# **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Housing and Real Estate**

### **Assembly Bill 551**

Relating to: the presumption of riparian rights on navigable waterways. By Representatives Stafsholt, Felzkowski, Dittrich, Edming, Krug, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Mursau, Quinn, Sanfelippo, Tauchen and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Tiffany, Bewley, Craig, Olsen, Stroebel and Wanggaard.

October 18, 2019 Referred to Committee on Housing and Real Estate

January 16, 2020 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (9) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, Quinn, Brooks, Murphy, Pronschinske, Stuck, Zamarripa and Haywood.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Sen. Patrick Testin
- Rep. Rob Stafsholt
- Tom Larson WI Realtors Assoc.
- Mike Springer
- Dawn Springer
- Larry Konopacki WI Towns Assoc.
- Paul Kent
- Robert Procter

### Appearances Against

- Bill Skewes WI Utilites Association
- Bill Jackson Quarks and Brady
- Todd Stewart WIEG
- Scott Suder WI Paper Council
- Tom Schaeff Consolidated Water and Power Co.
- Ben Niffenegger WI Valley Improvement Co.
- Stacy Pettit
- Scott Pettit
- Robert Lobermeier
- Dave Lobermeier
- Diane Lobermeier

## Appearances for Information Only

Amanda Minks - DNR

### Registrations For

- Rep. Scott Krug
- Bob Welch Apartment Assoc. of SC WI
- Mike Schoenholz BironLincesee Group LLC
- John Jacobson WI Property Taxpayers Inc
- Allan Levin Yahara Lakes and Riparian Assoc,
- Jeremy Levin Dane County Building Supervisors-Dist.
  10

## Registrations Against

- Matt Pagel Xcel Energy
- Elise Nelson Alliant Energy
- Craig Timm Domtar Corp.
- joel Haulbrich WEC Energy Group
- Chris Le Rowe WEC Energy Group
- Peter Hansen WI Valley Improvement Co.
- Thomas Kipp WI Valley Improvement Co.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## February 13, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present: (9) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, Quinn, Brooks, Murphy, Pronschinske, Stuck, Zamarripa and Haywood.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Quinn that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, Quinn, Brooks, Murphy, Pronschinske, Stuck, Zamarripa and Haywood.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Quinn, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 551** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representative Jagler; Representatives Allen, Quinn, Brooks, Murphy, Pronschinske, Stuck and Haywood.

Noes: (1) Representative Zamarripa.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 1

\_\_\_\_\_

Charlie Bellin Committee Clerk