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Clearinghouse Rule 08-089 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY, PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING 

AND SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY, 
MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY, : PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING AND 

PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING AND : SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD 
SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES 
      : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 08-   ) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
PROPOSED ORDER 

 
An order of the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work 

Examining Board to amend MPSW 3.09 (3) and 3.13 (3) (a); and to create MPSW 3.09 
(7), relating to practice hours and internship for social workers. 
 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

ANALYSIS 
 
Statutes interpreted: 

 
Sections 457.08 (4) and 457.09 (4) (b) 1., Stats. 

 
Statutory authority: 
 

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 457.03 (3). 
 

Explanation of agency authority: 
 
The Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work Examining 

Board has the authority under s. 457.03, Stats., to promulgate rules. 
 

Related statutes or rules: 
 
There are no other related statutes or rules other than those listed above. 

 
Plain language analysis: 

 
Among the requirements for becoming licensed in Wisconsin as a clinical social worker 
is the completion of at least 3,000 hours of supervised clinical practice, including 1,000 

hours of face-to-face client contact.  Currently, the social worker section cannot consider 
those hours that were accrued out-of-state, despite the fact that the applicant may have 
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met all of the other requirements for licensure.  As a result, the section is amending its 
rules to permit consideration of clinical social work practice hours accrued out-of-state 

under an appropriate supervisor.  It is also adding a provision to its rules for social 
worker training certificates to ensure that applicants have completed a human services 

internship under the auspices of an accredited college or university. 
 
One of the requirements for becoming licensed as a clinical social worker is the accrual 

of 3,000 hours of supervised practice.  The changes to s. MPSW 3.09 are intended to 
permit applicants who are interested in becoming licensed in Wisconsin as clinical social 

workers to use supervised clinical social work practice hours that were accrued in another 
state.  The existing rules do not allow the social worker section to consider clinical hours 
that were obtained out-of-state.  These changes are intended to remedy that situation and 

will likely result in more clinicians being eligible to practice in Wisconsin. 
 

The section is also modifying s. MPSW 3.13 (3) (a) to clarify that a human services 
internship used to meet one of the requirements for an entry-level social work credential 

be completed under the auspices of an accredited college or university. 
 
SECTION 1 provides for an exception to the requirement that applicants obtain their 

supervised clinical social work practice in another state.  It also amends the term “pre-
certification” to “pre-licensed.” 

 
SECTION 2  allows applicants who obtained their supervised clinical social work 
practice hours in another state to be given credit for those hours provided they are 

sufficiently clinical in nature and are completed under the direction of a supervisor 
acceptable to the social worker section. 

 
SECTION 3 requires that a human services internship be completed under the auspices of 
an accredited college or university. 

 
Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

 
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation for summary and comparison. 
 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 
 

Iowa: 
 
Iowa has two levels of master’s level social work licensure, the licensed master social 

worker (LMSW) and the licensed independent social worker (LISW).  The LISW is the 
highest- level of social work licensure and requires a master’s or doctoral degree in social 

work and 4,000 hours of supervised practice.  There does not appear to be any explicit 
requirement that a person hold the Iowa LMSW before accumulating the supervised 
practice experience.  (Wisconsin rules explicitly require applicants to achieve 

certification as an advanced practice social worker or independent social worker prior to 
accumulating supervised practice hours toward clinical social work licensure.)  Iowa’s 
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rules do require that before applying for the LISW, the “social worker” must have 
received a master’s or doctoral degree in social work and practiced at that level. 

 
As to the proposed changes to the internship requirements under the social worker 

training certificate, Iowa does not have a training certificate or equivalency process for 
converting a health services degree into a bachelor’s degree in social work. 
 

Iowa’s administrative rules for licensure of social work are found under chapter 280 of 
Iowa administrative rule. 

 
Illinois: 
 

Illinois has two levels of social work licensure, the licensed social worker and licensed 
clinical social worker.  The clinical license requires 3,000 hours of supervised practice 

before being eligible for clinical licensure.  There does not appear to be any explicit 
requirement that a person hold the social worker license before accumulating the 

supervised practice experience.  (Wisconsin rules explicitly require applicants to achieve 
certification as an advanced practice social worker or independent social worker prior to 
accumulating supervised practice hours toward clinical social work licensure.)  There are 

explicit provisions in Illinois administrative code which would allow applicants to count 
hours gained in other jurisdictions outside of Illinois towards clinical licensure. 

