
Clearinghouse Rule 12 - 035 
 

PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 

DIVISION OF BANKING 

TO ADOPT RULES 

 

The Department of Financial Institutions, Division of Banking proposes an order to repeal ss. 
75.02(1) and (2), and 75.10(6); amend ss. DFI—Bkg 75.01(3), 75.02(intro), 75.03(3) and (3)(c), 

75.05(4), 75.06(2), 75.07(a), 75.08(4) and (4)(b), and 75.10(3)(a)3.; repeal and recreate s. 
75.08(1); and create ss. 75.01(9), 75.03(5), (6) and (7), 75.06(5) and 75.08(d) relating to payday 
lending. 

 
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Financial Institutions,  

Division of Banking 

 

Statutes interpreted 

 
Section 138.14, Stats. 

 
Statutory authority and explanation of statutory authority 

 
The statutory authorities for the rule are the following: 
 

Section 138.14(8)(b), Stats., which states that “[t]he division may promulgate such rules as it 
considers necessary for the administration of this section, including rules establishing database 

transaction fees under sub. (14)(h) and other fees considered reasonable and necessary by the 
division,” and 
 

Section 138.14(14)(h), Stats., which states that “[t]he division shall, by order or rule, specify a 
database transaction fee of no more than $1 that the database provider shall charge to licensees to 

cover the costs of developing and implementing the database, and accessing the database to 
verify that a customer does not have any payday loans with the licensee or others that in 
combination with a new transaction will create a violation of this section.” 

 
Related statutes or rules 

 
Section 138.09, Stats. 
 

Plain language analysis 

 

As a result of the passage of 2011 Wisconsin Act 32, changes to the existing payday lending rule 
are necessary to address conflicts that may exist between the current law and the existing rule.  
For example, the existing rule references to the repayment plan identify the statutory citation as 

138.14(11g), whereas the statute now requires the repayment plan under 138.14(11g)(a), not 
138.14(11g).  Also, the existing rule excludes, in certain cases, transactions of 6 months or more 



from the definition of a payday loan, whereas the definition of "payday loan" now only includes 
transactions with terms of 90 days or less.   

 
A further objective is to provide clarity and direction for lenders making payday loans, as well as 

create clear guidance for the Department of Financial Institutions (“DFI”), which is charged with 
enforcing s. 138.14, Stats. 
 

Summary of and comparison with existing or proposed federal regulations 

 

DFI is aware that the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau intends to focus some of its 
resources on payday lending, but is unaware of any currently proposed regulation or rule. 
 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states 

 

An internet-based search of payday lending regulations for the states of Illinois, Iowa, Michigan 
and Minnesota found the following: 

 
All four states now regulate payday lending. 
 

Illinois has an extensive number of payday lending rules including rules covering topics such as: 
loan terms, a certified database method of verification and gross monthly income verification. 

 
Iowa has no applicable rules at this time. 
 

Michigan has a limited number of payday lending rules.  An internet search of rules for 
Michigan finds their rules focus on definitions in regards to a database. 

 
Minnesota has a limited number of rules regarding licensed regulated lenders, which may 
include payday lenders.  This state’s rules cover licensing an office; loan limitations as regards 

multiple offices; licensee responsibility as regards the acts of assignees; management, control 
and transfer of accounts; and time and date computations. 

 
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies 

 

In developing these rules, the department reviewed payday lending laws in states across the 
country.  The department is engaged in outreach with payday lenders and consumer 

organizations to gather input.  Because the department regulates licensed financial services for 
the state, the division could rely on extensive staff expertise and experience in drafting 
regulations for these entities.   

 
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business  

 
The division anticipates that any economic impact of implementing the rule would be minimal.  
The rule provides clarity to the payday lending industry with clear definitions and requirements 

which now must be made as the result of 2011 Wisconsin Act 32.  Overall, the requirements of 
this rule are straight-forward for ease in compliance.  



 
Effect on small business 

 
The proposed rule may require payday lenders to make minor changes to websites and/or forms.  

The agency’s experience in making similar changes to DFI’s website or forms indicates that the 
cost of making such changes is minimal. 
 

Agency contact person 

 

Lucas Vebber 
Executive Assistant 
Department of Financial Institutions 

201 W Washington Ave- 5th Fl 
Madison, WI 53708 

608-267-1718 
Lucas.Vebber@wisconsin.gov 

 

 

TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE 

 
 SECTION 1. DFI-Bkg 75.01(3) is amended to read: 

DFI-Bkg 75.01(3)  “Default” has the meaning given in s. 425.103(2), Stats., if the loan has not 
reached its maturity date or the customer does not enter into a repayment plan under s. 

138.14(11g)(a), Stats. 
 
SECTION 2. DFI-Bkg 75.01(9) is created to read: 

DFI-Bkg 75.01(9)    “Subsequent payday loan” or “subsequent loan,” except when used in s. 
138.14(9m), Stats., means any loan where its proceeds are used, in whole or in part, to repay a 

previous payday loan, and includes any loan made within 24 hours after the customer pays off a 
previous payday loan in full. 

 
SECTION 3. DFI-Bkg 75.02 (intro.) is amended to read:  

DFI-Bkg 75.02(intro) Transactions not covered.  Notwithstanding s. 138.14(1)(k), Stats., a 

payday loan does not include a transaction that is any of the following: made for a business, 
commercial or agricultural purpose. 

 
SECTION 4.  DFI-Bkg 75.02(1) and (2) are repealed. 
 

SECTION 5.  DFI-Bkg 75.03(3)(intro.) and (3)(c) are amended to read: 
75.03(3)  Except as provided in subs. (4) and (5), no licensee under s. 138.09 shall make a loan 

of $1,500 or less under any of the following circumstances: 
75.03(3)(c)  That has a term of less than 90 days or less. 

