# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

### Assembly Bill 847

Relating to: an electric vehicle infrastructure program and making an appropriation.

By Representatives VanderMeer, Gustafson, Oldenburg, Brandtjen, Duchow, Goeben, Gundrum, Hurd, Mursau, Petersen and Tranel; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Quinn, Ballweg, Bradley, Felzkowski, Knodl, Stafsholt, Taylor and Testin.

December 22, 2023 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

January 09, 2024 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (16) Representative Steffen; Representatives
Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon,
Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl,
Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Moore Omokunde,
Haywood and Ratcliff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- State Representative Nancy VanderMeer
- Emma Heins Electrification Coalition

#### Appearances Against

None.

## Appearances for Information Only

- Kaleb Vander Wiele Wisconsin Department of Transportation
- Kristina Boardman Wisconsin Department of Transportation
- Allison Carlson Wisconsin Local Government Climate Coalition

## Registrations For

- Andy Engel Alliance for Automotive Innovation
- Michelle Kussow 7-Eleven
- Tom Moore Energy Action Fund
- Jolene Plautz Kwik Trip
- Ben Porath Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Molly Collins American Lung Association

- Joseph Owen WPPI Energy
- Matt Hauser WI Fuel & Retail Association
- Tyler Vorpagel Municipal Electric Utilities of WI
- Matt Spencer Madison Gas & Electric
- Kristin Gilkes Customers First Coalition
- Senator Howard Marklein
- Beata Wierzba RENEW Wisconsin

## Registrations Against

None.

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

## January 10, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Subeck, Moore Omokunde, Haywood

and Ratcliff.
Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Drake.

Moved by Representative Summerfield, seconded by Representative Hurd that **Assembly Bill 847** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Tittl, Tranel, Subeck, Moore Omokunde, Haywood and Ratcliff.

Noes: (1) Representative Sortwell.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Nicole Walentowski-Domokos Committee Clerk