Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 274

Relating to: a commercial driver training grant program and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Pronschinske, Binsfeld, Brandtjen, Callahan, Edming, Green, Magnafici, Mursau, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Petryk, Summerfield and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators Wimberger and Cabral-Guevara.

May 17, 2023	Referred	Referred to Committee on Transportation		
June 06, 2023	Public Hearing Held			
	Present:	(12)	Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood, Moore Omokunde and Drake.	
	Absent:	(0)	None.	

Referred to Committee on Transportation

Excused: (2) Representatives Spiros and Ortiz-Velez.

Appearances For

- Representative Treig Pronschinske 92nd Assembly • District
- Neal Kedzie WI Motor Carriers Association •
- Baltazar DeAnda Santana Latino Academy of • Workforce Development Inc.
- Jose Julian Garcia Fitchburg Pallets •
- Louis Rodriguez Dane County Highway Dept. •
- Jeff Lemirande Janesville Sand & Gravel Co. •
- Kirby Wagner Growmark FS •
- Evan Umpir Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce •
- Michael Reber Kreilkamp Trucking •

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None. •

Registrations For

- Senator Eric Wimberger 30th Senate District
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative Network •
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses •

- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Soybean Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Cattlemen's Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Pork Association
- Bob Welch WI Corn Growers Association
- Jason Mugnaini WI Farm Bureau
- Tom Bressner WI Agri-Business Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Arielle Exner - Department of Workforce Development

June 20, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Representative VanderMeer; Representatives
		Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson,
		Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood,
		Ortiz-Velez, Moore Omokunde and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Edming, seconded by Representative Schutt that **Assembly Bill 274** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (12) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Ortiz-Velez, Moore Omokunde and Drake.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Considine and Haywood.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 2

Jesse Johnson Committee Clerk