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Note: Chapter REB 16 as it existed on Qctober 31, 1979, was repealed and a new Chapter
IIEIEB hI? ‘i.'ggs created effective November 1, 1979, Renumbered chapter RI. 25, effective
arch 1, N

RL 25.005 Authority, The following rules are adopted pursvant to ss.
227,11 {2), 452.05, 452.07, 4562.09 (2) and (3) and 452.12 (5) (e), Stats,

History: Gr. Register, October 1978, No. 286, eff, 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.005 and
;En. Register, February, 1983, No. 326, off, 3-1-83; am. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff,

RL 25.01 Definitions, As used in this chapter, unless the context other-
wise specifically requires:

(1) “Accredited institution of higher education” means a law school
aceredited by the American bar association or other schools accredited
by one of the regional institutional acerediting commissions or associa-
tions which have been recognized by the U.S. commissioner of education.

(2) “Board” means the real estate board.

(8) “Continuing education course” means an approved segment of the
total number of continuing eduecation hours required by the department
pursuant. to s. 4562.05 (1) (d), Stats.

(4) “Continuing education program’’ means the total number of con-
tinuing education hours required by the department pursuant to s.
452,05 (1) (d), Stats,

(5) “Credit course’ means a course which ean be applied toward an
azsociate degree or higher degree at an aceredited institution of higher
education.

(6) “Twidence of attendance” means an official transeript, student
grade report, or department-approved certificate showing satisfactory
completion of educational programs or courses.

{7 “Hour" means a period of 50 minutes of actual classroom instrue-
tion and shall not include time spent in writing tests or examinations
given by the school.

Register, January, 1992, No. 433




80 L 25 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

(8) “Noncredit program” means an educational program which does
not satisfy requirements for an associate degree or higher degree at the
school offering the educational program.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, off, 11-1-79; renum, frora REB 16.01 and am.
(1) and (g), Register, Fobruary, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; renum. (1) te (5) to be (2), {7), (B),
(8), (1) and am. (8}, cr. (3) and (4), am. (6), Register, January, 1992, No. 433, efl. 2-1-92.

RL 25.02 Educaiional requirements of applicant for an eriginal real esiate
broker's license. (1) EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS, Tlach applicant for an
original real estate broker’s license shall:

{a} Present evidence satisfactory to the department of successful com-
pletion of the 86-hour educational program in sub, (2) which has been
approved in accordance with this chapter and either satisfy educational
requirements in s. RL 25.08 (3) or present evidence satisfactory to the
departiment of licensure as a salesperson in Wisconsin;

{b) Submit proof that the applicant has received 20 semester hour
credits in real estate or real estate related law courses from an aceredited
institution of higher education. A quarter hour credit equals 2/3 of a se-
mester hour eredit; or

(e) Submit proof that the applicant is licensed to practice law in
Wisconsin.

(2) BROKER'S 36-HOUR PROGRAM. The 36-hour educational programs
for applieants for an original real estate broker's license shall cover ali of
the topics under each paragraph title, be presented during no less than
the number of hours stated after each paragraph title, and include:

(a) Contracts, 2 hours,
. Definition of a contract.
. Confract versus agreement,
. Elements of a contract.
. Offer,
. Acceptance.
. Consideration.

1

a

2

a

b

¢

d. Competent parties.

3. Time is of the essence.

4. Acceptance versus counteroffers.

5. The law of conveyances.

a. Conveyance defined,

b. Reguirements for a valid conveyance.
(b) Approved forms. 4 hours.

" 1. The forms approval process.
a. Forms committee,

b. Real estate board.
Register, January, 1992, No, 433
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¢, Department of regulation and licensing.

2. The authorized practice of law.

2. Reynolds v. Dinger, 14 Wis, 2d, 193,

b. Chapter RL 16,

3. Review of forms,

a. Listing contract.

b. Offer.

¢. Counteroffer.

d. Amendment.

e. Buyer agency agreement.

f. Lease,

g. Grant of option,

h., Bill of sale,

i, Offer to exchange property with acceptance.

j. Cancellation and mutual release,

k. State bar forms - 5. RL 16,03 (1).

1. Uniform commercial code forms.

m, Forms used in other states,

4, Developing a form and contingeney manual,

5. Supervising salesperson’s use of approved forms.
(e) Trust eecounts, escrow, closing stalement. 5 hours.
1. Trust accounts - ch, RL 18.

a. Trust account definition.

b. Trust funds definition.

¢. When is a trust account required.

d. Procedure to open a trust account.

e. Procedure to open an interest bearing trust account,
f, Authorization to sign trust account checks.

¢. Deposit of trust funds,

h. Disbursement of trust funds.

i. Bookkeeping system.

2, Escrow agreement procedures.

a. Iiserows requiring separate escrow agreements,

b. Pre-closing earnest money escrows.
Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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. Post closing escrows.
. Escrows not requiring separate escrow agreements,

. Drafting escrow agreements,

¢

d

e

3. Closing procedures.
a. Licensees are not required by license law to perform closings,
b. Choosing a closing statement.,

¢. Closing preparation procedures.

d. Setting a closing date.

e, Preparing closing documentation.

f. Closing procedures,

g. Post closing procedures.

