Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Rural Development

Assembly Bill 789

Relating to: the well compensation grant program and making an appropriation. By Representatives Shankland, Krug, Felzkowski, Pope, Hebl, Kitchens, Kurtz, Novak, Summerfield, Anderson, Ballweg, Billings, Cabrera, Considine, Dittrich, Doyle, Edming, Emerson, Gruszynski, Horlacher, Kolste, Kulp, Loudenbeck, B. Meyers, Milroy, Mursau, Neubauer, Nygren, Ohnstad, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Subeck, Swearingen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vruwink, Zamarripa, Zimmerman and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Olsen and Feyen.

January 24, 2020 Referred to Committee on Rural Development

February 04, 2020 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(11)	Representative VanderMeer; Representatives
		Kulp, Novak, Kurtz, Quinn, Oldenburg,
		Pronschinske, Vruwink, Milroy, Considine and
		B. Meyers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Plumer.

Appearances For

- Rep Katrina Shankland Assembly District 71
- Derek Orth
- Samuel Boron Mahr Water Corporation
- Mike Koles WI Towns Association
- Mike Pagel Portage County Towns Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Cathy Burrow DNR
- Liesa Lehmann DNR

Registrations For

- Sen Patrick Testin Senate District 24
- Dan Bahr WI Counties Association
- Debi Towns WI Farm Bureau
- Jordan Lamb WI Potato & Vegetable Growers Association
- Erik Kanter WI Public Health Association

- Erik Kanter WI Association for Local Health Departments & Boards
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative Network
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- Kara O'Connor Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Rep Todd Novak Assembly District 51
- Bob Welch WI Corn Growers Association
- Rep Scott Krug Assembly District 72

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 06, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative VanderMeer; Representatives
		Kulp, Novak, Kurtz, Quinn, Oldenburg,
		Pronschinske, Plumer, Vruwink, Milroy,
		Considine and B. Meyers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Meyers, seconded by Representative Considine that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (4) Representatives Vruwink, Milroy, Considine and B. Meyers.
- Noes: (8) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Kulp, Novak, Kurtz, Quinn, Oldenburg, Pronschinske and Plumer.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION, Ayes 4, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Novak, seconded by Representative Kurtz that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Kulp, Novak, Kurtz, Quinn, Oldenburg, Pronschinske and Plumer. Noes: (4) Representatives Vruwink, Milroy, Considine and B. Meyers.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Kurtz, seconded by Representative Kulp that **Assembly Bill 789** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Kulp, Novak, Kurtz, Quinn, Oldenburg, Pronschinske, Plumer, Vruwink, Milroy, Considine and B. Meyers.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Jesse Johnson Committee Clerk