Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 960

Relating to: battery or threat to a health care provider or staff member of a health care facility and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Vos, Magnafici, Armstrong, Born, Cabral-Guevara, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, James, Kuglitsch, Moses, Novak, Steffen, Vorpagel and Wittke; cosponsored by Senators LeMahieu, Wanggaard and Feyen.

February 07, 2022	Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety		
February 09, 2022	Public He	earing I	Held
	Present:	(15)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.
	Absent:	(0)	None.
	Excused:	(0)	None.
	Appearance	es For	

• Rep. Gae Magnafici - 28th Assembly District

- Rudy Jackson UW Health
- Ann Zenk WI Hospital Association
- Matthew Stanford WI Hospital Association
- Clark Draxler Gundersen Health System
- Gina Dennik-Champion Wisconsin Nurses Associatioin

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Rep. Robin Vos 63rd Assembly District
- Mark Grapentine WI Medical Society
- Randy Schubring Mayo Clinic Health System
- Ben O'Connell Gundersen Health System
- Forbes McIntosh WI EMS Association
- Forbes McIntosh WI Assisted Living Association
- Danielle Womack Pharmacy Society of WI
- Connie Schulze UW Health

• Ben Van Pelt - SSM Health

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 16, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Spiros; Representatives
		Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
		Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire,
		Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 960** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.
- Noes: (1) Representative Sortwell.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Ericka Braatz Committee Clerk