Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 803

Relating to: using testimony taken by deposition in a criminal trial if witness is at risk of being intimidated.

By Representatives Knodl, Sanfelippo, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, James, Kuglitsch, Skowronski and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Jacque and Wanggaard.

January 27, 2020	Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety		
January 30, 2020	Public Hearing Held		
	Present:	(13)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Ott, Steffen, Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, Spreitzer, Emerson, Stubbs and McGuire.
	Absent:	(0)	None.
	Excused:	(1)	Representative Crowley.
	Appearances For		
	Representative Dan Knodl		
	• Senator Alberta Darling		
	• Police Chief Pat Mitchell - West Allis Police Department		
			Wagner - Milwaukee Police Association
	Appearances Against		
	• 0	uida L	ock - EXPO
	• R	amiah	Whiteside - EXPO
	• R	epresei	ntative Evan - Goyke
	• E	milio I	DeTorre - ACLU
	• D	avid	Dodderidge
	Appearances for Information Only		
	• Jo	ordan F	Primakoln - City of Milwaukee
	• P	eggy V	Vest
	• Jo	ordan F	Primaco - City of Milwaukee
	Registrations For		

• None.

Registrations Against

• Edward Kuharski

- Kay Frazier
- Joan Duerst
- Will Perry ACLU, Wisconsin Muslim Civic Alliance
- Ann Lacy Moses, Wisdom
- Mahnker Dahnweih
- Danita Brown
- James Morgan
- Sheesenehooya Moua
- Martina Rippon
- Hope Yang
- Mary Wichita
- Barbara Chusid
- Jill McDonald
- Courney Saxler
- Andrea Dearlove
- Susan Davidson
- Laura Berger
- Sharm Lezberg
- Mary Musholt
- Cheryl Robinson
- Colleen O'Hara Wisdom
- Joan Kemble Moses
- Harriet Lavin CUSH
- Stephen Mayer
- Patrick O'Laughlin
- Barbara Benson
- Daniel Tomaro
- Andrew Trusty
- Ellen Magee Unity Church Social Justice Ministry
- Ken Ring
- Representative David Bowen
- Karolyn Beebe
- Fawn Bilgere

Registrations for Information Only

- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender
- Jon Padgham

March 26, 2020 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Amanda Graham Committee Clerk