Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources and Energy

Senate Bill 711

Relating to: priorities and criteria for the municipal flood control and riparian restoration program and amending administrative rules.

By Senators Marklein, Olsen and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Brooks, Ballweg, Brandtjen, Edming, Gundrum, Knodl, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, Mursau, Oldenburg, Petryk, Plumer, Ramthun, Sinicki, Skowronski, Sortwell, Swearingen, Tranel, Tusler, Zimmerman, Born, Allen and Spiros.

January 24, 2020 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources and Energy

January 30, 2020 **Public Hearing Held**

> Present: (5) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen, Marklein, Miller and Hansen.

None. Absent: (0)Excused: (0)None.

Appearances For

- Senator Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Chris Klein American Council of Engineering Companies of Wisconsin
- Steven Wurster American Council of Engineering Companies of Wisconsin
- Dan Bahr Wisconsin Counties Association

Appearances Against

- Ann Kipper Department of Natural Resources
- Rob Davis Department of Natural Resources
- David Fowler Wisconsin Association for Floodplain, Stormwater, and Coastal Management
- Miriam Anderson

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Representative Todd Novak 51st Assembly District
- Representative Rob Brooks 60th Assembly District
- Larry Konopacki Wisconsin Towns Association
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities

Registrations Against

- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin Conservation Voters
- Meg Galloway
- Elizabeth Trzebiatowski
- Lynn Markham

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 05, 2020 Executive Session Held

Present: (5) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen, Marklein, Miller and Hansen.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Cowles, seconded by Senator Marklein that **Senate Bill 711** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senator Cowles; Senators Olsen and Marklein.

Noes: (2) Senators Miller and Hansen.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Toni Herkert Committee Clerk