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Note: Chapter REB 16 as it existed on October 31, 1979, was repealed and a new Chapter 
REB 16 was created effective November 1, 1979. Renumbered chapter RL 25, effective 
March 1, 1983. 

RL 25.005 Authority. The following rules are adopted pursuant toss. 
227.11 (2), 452.05, 452.07, 452.09 (2) and (3) and 452.12 (5) (c), Stats. 

History: Cr. Register, October 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.005 and 
am. Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; am. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 
2-1-92. 

RL 25.01 Definitions. As used in this chapter, unless the context other­
wise specifically requires: 

(1) "Accredited institution of higher education" means a law school 
accredited by the American bar association or other schools accredited 
by one of the regional institutional accrediting commissions or associa­
tions which have been recognized by the U.S. commissioner of education. 

(2) "Board" means the real estate board. 

(3) "Continuing education course" means an approved segment of the 
total number of continuing education hours required by the department 
pursuant to s. 452.05 (1) (d), Stats. 

(4) "Continuing education program" means the total number of con­
tinuing education hours required by the department pursuant to s. 
452.05 (1) ( d), Stats. 

(5) "Credit course" means a course which can be applied toward an 
associate degree or higher degree at an accredited institution of higher 
education. 

(6) "Evidence of attendance" means an official transcript, student 
grade report, or department-approved certificate showing satisfactory 
completion of educational programs or courses. 

(7) "Hour" means a period of 50 minutes of actual classroom instruc­
tion and shall not include time spent in writing tests or examinations 
given by the school. 

Register, January, 1992, No. 433 
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(8) "Noncredit program" means an educational program which does 
not satisfy requirements for an associate degree or higher degree at the 
school offering the educational program. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.01 and am. 
(1) and (6), Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; renum. (1) to (5) to be (2), (7), (5), 
(8), (1) and am. (8), er. (3) and (4), am. (6), Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.02 Educational requirements of applicant for an original real estate 
broker's license. (1) EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS. Each applicant for an 
original real estate broker's license shall: 

(a) Present evidence satisfactory to the department of successful com­
pletion of the 36-hour educational program in sub. (2) which has been 
approved in accordance with this chapter and either satisfy educational 
requirements ins. RL 25.03 (3) or present evidence satisfactory to the 
department of licensure as a salesperson in Wisconsin; 

(b) Submit proof that the applicant has received 20 semester hour 
credits in real estate or real estate related law courses from an accredited 
institution of higher education. A quarter hour credit equals 2/3 of a se­
mester hour credit; or 

(c) Submit proof that the applicant is licensed to practice law in 
Wisconsin. 

(2) BROKER'S 36-HOUR PROGRAM. The 36-hour educational programs 
for applicants for an original real estate broker's license shall cover all of 
the topics under each paragraph title, be presented during no less than 
the number of hours stated after each paragraph title, and include: 

(a) Contracts. 2 hours. 

1. Definition of a contract. 

a. Contract versus agreement. 

2. Elements of a contract. 

a. Offer. 

b. Acceptance. 

c. Consideration. 

d. Competent parties. 

3. Time is of the essence. 

4. Acceptance versus counteroffers. 

5. The law of conveyances. 

a. Conwyance defined. 

b. Requirements for a valid conveyance. 

(b) Approved forms. 4 hours. 

1. The forms approval process. 

a. Forms committee. 

b. Real estate board. 
Register, January, 1992, No. 433 



DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING 85 

7. Dealings with licensee and salespeople. 

a. Licensee supervision - s. RL 17.08. 

b. Office supervision - s. RL 17.09. 

(h) Consumer protection. 5 hours. 

1. Disclosure. 

a. Property inspections - s. RL 24.07 (1) (a). 

b. Investigation of other facts - s. RL 24.07 ( 1) (b). 

c. Use of third party inspectors - s. RL 24.07 (2). 

d. Wisconsin statutes s. 452.23, Stats. 

e. Civil liability for misrepresentation. 

f. Seller's disclosure duties. 

g. Buyer's inspection obligation. 

2. Fair housing. 

a. Federal law. 

b. State of Wisconsin law. 

c. Local fair housing law. 

d. Sanctions for violations. 

e. Testers and fair housing organizations. 

f. Conduct prohibited by fair housing law. 

g. Responding to fair housing questions. 

h. Instituting equal professional service procedures. 