(d) Business management and markefing. 5 hours.

1. The legal environment.

a. Licensure.

b. Legal concerns.
¢. Policy manual - s, RL 17.08,
2, The business plan.
a. Form of ownership.
b. Start up.

¢. Capital budget.
d. Operation budget.

e, Marketing strategies.

3. Professional services.

a. Attorneys

b. Accountants.

4. Operational policies.

a. Policy and procedures manual.

b. Independent contractors agreement.

(e) Financial and office management. 4 hours,
1. Finanecial management,

a. System of income and expense accounting,
b. Forms used in all systems,

¢. Accounting for deposits.

d. Accounting for payroll.
Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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e. General disbursements.

f. Accounts used for handling funds.
¢. Bank reconciliations.

h. Financial reports.

2. Budgeting,

a. Definition of a budget.

b. Purpose of the budget.

¢. Comparison of budget income and expenses.
d. Preparing the budget.

3, Office management - ¢ch. RL 15,
a. Retention of records.

(f) Personnel. 4 hours.

1. Hiring.

. General criteria.

[+

. Determining needs.

. Personnel selection.

. Bqual opportunity.

. Workers' compensation,

. Contracts,

. Employe.

. Independent contractor,

. Policy manual.

. Purpose.

. Company history and philosophy.
. Development and implementation.
., Termination,

. Training.

[ T = VY« T~ S~ B v B+ - B T 1 R = VR = i

. Licensure and supervision of employes - ch, RL 17,
(g) Business ethics. 4 hours,

1. Dealing with the public.

a, Principal and agent relationship - s. RL 24.025.

b. Treating all parties fairly - s. R1 24.025.

c. Avoid diserimination - s, RI, 24.03 (1).

d. Competence in area of service - s, RL 24.03 (2},

83
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RL 25
e. Legal counsel not fo be discouraged - s, RL 24.06.
f. Tie-ins - s. RL 24.075,
g, Agreements in writing - s, RL 24.08.
h. Misleading market values - s. RL 24.09.
i, No net listings - s, RI, 24,10,
2. Advertising - s, RL 24,04,
a. False ads.
b. Disclosure to the public.
¢. Obtain permission.
d. Advertised price.
3. Offers - ss, RL. 24,12, 24,13,
a. Confidentiality.
b. Draft and submit all offers.
¢, Submit promptly.
d. Present fairly.
e. Prompt notification.
4, Self-dealing - s. RL 24.05.
a. Disclosure of profits,
b. Disclosure of intent.
¢. Property owned by licensee.
d. Referral of service,
e, Compensation from more than one party.
5. Disclosure - s. RL 24.07.
a, Material facts,
b. Property inspection.
¢. Agency.
6. Dealings with fellow licensees,
a. Negotiations through listing broker - s, RL 24,13 (5).

b. Obtain seller's permission for subagent - 5. R1: 24.07 (4) (b) 2.

c. Confidentiality of offer - s, RL 24,12,
d. Disclose material facts - 5. RL 24.07 (2) (a), (b), (e).
¢. False information - s, RL 24,07 (3).

f. Disclose buyer agent and seller subagent - s. RL 24.07 (4) (b).

g. Timely transfer of earnest money - 8. RL 18.08.

Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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. Dealings with licensee and salespeople.
. Licensee supervision - s, RL 17,08,
. Ofiice supervision - s, RL: 17.09.

(k) Consumer proiection. 5 hours.
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g
h
i.
self
4

a

. Disclosure.
. Property inspections - s, RL 24,07 (1) (a).
. Investigation of other facts - s, RL 24.07 (1) (b).

. Use of third party inspectors - s. RE, 24.07 (2).

. Wisconsin statutes s. 462.23, Stats.

. Civil liability for misrepresentation.

Seller’s disclosure duties.
. Buyer's inspection obligation.
. Fair housing.
. Federal law.

. State of Wisconsin law,

. Local fair housing law.

. Sanctions for violations,

. Testers and fair housing organizations.

Conduct prohibited by fair housing law.
. Responding to fair housing questions.
. Instituting equal professional service procedures.
. Antitrust: conspiracy and group boycotts,
. Section 1 of the Sherman Act.

. “Conspiracy” requirement,

. “Restraint of trade” requirement.,

. Compensation and “prices” which have heen fixed.

. Situations creating inferences of price fixing.

. How to respond to antitrust situations.

. Elements same as price fixing - conspiracy and restraint of trade.
. Situations creating inference of hoycott.

Good boycotts: sanctions necessary to enforce reasonable industry
regulation, ’

. Complaint handling procedures.

. Consumer satisfaction,
Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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b. Liability avoidance.
¢, Feedback on fair housing or other law violations.
d. Prevent complaint through education.

e. Document the complaint handling program in policy and proce-
dures manual.

f. Inform the parties of the complaint handling program.
g. Dispute resolution systems.

5. Environmental factors.

a. Underground storage tanks: registration and closure,
b. Asbestos.

