
INDUSTRY, LABOR AND HUMAN RELATIONS

Chapter Ind 69

FEE SCHEDULE

`	 -	 Ind 69.01 scope (p. 1) Ind 69.11 Petroleum products (p. 8)
Ind 69.02 Payment of fees (p. 1) Ind 69.12 Self-service stations (p, 8)
Ind 69.03 Boilers,	 pressure	 vessels and Ind 69.13 welder qualifications (p. 8)

Wisconsin special vessels (p. 1) Ind 69.14 Ski lifts and towing devices (p.
Ind 69.04 Mechanical	 refrigeration	 sys- 9)

tems (p. 3) Ind 69.15 Special inspections (p. 10)
Ind 69.05 Anhydrous ammonia systems Ind 69.16 Petitions for modification (p.

(p. 4) l0)
Ind 69.06 Elevators, power dumbwaiters, Ind 69.17 Certificates of competency and

escalators, moving walks and insurance company assessments
ramps, personnel hoists, lifts for (p. l0)
the	 physically	 disabled,	 and Ind 69.18 Mines, pits and quarries (p. 11)
tower elevators (p. 4) Ind 69.19 Blasters and explosives (p. it)

Ind 69.07 Amusement rides and devices Ind 69.20 Certification of uniform dwell-
(p. 6) ing code inspectors and inde-

Ind 69.08 Mobile homes (p. 5) pendent inspection agencies (p.
Ind 69.09 Buildings,	 structures,	 heating 12)

and ventilating (p. b) Ind 69.21 One-	 and	 2-Family dwellings
Ind 69.10 Storage tanks: Flammable and and manufactured dwellings (p.

combustible liquids,	 liquefied 12)
petroleum	 gas	 and	 liquefied

• natural gas (p. 8)

Nate: Chapter Ind 69 as it existed on June 30, 1977 was repealed and a new chapter Ind 69
was created effective July 1, 1977.

Ind 69.01 Scope. The fees fixed in this code shall be assessed and
collected by the department for inspections, plan examinations and ap-
provals, certifications, registrations, licenses, etc, as outlined in the fol-
lowing sections. The-fees shall apply to public buildings and structures;
places of employment and components thereof; mobile homes; systems
for the storage of anhydrous ammonia, flammable and combustible li-
quids, Iiquefied petroleum gas and liquefied natural gas; petroleum
products; and all other services and devices for which authority to fix
and collect fees is provided in the Wisconsin Statutes.

Note #it The word "department" referred to in this code means the department of indus-
try, labor and human relations.

Noto q2: In accordance with chapter 39, laws of 1975, which became effective July 31, 1975,
state and local governments are no longer exempted from the fees indicated in s. 101.19,
Stam

- History: Cr. Register, June, 1977, No. 258, eff. 7-1-77.

Ind 69.02 Payment of fees. All checks or money orders are to be made
payable to Wisconsin Department of Industry, Labor and Human Rela-
tions; mailing address: P. 0. Box 7946, [79691, Madison, Wisconsin
53707. All fees for building plan review and building inspection shall be
received by the department before the approval, inspection or other ser-
vice is provided by the department.

Historyt Cr. Register, June 1977, No. 268, eff. 7-1-77.

Ind 69.03 Boilers, pressure vessels and Wisconsin special vessels.
(1) BOILER INSPECTION FEES, Inspection fees for boilers will be deter-
mined in accordance with the following schedule:
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Internal	 External
Hating Surface	 Inspection	 Inspection

(a) Miniature boilers of 20 sq. ft.
of heating surface or less....... 	 $ 6.00	 $ 6.00

(b) Power boilers over 20 sq. ft.
and not exceeding 250 sq. ft.

