Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Elections, Election Process Reform and Ethics

Senate Bill 937

Relating to: status as an indefinitely confined voter for purposes of receiving absentee ballots automatically and providing a penalty.

By Senators Bernier, Darling, Felzkowski, Marklein and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Duchow, Allen, Armstrong, Dallman, Edming, Gundrum, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Macco, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Penterman, Pronschinske, Schraa and Spiros.

February 03, 2022 Referred to Committee on Elections, Election Process Reform and Ethics

February 07, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Bernier; Senators Darling, Stroebel, Smith and Roys.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

• Senator Kathy Bernier - 23rd Senate District

Appearances Against

- Matt Rothschild Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Carla Loeffler We the People
- Debra Cronmiller Leauge of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee
- Brian Peters Independence First
- Stephanie Birmingham
- Michael Haas City of Madison
- Jim Turk

Appearances for Information Only

- Barbara Beckert Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Tami Jackson
- Tami Jackson Wisconsin Board for People with Developmental Disabilities
- Janet Zander Greater Wisconsin Agency on Aging Resources

Registrations For

• Kyle Koenen - Wisconsin Institute for Law & Liberty

Registrations Against

• Senator Tim Carpenter - 3rd Senate District

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 16, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present: (5) Senator Bernier; Senators Darling, Stroebel, Smith and Roys.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Stroebel, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Bernier; Senators Darling and Stroebel.

Noes: (2) Senators Smith and Roys.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Darling, seconded by Senator Bernier that **Senate Bill 937** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Bernier; Senators Darling and Stroebel.

Noes: (2) Senators Smith and Roys.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Michael Luckey

Committee Clerk