¢. Radon,

d, Procedures for “high risk” properties.

e, Wetlands and floodplain.

6., Education buyers and sellers.

a, Property inspection and disclosure of defects.

b. Earnest money procedures.

c. Licensees' responsibilities and expertise.

d. Utilizing third party experts,

(i) Specially areas. 3 hours.

1. Property management.

a. Management contracts.

b. Insurance liability.

¢. Security deposits.

d. Breach of lease.

e. Property inspections,

f. Tenant and landlord rights and obligations - ch, Ag 134,
¢. Rules regarding negotiating leases.

2. Business opportunities.

a. Special expertise and licensing requirements - s. RL 24.03.
b. Approved forms.

¢. Bulk sales law,

3. Selling specialized properties as a brokerage activity,
4, Alternative marketing methods.

a. Exchanges.
Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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b, Installment sales,

¢, Syndication,

d. Cooperatives,

5. Mortgége banking.

a. Definition of mortgage banker, loan originator, loan solicitor.

b. When separate registration is needed.

¢. Legality of referral fees, “Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act.”
6. Real estate appraisal.

a. Definition,

b. When separate certification is needed.

-

Farms.

Specialized forms,

Auctions,

Auctioneer requires real estate Iicense to call auction of real estate.
Mobile homes. '

P p opw

When a real estate license or separate license is required.
10, Time-share.
a. Familiarity with ch, 707, Stats., when selling time-shares.

(3) SATISFACTION OF BROKER'S 36-HOUR PROGRAM BY OUT-OF-STATE
APPLICANTS. An applicant who has held a real estate license in another
licensing jurisdiction within the 2 year period prior to filing an applica-
tion for an original real estate broker’s license may satisfy the require-
ments of sub. (2) if the applicant submits evidence of attendance at 20
hours of education in sub. (2) (a), (b), (¢), (g) and (k) which shall be
completed at a sehool approved by the department under ss. R1 25.05 or
25,06, The remaining confents in sub. (2) may be completed at any
school, provided that the department shall determine whether the con-
tents are substantially equivalent to those offered by schools whose pro-
grams have been approved by the department.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No, 286, eff. 11-1-79; cr. (4}, Register, April, 1981,
No. 304, eff, 5-1-81; am. (1}, (4) (mtro)and (b), Register, June 1982, No. 318, off, 7- 1-82,
rénum. fromREB 18. 02and am. { l)and&) (Intro.), Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-
1-88; am, (1), {8) (intro.), (a} (Intro.), (b) (intro.) and (¢) (intro.), r, and recr. (2}, er. (5),
Réagés:tleg,zFebruary, 1987, No. 374, efi. 6-1-87; r, and recr. Register, January 1992, No, 433,
eff, 2-1-

RL 25.03 Educational requiremenis of applicant for an eriginal real estate
salesperson’s license. (1) GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. Fach appiicant for an
original real estate salesperson’s license shall present evidence of attend-
ance at the 72-hour educational program approved by the departmentin
accordance with this chapter.

{2) TEN-HOUR WAIVER. The educational requirement in sub. (1) is not
required of an applicant who submits proof that the applicant has re-
ceived 10 semester hour credits in real estate or real estate related law

Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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courses at an accredited institution of higher education. A quarter hour
credit equals 2/3 of a semester hour credit.

(3) SALESPERSON’S 72-HGUR PROGRAM. The 72-hour educational pro-
gra]m for applicants for an original real estate salesperson’s license shall
include:

(a) Real property. 4 hours.

. Land, real estate and real property.

. Real property versus personal property.
. Classification of fixtures,

. Characteristics of real estate.

. Types of home ownership.

. Types of housing - s, 70,043, Stats,

. Ownership expenses,

. Property features,

W oo =1 S O o W N

. Investment considerations.

10. Tax benefits for home ownership.

11. Homeowner’s insurance.

(b) The real estate business. 1 hour.

1. Real estate specialties.

2., The real estate market,

3. Factors affecting supply and demand.

4, Business eycles.

. Real estate practice - ch, 452, Stats.

(c) Real estate brokerage. 3 hours,

. Law of agency.

. Creation and termination of agency.

. Fiduciary duties.

. Responsibilities to third parties.

. Broker’s and salesperson’s compensation,
. Antitrust laws.

. Independent contractor versus employee.
. Broker-to-broker relationships.

W o =1 & D B W D

. Sales associate-to-sales associate relationships.
(d) Listing agreements. b hours.

1. Listing property.
Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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2. Listing agreements - ¢h, RL 16,
3. Special listing provisions.

4, Termination of listings.

5, Obtaining listings.

6. Pricing the property.

7. Disclosures,

8. Home warranties.

(e} Interests in real estate. 5 hours,
1, Government powers.

2. Estates in land.

3. Encumbrances,

4. Water rights.

5. Forms of ownership.

6. Trusts,

7. Ownership by business organizations.

8. Cooperatives.

tgisTime-shares - 88, 70,095, 707.02, 707.05, 707.40, 707.47, 707.49,
10. Condominiums - ss. 708.08, 708.21, 703.33, Stats.

