Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 454

Relating to: falsely reporting an emergency and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Vorpagel, Duchow, Anderson, Brandtjen, Brostoff, Dittrich,
Edming, Gundrum, James, Murphy, Novak, Plumer, Sinicki, Skowronski, Tittl and
Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Wanggaard, Bewley, Jacque, Marklein,
Nass, Olsen and L. Taylor.

September 18, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

October 31, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Krug.

Appearances For

- Representative Cindi Duchow
- Jason Mugnaini Senator Cowles
- Representative Christine Sinicki
- Anne Uecker
- Police Chief Torin Misko Hartland Police Department

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Forbes McIntosh Wisconsin EMS Association
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Senator Van Wanggaard

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 14, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (10) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Novak, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Steffen, Horlacher, Schraa and

Krug.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Emerson that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Novak, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 454** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Novak, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Erin Clark

Committee Clerk