Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 481

Relating to: financial exploitation of vulnerable adults.

By Representatives Macco, Wittke, Bowen, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, Horlacher, James, Katsma, Knodl, Krug, Kulp, Kurtz, Magnafici, Mursau, Novak, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Quinn, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Schraa, Steffen, Summerfield, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, Skowronski and Felzkowski; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Carpenter, Bernier, Cowles, Feyen, Jacque, LeMahieu, Marklein, Olsen, Petrowski, Stroebel and Wirch.

September 26, 2019 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

November 14, 2019 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (10) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Duchow, Novak, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Steffen, Horlacher, Schraa and Krug.

Appearances For

- Senator Patrick Testin
- Helen Marks Dicks AARP
- April Devalkeneare IAFCI, Waukesha County District Attorney's Office
- Leslie Van Buskirk Department of Financial Institutions
- Jon Turke Wisconsin Bakers Association
- Ken Thompson Wisconsin Bankers Association

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

 Janet Zamder - Greater Wisconsin Agency on Aging Resources

Registrations For

- Sarah Wainscott Wisconsin Credit Untion League
- Jim Hrncirik AARP
- David Dorn AARP
- Judith Craig AARP

- Margaret Hrncirik AARP
- Nancy Koch AARP
- Joe Kallas AARP
- Steve Powell AARP
- Patrick Meier AARP
- Patsy Evans AARP
- Carol Greene AARP
- Susan Fadness AARP
- Carol Martell AARP
- Stuart Martell AARP
- Richard Crary AARP
- Representative John Macco

Registrations Against

 Iris Christenson - State Bar of Wisconsin - Elder Law Section

Registrations for Information Only

• James Rogers - Wisconsin Association for Justice

January 09, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative McGuire, seconded by Representative Crowley that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa and Krug.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION, Ayes 5, Noes 9

Moved by Representative McGuire, seconded by Representative Crowley that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representatives Sortwell, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

Noes: (8) Representative Spiros; Representatives Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa and Krug.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION, Ayes 6, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Bill 481** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representative Spiros; Representatives Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa and Krug.

Noes: (6) Representatives Sortwell, Crowley, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 6

Erin Clark Committee Clerk