11. Homestead - ss. 706.01 (7), 766.605, Stats.

(f) Legal descripiions. 8 hours.

S

1, Methods of describing real estate.
2, Land units and measurements.

3. Measuring elevations.

(g) Taxes and other liens. 2 hours,

. Liens and their effects on title.

. Tax lens.

. General tax assessment, equalization, tax bills.
. Mortgage liens.

. Mechanies liens.

. Judgments.

. Estate and inheritance tax liens,

. Other liens,

. Taxes - ss. 74.15, 74.47 (1) and (2), Stats.
Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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10. Taxation and transfer fee - ss. 77.22, 77.27, Stats.
(h) Real estate contracts. 15 hours,

. Contract law,

. Elements of a valid contract.

. Performance of contract,

. Discharge of contract.

1

2

3

4

5, Default or breach of contract.

6. Forms used in real estate - ch, RL 16,
a. Listing agreements - s, 240.10, Stats.
b. Offers to purchase.

¢. Buyer agency agreements,

d. Counteroffers.

e, Amendments,

:“ﬁ

Understanding closing statements.

g, Disclosure forms; seller condition report; agency; buyer and seller
disclosure.

h. Addendums.
1. Gancellation and mutual release agreements.
(i) Title records and transfers of title. 2 hours,
Stelli;SRequirements of a valid conveyance - ss. 240.10, 706.02, 706.03,

. Types of deeds.

. Involuntary alienation.

. Probate.

. Transfer of title by will and descent.

2
3
4
5
6. Public records and recording.
7. Evidence of title.

8. Uniform commercial code.

9. Other conveyances.

(3) Real estale finance and basic malk. 7 hours,

1. Buyer qualification.

2. Mortgage instruments.

3. Payment plans,

4, Provisions for default: assignment; release; subject to.

5, Land contracts,
Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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6. Secondary mortgage market.

(k) Appraisal - market analysis. 5 hours.
1. Basic principles of value,

2, Direct market comparison approach.
3. Cost approach,

4, Income approach,

5. Appraisal process.

(1) Fair housing laws. 2 hours,

1. Equal opportunity in housing.

2. Federal fair housing law.

3. Blockbusting, steering, redlining.

4, Equal rights - s, 101.22, Stats,

5. Fqual opportunity - s. 66.432, Stats.
6. Organizations,

(m) Ethicel real estate practices. 4 hours,
1. Ch. RL 24,

2, Ethical business conduct.

{n} Leases. 2 hours.

1. Leasehold estates,

2. Standard lease provisions.

3. Lease documents,

4, Legal principles of leases.

5. Assignment and subleasing.

6. Improvements.

7. Maintenance.

8. Breach.

9. Residential rental practices - ss, Ag 134,02, 134,06, 134.09, 134.09,
(o) Property management. 1 hour,

1. Functions of property manager,

2. Management agreement.

3. Management considerations.

4, Renting and maintaining the property.
5, Risk management.

(p) Land use conlrol and development. 3 hours,
Register, January, 1992, No, 433
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1. Public controls,

2. The master plan,

3. Zoning,

4, Subdivision regulations.

5. Private land-use controls.

6. Building codes.

7. Land deveiopment,

8. Subdividing,

9. Interstate land sales full disclosure act.

10, Platting and subdivisions - ss. 236.01, 236.02, 236.03, 236.31,

236.33, 236.335, 236,35, Stats.

{q) Environmental concerns. 3 hours,

1. Radon.

2. Asbestos,

3. Toxic waste,

4, Underground storage tanks - ss. ILHR. 10.74 to 10.805.

5. Floodplains - s. 87.30, Stats. and ss. NR 116.01, 116.06.

6. Flood insurance.

7. Wetlands - 5. 23.32, Stats.

8. Farmland preservation - ss, 81.01, 91.17, 91,19, 91.21, Stats.
9. Rental unit energy efficiency standards - ss. ILHR. 67.03, 67.08.
10. Disclosure documents - s, 452.23, Stats. and s. RL 24.07.
11. Other.

(r) Miscellaneous Wisconsin license laws. 5 hours.

1. Ch. RL 15 - documents and records.

2, Ch. RL 16 - contractual forms,

3. Ch. RL 17 - licensure and supervision of employees.

4, Ch, RL 18 - trust accounts.

b. Ch. RL 23 - change of name, address, trade names,

6. Commercial buik sales - ss. 406.101, 406.012, 406.103, 406.104,
406.105, 406,107, 406,108, Stats,

7. Property provisions for aliens and corporations - ss, 710.01, 710,02,
tats.

8. Property rights of married persons - ss. 766.81, 766.61, 766.60,

766.63, Stats.
Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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9, Mortgage banking - ss. 440.71, Stats., and s. RE 40,08 (4} (b).

