
 

 

 

           

 

 

DATE: March 24, 2014 
 
TO:  The Honorable Mike Ellis 
  President, Wisconsin State Senate 

  Room 220 South, State Capitol 
  PO Box 7882 

  Madison, WI 53707-7882 
 

The Honorable Robin Vos 

Speaker, Wisconsin State Assembly 
Room 211, West, State Capitol 

PO Box 8952 
Madison, WI 53708-895 

 

FROM: Ben Brancel, Secretary 
  Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 
 

SUBJECT: Mobile Air Conditioners; Reclaiming and Recycling Refrigerant, 
ch. ATCP 136; Final Draft Rule (Clearinghouse Rule #13-107) 

 

Introduction 

 
The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (“DATCP”) is transmitting this 

rule for legislative committee review, as provided in ss. 227.19 (2) and (3), Stats.  DATCP will 
publish notice of this referral in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, as provided in s. 227.19 
(2), Stats.  This rule contains environmental protections related to allowable refrigerants and the 

handling, disposal, registration and training requirements for business operators and technicians. 
The proposed rule will eliminate the $120 annual registration fee for operators of mobile air 

conditioning businesses, harmonize training requirements with EPA to eliminate duplication, and 
remove outdated references to statutes that no longer exist. 

 
 

Background 

 
The existing ATCP 136 establishes requirements for buying, selling, reclaiming and recycling 

ozone depleting refrigerants.  The requirements are consistent with those under federal law.  The 
rule also requires businesses that install, repair or service mobile air conditioners to pay an 
annual registration fee and obtain an annual registration certificate from the department.  The 
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rule requires businesses to register their mobile air service technicians and technicians to 
successfully complete a department-approved training course or satisfy other training 

requirements.  

 

Prior to 2011, Wisconsin was the only state where the sale of small cans of substitute, non-ozone 
depleting refrigerant was prohibited.  In 2011, the Legislature modified s. 100.45, Stats., to allow 
the sale of these products.  One result of the law change was that the Wisconsin specific training 

became redundant with the EPA required training.  Mobile air conditioner repair businesses also 
report they have lost business to do it yourselfers who can now purchase supplies to make the 

repairs themselves. 
 
The proposed rule is identical to the emergency rule that was signed by the Secretary and will 

remain in effect until May 30, 2014. 
 

Rule Content 
 
This proposed rule does all of the following: 

 

 Eliminates the mobile air conditioner repair business $120 annual registration fee. 

Surcharge fees are maintained. 

 Modifies mobile air conditioner repair technician training requirements. 

 Removes references to obsolete Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) 
licensing requirements. 

 

DATCP proposes to eliminate the $120 annual registration fee and streamline the training 
requirements currently required under this rule. These modifications will harmonize DATCP’s 

rule with federal law and reduce overall regulatory burdens. The proposed rule also removes 
references to obsolete DSPS licensing requirements and makes other minor modifications needed 

to ensure uniformity between the statute and rule.  Surcharge fees for operating without a 
registration are required under s. 100.45(5m), Stats., and are not affected by this rule change. 

   

 

Analysis and Supporting Documents Used to Determine Effect on Small Business or in 

Preparation of the Economic Impact Analysis 

 

This rule will not have a significant fiscal impact on state government and DATCP will absorb 
any costs with current budget and staff because food processing plants are already regulated by 

DATCP.  This rule will have no fiscal effect on local governments or public utility rate payers.   
To determine the potential economic impact of the rule, the department posted the rule on the 
website and contacted appropriate organizations to solicit information and advice from 

businesses, business sectors, associations, local governmental units, and individuals that may be 
affected by the proposed rule.    
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Effect on Small Business  

 
This proposed rule eliminates registration fees and modifies training requirements. Businesses 

will benefit from the reduction in fee and training expenses. The rule would save approximately 
3,500 businesses a $120 annual registration fee for a total savings of about $420,000 each year.  
In addition, the 11,000 technicians who register annually with the department would be able to 

use their EPA approved training course to meet Wisconsin’s training requirements. This cost 
savings is indeterminate, but would save technicians and businesses both training registration 

fees and time away from their jobs.  This rule will not have a negative effect on small business. 

 
Small Business Regulatory Review Report 

 

The Small Business Regulatory Review Board did not issue a report on this rule.  

 
Public Hearings  

 

DATCP held one public hearing on the following date and location:  
 

January 21, 2014    Madison 
 
Following the public hearings, the hearing record remained open until January 24, 2014 for 

additional written comments.  No persons attended the public hearing or submitted comments on 
the proposed final draft rule.   

 

Changes from the Hearing Draft 

 

The rule was revised to make minor formatting changes required by the Legislative 
Clearinghouse in its report to the agency. 

 
Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies 

 

The DATCP Weights and Measures Bureau administers Wisconsin’s mobile air conditioning 
registration program.  In 2013, 3,500 operators of mobile air conditioning repair businesses 

registered with DATCP.  At a cost of $120 per registration, the cumulative cost for these 
businesses to register with the state was $420,000. In addition, the DATCP collected another 
$7,000 in statutorily required surcharge fees on late registrations. These businesses also 

registered and submitted Wisconsin required training credentials for 11,000 mobile air 
conditioning repair technicians.  

 


