# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## Committee on Health

### **Assembly Bill 525**

Relating to: implementing a suicide prevention program and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Ballweg, Doyle, Anderson, Bowen, Cabrera, Crowley, Duchow, Edming, James, Kitchens, Kulp, Kurtz, B. Meyers, Milroy, Mursau, Neubauer, Oldenburg, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Ramthun, Riemer, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Spiros, Spreitzer, Subeck, C. Taylor, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vining, Vruwink, Wittke, Zamarripa and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Bernier, Carpenter, Ringhand, Schachtner and Larson.

October 11, 2019 Referred to Committee on Health

October 29, 2019 Public Hearing Held

Present: (13) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski, Magnafici, Kolste, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Rodriguez and Riemer.

#### Appearances For

- State Rep. Joan Ballweg
- State Sen. Luther Olsen
- Andrew Hoyer-Booth WI DHS
- Leah Rolando Mental Health America
- Gena Orlando American Foundation for Suicide Prevention

#### Appearances Against

• None.

# Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- Marc Herstand National Association of Social Workers
- State Rep. Steve Doyle

### Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

### October 30, 2019 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives

Kurtz, Rodriguez, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski, Magnafici, Kolste, Subeck, Anderson and

Vining.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Riemer.

Moved by Representative Vining, seconded by Representative Kurtz that **Assembly Bill 525** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kurtz, Edming, Skowronski, Wichgers, Murphy, VanderMeer, Felzkowski, Magnafici, Kolste, Subeck, Anderson and

Vining.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Joshua Hoisington

Committee Clerk