(4) SATISPACTION OF SALESPERSON’S 72-HOUR PRGGRAM BY QUT-OF-
STATE APPLICANTS. An applicant who has held a real estate license in
another licensing jurisdiction within the 2 year period prior to filing an
application for an original real estate salesperson’s license may satisfy
the requirements of sub. (3) if the applicant submits evidence of attend-
ance at 23 hours of education in sub. (3) (b) 5, {e) 9 to 11, (g) 9 and 10,
(W6, ()1, {IH4and5b, (m)1, (n)9, (p) 10, (a) 4 to 11 and {r) 1 to 9 which
shall be completed at a school approved by the department under s, RL
25.05 or 25.06. The remaining contents in sub. (3) may be completed at
any school, provided that the department shall determine whether the
contents are substantially equivalent to those offered by schools whose
programs have been approved by the department.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; am. (2 {intro.) and r. and recr,
{2) (b), Register, April, 1981, No. 304, eff. 5-1-81; am, (2) (b), Register, June, 1962, No. 318,
eff, 7-1-82; renum, from REB 16.03 and am, {2), Register, February, 1983, Ne. 326, eff. 3-1-
83: r. and recr. Register, February, 1987, No. 374, eff, 6-1-87; r. and recr. Register, January,
1992, No. 433, eff, 2-1-92,

RL 25.04 Educational requirements of applicant for an original real estate broker's license who
has been & licensed real estate salesperson and who has completed (he reguirement in RE 25.03.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No, 286, eff. 11-1-78; renum, from REB 16.04 and am.
{2), Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 2-1-83; r, and recr, Register, February, 1987, No.
374, eff, 6-1-87; r. Reglster, January, 1992, No. 432, eff. 2-1-92.

RL 25.05 Requirements for approval of pre-license edueation courses
taken for academic credil at an accredited institution of higher education,
{1) A school seeking initial approval of pre-license credit courses in real
estate shail submit its application on a form provided by the depart-
metgt._ ’%‘he department may require the following information and
materials: :

{a) The department in the schoo! which is offering the courses.
(b) The method of instruction for each course.
(¢} The course number and title.

(d) Detailed outlines of each course with specific ailocations of class-
reom hours to each topic.

(e) A current school bulletin,

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Application for Approval of Credit Courses
which satisfy the 72-hour and 36-requirement, Form #5828, from the Wisconsin Department
of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 281, P.0, Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708.

{2) The department may approve a pre-license credit course if it alone
or in conjunction with one or more other courses covers all of the con-
tents a(ggl the required number of hours, as provided in s, RL 25.02 (2} or
26.08 (3).

(8) When approving one or more pre-license credit courses, the depart-
ment shall specify the single course or combination of courses which sat-
1(33f§r either the 86 hours in s, RL 25.02 (2} or the 72 hours in s. RI. 25.03

(4) A school shall inform the department of any changes in the infor-
mation it submitted in an application form within 10 days following the
date of the change.

Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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(5) A school may not diseriminate against anyone on the basis of sex,
race, color, sexual orientation as defined in s. 111.32 (18m), Stats,, handi-
cap, religion, age, physical disability, or national origin in their educa-
tional programs.

(6) Course approvals shall expire on August 15 following the date of
initial approval and every August 15 thereafter. A school shall obtain
approval of credit courses before the school conduets the courses in the
year following August 15.

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Application for Reapproval of Programs and
Courses, Form #829, from the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 281, P.O, Box §935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708,

History: Cr. Register, Cctober, 1979, No. 286, eff, 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.055 and
am. Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; renum. from RL 25.055, Register, Febru-
ary, 1981, No. 374, eff. 6-1-87; r. and recr, Register, January, 1862, No. 433, ff. 2-1-92.

RI 25,06 Requirements for approval of pre-license programs and instruc-
tors. (1) APPROVAL OF PROGRAMS, (a) A school seeking initial approval
from the department of pre-license educational noneredit programs shall
submit its application on a form provided by the department., The ap-
proval of programs shall expire on August 15 following the date of initial
approval and every August 15 thereafter. A school shall obtain approval
oAf creditlcsourses before the school conducts courses in the year following

ugust 15.

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Application for Approval of Noncredit 72-
Hour and 38-Hour Programs, Form #830, and the Application for Reapproval of Programs
and Courses, Form #829, from the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400
East Washington Avenue, Room 281, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708.

(b) The department may require a school seeking initial approval and
reapproval of pre-license educational programs to describe or furnish its
organizational structure, registration policies, fee schedules, promo-
tional materials, detailed outlines of each program with specific alloca-
tions of classroom hours to each topie, student records system, the names
and qualifieations of instructors, the method of instruction, the method
for evaluating instructors and a summary of evaluations eonduected, and
the time, date and location of each program,

(e) A school shall inform the department of any changes in the infor-
mation it submitted in an application form within 10 days following the
date of the change, :

(d) A school may not diseriminate against anyone on the basis of sex,
race, color, sexual orientation as defined in s. 111.32 (18m), Stats., handi-
cap, religion, age, physical disability, or national origin in their educa-
tional programs.

(e) This section does not apply to approval of credit courses specified
in 5. RL: 25.05.

