Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Campaigns and Elections

Assembly Bill 38

Relating to: absentee ballot request and return confirmation.

By Representatives Steffen, Knodl, Armstrong, C. Anderson, Bare, Edming, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, O'Connor, Swearingen, Tusler and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara, Roys, Spreitzer and Tomczyk.

February 13, 2023 Referred to Committee on Campaigns and Elections

October 03, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey,

Murphy, Rozar, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass,

Subeck and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. David Steffen 4th State Assembly District
- Sen. Duey Stroebel 20th State Senate District
- Ms. Lisa Frieberg Fond du Lac County Clerk
- Ms. Lisa Tollefson Rock County Clerk
- Mr. Peter Skopec Secure Democracy USA
- Ms. Lisa Hassenstab Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Mr. Jefferson Davis Election Integrity for Wisconsin
- Ms. Ashley Reichert Washington County Clerk
- Mr. Mike Foti Washington County Legislative Clerk
- Ms. Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Counties Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Rachel Cabral-Guevarra 19th State Senate District
- Mr. Timothy Ramthun Full Forensic Physical and Cyber Audit (FFPCA) Wisconsin
- Mr. Paul Malischke

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

October 19, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (0) None. Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Snodgrass, seconded by Representative Rozar that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey, Murphy, Rozar, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass, Subeck and C. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Snodgrass, seconded by Representative Rozar that **Assembly Bill 38** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey, Murphy, Rozar, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass, Subeck and C. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

John Reinemann

Committee Clerk