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ORDER OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
REPEALING, RENUMBERING, AMENDING AND CREATING RULES

To repeal HSS 55,61(1)(c); to renumber HSS 55.58(5); to amend
55,73(6)(b), 55.74(1), (2)(b) and (e)5 and 7, 55.76(4) (intro.) and (g) and
55.77(2)(a); to repeal and recreate HSS 55.56, 55.61(1l)(a) and (b), (2)(1),
(4), (5) and (8), and 55.76(4)(h) and (5); and to create HSS 55.58(5), 55.605,
55.73(6)(c) and (7), 55.74(2)(j) and (k) and 55.76(3)(g) and (4)(i), relating
to county certification of day care providers and day care program
administration and funding.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and Social Services

The Department’s rules for certification of day care providers who are
not required to be licensed and for administration of day care programs are
set forth in ch, HSS 55 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code. This order
makes several changes in those rules. The major change to certification
provisions is the addition of mandatory and optional procedures for counties
to follow in monitoring family and in-home day care provider compliance with
certification standards. Current rules do not include procedures for
monitoring compliance. Other changes to day care provider certification
-provisions are as follows:

1. Physical examination requirements for certified providers are
eliminated, and a provision is added prohibiting individuals with symptoms of
communicable disease or whose behavior or mental or physical condition gives
reasonable concern for the safety of children from contact with children;

2. The initial training requirement for a certified day care provider
is increased from 10 to 15 hours to be completed within 6 months after
provisional certification, with the county agency permitted to require an
additional 5 hours within that period and, following regular certification, up
to 5 hours of annual continuing education;

3. Group size requirements are modified to clarify their relationship
to family day care center licensing rules; and

4, The transportation rules are revised to require use of seat belts
or child safety restraints by all children who are transported.

This order also modifies the ch. HSS 55 provisions on day care funding
and administration to reflect the amendment of s. 46,98, Stats., by 1987
Wisconsin Act 27 and 1989 Wisconsin Act 31. The statutory changes require
that, if a county does not have sufficient day care funds for all eligible
parents, priority is to be given to parents in accordance with s. 46.98(4)(a)
and (c), Stats., with first priority being given a parent in need of child
care services to prevent or remedy child abuse or neglect, alleviate stress in
the family or preserve the family unit,



Counties are required by these rule changes to establish day care
waiting lists for eligible parents for whom there is not sufficient funding,
procedures are specified for the use of waiting lists, counties are permitted
to set special rates for children with special needs, parents recelving
treatment for drug and alcohol abuse are clearly made eligible for funding,
certain foster parents are placed into the category of parents with crisis or
respite needs and counties are permitted to require full utilization of
available student grants and loans as a condition of eligibility for day care
funds. Maximum reimbursement rates set in contracts are to follow rules for
setting rates based on market surveys. Counties are required to set maximum
reimbursement rates for part-time, short-term and sporadic care, and are
allowed to waive parent payments for working parents who are recipients of Aid
to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC). Counties are allowed to reimburse
providers for absences exceeding 20% of the authorized monthly units of
service when the child in care is under 2 years of age, and to pay for day
care services for up to one month for an individual waiting to enter or
continue an education or training program,

The Department’s authority to repeal, renumber, amend and create these
rules is found in ss. 46.03(21) and 46.98(5)(e), Stats. The rules interpret
ss. 46,98 and 48.651, Stats.

SECTION 1. HSS 55.56 is repealed and recreated to read:

HSS 55.56 DEFINITIONS. In this subchapter:

(1) "Certified day care” means day care not required to be licensed
under s. 48.65, Stats., as a day care center and which meets the standards
under s, HSS 55.61 for purchase of care by county agencies.

(2) "Certified day care operator" means an individual, corporation,
partnership or non-incorporated association or cooperative which has legal and
financial responsibility for the operation of a day care program and for
meeting the certification requirements under this subchapter,

(3) "County agency" means a county department of social services
established under s. 46,215 or 46.22, Stats,, or a county department of human
services established under s. 46.23, Stats.

(4) “"Department" means the Wisconsin department of health and social
services.

(5) "Family day care center" means a day care center licensed under
ch. HSS 45.

(6) "Family day care provider" means a person providing care for pre-
school or school-age children, or both, outside their homes for less than 24
hours a day and who is not required to be licensed under s. 48.65, Stats.,
because the provider is caring for fewer than 4 children under 7 years old who

are not related to the provider.



(7) "Group day care center" means a day care center licensed under
s. 48.65, Stats., and subchs, I and III [ch. HSS 46].

