Med 20.055   Temporary certificates for certified practitioners.
Med 20.06   Examination review by applicant.
Med 20.07   Board review of examination error claim.
Med 20.01 Med 20.01 Authority and purpose. The rules in this chapter are adopted by the medical examining board under the authority of ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 448.40 (1), Stats., to govern the certification and regulation of respiratory care practitioners.
Med 20.01 History History: Cr. Register, December, 1991, No. 432, eff. 1-1-92
Med 20.02 Med 20.02 Definitions. As used in this chapter:
Med 20.02(1) (1) "Board" means the medical examining board.
Med 20.02(2) (2) "Council" means the respiratory care practitioners examining council.
Med 20.02(3) (3) "CRTT" means a certified respiratory therapy technician.
Med 20.02(4) (4) "RRT" means a registered respiratory therapist.
Med 20.02 Note Note: "CRTT" and "RRT" are registered trademarks of the national board for respiratory care.
Med 20.02 History History: Cr. Register, December, 1991, No. 432, eff. 1-1-92.
Med 20.03 Med 20.03 Applications and credentials.
Med 20.03(1) (1) Every applicant for initial certification as a respiratory care practitioner shall submit:
Med 20.03(1)(a) (a) A completed application form.
Med 20.03(1)(b) (b) The fee specified in s. 440.05, Stats.
Med 20.03(1)(c) (c) A recent passport type photograph of the applicant.
Med 20.03(1)(d) (d) Written verification that the applicant has passed the national board for respiratory care certification examination required in s. Med 20.04 (1).
Med 20.03(1)(e) (e) Evidence of successful completion of the state board statutes and rules examination and oral examination if required.
Med 20.03(1)(f) (f) One of the following:
Med 20.03(1)(f)1. 1. Satisfactory evidence that the applicant is a graduate of a school with a course of instruction in respiratory care approved by the commission on accreditation of allied health education programs of the American medical association.
Med 20.03(1)(f)2. 2. Prior to January 1, 1992, evidence of experience or informal training that the board determines is substantially equivalent to the requirements for certification under s. 448.05 (5r), Stats., and evidence of having passed the national board for respiratory care CRTT or RRT examination.
Med 20.03(1)(f)3. 3. Prior to January 1, 1992, evidence of over 3,000 hours of work experience as a respiratory care practitioner within the last 3 years, and informal training, where the applicant does not meet the national board for respiratory care CRTT examination admission requirements.
Med 20.03(2) (2) A scaled score of 75 or above on the national board for respiratory care CRTT examination is required for certification.
Med 20.03(3) (3) An application for certification is not complete until the board has received both the completed application form and written verification of a passing grade directly from the national board for respiratory care.
Med 20.03 Note Note: Application forms are available on request to the board office, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708.
Med 20.03 History History: Cr. Register, December, 1991, No. 432, eff. 1-1-92; am. (1) (f) 1., Register, August, 1994, No. 464, eff. 9-1-94; correction in (1) (b) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, December, 1999, No. 528.
Med 20.04 Med 20.04 Examinations; panel review of applications.
Med 20.04(1)(1) An applicant for certification as a respiratory care practitioner shall pass the national board for respiratory care CRTT examination.
Med 20.04(2) (2) An applicant for certification as a respiratory care practitioner shall pass a state board statutes and rules examination conducted by the council as evidenced by documents submitted directly to the council by the department's office of examinations.
Med 20.04(3) (3) The board designates the council as its agent for conducting oral examinations. At the request of the council, the board shall provide a medical consultant to the council to provide assistance in evaluating applicants examined under sub. (4) (a) and (b).
Med 20.04(4) (4) An applicant may be required to complete an oral examination if the applicant:
Med 20.04(4)(a) (a) Has a medical condition which in any way impairs or limits the applicant's ability to practice respiratory care with reasonable skill and safety.
Med 20.04(4)(b) (b) Uses chemical substances so as to impair in any way the applicant's ability to practice respiratory care with reasonable skill and safety.
