# Senate

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Labor and Regulatory Reform**

#### Senate Bill 511

Relating to: claims for compensation for post-traumatic stress disorder by police officers and fire fighters under the worker's compensation law.

By Senators Jacque, Bewley, Wanggaard, Erpenbach, Johnson, Marklein, Nass, Schachtner and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Horlacher, Emerson, Allen, Anderson, Ballweg, Brandtjen, Brostoff, Considine, Dittrich, Doyle, Edming, Kerkman, Krug, Kulp, Mursau, Novak, Ott, Petryk, Pope, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Sortwell, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, C. Taylor, Vruwink and Tusler.

October 18, 2019 Referred to Committee on Labor and Regulatory Reform

December 10, 2019 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (5) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Kapenga,

Wirch and Ringhand.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

• Senator Andre Jacque

- Anna Schwarz Rep. Horlacher's Office
- Chief Greg Leck WI Chief's of Police Assn.
- Chief Charles Foulke WI Chiefs' of Police Assn.
- Jim Palmer WI Professional Police Assn.
- Chief Erik Kehl Delafield Police Department
- Nicholas Zimpel
- Mahlon Mitchell Professional Firefighters of WI Assn.
- Stephen Raclaw
- Brent Jones
- Devan Anders
- Chief Ryan Vossemuehl Jackson Police Department
- Matt Kenny
- Robert Stauss WI EMS Assn.
- Marc Cohen WI EMS Assn.
- Jesse Bell
- Paul Nell Hero's Cafe

# Appearances Against

• None.

# Appearances for Information Only

- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities
- Richard Ceman Cities and Villages Mutual Insurance Company
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee
- Nilsa Rosado City of Milwaukee

## Registrations For

- Samuel Raclaw
- Sheriff Dale Schmidt Badger State Sheriffs' Assn.
- Sheriff Kurt Picknell Badger State Sheriffs' Assn.
- Sheriff Nate Dreckman Badger State Sheriffs' Assn.
- Caty McDermott WI Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Assn.
- Representative Jodi Emerson
- Paul Nadolski
- Ryan Zukowski WI Troopers' Assn.
- Bob Wierenga WI Counties Police Assn.
- Steve Fitzsimmons
- Gregory Gelembiuk Community Response Team
- Senator Janet Bewley
- Mike DeGararo
- Jennifer Raclaw

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### December 19, 2019 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (5) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Kapenga, Wirch and Ringhand.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Nass, seconded by Senator Wanggaard that **Senate Bill 511** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Kapenga, Wirch and Ringhand.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Mike Mikalsen Committee Clerk