(8) "HealthCheck provider" means a provider of health assessment and
evaluation services eligible to be certified under s. HSS 105.37(1)(a),
including an outpatient hospital facility, health maintenance organization,
visiting nurse association, clinic operated under a physician’s supervision,
local public health agency, home health agency, rural health clinic, Indian
health agency, and neighborhood health center,

(9) "Infant" means a child under one year of age,

(10) "In-home provider" means a person caring for a child in the
child’s own home,

(11) "Licensed physician™ means a physician licensed under ch. 448,
Stats.

(12) "Parent" means a parent as defined in s. 48.02(13), Stats., or a
guardian as defined in s. 48.02(8), Stats.

(13) "Parochial or other private school-operated day care program"
means a program providing care and supervision for less than 24 hours a day
for 4 or more children under the age of 7 and which is exempt under
s. 48.65(2)(b), Stats., from being licensed as a day care center.

(14) T"Physician’s assistant" means a health care professional certified
under s. 448.04(1)(f), Stats,, and Med. 8.

(15) "Provider" means a person who provides day care for children.

(16) "Publicly funded parent" means a parent whose day care expenses
are subsidized directly with state or federal funds.

(17) "Registered nurse" means a nurse licensed as a registered nurse
under ch. 441, Stats.

(18) "Related to the provider" means the provider'’s natural or adopted
children, foster children, stepchildren, grandchildren, brothers, sisters,
nephews, nieces, uncles and aunts.

(19) "School-age day care program" means a program providing care and
supervision for less than 24 hours a day for 7 or more school-age children who
are at least 7 years of age but less than 12 years of age and which is exempt
from being licensed as a day care center under s, 48.65(1), Stats.



SECTION 2. HSS 55.58(5) is renumbered HSS 55.58(6).
SECTION 3. HSS 55.58(5) is created to read:

HSS 55.58(5) COMPLIANCE. (a) Qualifications of providers. County

agencies shall maintain records demonstrating provider compliance with s. HSS
55.61(1).

(b) The home in family day care and in-home day care.

1. General. County agencies shall help assure provider compliance
with s, HSS 55.61(2) to (11) in accordance with this paragraph.

2, Required procedures. A county agency shall:

a. Require receipt of a signed application from the provider agreeing
to .follow day care certification standards;

b. Provide a checklist of basic day care certification standards and
procedures for filing a complaint to all parents who are using certified
family day care or in-home care and who are publicly funded parents;

c. Require publicly funded parents to complete and return the
checklist to county personnel upon initial enrollment of their child with a

certified day care provider;

d. Provide orientation for applicants for certification to explain
how the certification system works; and

e. Conduct a pre-certification inspection or conduct an inspection
within 30 days following provisional certification of any provider funded by
the county agency to provide day care.

3. Optional procedures. A county agency may:

a. Conduct on-site inspections prior to or after certification to
monitor compliance with certification standards;

b. Conduct on-site inspections of a random sample of certified
providers;
c. Make certification available to all family day care providers,

whether or not public funding is involved; and

d. Request that all parents who are using a certified home complete
and return the checklist provided under subd. 2b,

4. Exceptions. The department may grant an exception to the required
procedure under subd. 2.e. if the department determines that alternative
procedures meet the intent of the requirement.



SECTION 4., HSS 55.605 is created to read:

HSS 55.605 COMPIAINTS. Within 10 working days after a county agency
receives a complaint by telephone, letter or personal contact about a
certified day care provider, the county agency shall investigate that

complaint,

SECTION 5. HSS 55.61(1)(a) and (b) are repealed and recreated to read:

HSS 55.61(1) QUALIFICATIONS OF PROVIDERS. (a) Ability, age and health.
1. A provider shall be physically and emotionally able to provide responsible

child care and shall be at least 18 years of age.

2. A provider, household member, volunteer, visitor or parent who has
symptoms of illness or of a communicable disease reportable under ch, HSS 145
that may be transmitted through normal contact, or whose behavior or mental or
physical condition gives reasonable concern for the safety of the children,
may not be in contact with the children in care.

(b) Training. 1. A certified provider shall have completed at least 15
hours of county agency-approved child care training within 6 months after
provisional certification, prior to regular certification,.

2, A county agency may require up to 5 additional hours of county
agency-approved child care training within 6 months after provisional
certification, prior to regular certification,

3. A county agency méy require up to 5 hours of annual continuing
education by a certified provider each year following regular certification.

SECTION 6. HSS 55.61(1)(c) 1is repealed.

