## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

#### **Assembly Bill 371**

Relating to: the broadband expansion grant program.

By Representatives Summerfield, Oldenburg, Armstrong, Cabral-Guevara, Callahan, Dallman, Horlacher, James, Magnafici, Moses, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Ramthun, Rozar, Schraa, Spiros, Swearingen, Tauchen, Tranel, Tusler and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Ballweg, Bernier, Cowles, Darling, Felzkowski, Feyen, Nass and Wimberger.

June 03, 2021 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

June 10, 2021 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (14) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, Tauchen, Petersen, Horlacher, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative B. Meyers.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Rob Summerfield 67th Assembly District
- Tom Moore Wisconsin Cable Association
- Adam Raschka Charter Communications

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Matt Sweeney Public Service Commission
- Bill Esbeck Wisconsin State Telecommunications Assoc.
- Rod Olson Vernon Communications Cooperative
- Christy Berger Nelson Communications Cooperative
- Cheryl Rue Tri-County Communications Cooperative
- Stephanie Cassioppi US Cellular

#### Registrations For

- Larry Konopakci Wisconsin Towns Association
- Cori Lamont Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Debi Towns Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation

- Samantha Stohlman Wisconsin Corn Growers Association
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Business

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### June 16, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives
Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon,
Vorpagel, Tauchen, Petersen, Horlacher, B.
Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde
and S. Rodriguez.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Horlacher, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, Tauchen, Petersen and Horlacher.

Noes: (5) Representatives B. Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Horlacher, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, Tauchen, Petersen and Horlacher.

Noes: (5) Representatives B. Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.

# ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Horlacher, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Bill 371** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, Tauchen, Petersen and Horlacher.

Noes: (5) Representatives B. Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Garrett Huffman Committee Clerk