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PROPOSED ORDER 
 
An order of the Massage Therapy and Bodywork Affiliated Credentialing Board to amend 

MTBT 7.02 (3), relating to continuing education. 
 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ ---- 

ANALYSIS 

Statutes interpreted: 

Section 460.10 (1) (a), Stats. 

Statutory authority: 

Sections 15.085 (5) (b) and 460.10 (1) (a), Stats. 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.085 (5) (b), Stats., provides that affiliated credentialing boards, such as the Massage 

Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Affiliated Credentialing Board, “shall promulgate rules for its 

own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains . . .” 

Section 460.10 (1) (a), Stats., provides the Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Affiliated 
Credentialing Board may promulgate rules establishing “[r]equirements and procedures for a 

license holder to complete continuing education programs or courses of study to qualify for 
renewal of his or her license.” 

Related statute or rule: 

None. 
 

Plain language analysis: 

Chapter MTBT 7 contains the continuing education requirements for renewal of a license in 
massage therapy or bodywork therapy. Section MTBT 7.02 (3) provides continuing education 

must be completed “within 2 calendar years immediately preceding the calendar year for which 
application for renewal is made.” This language is unclear, which has led to difficulty in 

complying with and administering the continuing education requirement. The proposed rules 
clarify the requirement by providing continuing education must be completed during the 2-year 
period immediately preceding the renewal date under s. 440.08 (2) (a) 46r., Stats. 

 
 



Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

None. 

 
Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

Illinois: 

Rules of the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) specify 
continuing education requirements for persons licensed to practice massage therapy in the state 

of Illinois (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1284.90). Twenty four hours of continuing education, including at 
least 2 hours of ethics, must be completed during the 24 months preceding the expiration date of 

a license (all massage therapy licenses expire on December 31 of each even-numbered year). 

Iowa:  

Rules of the Iowa Board of Massage Therapy specify continuing education requirements for 
persons licensed to practice massage therapy in the state of Iowa (645 IAC 133). A minimum of 

16 hours of continuing education must be completed each biennium. A biennium is a 2-year 
period beginning with the date the license was granted. 

Michigan: 

Rules of the Michigan Board of Massage specify continuing education requirements for persons 
licensed to practice massage therapy in the state of Michigan (Mich Admin Code, R 338.731 and 

R 338.733). An applicant for license renewal who has been licensed for the 3-year period 
immediately preceding the expiration date of the license shall accumulate not less than 18 hours 
of continuing education, including at least 1 hour in the area of pain and symptom management 

and 2 hours in the area of professional ethics or boundaries, during the 3 years immediately 
preceding the application for renewal. 

Minnesota: 

The Minnesota Department of Health’s Office of Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative 
Health Care Practice (OCAP) investigates complaints and takes enforcement actions against 

massage therapists for violations of prohibited conduct. However, neither OCAP nor any other 
statewide agency or board oversees the licensing of massage therapists. Licensing requirements, 
if any, for massage therapists are established by the county or city in which the massage therapist 

practices. 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

The proposed rules clarify the period in which continuing education must be completed. No 
additional factual data or analytical methodologies were used to develop the proposed rules. 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on economic 

impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local government units, and 
individuals. No comments were received. 
 

 



Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis document is attached. 

 
Effect on small business: 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 
227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email 
at Kirsten.Reader@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 

 
Agency contact person: 

Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 
Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8366, 
Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-4472; email at 

DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 
 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

Comments may be submitted to Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of 
Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington 

Avenue, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8935, or by email to 
DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be received at or before the public hearing 

to be held at 9:00 a.m. on December 6, 2017, to be included in the record of rule-making 
proceedings. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ ------- 

TEXT OF RULE 
 

SECTION  1. MTBT 7.02 (3) is amended to read: 
 
  MTBT 7.02 (3) Each licensee shall, at the time of making application for renewal, sign a 

statement on the application for renewal certifying that the licensee has completed 24 hours of 
acceptable continuing education, including 2 credits pertaining to ethics, within 2 calendar years 

immediately preceding the calendar year for which application for renewal is made during the 2-
year period immediately preceding the renewal date under s. 440.08 (2) (a) 46r., Stats. 
 

SECTION  2. EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day 
of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to s. 

227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

This Proposed Order of the Massage Therapy and Bodywork Affiliated Credentialing Board is 
approved for submission to the Governor and Legislature.  

 
 

Dated _________________  Agency __________________________________ 
       Chairperson 
            Massage Therapy and Bodywork 

               Affiliated Credentialing Board 


