijuana

Using various data sources, the department can estimate that there were about 366,909 patients in Wi in 2019
with the qualifying medical conditions in the bill. The estimated breakdown is as follows: - 400 cases of
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), 34,220 cases of Cancer, 14,164 cases of Crohn's disease, 35,805 cases of
Glaucoma, 7,202 cases of HIV/AIDS, 11,095 cases of Mulitiple sclerosis (MS), 203,785 cases of Post-traumatic
stress disorder (PTSD), and 60,234 cases of Seizure disorders (Epilepsy). Assuming 5% of the total patients will
register in the first year (5% of cancer patients are registered in MN), the number of patients on the registry will
be 18,345 (366,909 x 5%).

Daily Dose for THC from 2 different Florida Dispensaries, Trulieve and Surterra are 5mg two times a day (for a
total of 10mg per day) and up to 20mg per day respectively. The department assume an average dosage of
15mg/day. The WI bill allows patients to purchase 30 days' worth of dosage.

Retail prices for THC infused products vary considerably between states; however, the department will take the
average prices for beverages, edibles, tinctures, capsules and topicals which are $0.26/mg, $0.20/mg, $0.32/mg,
$0.20/mg and $0.32/mg respectively. The average price for these THC infused products is therefore $0.26/mg.
Assuming a 22% markup on wholesale, the wholesale price is $0.20/mg.

Using the above values for WI, the wholesale revenue for THC infused medical marijuana in the state is
estimated to be about $20 million (18,345 registered patients x 15mg/day x 365 days x $0.20/mg). An excise tax
imposed on medical marijuana wholesale transactions at the rate of 10% would resuit in an excise tax revenue of
$2 million.

Licensing

In addition to the excise tax revenue, additional revenue will be realized from license applications, registrations,
and renewal fees for producers, processors, and dispensaries. The bill proposed the issuance of the following
license to producers:

Producer Licenses

Assuming only one Class A, one Class B and one Class C licenses are issued at the minimum fees allowed
under the bill, revenues from the application and registration fees will be $31,000 and $300,000 respectively. On
the other hand, should the maximum number of licenses allowed under the bill be issued and charged the
maximum fees allowed, revenues from the application and registration fees will be $675,000 and $9,000,000
respectively.

Processor License

There are no limits set for the number of processor licenses to be issued. For simplicity, if only one processor
license is issued and charged the minimum fees, the revenues realized from the application and registration fees
is $1,000 and $50,000 respectively. However, should the fees be set at the maximum allowed, the revenues from
the application and registration fees will be $25,000 and $200,000 respectively.

Dispensary Licenses
The number of dispensaries allowed are dependent on the population of the county. Qnly 2 counties (Dane &

Milwaukee) meet the criteria of a population of 500,000 or more. Should each county issue one license each at
the minimum fee, the revenue from the application and registration fees will be $5,000 and $12,000 respectively.



On the other hand, should each of these 2 counties issue the maximum number of dispensary license allowed
(10 each) and are charged the maximum fees, revenues from the application and registration fees will be
$150,000 and $180,000 respectively.

There are 14 counties that meet the population criteria between 100,000 and 500,000. Should each county issue
one license at the minimum fees, revenue from application and registration fees will be $35,000 and $84,000
respectively. Should each county issue the maximum number of dispensary licenses allowed (5 each) and are
charged the maximum fees, the revenue from application and registration fees will be $525,000 and $630,000.

Finally, there are 56 counties that have populations of iess than 100,000. Assuming each county issued one
dispensary license at the minimum fees, the revenue from the application and registration fees will be $140,000
and $336,000 respectively. However, should each county issue the maximum number of dispensary license
allowed (3 each) and are charge the maximum fee allowed, the revenue from the application and registration
fees will be $1,260,000 and $1,512,000 respectively.

There are no renewal fees in the first year. Total revenues from licenses application fees ranges from a minimum
of $212,000 to a maximum of $2,635,000 whereas revenues from registration fees ranges from a minimum of
$994,000 to a maximum of $14,157,000.

SUMMARY

The department is estimating that total revenues from this bill will range from a low of $3.0 million to a high of
$19.0 million depending on the number of licenses issued, the application and registration fees charged for each
license.

The excise tax itself is expected to generate roughly $2.0 million per year.

The bill results in no additional sales tax revenue as the sale of medical marijuana would be exempt from sales
tax. Since these products are not currently sold or taxable, there is not revenue loss for the state as a result of
the exemption.

ADMINISTRATIVE COST

The bill would require significant changes to the department's tax processing system, creation of a new tax type,
and a new registration type. DOR would need to create an application, tax return, audit and processing letters,
and published guidance. Additional programming and staffing are needed to implement the tax, as well as
ongoing costs to enforce the tax.

The department estimates a onetime administrative cost of $306,000 for updating the state's tax processing
system to accommodate the new tax. The department also estimate onetime costs of $97,000, $143,000 and
$392,000 for staffing and equipment in the revenue accounting, compliance and customer service bureaus
respectively as well as $181,000 for revenue agents and auditors, and $1,116,000 for enforcement. The total
onetime cost of implementation of the new tax are expected to be $2.24 million.

Ongoing administrative expenses for revenue agents (2 FTE) and auditors (1 FTE) are estimated to cost
$270,310. Ongoing expenses for one accountant (1 FTE) is estimated at $92,500. Ongoing expenses for
compliance field agents (2 FTE) and customer service revenue agents (2 FTE) and related supplies are
estimated to cost $179,740 and $138,580 respectively.

Administration of the new law will also require additional enforcement staff in the department. The department
estimates the need for 10 new excise tax agents, one agent supervisor and one criminal investigator at an
estimated cost of $1,460,930.

The total ongoing cost related to administration, enforcement and compliance are estimated at $2.14 million.

Long-Range Fiscal Implications
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The department estimates a onetime total administrative cost of $2.24 million.

1. One-time Costs or Revenue Impacts for State and/or Local Government (do not include in

I, Annualized Costs:

Annualized Fiscal Impact on funds from:

Increased Costsl

Decreased Costs

A. State Costs by Category

State Operations - Salaries and Fringes

$2,142,000

(FTE Position Changes)

(19.0 FTE)

State Operations - Other Costs

Local Assistance

Aids to Individuals or Organizations

TOTAL State Costs by Category

$2,142,000

B. State Costs by Source of Funds

GPR

FED

PRO/PRS

SEG/SEG-S

2,142,000

lll. State Revenues - Complete this only when p
(e.g., tax increase, decrease in license fee, ets.)

roposal will increase or decrease state revenues

Increased Rev

Decreased Rev

GPR Taxes $ $
GPR Earned
FED
PRO/PRS
SEG/SEG-S
TOTAL State Revenues $ $
NET ANNUALIZED FISCAL IMPACT
) State Local
NET CHANGE IN COSTS $2,142,000 $
NET CHANGE IN REVENUE $see text $see text
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