3. Antitrust: conspiracy and group boycotts. 

a. Section 1 of the Sherman Act. 

b. "Conspiracy" requirement. 

c. "Restraint of trade" requirement. 

d. Compensation and "prices" which have been fixed. 

e. Situations creating inferences of price fixing. 

f. How to respond to antitrust situations. 

RL 25 

g. Elements same as price fixing - conspiracy and restraint of trade. 

h. Situations creating inference of boycott. 

i. Good boycotts: sanctions necessary to enforce reasonable industry 
self regulation. 

4. Complaint handling procedures. 

a. Consumer satisfaction. 
Register, January, 1992, No. 433 
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b. Liability avoidance. 

c. Feedback on fair housing or other law violations. 

d. Prevent complaint through education. 

e. Document the complaint handling program in policy and proce-
dures manual. 

f. Inform the parties of the complaint handling program. 

g. Dispute resolution systems. 

5. Environmental factors. 

a. Underground storage tanks: registration and closure. 

b. Asbestos. 

c. Radon. 

d. Procedures for "high risk" properties. 

e. Wetlands and floodplain. 

6. Education buyers and sellers. 

a. Property inspection and disclosure of defects. 

b. Earnest money procedures. 

c. Licensees' responsibilities and expertise. 

d. Utilizing third party experts. 

(i) Specialty areas. 3 hours. 

1. Property management. 

a. Management contracts. 

b. Insurance liability. 

c. Security deposits. 

d. Breach of lease. 

e. Property inspections. 

f. Tenant and landlord rights and obligations - ch. Ag 134. 

g. Rules regarding negotiating leases. 

2. Business opportunities. 

a. Special expertise and licensing requirements - s. RL 24.03. 

b. Approved forms. 

c. Bulk sales law. 

3. Selling specialized properties as a brokerage activity. 

4. Alternative marketing methods. 

a. Exchanges. 
Register, January, 1992, No. 433 
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b. Installment sales. 

c. Syndication. 

d. Cooperatives. 

5. Mortgage banking. 

a. Definition of mortgage banker, loan originator, loan solicitor. 

b. When separate registration is needed. 

c. Legality of referral fees, "Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act." 

6. Real estate appraisal. 

a. Definition. 

b. When separate certification is needed. 

7. Farms. 

a. Specialized forms. 

8. Auctions. 

a. Auctioneer requires real estate license to call auction of real estate. 

9. Mobile homes. 

a. When a real estate license or separate license is required. 

10. Time-share. 

a. Familiarity with ch. 707, Stats., when selling time-shares. 

(3) SATISFACTION OF BROKER'S 36-HOUR PROGRAM BY OUT-OF-STATE 
APPLICANTS. An applicant who has held a real estate license in another 
licensing jurisdiction within the 2 year period prior to filing an applica­
tion for an original real estate broker's license may satisfy the require­
ments of sub. (2) if the applicant submits evidence of attendance at 20 
hours of education in sub. (2) (a), (b), (c), (g) and (h) which shall be 
completed at a school approved by the department under ss. RL 25.05 or 
25.06. The remaining contents in sub. (2) may be completed at any 
school, provided that the department shall determine whether the con­
tents are substantially equivalent to those offered by schools whose pro­
grams have been approved by the department. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; er. (4), Register, April, 1981, 
No. 304, eff. 5-1-81; am. (1), (4) (intro.) and (b), Register, June, 1982, No. 318, eff. 7-1-82; 
renum. from REB 16.02and am. (1) and (4) (intro.), Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-
1-83; am. (1), (3) (intro.), (a) (intro.), (b) (intro.) and (c) (intro.), r. and recr. (2), er. (5), 
Register, February, 1987, No. 374, eff. 6-1-87; r. and recr. Register, January 1992, No. 433, 
eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.03 Educational requirements of applicant for an original real estate 
salesperson's license. (1) GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. Each applicant for an 
original real estate salesperson's license shall present evidence of attend­
ance at the 72-hour educational program approved by the department in 
accordance with this chapter. 

(2) TEN-HOUR WAIVER. The educational requirement in sub. (1) is not 
required of an applicant who submits proof that the applicant has re­
ceived 10 semester hour credits in real estate or real estate related law 

Register, January, 1992, No. 433 
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courses at an accredited institution of higher education. A quarter hour 
credit equals 2/3 of a semester hour credit. 

