PECEVED

CERTIFICATE

Revisor of Statutes
Bureau

STATE OF WISCONSIN)
COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD)

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME, GREETINGS:

I, Wilma Morris, director of the Bureau of Business Professions in the Department of Regulation and Licensing, and custodian of the officials records of the Cosmetology Examining Board, do hereby certify that the annexed rules, relating to salon standards, supervision, qualified designees and enrollment and record requirements for cosmetology schools, were duly approved and adopted by the board on January 27, 1986.

I further certify that this copy has been compared by me with the original on file in this department and that the same is a true copy thereof, and of the whole of the original.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed the official seal of the board at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin, this day of February, A.D. 1986.

Wilma Morris, Director

Bureau of Business Professions

Department of Regulation and Licensing

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD :

ORDER OF THE COSPECTION, EXAMINING BOARD REPEALING, AMENDING OR ADOPTING RULES

AN ORDER to amend C 1.01(9), 1.02(16)(b), and 2.04(1) and (2), relating to salon standards, supervision, qualified designees and enrollment and record requirements for cosmetology schools.

Analysis prepared by the department of regulation and licensing.

ANALYSIS

In this order:

- Section C 1.01(9) is amended to further define the term "qualified designee" to mean a beauty operator who supervises apprentice training in the absence of the manager of record. The proposed rule interprets ss. 458.01(4) and 458.12(2), Stats., relating to the definition of "manager" and apprenticeship training.
- 2. Section C 1.02(16)(b) is amended to specify the manner by which combs and brushes must be cleaned and stored to maintain adequate sanitation standards. The rule interprets s. 458.09(3), Stats., relating to standards pertaining to the maintenance of beauty salons.
- Subs. (1) and (2) of s. C 2.04 are amended to make technical changes in accordance with requirements in ch. 227, Stats., and to specify in sub. (1) that applications for student permits must be on file in the Cosmetology Board office at least 10 days prior to the beginning attendance date in cosmetology schools, who may enroll students on the third Monday of each month. Sub. (2) is amended to require schools to also maintain records on student grade and quota reports and to provide copies of all of student's records to each student and the board upon a student's graduation or termination from a school program. The proposed rule interprets s. 458.02, Stats., relating to schools teaching cosmetology; curriculum; requirements; and, regulation.

ORDER

Pursuant to authority vested in the Cosmetology Examining Board in ss. 15.08(5)(b), 227.014(2)(a), 458.01(4), 458.02, 458.09(3) and 458.12(2), Stats., the Cosmetology Examining Board hereby amends and adopts rules, interpreting ss. 458.02, 458.03, 458.09(3) and 458.12(2), Stats., as follows:

SECTION 1. C 1.01(9) is amended to read:

C 1.01(9) "Qualified designee" means a beauty an operator who has submitted proof of having practiced cosmetology 4,000 hours in a period of

at least 2 years in this state and has been approved by the board to supervise apprentice training in the absence of the manager of record or to be a temporary replacement for the manager of record.

SECTION 2. C 1.02(16)(b) is amended to read:

C 1.02(16)(b) Combs and brushes must shall be thoroughly scrubbed with soapy water, disinfected, dried and placed in one or more covered containers. One or more separate containers shall be provided for the immediate storage of soiled combs and brushes until cleaned and disinfected.

SECTION 3. C 2.04(1) and (2) are amended to read:

- C 2.04(1) In all schools other than those operating on a semester system, the students may be enrolled and begin attendance at the school on the third Monday of each month. In schools operating on a semester system, the beginning attendance date shall be established on a date consistent with the opening of other classes in the schools and consistent with meeting the course requirements. All application blanks applications for student permits shall be completed and on file with in the board office located at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin, no later than 10 days prior to the beginning attendance date. A student permit will may not be issued until the board has received proof of qualifications as provided in s. 458.02(8), Stats. Students shall may not begin training until such student a permit has been issued. Permit The permit fee and original documents submitted will shall be returned and all other documents disposed of if a student permit is not issued.
- (2) A complete record of the date a student enters school, daily attendance and attendance at classes and a student's grades and quota reports shall be maintained. This report must shall be signed by the a school representative and the student. A copy Copies of this report to to shall be provided to the student and the board upon the student's graduation or termination from the school program.

The rules amended and adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 227.026, Stats.

Dated this 3d day of February, 1986.

Claudia Berry Miran, Chair

Cosmetology Examining Board

FISCAL ESTIMATE

There is no statewide or local fiscal estimate.

FINAL REGULATORY FLEXIBILITY ANALYSIS

The rules proposed have no significant economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.016(1)(a), Stats.

WM:rjt ADMRUL-B 1/29/86