CR 09-046

The Wisconsin Department of Commerce proposes an order to repeal Comm 2.31 (1) (b) note; to renumber Comm 5. 09 (8) (b) and (c); to amend Comm 2.31 Table 2.31-1 line 3., Comm 2.31 (1) (d) 6., Comm 2.35 (3) (a) 3., Comm 5.02 Table 5.02 lines 1. to 8., 13. to 15., 18. to 20., 29., 33., 34., 44., 50., and 68. to 70., and Comm 5. 08 (1) (f) 1.; and to create Comm 5.09 (8) (b), relating to program revenue fees, and affecting small businesses.

ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED RULES

1. Statutes Interpreted.

Sections 101.02 (1), 101.19 and 145.08, Stats.

2. Statutory Authority.

Sections 101.02 (1), 101.19 and 145.08, Stats.

3. Related Statute or Rule.

None

4. Explanation of Agency Authority.

Chapters 101 and 145, Stats., grant the department general authority for the purpose of protecting public health, safety and welfare by establishing standards and regulatory oversight programs for the construction and maintenance of buildings, structures and dwellings and their components. These programs are administered by the Safety and Buildings Division. Sections 101.19 and 145.08, Stats., grant the department authority to promulgate rules to fix and collect fees that reflect the cost of providing these programs.

5. Summary of Proposed Rules.

The proposed rules contain two substantive provisions that establish fees for credentials administered by the Safety and Buildings Division:

- A credential application fee for 22 credential categories in addition to the credential fee.
- The review of a previously completed credentialing exam.

6. Summary of, and Comparison with Existing or Proposed Federal Regulations.

An Internet-based search in the *Code of Federal Regulations and the Federal Register* did not identify any existing or proposed federal regulations that address these topics.

7. Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States.

Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota: An Internet based search did not identify any separate fee for processing credential applications or reviewing credential exams.

8. Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies.

Of the 82 types of credentials issued by the department, an application fee is part of the overall credential fee charge by the department for approximately 75 percent of the credentials. The application fee is charged for the initial application and for late credential renewals. Current application fees range from \$10 to \$35. The implementation of an application fee for the remaining 25 percent of the credentials creates equity across the board.

9. Effect on Small Business including an Analysis and Supporting Documents Used to Determine the Effect or in Preparation of Economic Impact Report.

The proposed fee to review a previous licensing exam affects individuals and not businesses directly.

Manufactured home dealer businesses would be the only business type credential affected by the implementation of the proposed \$15 credential application fee.

An economic impact report has not been required to be prepared.

10. Agency Contact.

James Quast, Program Manager, jim.quast@wisconsin.gov, (608) 266-9292

11. Public Hearing Comments.

The hearing record on this proposed rulemaking will remain open until August 7, 2009. Written comments on the proposed may be submitted to James Quast, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701-2689, or email at jim.quast@wisconsin.gov.

SECTION 1. Comm 2.31 Table 2.31-1 line 3. is amended to read:

Table 2.31–1 Plan Review Fees for Buildings Not Located in Municipalities That Perform Inspections (partial table)

| Area (Square Feet) | Fees | | | | |
|--------------------|----------------|---------------------------|----------------------------|----------------------------------|--|
| | Building Plans | HVAC Plans | Fire Alarm System Plans | Fire Suppression System Plans | |
| 3. 5,001-10,000 | 600 | 300 <u>350</u> | 150 | 150 | |

SECTION 2. Comm 2.31 (1) (b) note is repealed.

SECTION 3. Comm 2.31 (1) (d) 6. is amended to read:

Comm 2.31 (1) (d) 6. Any building component, other than building, HVAC and fire protection systems, submitted following the final inspection by a deputy of the department or, in the case of an agent municipality or county, the inspector having jurisdiction after installation.

SECTION 4. Comm 2.35 (3) (a) 3. is amended to read:

Comm 2.35 Rental unit energy efficiency program. (3) (a)

3. Over 8 rental units......\$250.00 plus \$25 for each additional rental unit over 8 rental units.

SECTION 5. Comm 5.02 Table 5.02 lines 1. to 8., 13. to 15., 18. to 20., 29., 33., 34., 44., 50., and 68. to 70. are amended read:

| r | | | | | T * |
|-----|---|---------------|-----------------------------|-------------|------------------------------|
| | License, Certification or Registration Category | Туре | Application Fee | Examination | License, Certification or |
| | | | | Fee | Registration Fee |
| | Subchapter II | | | | |
| 1. | Class 1 Blaster | License | none <u>\$15</u> | \$30 | \$100 |
| 2. | Class 2 Blaster | License | none <u>\$15</u> | \$30 | \$100 |
| 3. | Class 3 Blaster | License | none <u>\$15</u> | \$30 | \$100 |
| 4. | Class 4 Blaster | License | none <u>\$15</u> | \$30 | \$100 |
| 5. | Class 5 Blaster | License | none <u>\$15</u> | \$30 | \$100 |
| 6. | Class 6 Blaster | License | none <u>\$15</u> | \$30 | \$100 |
| 7. | Class 7 Blaster | License | none <u>\$15</u> | \$30 | \$100 |
| 8. | Fireworks Manufacturer | License | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$70 |
| | S ubchapter III | | | | |
| 13. | Manufactured Home Dealer - Main Business | License | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$200 |
| 14. | Manufactured Home Dealer - Branch | License | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$200 |
| 15. | Manufactured Home Salesperson | License | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$16 |
| 18. | Welder | Registration | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$35 |
| 19. | Weld Test Conductor - Physical | Certification | none <u>\$15</u> | \$20 | \$80 |
| 20. | Weld Test Conductor - Radiographic | Certification | none <u>\$15</u> | \$20 | \$80 |
| | S ubchapter V | | | | |
| 29. | Automatic Fire Sprinkler System Apprentice | Registration | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$15 |
| | S ubchapter VI | | | | |
| 33. | Boiler-Pressure Vessel Inspector | Certification | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$120 |
| 34. | In-Service Field Inspector | Certification | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$120 |
| 44. | Elevator Inspector | License | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$120 |
| | S ubchapter VII | | | | |
| 50. | Refrigerant Handling Technician | Certification | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$20 |
| | S ubchapter IX | | | | |
| 68. | Plumbing Apprentice | Registration | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$15 |
| 69. | Plumbing Learner-Restricted Appliance | Registration | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$15 |
| 70. | Plumbing Learner-Restricted Service | Registration | none <u>\$15</u> | NA | \$15 |

| Table | 5.02 | | | | |
|----------|--------|--|--|--|--|
| FEES | | | | | |
| (partial | table) | | | | |

SECTION 6. Comm 5.08 (1) (f) 1. is amended to read:

Comm 5.08 (1) (f) 1. The individual or organization which had obtained the course, program or seminar approval shall maintain an attendance record of those individuals who have attended and completed the course, program or seminar for at least 5 years from the date of the course, program or seminar.

SECTION 7. Comm 5.09 (8) (b) and (c) are renumbered 5.09 (8) (c) and (d).

SECTION 8. Comm 5.09 (8) (b) is created to read:

Comm 5.09 (8) (b) The request to review an examination relating to subchs. II to VII, but not including s. Comm 5.68, and subchs. IX and X shall be accompanied by a \$15 fee.

(END)

Pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats., these rules shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.