(3) SALESPERSON'S 72-HOUR PROGRAM. The 72-hour educational pro­
gram for applicants for an original real estate salesperson's license shall 
include: 

(a) Real property. 4 hours. 

1. Land, real estate and real property. 

2. Real property versus personal property. 

3. Classification of fixtures. 

4. Characteristics of real estate. 

5. Types of home ownership. 

6. Types of housing - s. 70.043, Stats. 

7. Ownership expenses. 

8. Property features. 

9. Investment considerations. 

10. Tax benefits for home ownership. 

11. Homeowner's insurance. 

(b) The real estate business. 1 hour. 

1. Real estate specialties. 

2. The real estate market. 

3. Factors affecting supply and demand. 

4. Business cycles. 

5. Real estate practice - ch. 452, Stats. 

( c) Real estate brokerage. 3 hours. 

1. Law of agency. 

2. Creation and termination of agency. 

3. Fiduciary duties. 

4. Responsibilities to third parties. 

5. Broker's and salesperson's compensation. 

6. Antitrust laws. 

7. Independent contractor versus employee. 

8. Broker-to-broker relationships. 

9. Sales associate-to-sales associate relationships. 

(d) Listing agreements. 5 hours. 

1. Listing property. 
Register, January, 1992, No. 433 
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2. Listing agreements - ch. RL 16. 

3. Special listing provisions. 

4. Termination of listings. 

5. Obtaining listings. 

6. Pricing the property. 

7. Disclosures. 

8. Home warranties. 

( e) Interests in real estate. 5 hours. 

1. Government powers. 

2. Estates in land. 

3. Encumbrances. 

4. Water rights. 

5. Forms of ownership. 

6. Trusts. 

7. Ownership by business organizations. 

8. Cooperatives. 

9. Time-shares - ss. 70.095, 707.02, 707.05, 707.40, 707.47, 707.49, 
Stats. 

10. Condominiums - ss. 703.08, 703.21, 703.33, Stats. 

11. Homestead - ss. 706.01 (7), 766.605, Stats. 

(f) Legal descriptions. 3 hours. 

1. Methods of describing real estate. 

2. Land units and measurements. 

3. Measuring elevations. 

(g) Taxes and other liens. 2 hours. 

1. Liens and their effects on title. 

2. Tax liens. 

3. General tax assessment, equalization, tax bills. 

4. Mortgage liens. 

5. Mechanics liens. 

6. Judgments. 

7. Estate and inheritance tax liens. 

8. Other liens. 

9. Taxes - ss. 74.15, 74.47 (1) and (2), Stats. 
Register, January, 1992, No. 433 
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10. Taxation and transfer fee - ss. 77.22, 77.27, Stats. 

(h) Real estate contracts. 15 hours. 

1. Contract law. 

2. Elements of a valid contract. 

3. Performance of contract. 

4. Discharge of contract. 

5. Default or breach of contract. 

6. Forms used in real estate - ch. RL 16. 

a. Listing agreements - s. 240.10, Stats. 

b. Offers to purchase. 

c. Buyer agency agreements. 

d. Counteroffers. 

e. Amendments. 

f. Understanding closing statements. 

g. Disclosure forms: seller condition report; agency; buyer and seller 
disclosure. 

h. Addendums. 

i. Cancellation and mutual release agreements. 

(i) Title records and transfers of title. 2 hours. 

1. Requirements of a valid conveyance - ss. 240.10, 706.02, 706.03, 
Stats. 

2. Types of deeds. 

3. Involuntary alienation. 

4. Probate. 

5. Transfer of title by will and descent. 

6. Public records and recording. 

7. Evidence of title. 

8. Uniform commercial code. 

9. Other conveyances. 

(j) Real estate finance and basic math. 7 hours. 

1. Buyer qualification. 

2. Mortgage instruments. 

3. Payment plans. 

4. Provisions for default: assignment; release; subject to. 

5. Land contracts. 
Register, January, 1992, No. 433 
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6. Secondary mortgage market. 

(k) Appraisal - market analysis. 5 hours. 

1. Basic principles of value. 

2. Direct market comparison approach. 

3. Cost approach. 

4. Income approach. 

5. Appraisal process. 

(L) Fair housing laws. 2 hours. 

