Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions

Senate Bill 646

Relating to: expanding applicability of the room tax, making substantive and technical changes to the local room tax, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Olsen, Bewley and Jacque; cosponsored by Representatives Kitchens, Billings, Novak, Emerson, Bowen, Considine, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, L. Myers, Pope, Rodriguez, Skowronski, Spiros, Swearingen and Tranel.

January 08, 2020 Referred to Committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions

January 29, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Senator Marklein; Senators Petrowski, Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Kim Roberts Door County tourism zone
- William Vande Castle Door County Tourism Zone Commission
- Joe Ruth Wisconsin Towns Association
- Senator Luther Olsen
- Kathi Kilgore
- John Chastan Kalahari resorts
- Julia Hertel WI Association of Convention & Visitors Bureaus doing business as Destinations Wisconsin
- Joel Kitchens 1st Assembly District

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

Secretary Peter Barca - DOR

Registrations For

• Curt Witynski - League of Wisconsin municipalities

Registrations Against

Cory Fish - WMC

Mr Jason Childress - Consumer TECHNOLOGY ASSOCIATION

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 11, 2020 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Senator Marklein; Senators Petrowski, Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Petrowski, seconded by Senator Smith that **Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Senator Marklein; Senators Petrowski, Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Petrowski, seconded by Senator Jacque that **Senate Bill 646** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Senator Marklein; Senators Petrowski, Testin, Jacque, Bernier, Smith, Ringhand, Risser and Larson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Vincent Williams

Committee Clerk