 

SECTION 6.  DFI-Bkg 75.03(5), (6) and (7) are created to read: 



DFI-Bkg 75.03 (5) Subsection (3) does not apply to title loans, as defined in s. 138.16(1)(c), 
Stats., made by a licensee under s. 138.09, Stats., who holds the certificate required under s. 

138.16(1m), Stats.   
DFI-Bkg 75.03(6) No licensee under s. 138.09, Stats., shall originate a loan subject to s. 

138.09, Stats., at the same time, or within the 24 hour period before or after, the licensee 
originates a payday loan with the same customer. 
DFI-Bkg 75.03 (7) No licensee under s. 138.09, Stats., shall originate a loan subject to s. 

138.09, Stats., at the same time, or within the 24 hour period before or after, a payday loan made 
by the licensee with the same customer is paid in full. 

 
SECTION 7.  DFI-Bkg 75.05(4) is amended to read: 

 DFI-Bkg 75.05(4)  If the customer has entered into a repayment plan under s. 138.14(11g)(a), 

Stats., default occurs when the customer fails to pay on or before the 10 th day after its scheduled 
due date all or any part of a scheduled installment, or 41 days after the original maturity date of 

the payday loan, whichever is later. 
 

SECTION 8.  DFI-Bkg 75.06(2) is amended to read: 
DFI-Bkg 75.06(2) Prior Except as provided in sub. (5), prior to making a payday loan, the 
licensee shall obtain from the customer a copy of any of the following to verify the gross 

monthly income of the customer: 
 

SECTION 9.  DFI-Bkg 75.06(5) is created to read: 
DFI-Bkg 75.06 (5)  If the licensee is using the customer’s consumer report as its method of 
income verification, the licensee shall, prior to making a payday loan, obtain the customer’s 

gross monthly income figure in writing from the customer and maintain such writing in the 
customer’s file.  

 
SECTION 10.  DFI-Bkg 75.07(1)(a) is amended to read: 

DFI-Bkg 75.07 (a)  Repayment plan:   If you fail to repay this payday loan in full upon its 

maturity date, and you have not been offered a repayment plan within the 12 month period prior 
to the maturity date of your loan, the lender must offer you the opportunity to repay the 

outstanding balance of the loan in 4 equal installments with due dates coinciding with your pay 
period schedule.  There is no cost to you for entering into the repayment plan, and the lender 
may not charge any interest on the outstanding balance while you are participating in the 

repayment plan.  Customer’s initials or signature: ________________________________. 
 

SECTION 11.  DFI-Bkg 75.08(1) is repealed and recreated to read: 
DFI-Bkg 75.08(1) REPAYMENT PLAN OFFER.  (a)  The offer of the repayment plan required 
by s. 138.14(11g)(a) Stats., shall be hand-delivered, mailed or e-mailed to the customer in a 

single written document that is in a form prescribed by the division, and except as set forth in 
sub. (b), delivered on or before the 10th day after the maturity date of the loan.   

(b) If a customer’s check has been presented, or electronic fund transfer authorization 
initiated, on or before the 10th day after the maturity date of the loan, but the lender has not yet 
been notified that the customer’s check or electronic fund transfer authorization has not cleared 

the customer’s financial institution, the lender shall make the offer when the notification is 
received.   



(c) The repayment plan offer form shall: 
1.   Be on white paper sized 8 ½ inches x 11 inches and in Times New Roman font style 12 or 

greater. 
2.  Identify the name, address, and telephone number of the licensee. 

3.  Identify the name, address, telephone number, and unique identification number of the 
customer. 
4.  Contain an explanation of the repayment plan being offered. 

5.  State the date the offer is made and the date by which the customer must accept the offer. 
(d) The licensee shall retain in the customer’s file a copy of the repayment plan form provided to 

the customer. 
(e)  If the offer is emailed to the customer, the lender’s compliance with. par. (c) 1. will be based 
on how the offer is displayed on the lender’s computer, and not based on how the offer is 

displayed on the customer’s computer.  

 

SECTION 12.  DFI-Bkg 75.08(4)(intro.) and (4)(b) are amended to read: 
DFI-Bkg 75.08(4) REQUIREMENTS OF REPAYMENT PLAN. The repayment plan under s. 

138.14(11g)(a), Stats., shall meet all of the following requirements: 
DFI-Bkg 75.08(4)(b)  The Except as provided in par. (d), the due date of the 4 equal 
installments shall coincide with the customer’s pay period schedule, as verified by the 

customer’s pay stub, payroll receipt, or receipt of government or retirement benefits, or other 
documentation that identifies the frequency of the pay cycle. 

 
SECTION 13.  DFI-Bkg 75.08(4)(d) is created to read: 

DFI-Bkg 75.08(4)(d)  If documentation to verify the customer’s pay period schedule is not 

available, the pay period schedule shall be considered to be once a month and the first payment 
shall be due one month following the date the offer is made. 

 
SECTION 14.  DFI-Bkg 75.10(3)(a)3. is amended to read: 

DFI-Bkg 75.10(3)(a)3. A customer elects to enter into a repayment plan under s. 138.14(11g)(a), 

Stats. 
 

SECTION 15.  DFI-Bkg 75.10(6) is repealed. 
 

SECTION 16.  This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 227.22(2), Stats. 
 

 
Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions 
Division of Banking 

 
Date: ____________ __, 201_        By:_____________________________ 

       Michael J. Mach, Administrator 
       Department of Financial Institutions 
       Division of Banking 


