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Type of Estimate and Analysis 

 

 Original        Updated       Corrected 

Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number 

 

Ch. Trans 100 
 

Subject 
 

Amendment of Trans 100.2(11m), (12m), and (13m), relating to mandatory minimum liability limits for 
insurance policies under safety responsibility, damage judgment and mandatory insurance laws and repeal the 
current rule’s references to the indexing system. 
 

Fund Sources Affected Chapter 20 , Stats. Appropriations Affected 

 

 GPR    FED    PRO    PRS   SEG  SEG-S 

 

N/A 
 

Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule 

 No Fiscal Effect 

 Indeterminate  

 Increase Existing Revenues  

 Decrease Existing Revenues  

 Increase Costs 

 Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget 

 Decrease Costs 
 

The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply) 

 State’s Economy 

 Local Government Units  

 Specific Businesses/Sectors 

 Public Utility Rate Payers  
Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Be Greater Than $20 million? 
 

 Yes      No 
 

Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule 

 

The rule was changed from these limits to the current limits in 2010.  The statute has now changed the limits 
back to the original limits prior to 2010.  The purpose of this amendment is to conform the rule to the 
requirements of ch. 344, Stats., as amended by 2011 Wisconsin Act 14.  
 
Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local 

Governmental Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred) 
 

The Dept. anticipates that this regulatory change, which is compelled by statutory changes, will have a fiscal 
effect on private sector revenues and liabilities.  Revenues to insurance companies can be expected to fall if 
drivers purchase less liability coverage.  The liability of drivers who carry only the minimum required 
insurance can be expected to rise because the insurance coverage will be inadequate to cover damages.  When 
medical bills and collision repair bills exceed insurance coverage, the impact of these changes may be realized 
by providers of medical services and auto repair services. 
 

Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule 

 

The rule needs to be changed to reflect the changes to the statute. 
 
Long Range Implications of Implementing the Rule 
 

Implications should be minimal since previous law was only in place for one year.  
 
Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government  
 

There are no existing or proposed federal regulations on this issue. 
 



 
 

Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota) 

 

Illinois:  All motor vehicles operated in Illinois must be covered by liability insurance.  Vehicle owners 

are required to provide insurance information at the time of registration renewal.  Illinois requires drivers 
to carry bodily injury or death liability limits of $20,000 for single-person and $40,000 for multiple-
persons, as well as property damage liability limits of $15,000 and uninsured motorist coverage.  625 Ill. 

Comp. Stat. 5/7-203 (2011).  These limits do not appear to be adjusted by index.   
 

Iowa:  Iowa does not mandate that drivers or vehicle owners carry insurance.  A driver who causes 
personal injury or damage exceeding $1,000 to another party must prove his or her financial 
responsibility or be subject to license suspension.  Drivers can prove financial responsibility by showing 

that they were covered by automobile liability insurance at the time of the accident.  An insurance policy 
is not an effective proof of financial responsibility unless it meets the following minimum liability 

amounts:  $20,000 for bodily injury or death to one person, $40,000 for bodily injury or death to two or 
more persons, and $15,000 for property damage.  Iowa Code § 321A.5 subd. 3 (2011).  These limits do 
not appear to be adjusted by index. 

 
Michigan:  Owners of passenger vehicles, vans, and light trucks must purchase Michigan no-fault 

insurance before registering their vehicle.  Michigan Law requires the following minimum liability 
amounts by type:  “$20,000.00 because of bodily injury to or death of 1 person in any 1 accident and, 

subject to said limit for 1 person, $40,000.00 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in 
any 1 accident, and $10,000.00 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any 1 
accident.”   

 
Minnesota:  The Minnesota No-Fault Act, Minn. Stat. § 65B.48 (2010), requires owners of registered 

motor vehicles to maintain no-fault insurance.  Vehicle owners must be insured to the following 
minimum liability amounts by type: “not less than $30,000 because of bodily injury to one person in 
any one accident and, subject to said limit for one person, of not less than $60,000 because of injury to 

two or more persons in any one accident, and, if the accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of 
property, of not less than $10,000 because of such injury to or destruction of property of others in any 

one accident.”  Minn. Stat. § 69B.49 subd. 3(1) (2010).  These limits do not appear to be adjusted by 
index. 
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