Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Workforce Development and Economic Opportunities

Assembly Bill 149

Relating to: various changes to the unemployment insurance law.

By Representatives Plumer, Moses, Penterman, Behnke, Binsfeld, Bodden, Brandtjen, Brooks, Dallman, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Green, Gundrum, Gustafson, Knodl, Magnafici, Murphy, Nedweski, O'Connor, Petersen, Petryk, Rettinger, Rozar, Schmidt, Snyder, Sortwell and Steffen; cosponsored by Senators Tomczyk, Cabral-Guevara, Felzkowski, Marklein, Nass and Stroebel.

April 07, 2023 Opportunities Referred to Committee on Workforce Development and Economic

April 12, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Petryk; Representatives Michalski, Gundrum, Snyder, Armstrong,

Rozar, Nedweski, O'Connor, Rettinger, Shankland, Sinicki, Shelton, Jacobson and

Madison.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Sapik.

Appearances For

- Representative Jon Plumber
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Businesses
- Adam Gibbs Opportunity Solutions Partnership
- Rachel VerVelde Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

Appearances Against

Victor Forberger

Appearances for Information Only

Shane Griesbach - Self

Registrations For

- Kyle Koenen Wisconsin Institute for Law & Liberty
- Senator Cory Tomczyk

Registrations Against

• Peter Bakken - Wisconsin Council of Churches

Registrations for Information Only

• Arielle Exner - Department of Workforce Development

April 18, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Petryk; Representatives
Michalski, Gundrum, Snyder, Armstrong,
Rozar, Nedweski, O'Connor, Rettinger, Sapik,
Shankland, Sinicki, Shelton, Jacobson and
Madison.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Rozar, seconded by Representative O'Connor that **Assembly Bill 149** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Petryk; Representatives Michalski, Gundrum, Snyder, Armstrong, Rozar, Nedweski, O'Connor, Rettinger and Sapik.

Noes: (5) Representatives Shankland, Sinicki, Shelton, Jacobson and Madison.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

BJ Dernbach Committee Clerk