1. Equal opportunity in housing. 

2. Federal fair housing law. 

3. Blockbusting, steering, redlining. 

4. Equal rights - s. 101.22, Stats. 

5. Equal opportunity - s. 66.432, Stats. 

6. Organizations. 

(m) Ethical real estate practices. 4 hours. 

1. Ch. RL 24. 

2. Ethical business conduct. 

(n) Leases. 2 hours. 

1. Leasehold estates. 

2. Standard lease provisions. 

3. Lease documents. 

4. Legal principles of leases. 

5. Assignment and subleasing. 

6. Improvements. 

7. Maintenance. 

8. Breach. 

RL25 

9. Residential rental practices - ss. Ag 134.02, 134.06, 134.09. 134.09. 

(o) Property management. 1 hour. 

1. Functions of property manager. 

2. Management agreement. 

3. Management considerations. 

4. Renting and maintaining the property. 

5. Risk management. 

(p) Land use control and development. 3 hours. 
Register, January, 1992, No. 433 
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1. Public controls. 

2. The master plan. 

3. Zoning. 

4. Subdivision regulations. 

5. Private land-use controls. 

6. Building codes. 

7. Land development. 

8. Subdividing. 

9. Interstate land sales full disclosure act. 

10. Platting and subdivisions - ss. 236.01, 236.02, 236.03, 236.31, 
236.33, 236.335, 236.35, Stats. 

( q) Environmental concerns. 3 hours. 

1. Radon. 

2. Asbestos. 

3. Toxic waste. 

4. Underground storage tanks - ss. ILHR 10.74 to 10.805. 

5. Floodplains - s. 87.30, Stats. and ss. NR 116.01, 116.06. 

6. Flood insurance. 

7. Wetlands - s. 23.32, Stats. 

8. Farmland preservation - ss. 91.01, 91.17, 91.19, 91.21, Stats. 

9. Rental unit energy efficiency standards - ss. ILHR 67.03, 67.08. 

10. Disclosure documents - s. 452.23, Stats. ands. RL 24.07. 

11. Other. 

(r) Miscellaneous Wisconsin license laws. 5 hours. 

1. Ch. RL 15 - documents and records. 

2. Ch. RL 16 - contractual forms. 

3. Ch. RL 17 - licensure and supervision of employees. 

4. Ch. RL 18 - trust accounts. 

5. Ch. RL 23 - change of name, address, trade names. 

6. Commercial bulk sales - ss. 406.101, 406.012, 406.103, 406.104, 
406.105, 406.107, 406.108, Stats. 

7. Property provisions for aliens and corporations - ss. 710.01, 710.02, 
Stats. 

8. Property rights of married persons - ss. 766.31, 766.51, 766.60, 
766.63, Stats. 
Register, January, 1992, No. 433 
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9. Mortgage banking - ss. 440.71, Stats., ands. RL 40.03 (4) (b). 

(4) SATISFACTION OF SALESPERSON'S 72-HOUR PROGRAM BY OUT-OF­
STATE APPLICANTS. An applicant who has held a real estate license in 
another licensing jurisdiction within the 2 year period prior to filing an 
application for an original real estate salesperson's license may satisfy 
the requirements of sub. (3) if the applicant submits evidence of attend­
ance at 23 hours of education in sub. (3) (b) 5, (e) 9 to 11, (g) 9 and 10, 
(h) 6, (i) l, (L) 4 and 5, (m) l, (n) 9, (p) 10, ( q) 4 to 11 and (r) 1to9 which 
shall be completed at a school approved by the department under s. RL 
25.05 or 25.06. The remaining contents in sub. (3) may be completed at 
any school, provided that the department shall determine whether the 
contents are substantially equivalent to those offered by schools whose 
programs have been approved by the department. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; am. (2) (intro.) and r. and recr. 
(2) (b), Register, April, 1981, No. 304, eff. 5-1-81; am. (2) (b), Register, June, 1982, No. 318, 
eff. 7-1-82; renum. from REB 16.03 and am. (2), Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-
83; r. and recr. Register, February, 1987, No. 374, eff. 6-1-87; r. and recr. Register, January, 
1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.04 Educational requirements of applicant for an original real estate broker's license who 
has been a licensed real estate salesperson and who has completed the requirement in RL 25.03. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.04 and am. 
(2), Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; r. and recr. Register, February, 1987, No. 
374, eff. 6-1-87; r. Register, January, 1992, No. 432, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.05 Requirements for approval of pre-license education courses 
taken for academic credit at an accredited institution of higher education. 
( 1) A school seeking initial approval of pre-license credit courses in real 
estate shall submit its application on a form provided by the depart­
ment. The department may require the following information and 
materials: 

(a) The department in the school which is offering the courses. 