SECTION 7. HSS 56.61(2)(L), (4), (5) and (8) are repealed and
recreated to read:

HSS 55.61(2)(L) When a public water supply is not available, the well
water shall be tested and found to be bacteriologically safe by a laboratory
certified under ch. HSS 165 at least every 2 years,

(4) CHILD HEALTH CARE. (a) Except as provided under pars. (c) and
(d), the provider shall have a current report of a physical examination on
file for each child, including each provider’s child in care, as follows:

1. For a child under 2 years of age, a report of a physical
examination conducted not more than 6 months prior to nor later than 3 months
after the child is admitted, and a follow-up health examination at least once
every 6 months after admission; and

2. For a child 2 years of age or older, a report of a physical
examination conducted not more than 2 years prior to nor later than 3 months
after the child is admitted.



(b) The physical examination report shall be signed and dated by a
licensed physician, a physician’s assistant or a HealthCheck provider.

(e) The requirement under par. (a) does not apply to a provider who
requests from the county agency in writing an exemption for a child based upon
adherence by the child's parent to religious belief in exclusive use of prayer
or spiritual means for healing.

(d) The requirement under par. (a) does not apply to school-age
children. In this paragraph, "school-age children" means children 5 years of
age or older who are enrolled in kindergarten or a higher grade in a public or

private school.

(e) The provider shall have on file a written record verifying that
each child in care has been immunized in accordance with s, 140.05(16),
Stats.,, and ch. HSS 144,

(£f) The provider may administer medication to a child only in
accordance with written and signed permission from the child’s parent.

(5) MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN. (a) A certified provider may take
care of no more than 3 children under the age of 7 who are not related to the

provider.

(b) A certified provider may take care of no more than 6 children,
including children related to the provider, except that:

1. If 3 of the children present are under the age of 2, the total
number of children may not exceed 5; or

2. If 4 of the children present are under the age of 2, the total
number of children may not exceed 4.

(¢) A provider's natural, adopted or foster children 7 years of age or
older are not counted in determining the maximum number of children allowed

under par. (b).

(d) The maximum number of children that one provider may care for is
shown in Tables 55.61(5) A and B.



TABLE 55.61(5)
MAXIMUM NUMBER OF CHILDREN IN CERTIFIED DAY CARE
A. WHEN ALL CHILDREN ARE 2 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER

Related Children Additional Additional Maximum Number
Under 7 years Children Under Children of Children¥*
of Age 7 years of age Ages 7 to 11

0 3 Additional children 6

1 3 ages 7 to 11 may be 6

2 3 cared for as long as 6

3 3 the maximum total number 6

4 2 of children is not exceeded 6

5 1 6

6 0 6

*The maximum number does not include the provider's natural, adopted or foster
children 7 years of age and older,

B. WHEN CHILDREN UNDER THE
AGE OF 2 YEARS ARE PRESENT

Number of Children Under Maximum Number of Childrenw*
2 Years of Age

PULWNRO
S 0o oy o

*The maximum number does not include the provider's natural, adopted or foster
children 7 years of age and older.

Note: Under s. 48.65(1l), Stats., if a provider takes care of 4 or more
children under the age of 7 who are not related to the provider, for
compensation, the provider must obtain from the department a license to
operate a day care center,.

(8) TRANSPORTATION. When transporting children the provider shall
ensure that: ,

(a) The driver of the vehicle holds a valid operator'’s license;
(b) The vehicle is registered in Wisconsin; and

(c) Each child is seated and properly restrained in a seat belt or, for
a child under 2 years of age, a child safety restraint system, in compliance
-with s. 347.48(2m) and (4), Stats.



SECTION 8., HSS 55.73(6)(b) is amended to read:

HSS 55.73(6)(b) The county agency shall reimburse the day care provider
for services authorized and provided, whether under contract with the county
agency or through vouchers, and shall pay for absences up to 20% of the
authorized monthly units of service. Counties may reimburse providers for
absences exceeding 20% of the authorized monthly units of service only when
the day care is for parents with crisis or respite needs, or the child in care

is under the age of 2.
SECTION 9. HSS 55.73(6)(c) and (7) are created to read:

HSS 55.73(6)(c) The county agency may provide day care services for an
individual who is waiting to enter or continue an approved education or

training program or employment:
1. For a period not to exceed 2 weeks; or

2. For a period not to exceed one month where day care arrangements
would otherwise be lost and the work or training activity is scheduled to
begin within that period.

