Filed December 9, 1966 9:00 and

A-V 2

ORDER OF THE BOARD OF VOCATIONAL, TECHNICAL AND ADULT EDUCATION

Pursuant to authority vested in the State Board of Vocational, Technical and Adult Education by section 41.21 and Chapter 227 Wisconsin Statutes, the Board hereby repeals and recreates Chapter A-V 2 as attached.

The rules and repeals contained therein shall take effect upon publication in the Administrative Code.

Dated:

State Board of Vocational, Technical and Adult Education

C. L. Greiber, State Director and Executive Officer.

CHAPTER A-V 2

STATE AID POLICIES

A-V 2.01 Policies for vocational and adult education classes

A-V 2.02 Conditions of state aid

A-V 2.03 Driver Education

A-V 2.01 <u>Policies for vocational and adult education classes</u>. (1) VOCATIONAL OBJECTIVE. The term "vocational objective" as stated in s. 41.21 (1) (b) 1, Wisconsin Statutes, means systematic, organized instruction for which a person enrolls with the purpose of preparing for employment or preparation for home and family living, improving for employment, or courses which will contribute to the development of civic and/or economic proficiency. This includes all courses of a vocational nature and civic and general education courses <u>which meet the conditions of state</u> <u>aid described below</u>, but does not include those courses or programs which qualify for state aid as state-wide full time post high school programs under s. 41.21 (1)(b)3.

(2) STUDENT PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE. An aidable period of attendance shall consist of at least 50 minutes of continuous instruction. Multiple periods shall be computed at the basic amount.

A-V 2.02 <u>Conditions of state aid</u>. (1) PAYMENT OF STATE AID. State aid will be paid only to schools conducting classes which have been <u>designated and approved</u> by the State Board.

(2) CRITERIA FOR APPROVAL. Each class, institute, workshop, project or service which is considered for state aid, shall be evaluated on the basis of the following criteria:

(a) <u>Teachers</u>. Classes must be taught by competent persons meeting certification requirements of the State Board of Vocational, Technical and Adult Education where applicable. When teachers are <u>not</u> governed by certification requirements <u>there must</u> <u>be on file in the state office</u> a record describing experience and training which indicates competence in the field of instruction.

(b) <u>Enrollment</u>. State aid will be reimbursed upon attendance of students in accordance with provisions of state law.

(c) <u>Course, outlines or plans</u>. Course outlines or plans must be on file and available for review in the local school. Classes which continue from year to year and meet all other requirements may have outlines approved on a five year basis. Classes must be offered for at least 6 periods subject to federal aid policy interpretation, and must carry titles or subtitles which appropriately describe the course.

(d) <u>Special considerations for state aid</u>. (a) Courses. Courses must have an educational objective. Courses which are: social or recreational, sports and games, activities for amusement and/or entertainment, project production or courses which have limited educational objectives are not eligible for state aid.

A-V 2.03 <u>Driver Education</u>. Behind-the-wheel instruction will be reimbursed at the rate of \$1.50 per hour, but not to exceed \$12.00 per student.

-2-



The State of Misconsin

STATE BOARD

C. L. GREIBER DIRECTOR

VOCATIONAL, TECHNICAL AND ADULT EDUCATION ROOM 720, 1 WEST WILSON STREET MADISON 53702

December 7, 1966

Mr. James J. Burke Revisor of Statutes State Capitol Madison, Wisconsin

Dear Mr. Burke:

I, Clarence L. Greiber, State Director and Executive Officer of Vocational, Technical and Adult Education, do hereby certify that the annexed copy of rules adopted on November 28, 1966 by the Board of Vocational, Technical and Adult Education, has been compared by me with the original order in my warranty and on file in the office of the Board of Vocational, Technical and Adult Education, and the same is a true copy thereof and the whole of the original of such order and that said order was duly passed and ordered.

The adoption of the above rules by the State Board of Vocational, Technical and Adult Education in effect repeals Chapter A-V 2 and recreates Chapter A-V 2.

Sincerely yours,

1. Theiter

State Director Vocational, Technical and Adult Education

C.L.Greiber ek