(2) APPROVAL OF INSTRUCTORS. (a) Instructors of pre-license educa-
tional noneredit programs shall be approved by the department. The de-
partment may limit its approval to specific content areas set forth in ss.
RL 25.02 (3) and 25.03 (3), Instructors shall possess at least one of the
following minimum qualifications:

1. Be an instructor of real estate courses who is or has been engaged in
the practice of teaching at an aceredited institution of higher education.

Register, January, 1992, No, 433
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2. Be a properly licensed or eertified person who is engaged in the real
estate aspects of appraising, financing, marketing, brokerage manage-
ment, real property management, real estate counseling, real property
law, or other related subjects and has been for at least 5 years continu-
ously engaged in such practice,

3. Be a member of the state bar of Wisconsin who is engaged in the field
_ of real estate-related law.

4, Be a person who, in the judgment of the department, is qualified by
experience or education, or both, o supervise a course of study.

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Application for Approval of Instructor, Form
#831, from the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington
‘Avenue, Room 281, P,0, Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708,

(b) An instructor whose real estate license has been limited, suspended
or revoked may not instruet in approved programs while the disciplinary
action is in effect,

{(e) A school shall make arrangements so that when instruction is pro-
vided by some means without the instructor physically present in the
classroom and the students are unable to interact with the person doing
the instructing another approved instructor wiil be present in the class-
room, If the students are able to interact with the person doing the in-
strueting a monitor, but not necessarily an approved instructor, shall be
present.

History: Cr. Reglster, October, 1979, No. 286, eff, 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.06and am,
Register, February, 1983, No. 326, off. 3-1-83; am. (1) {a} L., r. (2} (d) to ({), Reﬁister, Febru-
ary, 1987, No. 374, eff. 6-1.87; r. and recr. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92,

RL 25.065 Coniinuing education requirements for hrokers and salesper-
sons. (1} Each licensed broker and salesperson, except an inactive li-
censee under s. 452,12 (6), Stats., shall satisfy the continuing education
ﬁe_'quil:ement specified in s, 452.12 (5) (e), Stats., during each licensing

1en I,

Note: The contents of the continuing education programs and courses are not designated in
this chapter, pursuant to an exemption under s, 227.01 {13} (zj), Stats.

(2) A licensee may only satisfy the continuing education requirement
by successfully completing the continuing education program or courses
which are approved by the department before the programs or courses
are conducted, except that pursuant to s, 452,12 (5) {c} 2, Stats., the
licensee may take the continuing education examination conducted by
the department in liew: of the education.

(3) A Ticensee shall submit evidence of completion of the continuing
education requirement when applying for renewal of license. The depart-
ment shall withhold issuance of the renewal liconse until such evidence is
submitted and the licensee may not engage in the practice of real estate
until having submitted such evidence and having received the license.

{4) A licensee who has not completed the continuing education re-
quirement during the licensing biennium may sucecessfully complete the
continuing education program required by the department for that bien-
nium during the year following the license expiration date and the li-
censee shall also satisfy the continuing education requirement for that
following biennium. The licensee may not complete the overdue require-
ment by taking the examination conducted by the department.

Register, January, 1992, No, 433
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(B) A licensee who has received an original broker’s or salesperson’s
iicense during a certain biennium and who was not licensed to practice as
either a broker or salesperson on the first day of the biennium is not re-
quired to satisfy the continuing education requirement during that bien-
nium, but must do so during each following bienniurn.

(6) A licensee may attend more than one school in order to complete
approved courses which are part of the continuing education program
designated by the department under s. 462,05 (1) (d) and (g), Stats.

{6m} A licensee who attends an approved continuing education course
and fails the examination given by the school at the end of the course
shall retake the course and pass the course examination before being eli-
gible to complete the remaining portion of the continuing education re-
quirement by taking the continuing education examination conducted
by the department pursuant to s. RL 25.075.

(7) A licensee may complete less than the complete continuing educa-
tion program designated by the department under s, 452 (1) (d) and (g),
Stats., and subsequently take the continuing education examination
conducted by the department,

(8) A licensee who acts asan instructor of an approved continuing edu-
cation profram or course may receive credit toward satisfaction of the
licensee’s continuing education requirement, provided the leensee suc-
cessfully completes the program or course examination, as specified in s,
RL 25.05, The licensee may not reeeive credit for teaching a specifie
course more than one time,

(9) The department may grant an extension of time for completion of
the continuing education requirement by a licensee and the licensee may
obtain a renewal license for the extension peried for one of the following
reasons:

(a) Health reasons which prevented attendance at continuing educa-
tion courses or the continuing education examination;

(b) Active duty in the military service with assignment to a duty sta-
tion outside Wisconsin; or

(e} Other compelling reasons beyond the controel of the applicant while
engaged in the real estate business.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff, 2-1-92,

RL 25.066 Requirements for approval of continuing education schools,
courses and instructors. (1) A school seeking initial approval from the
department of the continuing education program or a course shall submit
its application on a form provided by the department. Approval of con-
tinuing education programs and courses shall terminate on December 81
following the last day of the licensing biennium, A school shall submit
applications for approval of continuing education programs and courses
to the department before condueting any continuing education program
gl_‘ course which the department has prescribed for a subsequent licensing

fennium.

