Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 36

Relating to: permitting pharmacists to prescribe certain contraceptives, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Kitchens, Magnafici, Tusler, Armstrong, August, Born, Dittrich, Duchow, James, Kerkman, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Moses, Mursau, Neylon, Novak, Plumer, Skowronski, Snyder, Spiros, Steffen, Steineke, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, Tranel, Vorpagel, Vos and Wittke; cosponsored by Senators Felzkowski, Bernier, Carpenter, Darling, Feyen and Marklein.

February 10, 2021 Referred to Committee on Health

October 07, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(15)	Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Summerfield, Wichgers, VanderMeer,
		Skowronski, Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich,
		Rozar, Moses, Subeck, Riemer, Anderson,
		Vining and S. Rodriguez.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Cabral-Guevara.

Appearances For

- State Rep. Joel Kitchens
- State Sen. Kathy Bernier
- Dr. Kristin Lyerly American College of Obstetricians and Gynocologists
- Dimmy Sokhal Pharmacy Society of WI
- Caroline Kitchens R Street Institute

Appearances Against

- Matt Sande Pro Life WI
- Micah Pearce WI Family Action

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- State Sen. Mary Felzkowski
- Danielle Womack Pharmacy Society of WI
- Debra Demuth

Registrations Against

- Barbara Sella WI Catholic Conference
- State Rep. Scott Allen

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 19, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
		Summerfield, Wichgers, VanderMeer,
		Skowronski, Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich,
		Moses, Cabral-Guevara, Subeck, Riemer and
		Anderson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Rozar, Vining and S.
		Rodrigue z.

Moved by Representative Subeck, seconded by Representative Magnafici that **Assembly Bill 36** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (10) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Summerfield, VanderMeer, Skowronski, Magnafici, Dittrich, Moses, Subeck, Riemer and Anderson.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Wichgers, Murphy and Cabral-Guevara.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 3

Joshua Hoisington Committee Clerk