Med 20.04(4)(c) (c) Has been disciplined or had licensure denied by a licensing or regulatory authority in Wisconsin or another jurisdiction.
Med 20.04(4)(d) (d) Has been convicted of a crime the circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of respiratory care.
Med 20.04(4)(e) (e) Has not practiced respiratory care for more than 1,200 hours during the last 3 years.
Med 20.04(4)(f) (f) Has practiced over 1,200 hours in the last 3 years but practice was limited.
Med 20.04(4)(g) (g) Has been found negligent in the practice of respiratory care or has been a party in a lawsuit in which it was alleged that the applicant has been negligent in the practice of respiratory care.
Med 20.04(4)(h) (h) Has been diagnosed as suffering from pedophilia, exhibitionism or voyeurism.
Med 20.04(4)(i) (i) Has within the past 2 years engaged in the illegal use of controlled substances.
Med 20.04(4)(j) (j) Has been subject to adverse formal action during the course of respiratory care education, postgraduate training, hospital practice, or other respiratory care employment.
Med 20.04(4)(k) (k) Has been graduated from a respiratory care school not approved by the board.
Med 20.04(5) (5) All examinations shall be conducted in English.
Med 20.04(6) (6) Where both written and oral examinations are required, they shall be scored separately and the applicant shall achieve a passing grade on all examinations to qualify for a certificate.
Med 20.04(7) (7) An applicant who fails to receive a passing score on an examination may reapply by payment of the fee specified in s. 440.05, Stats. If an applicant fails an examination 3 times, the applicant may not retake that state board examination unless the applicant submits proof of having completed further professional training or education as the board may prescribe. An applicant for an oral examination may reapply twice at not less than 4 month intervals.
Med 20.04(8) (8) If after receipt of additional information from applicants who have been treated for alcohol or drug abuse or impairment or from applicants who have been treated for an acute or chronic psychological impairment the council decides that an oral examination shall be administered, the examination shall be limited to a determination whether at the time of application the applicant's disability appears to pose an actual risk to the health, safety or welfare of patient or public arising from the applicant's demonstrated inability to safely carry out necessary duties and responsibilities inherent to the practice of respiratory care.
Med 20.04 History History: Cr. Register, December, 1991, No. 432, eff. 1-1-92; am. (3), (4) (c) to (f) and (6), r. and recr. (4) (a) and (b), cr. (4) (h) to (k) and (8), Register, February, 1997, No. 494, eff. 3-1-97; correction in (7) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, December, 1999, No. 528.
Med 20.05 Med 20.05 Temporary certificates for graduate respiratory care practitioners.
Med 20.05(1) (1) An applicant for certification may apply to the board for a temporary certificate to practice respiratory care prior to certification if the applicant has submitted to the board the application and documents required under s. Med 20.03 and if the applicant:
Med 20.05(1)(a) (a) Submits a completed application form;
Med 20.05(1)(b) (b) Remits the fee specified in s. 440.05, Stats.;
Med 20.05(1)(c) (c) Is a graduate of an approved school as defined in s. Med 20.03 (1) (f) and is scheduled to take the CRTT examination for respiratory care practitioners or is awaiting the results;
Med 20.05(1)(d) (d) Has not previously failed the examination as required in s. Med 20.04 (1); and
Med 20.05(1)(e) (e) Has passed the state board statutes and rules examination; and
Med 20.05(1)(f) (f) Is not required to take an oral examination.
Med 20.05(2) (2) Practice during the period of a temporary certificate shall be in consultation, at least monthly, with a respiratory care practitioner or a physician who shall at least once a month endorse the activities of the person holding the temporary certificate.
Med 20.05(3) (3) A temporary certificate expires on the first day of the next regularly scheduled CRTT examination for permanent certification if the applicant is required to take but failed to apply for the examination. If the applicant is required to take, and applies for, the examination, a temporary certificate expires when the applicant is notified of having failed the examination required by s. Med 20.04 (1).
Med 20.05(4) (4) A temporary certificate may be issued for a period not to exceed one year and may not be renewed.