 
As to the proposed changes to the internship requirements under the social worker 
training certificate, Illinois does not have a training certificate or equivalency process for 

converting a health services degree into a bachelor’s degree in social work. 
 

Illinois’s administrative rules for licensure of social work are found under Title 68, Part 
1470. 
 

Michigan: 
 

Michigan has a master’s level social work license, aptly entitled Master’s Social Work 
License.  An applicant for the license must indicate the area of intended practice on the 
application, which includes a license designation of “macro” or “clinical.”  The macro 

designation, also known as an administrative designation, is similar to the Wisconsin 
independent social worker certification and denotes advanced generalist practice of social 

work.  The clinical designation is similar to the Wisconsin clinical social work license 
and denotes therapeutic clinical practice.  The clinical designation requires at least 4,000 
hours of supervised practice under the supervision of a Michigan- licensed master’s social 

worker or a person who holds the equivalent license, certificate, or registration from the 
state in which the experience was obtained.  To obtain the supervised practice experience 

required for licensure – for Michigan residents – the administrative rules appear to 
require that the applicant holds a limited master’s level social work license, however 
there are provisions, as noted above, which allow transference of hours from jurisdictions 

outside of Michigan so long as the supervisor held an equivalent credential to that of a 
Michigan licensed master’s level social worker. 



  Page 4 

 
As to the proposed changes to the internship requirements under the social worker 

training certificate, Michigan does not have a training certificate or equivalency process 
for converting a health services degree into a bachelor’s degree in social work. 

 
Michigan’s administrative rules for licensure of social work are found under sections R. 
338.2901 to R. 338.2910. 

 
Minnesota: 

 
Minnesota has three levels of master’s degreed social work licenses, the graduate social 
worker, independent social worker and the licensed independent clinical social worker, 

the latter license being the most similar to Wisconsin’s licensed clinical social worker.  
To qualify for the independent clinical social work license in Minnesota requires 4,000 

hours of supervised practice.  The rules require that Minnesota residents acquire the 
supervised practice under the graduate social worker or independent social worker 

license.  The rules also specify that that supervised practice must be acquired under a 
licensed independent clinical social worker, a “mental health professional” (under state 
regulatory rules of healthcare locations, a mental health professional includes a certified 

psychiatric nurse, clinical social worker, a psychologist, psychiatrist or marriage and 
family therapist) or an equivalent mental health professional who is credentialed by 

another state, territorial, provincial, or foreign licensing agency.  This appears to indicate 
that they could acquire supervised practice hours outside of Minnesota, but this is not 
explicitly indicated in statute. 

 
As to the proposed changes to the internship requirements under the social work training 

certificate, Minnesota does not have a training certificate or equivalency process for 
converting a health services degree into a bachelor’s degree in social work. 
 

Minnesota regulates social work under Minnesota statutes sections 148D.001 to 
149D.290. 

 
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies : 
 

Regarding changes to rules allowing acceptance of hours gained out of state:  The Social 
Worker Section has found that a small number of applicants for clinical social work 

licensure have recently located to Wisconsin and have applied to the Section with 
supervised practice gained out of state.  The Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional 
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board’s rules require that applicants for clinical 

social work licensure acquire supervised practice while holding a Wisconsin certification 
as an advanced practice social worker (APSW) or independent social worker (ISW) under 

an approved supervisor; consequently the Section has denied these applications for 
licensure on the grounds that they were not acquired under an appropriate credential.  The 
Section, in review of the supervised experience gained out of state, opines that as the 

credentialing authority, they should be able to review supervised experience gained out of 
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state, and if found adequate, the Section should be able to accept the applicant’s 
experience as sufficient for achieving clinical social work licensure. 

 
Regarding changes to rules specifying internship requirements for social work training 

certificate holders:  The rules specifying the requirements for converting a human 
services degree to a bachelor’s degree in social work degree require that a person 
complete an approved human services internship of 400 hours or one year of social work 

employment with at least 400 hours of face-to-face client experience.  Under existing 
social work programs, human services internships are structured and concentrated social 

work experiences designed to adequately educate and prepare students for the rigors of 
professional practice under guidance of an academic program and are not to be 
considered as abbreviated employment.  To compensate for the lack of academic 

structure and focus by the academic programs, the rules also allow for an applicant to 
submit one full year of full-time social work practice with at least 400 hours of face-to-

face client contact if they did not have the benefit of the internship.  In review of 
internships submitted by applicants for certification through degree equivalency, the 

Section has found instances of self structured internships which appear to be nothing 
more than volunteer social work experiences, essentially unpaid social work employment, 
submitted as a human services internship.  These internships are substantially shorter than 

the one year of social work experience, and in some cases substantially shorter than those 
human services internships provided by an academic program; furthermore, they lack 

benefit of oversight and guidance provided by an academic institution.  The Section has 
found that the current rules do not adequately define the social work internship, therefore 
preventing the section from denying the applications on the basis that their internship was 

not provided by an academic institution, and therefore did not adequately prepare the 
applicant for meeting the minimum competencies required for safe practice. 

