Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 59

Relating to: applications for the full-time open enrollment program in the 2020-21 and 2021-22 school years and the family income requirement for the Wisconsin Parental Choice Program in the 2021-22 school year.

By Representatives Dittrich, Brooks, Gundrum, Horlacher, Magnafici, Moses, Rozar, Thiesfeldt, Wichgers and Skowronski; cosponsored by Senators Kooyenga, Stroebel, Bernier, Felzkowski, Wanggaard, Bradley, Darling, Nass and Marklein.

February 12, 2021 Referred to Committee on Education

March 04, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Jagler, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers,
Mursau, Duchow, Rozar, Pope, Hebl,
Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Dittrich
- Matthew Opermann Crown of Life Christian Academy
- Charles Moore
- Douglas Butler Abundant Life Christian School
- Justin Moralez American Federation for Children

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Kooyenga
- Jim Bender School Choice Wisconsin Action
- Bob Welch Stride Inc.
- Sharon Schmeling WI Council of Religious & Independent Schools
- Zach Eckert ExcelinEd
- Kim Vercauteren WI Catholic Conference
- Libby Sobic WILL

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Jennifer Kammerud - DPI

March 18, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Jagler, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers,

Mursau, Duchow, Rozar, Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Rozar, seconded by Representative Wittke that **Assembly Bill 59** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Jagler, Wittke, Ramthun,

Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow and Rozar.

Noes: (5) Representatives Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Katie Scott
Committee Clerk