(7) WAITING LIST. (a) If funding is not sufficient to meet the needs of
all eligible parents, a county agency shall establish a waiting list for
services for parents who cannot be accommodated by available funding. The
waiting list shall include a parent’s name, address and phone number, and the

date of the parent’s application.

(b) The county agency shall place a parent’s name on the waiting list
when an application is received by phone or in writing and the parent’s
eligibility appears likely. Documentation of eligibility is not required
before placing a name on the waiting list.

(c) The county agency shall submit information to the department every
6 months on the number of parents on the waiting list, by category of
eligibility under s. HSS 55.76.

SECTION 10. HSS 55.74(1l) and (2)(b) and (e)5 and 7 are amended to read:

(1) DAY CARE PURCHASED BY CONTRACT. If a county agency contracts
directly with a day care provider, the rates maximum reimbursement rate for

the provider shall be determined by—a—ﬁege%iaeed—ag%eemea%—be%weea—%he

deﬁeyemeae as established under. sub g ) .

(2) (b) Survey. The county agency shall annually contact all full-time
licensed group day care centers and family day care centers in the county to
determine the day care prices they charge to the general community.



(e)5. In determining whether 75% of the full-time day care slots can be
purchased at or below the maximum rate, the county agency may exclude ealy day
care centers which operate less than 5 days a week or 5 hours a day ex, which
receive funding from a beaxrd county department established under s. 51.42 or

51.437, Stats., or which do not have a _set day care price;

7. Separate maximum rates mey shall be set for day care for part of
the day at group and family day care centers using the same method required

under this paragraph.

SECTION 11, HSS 55.74(2)(j) and (k) are created to read:

HSS 55.74(2)(j) Higher rates for a child with a special need. Rates
which are higher than the maximums allowed under this section may be set for
day care for a child with a special need.

(k) Maximum rates for short-term and sporadic day care, Maximum
reimbursement rates for day care provided for less than a 2-week period or for
sporadic periods may be set through negotiations with the child care provider.

SECTION 12. HSS 55.76(3)(g) 1s created to read:

HSS 55.76(3)(g) A county may require, as a condition of eligibility for
day care funds, that a parent enrolled in an institution of higher education
document that all available student grants and loans from the school'’s
financial aids office have been obtained.

SECTION 13, HSS 55.76(4) (intro.) and (g) are amended to read:

HSS 55.76(4) (intro.) A parent meeting eligibility criteria under this
subsection is eligible to receive funds for day care costs without regard to
income. Eligibility for a parent with crisis or respite needs shall be
determined by the county agency based on the fellewing-—eriteria family

situation, with particular attention to the following:

(g) The parent lacks adequate parenting skills; ex
SECTION 14, HSS 55.76(4)(h) is repealed and recreated to read:

HSS 55.76(4)(h) The parent is receiving treatment for alcohol or other
drug abuse; or

SECTION 15. HSS 55.76(4)(1) is created to read:

HSS 55.76(4) (i) The parent is a foster parent and day care services are
needed to maintain the child in the foster care placement.



SECTION 16. HSS 55.76(5) is repealed and recreated to read:

HSS 55.76(5) FUNDING PRIORITIES. (a) If funding is Insufficient to meet
the needs of all eligible parents, a county agency shall place eligible '
parents who cannot be accommodated by available funding on a waiting list in
accordance with s. HSS 55.73(7) and shall distribute funds in accordance with
priorities established in s, 46.98(4)(a) and (c¢), Stats,

(b) A county agency may not establish priorities other than those set
forth in s, 46,98(4)(a) and (c), Stats.

(c) A county agency may not terminate funding provided to any parent
eligible under subs (1) to (4) and s. 46.98(4), Stats., in order to give
priority to clients identified in s. 46.98(4)(a) and (c), Stats.

SECTION 17, HSS 55.77(2)(a) is amended to read:

HSS 55.77(2) COSTS CHARGED TO PARENTS. (a) Parents shall be required to
make payments for day care services provided directly or by voucher or
purchased by the county agency, in accordance with a payment schedule and
procedures developed by the department under s. HSS 1.03. Payments shall be
required of parents whose income is equal to or greater than 50% of the state
median income except that payments for crisis or respite day care and payments
for working parents receiving aid to families with dependent children (AFDC)
and eligible under s. HSS 55.76(2)(a) may be waived by the county agency.

The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the first day of
the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as
provided in s, 227.22(2), Stats.

Wisconsin Department of Health and
Social Services

b (g

Gerald Whitburn
Secretary

Date: October 25, 1991 By:

Seal:
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