Med 20.05(5) (5) The application and required documents for regular certification and the application for temporary certification prior to regular certification will be reviewed by 2 members of the council to determine eligibility. The board, acting through the council, may issue a temporary certificate prior to regular certification as a respiratory care practitioner to an applicant who meets the requirements of sub. (1).
Med 20.05 History History: Cr. Register, December, 1991, No. 432, eff. 1-1-92; correction in (1) (b) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register, December, 1999, No. 528; CR 09-005: am. (title) Register August 2009 No. 644, eff. 9-1-09.
Med 20.055 Med 20.055 Temporary certificates for certified practitioners.
Med 20.055(1)(1) An applicant for certification who is certified to practice respiratory care in another state may apply to the board for a temporary certificate to practice respiratory care if the applicant submits all of the following:
Med 20.055(1)(a) (a) A completed application form.
Med 20.055(1)(b) (b) The fee specified in s. 440.05 (1) (a), Stats.
Med 20.055(1)(c) (c) Written verification that the applicant has passed the national board for respiratory care certified therapy technician examination.
Med 20.055(1)(d) (d) Evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant meets the requirements of s. 448.05 (5r), Stats.
Med 20.055(1)(e) (e) Evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant is certified to practice respiratory care in another state.
Med 20.055(2) (2) If an applicant for a temporary certificate has been subjected to professional discipline as a result of the applicant's practice of respiratory care in another state, the applicant shall submit to the board a description of the circumstances of the discipline and a copy of the disciplinary order.
Med 20.055(3) (3) The board may not issue a temporary certificate to an individual who has been previously issued a temporary certificate under this section.
Med 20.055(4) (4) A temporary certificate under this section may be issued for a period not to exceed 3 months and may not be renewed.
Med 20.055 Note Note: Application forms are available from the Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Professional Credential Processing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin, 53708, or from the department's website at http://dsps.wi.gov.
Med 20.055 History History: CR 09-005: cr. Register August 2009 No. 644, eff. 9-1-09.
Med 20.06 Med 20.06 Examination review by applicant.
Med 20.06(1) (1) An applicant who fails the oral or statutes and rules examination may request a review of that examination by filing a written request and required fee with the board within 30 days of the date on which examination results were mailed.
Med 20.06(2) (2) Examination reviews are by appointment only. 
Med 20.06(3) (3) An applicant may review the statutes and rules examination for not more than one hour. 
Med 20.06(4) (4) An applicant may review the oral examination for not more than 2 hours. 
Med 20.06(5) (5) The applicant may not be accompanied during the review by any person other than the proctor. 
Med 20.06(6) (6) At the beginning of the review, the applicant shall be provided with a copy of the questions, a copy of the applicant's answer sheet or oral tape and a copy of the master answer sheet. 
Med 20.06(7) (7) The applicant may review the examination in the presence of a proctor. The applicant shall be provided with a form on which to write comments, questions or claims of error regarding any item in the examination. Bound reference books shall be permitted. Applicants shall not remove any notes from the area. Notes shall be retained by the proctor and made available to the applicant for use at a hearing, if desired. The proctor shall not defend the examination nor attempt to refute claims of error during the review. 
Med 20.06(8) (8) An applicant may not review the examination more than once. 
Med 20.06 History History: Cr. Register, February, 1997, No. 494, eff. 3-1-97.
Med 20.07 Med 20.07 Board review of examination error claim.
Med 20.07(1)(1) An applicant claiming examination error shall file a written request for board review in the board office within 30 days of the date the examination was reviewed. The request shall include all of the following:
Med 20.07(1)(a) (a) The applicant's name and address.
Med 20.07(1)(b) (b) The type of license for which the applicant applied.
Med 20.07(1)(c) (c) A description of the mistakes the applicant believes were made in the examination content, procedures, or scoring, including the specific questions or procedures claimed to be in error.
Loading...
Loading...
The Wisconsin Administrative Code on this web site is updated on the 1st day of each month, current as of that date. See also Are the Codes on this Website Official?