# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

#### **Assembly Bill 585**

Relating to: the seclusion and physical restraint of pupils.

By Representatives Quinn, Considine, Dittrich, Bowen, Cabrera, Crowley, Doyle, Edming, Felzkowski, Jagler, Kulp, Milroy, Novak, Ohnstad, Ramthun, Rodriguez, Sargent, Spreitzer, Subeck, C. Taylor, Tittl, Vruwink, Wittke, Zimmerman and Stubbs; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Johnson, Darling, Bewley, Cowles, Kooyenga, Larson, Schachtner and L. Taylor.

November 01, 2019 Referred to Committee on Education

# December 19, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present: (16) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Quinn, Wittke,
Ramthun, Wichgers, Tusler, Mursau, Pope,
Considine, Hebl, Bowen, Vruwink and L.
Myers.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Romaine Quinn
- Sally Fleschberger Disability Regents Wisconsin
- Marcea Dewey
- Tami Jackson WI Board for People with Developmental Disabilities
- Amber McGinley
- Jeff Spitzerresniek Autism Society of South Central WI
- Joanne Johnke
- Lisa Pugh Survival Coalition
- Lisa Pugh The Arc WI
- Hugh Davis Wisconsin Family Ties

# Appearances Against

None.

# Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

• Cindy Beatley - People First WI

- Anna Hauser Madtown Mommas
- Alvin Kutil On Spectrum
- Rep. Shannon Zimmerman

# Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

- Martha Siravo
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Grant Huber DPI

### January 23, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present: (16) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Quinn, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Tusler, Mursau, Pope, Considine, Hebl, Bowen, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Assembly Bill 585** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (16) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Rodriguez, Quinn, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Tusler, Mursau, Pope, Considine, Hebl, Bowen, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Katie Scott

Committee Clerk