Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

Senate Bill 119

Relating to: decreasing shared revenue payments to municipalities based on decreased funding for law enforcement officers.

By Senators Wanggaard, Darling, Bradley, Cowles, Feyen, Jacque, Nass, Roth and Testin; cosponsored by Representatives Spiros, Sanfelippo, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Horlacher, Magnafici, Moses, Rozar and Wichgers.

February 18, 2021 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

March 11, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Wimberger, Darling, Jacque, Bradley, L. Taylor and Roys.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Van Wanggaard
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Rep John Spiros

Appearances Against

- Ryan Clancy Over 100 groups and individuals
- Mr Cesar Ramos None
- Omar Flores Milwaukee alliance against racist and political repression
- Daniel Hernon
- Resonce to sb119 Michael Porter
- Larissa Joanna Reshaping Madison together
- Cesar Ramos None
- Battlefield Duke
- Battlefield Duke

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Alice OConnor Wi Professional Police Assn
- Alice OConnor Wi Professional police Assn
- James Fenley Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association

• James Fenley - Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association

Registrations Against

- Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Counties Association
- Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Counties Association
- Mary Bottari City of Madison
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin municipalities

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

May 06, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (7) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Wimberger, Darling, Jacque, Bradley, L. Taylor and Roys.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Darling, seconded by Senator Jacque that **Senate Bill 119** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Wimberger, Darling, Jacque and Bradley.

Noes: (2) Senators L. Taylor and Roys.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

Eric Barbour

Committee Clerk