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Request For Approval of Real Estate Con-
tinuing Education Program or Courses, Form #1747, from the Wisconsin Department of Reg-
ulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 281, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708.

Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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(2) Instructors of continuing education programs and courses shall be
approved by the department, Instructors shall be experienced in the sub-
ject which they are teaching and shall possess at least one of the follow-
ng minimum gualifications:

{a} Be an instructor of real estate courses who is or has been engaged in
the practice of teaching at an accredited institution of higher education.

{b) Be a properly licensed or certified person who is engaged in the real
estate aspects of appraising, financing, marketing, brokerage manage-
ment, real property management, real estate counseling, real property
law, or other related subjects and has been for at least 5 years continu-
ously engaged in such practice.

(e) Be a member of the state bar of Wisconsin who is engaged in the
field of real estate-related law.

(d) Be a person who, in the judgment of the department, is qualified by
experience or education, or both, to supervise a course of study.

Nole: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Application for Approval of Instructor, Form
#831, from the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 281, P,0. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 63708.

{3) An instructor whose real estate license has been limited, suspended
or revoked may not instruct in approved programs while the diseiplinary
action is in effect,

(4) The department may require a school seeking initial approval and
reapproval of continuing education programs and courses to deseribe or
furnish its organizational structure, registration policies, fee schedules,
promotional materials, detailed outlines of each program with specific
allocations of elassrecom hours to each topie, student records system, the
names and qualifications of administrators and instructors, the method
for evaluating instructors, the method of instruction, a summary of eval-
uations conducted, and the time, date and location of each continuing
programi.

{B) A school shall inform the department of any changes in the infor-
mation which it provided to the department in an application form
within 10 days following the date of the change,

(6) The following are additional criteria for approval of continuing ed-
ucation programs or courses:

(a) Applicants for approval of continuing education programs or
courses may not diseriminate against anyone on the basis of sex, race,
color, sexual orientation as defined in s, 111,32 (13m), Stats., handicap,
religion, age, physical disability, er national origin in their educational
programs.

{b) A school shall agree not to conduct an approved continuing educa-
tion program or course during more than 6 hours in any one day.

(e) A school shall submit to the department with the application for
approval at least 5 multiple-choice questions for each hour of instruction.
The school shal! clearly indicate the answer to each question and the
portion of the course outline to which the question relates. The questions
shall comply with reasonable standards of test development and shall
relate to the substantive contents of the continuing education program
or eourse. The questions shall be the original work of the writer and not

Register, January, 1992, No. 433




86-12 AL 25 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

be published. A school may only make questions available to school
personnel, .

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Continuing Education Question Development
Form, Form #1746, and the Instructions for Submitting Continuing Education Questions,
Form #1745, from the Wiseonsin Depattment of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Wash-
ington Avenue, Room 281, P,0, Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708.

{d) A school shall agree to conduct an examination at the end of each
continuing education program or course, The examination shall contain
at least 5 multiple-choice questions for each hour of instruction. The ex-
amination shall be closed-book and the passing score shall be no less than
70 percent, unless the school provides substantial justification to the de-
partment for a lower score and the department approves the lower pass-
ing score.

(e) A school shall agree not to make available to students before the
students take a specific examination the questions or answers to the
questions, A school shall keep tests and answer sheets in a secure location
at all times before and after administration of the examination, including
during construction and printing.

{f) A school shall agree to inform students about the number of points
of eredit for each question in the examination and the passing score. It
shall also provide clear instructions to students for recording their re-
sponses on the examination booklet,

{(g) A school shall agree to provide each student with a certificate of
attendance at a program or course, The certificate shall comply with the
requirements in s. RL 25.07.

(h) A school shall agree to submit to the department within 30 days
after completion of a program or course a list of those who attended the
program or course. The list shall clearly state the name of the school; the
name of the program, course or courses; the names of ail those who com-
pleted the program or course and a clear indication of those who passed
the examination and those who did not pass the examination; the date of
birth or the license number of each person whose name appears on the
list; the total number of hours credited to each successful student and the
name and signature of an authorized agent of the school.

(i} A school shall make arrangements so that when instruetion is pro-
vided by some means without the instructor physically present in the
elassroom and the students are unable to interact with the person doing
the instructing another approved instructor will be present in the class-
roont. If the students are able to interact with the person doing the in-
strueting a monitor, but not necessarily an approved instructor, shall be
present,

(i) A school may not count examination time as part of the required
classroom hours.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff, 2-1-92,

RL 25.07 Certification of attendance at pre-license and continuning educa-
tion programs and courses. (1) ATTENDANCE REQUIREMENTS, A student
shall attend all the required hours and receive all the required contents
before a school may give a certificate of attendance to the student. In
addition, for.continuing education programs and courses a student shall

Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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also satisfactorily complete the course examination administered by the
school, as provided in s, RL 25.066 (6) (g) to (i).

