2019 - 2020 LEGISLATURE
March 20, 2019 - Introduced by Senators Jacque, Carpenter, Cowles, Craig,
Darling, Kooyenga, Marklein, Olsen, Ringhand, Risser, L. Taylor, Wirch
and Wanggaard, cosponsored by Representatives Krug, Allen, Bowen,
Considine, Duchow, Edming, Katsma, Kerkman, Kitchens, Kuglitsch,
Murphy, Myers, Petryk, Plumer, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Sinicki,
Sortwell, Spiros, Spreitzer, Subeck, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tusler,
Vorpagel, Vruwink, Wichgers and Zimmerman. Referred to Committee on
Senate Organization.
SJR14,1,1 1Relating to: congratulating the Milwaukee Brewers on their 2018 season.
SJR14,1,32 Whereas, the Milwaukee Brewers ended their 2018 season with a record of
396-67, clinching the best league record for the first time since 1982; and
SJR14,1,44 Whereas, the team won the National League Central division; and
SJR14,1,65 Whereas, the team advanced to the playoffs for the first time since 2011 and for
6the fifth time in the franchise's history; and
SJR14,1,87 Whereas, the team had a 12-game winning streak to end the regular season
8and start the postseason; and
SJR14,1,109 Whereas, the Milwaukee Brewers were one of the best teams despite having
10one of the lowest budgets in the league due to their spirited and determined play; and
SJR14,1,1311 Whereas, the team's manager, Craig Counsell, was named the Sporting News
12National League Co-Manager of the Year and has been praised by players as a leader
13and pillar of the clubhouse; and
1Whereas, the Milwaukee Brewers advanced to the National League
2Championship Series after sweeping the Colorado Rockies in the National League
3Divisional Series and were one win away from making the World Series; and
SJR14,2,74 Whereas, Christian Yelich won the National League batting title for the first
5time in the team's history and received the National League MVP Award during his
6first season with the team, accounting for the franchise's fifth league MVP Award;
SJR14,2,98 Whereas, Jesús Aguilar, Travis Shaw, and Christian Yelich all hit at least 30
9home runs during the 2018 season; and
SJR14,2,1110 Whereas, the pitching staff set a franchise record of 1,428 strikeouts in the 2018
11season; and
SJR14,2,1312 Whereas, the team sent five players to the All-Star Game: Christian Yelich,
13Jesús Aguilar, Lorenzo Cain, Josh Hader, and Jeremy Jeffress; and
SJR14,2,1514 Whereas, the Milwaukee Brewers drew 2,850,875 fans in attendance during
15the 2018 season, averaging 35,195 per game; now, therefore, be it
SJR14,2,18 16Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin
17Legislature hereby commends and congratulates the players, coaches, and other
18staff members of the Milwaukee Brewers on their 2018 season.
SJR14,2,1919 (End)