(b) The method of instruction for each course. 

( c) The course number and title. 

( d) Detailed outlines of each course with specific allocations of class­
room hours to each topic. 

( e) A current school bulletin. 
Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Application for Approval of Credit Courses 

which satisfy the 72-hour and 36-requirement, Form #828, from the Wisconsin Department 
of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 281, P.O. Box 8935, 
Madison, Wisconsin 53708. 

(2) The department may approve a pre-license credit course if it alone 
or in conjunction with one or more other courses covers all of the con­
tents and the required number of hours, as provided ins. RL 25.02 (2) or 
25.03 (3). 

(3) When approving one or more pre-license credit courses, the depart­
ment shall specify the single course or combination of courses which sat­
isfy either the 36 hours ins. RL 25.02 (2) or the 72 hours ins. RL 25.03 
(3). 

(4) A school shall inform the department of any changes in the infor­
mation it submitted in an application form within 10 days following the 
date of the change. 

Register, January, 1992, No. 433 
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(5) A school may not discriminate against anyone on the basis of sex, 
race, color, sexual orientation as defined ins. 111.32 (13m), Stats., handi­
cap, religion, age, physical disability, or national origin in their educa­
tional programs. 

(6) Course approvals shall expire on August 15 following the date of 
initial approval and every August 15 thereafter. A school shall obtain 
approval of credit courses before the school conducts the courses in the 
year following August 15. 

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Application for Reapproval of Programs and 
Courses, Form #829, from the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East 
Washington Avenue, Room 281, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.055 and 
am. Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; renum. from RL 25.055, Register, Febru­
ary, 1987, No. 374, eff. 6-1-87; r. and recr. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.06 Requirements for approval of pre-license programs and instruc­
tors. (1) APPROVAL OF PROGRAMS. (a) A school seeking initial approval 
from the department of pre-license educational noncredit programs shall 
submit its application on a form provided by the department. The ap­
proval of programs shall expire on August 15 following the date of initial 
approval and every August 15 thereafter. A school shall obtain approval 
of credit courses before the school conducts courses in the year following 
August 15. 

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Application for Approval of Noncredit 72-
Hour and 36-Hour Programs, Form #830, and the Application for Reapproval of Programs 
and Courses, Form #829, from the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 
East Washington Avenue, Room 281, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708. 

(b) The department may require a school seeking initial approval and 
reapproval of pre-license educational programs to describe or furnish its 
organizational structure, registration policies, fee schedules, promo­
tional materials, detailed outlines of each program with specific alloca­
tions of classroom hours to each topic, student records system, the names 
and qualifications of instructors, the method of instruction, the method 
for evaluating instructors and a summary of evaluations conducted, and 
the time, date and location of each program. 

( c) A school shall inform the department of any changes in the infor­
mation it submitted in an application form within 10 days following the 
date of the change. 

(d) A school may not discriminate against anyone on the basis of sex, 
race, color, sexual orientation as defined ins. 111.32 (13m), Stats., handi­
cap, religion, age, physical disability, or national origin in their educa­
tional programs. 

( e) This section does not apply to approval of credit courses specified 
in s. RL 25.05. 

(2) APPROVAL OF INSTRUCTORS. (a) Instructors of pre-license educa­
tional noncredit programs shall be approved by the department. The de­
partment may limit its approval to specific content areas set forth in ss. 
RL 25.02 (3) and 25.03 (3). Instructors shall possess at least one of the 
following minimum qualifications: 

1. Be an instructor of real estate courses who is or has been engaged in 
the practice of teaching at an accredited institution of higher education. 

Register, January, 1992, No. 433 
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2. Be a properly licensed or certified person who is engaged in the real 
estate aspects of appraising, financing, marketing, brokerage manage­
ment, real property management, real estate counseling, real property 
law, or other related subjects and has been for at least 5 years continu­
ously engaged in such practice. 