-of heating surface ................... 	 20.00	 15.00
(c) Power boilers over 250 sq.

ft. and not exceeding 1,000
sq * ft. of heating surface........	 40.00	 25.00

(d) Power boilers over 1,000 sq.
ft. and not exceeding 10,000
sq. ft. of heating surface.,...... 	 60.00	 40.00

(e) Power boilers over 10,000 sq.
ft.	 .....	 125.00	 60.00

(f) Heating boilers without
manhole ................................... 	 35.00	 25.00

(g) Heating boilers with
manhole................................... 	 40.00	 25.00

(2) PRESSURE VESSEL FEES. Inspection fees for pressure vessels, oper-
ating at a pressure of 15 prig and greater, will be determined in accord-
ance with the following schedule:

	

Internal	 External
Volume in cubic feet 	 Inspection	 Inspection

(a) 1 thru 12 ..................................	 No fee	 No fee
(b) 13 thru 200 ..............................	 $20.00	 $15.00
(c) 201 thru 500 ............................ 	 35.00	 25.00
(d) Over 500 ...................................	 40.00	 30.00

(3) WISCONSIN SPECIAL VESSEL PLATY EXAMINATION AND APPROVALS.
Plans indicating the design, construction details, design computations
and specifications for special boilers or pressure vessels shall be submit-
ted for examination and approval. Plan examination and approval fees
will be determined in accordance with the following schedule:

Capacity in cubic feet 	 Cost per plan

(a) 1 thru 25...	 .......................................... 	 $20.00
(b) Over 25 thru 50 ............................................	 30.00
(c) Over 50 ..........................................................	 40.00

(4) REINSPECTION FEE. A fee of $18.00 shall be assessed for inspections
made by the department to gain compliance with the rules of Wis. Adm.
Code chapters Ind 41-42, Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, after orders
have been issued by the department.

(5) REGISTRATION FEB. The installing contractor of a new or second- 	 ^.
hand boiler or pressure vessel shall register the installation with the de-
partment before the installations are placed in operation. The registra-
tion fee is $5.00.

(6) ALTERATION AND REPAIR FEES. An owner reporting alteration or re-
pair to a
A	

boiler
dm. Code sectionInd 42.01s (2)^, shall

	
by fee	 of

	 provisions
 $6.00 with each

alteration or repair report.
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(b) An applicant who fails the scheduled examination need not sub-
mit an additional examination fee when the application for reexamina-
tion is filed within 12 months from the date of the previous examination.

(c) The annual renewal fee for certificates of competency is $15.00.

(2) INSURANCE COMPANY INSPECTION ASSESSMENTS. The department
may inspect any installation which is also inspected by a certified in-
spector employed by an insurance company or agency. When the depart-
ment inspection confirms that the insurance inspection report is incom-
plete, invalid or unacceptable for any reason, the department will assess
the insurance company or agency a fee in accordance with the schedules
in sections Ind 69.03 or Ind 69.06 (2) .

History. Cr. Reglater, June, 1977, No. 268, eff. 7-I-77.

Ind 69,18 Mines, pits and quarries, (1) NOTIFICATION. The owner or
operator shall submit with the fee the name of the mine, pit or quarry;
the name of the owner and operator; the company name; the mailing
address; the type of product to be mined (ore, stone, clay, lime or aggre-
gate); and the estimated date to start operations.

(2) ANNUAL SAFETY INSPECTION SERvicE. The annual safety inspection
service fee for each metal or nonmetal mine, pit or quarry shall be based
on the size of the respective operation for the previous calendar year.

Annual Safety
Annual production	 Inspection	 Fee

(a) 0 - 50,000 tons per year .............................................. 	 $ 50.00
(b) 50,001 - 100,000 tons per year ................................... 	 100.00
(c) 100,001 - 200,000 tons per year .................................	 200,00
(d) 200,001 - 300,000 tons per year .................................	 300.00
(e) 300,001 - 400,000 tons per year ................................. 	 400.00
(f) 400,001 - 500,000 tons per year .................................	 500.00
(g) Over 500,000 tons per year ........................................ 	 750.00

Note #1: This fee includes safety inspections for explosives stored at mines, pits or
quarries.

Note ill , This fee does not apply to mines, pits or quarries which are not in operation.

History: Cr. Register, April, 1978, No. 268, eff. 6-1-78.

Ind 69.19 Blasters and explosives, (1) BLASTERS. Persons eligible to
be examined to receive a blaster's certificate shall submit, with the
proper application form, fees in accordance with the following schedule:

(a) Blaster's examination ................................................ 	 $10.00
(b) Blaster's certificate..................................................... 	 20.00
(c) Renewal fee for a blaster's certificate, ..................... 	 20.00

(2) INSPECTIONS OF EXPLOSIVES: (a) Use of explosives. Fees for
conducting a safety inspection of the use of explosives will be assessed at
$25.00 per inspection. Use of explosives shall include the storage of daily
supplies.
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(b) Permanent storage. Fees for conducting a safety inspection of a
permanent explosive storage facility will be assessed at $50.00 per
inspection.