 
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact report: 

 
Adjusting the rules for accepting supervised hours gained out of state should not impact 

small business.  The effect of the rule change, if effected, will allow a small number of 
applicants that the social worker section has identified as attempting to transfer their 
supervised practice gained out of state to qualify for clinical licensure rather than having 

to complete two additional years of supervised practice.  Based on application reviews, 
the section estimates this number to be less than five on an annual basis. 

 
The section anticipates that clarifying the rules regarding the required human services 
internship to include a requirement that the internship be provided by an academic 

program or internship to have negligible or no impact on small business.  Adjusting the 
internship requirement to require academic oversight may decrease human services 

employers (state certified clinics, community support programs, correctional institutions) 
access to free labor; however, the actual numbers of these applicants appear to be 
extremely low, and in recent experience the section estimates approximately ten or fewer 

applicants submit volunteer experiences as internships.  Additionally, increasing 
academic oversight should result in better preparation of social workers. 
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Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an economic impact report 

before submitting the proposed rule-making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  
The Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an “agency” in this 

section. 
 
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: 

 
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal effect on the private sector. 

 
Fiscal estimate: 
 

The department estimates that this rule will require staff time in the Office of Legal 
Counsel.  The total one-time salary and fringe costs are estimated at $16,477. 

 
Effect on small business: 

 
These proposed rules will have no significant economic impact on a substantial number 
of small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory 

Review Coordinator may be contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by 
calling (608) 266-8608. 

 
Agency contact person: 
 

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal 
Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, 

Wisconsin 53708-8935; telephone 608-266-0495; email pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us. 
 
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 
Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 
8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8935, or by email at pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  
Comments must be received on or before November 10, 2008 to be included in the record 

of rule-making proceedings. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

TEXT OF RULE 
 
 SECTION 1.  MPSW 3.09 (3) is amended to read: 

 
 MPSW 3.09 (3)  An Except as provided in sub. (7), an affidavit that the applicant, 

after receiving a master’s or doctoral degree and after receiving certification as an 
advanced practice social worker or an independent social worker, has completed at least 
3,000 hours of clinical social work practice in no less than 2 years, including at least 

1,000 hours of face-to-face client contact and including DSM diagnosis and treatment of 
individuals, under the supervision of a supervisor approved by the social worker section.  

mailto:larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us
mailto:pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us
mailto:pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us
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Pre-certification Pre-licensed supervised practice shall meet the criteria under s. MPSW 
4.01. 

 
 SECTION 2.  MPSW 3.09 (7) is created to read: 

 
 MPSW 3.09 (7)  An applicant who after receiving a master’s or doctoral degree in 
social work and completing any portion of their 3,000 hours of supervised clinical social 

work practice in another state will be given credit for those hours provided they included 
at least 1,000 hours of face-to-face-client contact, or a proportionate number thereof, and 

also included DSM diagnosis and treatment of individuals, completed under the 
supervision of a supervisor acceptable to the social worker section. 
 

 SECTION 3.  MPSW 3.13 (3) (a) is amended to read: 
 

 MPSW 3.13 (3) (a)  A human services internship of at least 400 hours that was 
part of the program leading to the degree the certificate holder specified to satisfy the 

requirement in s. 457.09 (1) (c) and (4m) (b), Stats., or completed while holding the 
training certificate, and involved direct practice with clients and that was supervised by a 
social worker certified under s. 457.08, Stats., and who has a bachelor’s or master’s 

degree in social work and provides direct, on-site supervision of the intern.  A human 
services internship shall be under the auspices of an accredited college or a university. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  
(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following 
publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), 

Stats. 
 
 

 
 

Dated:  ___________________ Agency  __________________________________ 
       Chairperson 
       Marriage and Family Therapy, 

       Professional Counseling and Social Work 
       Examining Board 

 
 
 

 
MPSW 3.09, 3.13 CR08-    (Practice hours, internship-SOC) Draft to CH 9-4-08 

 