{2) CERTIFICATION OF ATTENDANCE,. (a) Schools shall provide an indi-
vidual certificate of attendance to all students upon satisfactory eomple-
tion of education programs and courses,

(b) The department may accept an official transeript or student grade
report as evidence of satisfactory completion of credit courses.

{e) Certificates for pre-license noncredit programs and all continuing
education programs and courses shall meet the following criteria:

1, Clearly state the name of the school.
2. Clearly state the name of the student.

8, Clearly state the name of the program or course and whether it satis-
fies prelicense or continuing education requirements,

4, Clearly state the number of hours the student has successfully com-
pleted both by attending the complete program or course or by passing
the program or course examinatior.

5. Clearly state the date of completion of the program or course.
6. Be signed by an authorized person at the school.

{(d) A school shall maintain attendance records for at least 5 years after
a program or course has been conducted.

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff, 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16,07 and am,
(1} (a), (g) and {e) and (2), Register, February, 1983, No, 326, eff. 3-1-83; r. (1) {d) and (e
and (2), renum, {3) to be (2) and am. Register, February, 1987, No. 374, eff, §-1-87; r. an

reer. Register, January, 1992, No, 433, eff. 2-1-92,

RL 25.075 Continuing education examination conducted by the depart-
ment. (1) The department shall conduct a continuing education exami-
nation pursuant to s, 462,12 (5) (¢) 2, Stats,

(2) The department shall conduet the continuing education examina-
tion during each biennial licensure period, but not from July 1 to Decem-
ber 31 of each even-numbered year.

(8) ‘The continuing education examination shall cover the subjects re-
“quired for continuing education approved by the department under s,
452,06 (1} (d) and (g), Stats., and shall have no less than 5 questions for
each hour of instruction in the approved continuing education program
Or courses.

(4) The department shall permit a licensee to retake the continuing
education examination one time, If the licensee fails the examination a
second time, the licensee shall attend an approved continuing education
program or course and pass all course examinations,

(5) The department shall require a minimum passing score of 70 on the
continuing education examination.

Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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{6) The department shall permit licensees who take the continuing ed-
ucation examination to review the examination and the examination re-
suits, as provided in s. RL 12.025.

Hislor{hgr Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff, 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16,075 and

am. (1), ister, Februarg 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83 r. (2), renum, (1) and am. Register,
February, 1987, No, 374 6-1-87*:- and recr. Reglster, January, 1992, No. 433, eff, 2-1-02,

RL 25.076 Correspondence courses. Correspondence courses do not sat-
isfy educational requirements in this chapter except to satisfy require-
ments in ss, RL 25.02 (1) (b) and 25.03 (2),

History: Cr. Register, June, 1982, No. 318, eff. 7-1-82; renum. from REB 16.076, and am,

Register, February, 1983, No.3 ,eﬁ 3-1-83~ am. Register, Febroary, 1987, No. 374 eff, §-1-
87; am, Register, January, 1992, No, 433, eff 2-1-92,

RL 25.08 Investigation and review. (1) PERIODIC REVIBW. The depart-
ment, or its duly authorized representative, shall investigate and review
all approved educational programs, courses, and instructors. The
method of review shall be determined by the department in each case and
will generally consist of the following:

(a) Consideration of information available from federal, state, or local
agencies, private organizations or agencies, or interested persons.

(b} Conferences with officials or representatives of the school involved
or with former students of the school.

(c) Public hearing respecting the educational program, course, or in-
structor involved, with adequate written notice to the school and/or
instructor.

(d) Investigation by visitation to the school,

. (2) UPoN cOMPLAINT. In addition to investigation upon its own initia-
tion, the department may investigate any school or instructor upon re-
ceipt of a complaint from an interested person.

(3) DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF APPROVAL. (&) The department may
limit, suspend or revoke the approval of a school or instructor to conduct
any program or course, which had been apgroved pursuant to this chap-
ter, when the school or instructor has falsified information on any appli-
cation or certificate of attendance submitted to the department or when
the school or instructor has not complied with the conditions for ap-
proval. Such actions may also be cause for disciplinary action against a
licensee, pursuant to s. 452.14, Stats,

(b) If, after investigation, the department denies or deems it proper to
withdraw its approval of any educational program, eourse, or instructor,
written notification must be given with reasons for such action. The
school or instructor may request a hearing before the department.

Hislory: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.08 and am.
[08) (mtro ), (2} and (3), Register, Fei:ruary, 1983, No. 326 eff. 3-1-83; am. {3), Register,
January, 1992, No. 433, eff, 2-1.02,

RL 25.09 Adver!isg:{gg of real eslaie non -eredit programs offered by licensees, History: Cr.
Register, October, 1 o, 11-1.79; renum. from REB 16.09 and am. Register,
February, 1988, No. 326 eﬂ' 3-1-83 r Reglster, January, 1992, No, 433, off, 2-1.92,

RL 25.10 Porms. History: Cr, Rei;gister, October, 1979, No, 286, eff. 11-1-79; renum, from
Y

REB 16.10 and am. (8), Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; r. and recr. Register,
Pebruary, 1987, No. 374, ¢ 6-1-87 r. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92,

‘Register, January, 1992, No. 433
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