Note: This inspection fee is intended for blasters and explosive contractors working
independently of mine, pit or quarry operations.

History: Cr. Register, April, 1878, No. 268, eff. 6-1.78.

Ind 69.20 Certification of uniform dwelling code inspectors and
independent inspection agencies. All applicants for certification as a
certified inspector or independent inspection agency shall submit, with
the application form, fees in accordance with the following:

(1) CERTIFIED INSPECTORS. Persons applying for initial certification or
recertification as a certified inspector shall submit fees for each category
in which they plan to conduct inspections in accordance with the
following schedule:

Firstcategory ..................................................................... 	 $20.00
Secondcategory .................................................................	 $5.00
Thirdcategory ...................................................................	 $5.00
Fourthcategory ................................................................. 	 $5.00

(a) Examinations for certification. Upon determination of eligibility
for the examination for certification, fees shall be assessed and collected
in accordance with the following schedule:

1. Initial examination ............................................. 	 $5.00 per
examination

2, Examination retakes or renewal by	 $5.00 per
examination .............................................................. 	 examination

(b) Educational and training seminars. Fees will be assessed on a per
seminar basis for educational and training programs sponsored by the
department.

(2) INDEPENDENT INSPECTION AGENCIES. Fees for the initial
certification or recertification of independent inspection agencies shall
be assessed annually at the cost of $100.

History: Cr. Register, December, 1978, No. 276, eff. 1-1-79.

Ind 69.21 One- and two-family dwellings and manufactured
dwellings, (1) UNIFORM BUILDING PERMIT. A fee of $5.00 shall be
remitted to the issuing authority at the time of application for a
Wisconsin uniform building permit. A fee of $2.00 shall be assessed at
the time of application for any permits issued separately from the initial
permit. Municipalities administering the Uniform Dwelling Code shall
submit these fees to the department on a monthly basis.

Note #1: Permits may be obtained individually or on one form in the categories of
construction; heating, ventilating and air conditioning; electrical; and plumbing.

Note #2: An additional fee for plan review may be assessed at the time of application for
renewal of the permit.

(2) PERMIT TO START CONSTRUCTION. Where the department
administers and enforces the Uniform Dwelling Code, a fee of $25.00
shall be remitted at the time of application for a permit to start
construction of footings and foundation.
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(3) DEPARTMENTAL PLAN REVIEW. The following fees for plats review
shall apply where the department administers and enforces the Uniform
Dwelling Code:

(a) Where employes of the department review plans for dwellings, the
fees shall be assessed as follows:

1. New dwellings ............... ...................................................... $35.00
2. Alterations and additions .................................................. $20.00

(b) Where an independent inspection agency under contract to the
department reviews plans, the fees shall defray the actual cost of the
service.

(4) DEPARTMENTAL INSPECTIONS. The following fees for on-site
inspections shall apply where the department administers and enforces
the Uniform Dwelling Code:

(a) Where employes of the department perform on-site inspections, .
the fees shall be assessed at $35.00 for each required or requested
inspection.

(b) Where an independent inspection agency under contract to the
department performs inspections, the fees shall defray the actual cost of
the service.

(5) WISCONSIN INSIGNIA. Fees for Wisconsin insignias for
manufactured dwellings shall be assessed as follows:

(a) Single-unit dwelling ............................................................. $10.00
per unit

(b) Multi-unit dwelling ............................................................. $ 5.00
per unit

Note: Pees for the Wisconsin insignia include departmental plan review of manufactured
dwellings and monitoring of third party Inspections.

(6) APPROVAL NUMBERS. A fee of $200.00 per number shall be assessed
Where approval numbers are issued by the department for the approval
of materials, equipment and devices.

(7) APPLICATION FOR VARIANCE. The department may grant individual
variance to a specific rule upon receipt of a fee of $25.00 and a completed
application for variance form.

History. Cr, Register, October, 1978, No. 286, off. I1-1-79.
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