3. Be a member of the state bar of Wisconsin who is engaged in the field 
of real estate-related law. 

4. Be a person who, in the judgment of the department, is qualified by 
experience or education, or both, to supervise a course of study. 

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Application for Approval of Instructor, Form 
#831, from the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington 
Avenue, Room 281, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708. 

(b) An instructor whose real estate license has been limited, suspended 
or revoked may not instruct in approved programs while the disciplinary 
action is in effect. 

(c) A school shall make arrangements so that when instruction is pro­
vided by some means without the instructor physically present in the 
classroom and the students are unable to interact with the person doing 
the instructing another approved instructor will be present in the class­
room. If the students are able to interact with the person doing the in­
structing a monitor, but not necessarily an approved instructor, shall be 
present. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.06 and am. 
Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; am. (1) (a) 1., r. (2) (d) to (f), Register, Febru­
ary, 1987, No. 374, eff. 6-1-87; r. and recr. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.065 Continuing education requirements for brokers and salesper­
sons. (1) Each licensed broker and salesperson, except an inactive li­
censee under s. 452.12 (6), Stats., shall satisfy the continuing education 
requirement specified ins. 452.12 (5) (c), Stats., during each licensing 
biennium. 

Note: The contents of the continuing education programs and courses are not designated in 
this chapter, pursuant to an exemption under s. 227.01 (13) (zj), Stats. 

(2) A licensee may only satisfy the continuing education requirement 
by successfully completing the continuing education program or courses 
which are approved by the department before the programs or courses 
are conducted, except that pursuant to s. 452.12 (5) (c) 2, Stats., the 
licensee may take the continuing education examination conducted by 
the department in lieu of the education. 

(3) A licensee shall submit evidence of completion of the continuing 
education requirement when applying for renewal of license. The depart­
ment shall withhold issuance of the renewal license until such evidence is 
submitted and the licensee may not engage in the practice of real estate 
until having submitted such evidence and having received the license. 

(4) A licensee who has not completed the continuing education re­
quirement during the licensing biennium may successfully complete the 
continuing education program required by the department for that bien­
nium during the year following the license expiration date and the li­
censee shall also satisfy the continuing education requirement for that 
following biennium. The licensee may not complete the overdue require­
ment by taking the examination conducted by the department. 

Register, January, 1992, No. 433 



86-10 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 
UL 25 

(5) A licensee who has received an original broker's or salesperson's 
license during a certain biennium and who was not licensed to practice as 
either a broker or salesperson on the first day of the biennium is not re­
quired to satisfy the continuing education requirement during that bien­
nium, but must do so during each following biennium. 

(6) A licensee may attend more than one school in order to complete 
approved courses which are part of the continuing education program 
designated by the department under s. 452.05 (1) (d) and (g), Stats. 

(6m) A licensee who attends an approved continuing education course 
and fails the examination given by the school at the end of the course 
shall retake the course and pass the course examination before being eli­
gible to complete the remaining portion of the continuing education re­
quirement by taking the continuing education examination conducted 
by the department pursuant to s. RL 25.075. 

(7) A licensee may complete less than the complete continuing educa­
tion program designated by the department under s. 452 (1) (d) and (g), 
Stats., and subsequently take the continuing education examination 
conducted by the department. 

(8) A licensee who acts as an instructor of an approved continuing edu­
cation program or course may receive credit toward satisfaction of the 
licensee's continuing education requirement, provided the licensee suc­
cessfully completes the program or course examination, as specified in s. 
RL 25.05. The licensee may not receive credit for teaching a specific 
course more than one time. 

(9) The department may grant an extension of time for completion of 
the continuing education requirement by a licensee and the licensee may 
obtain.a renewal license for the extension period for one of the following 
reasons: 

(a) Health reasons which prevented attendance at continuing educa­
tion courses or the continuing education examination; 

(b) Active duty in the military service with assignment to a duty sta­
tion outside Wisconsin; or 

( c) Other compelling reasons beyond the control of the applicant while 
engaged in the real estate business. 

History: Cr. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.066 Requirements for approval of continuing education schools, 
courses and instructors. (1) A school seeking initial approval from the 
department of the continuing education program or a course shall submit 
its application on a form provided by the department. Approval of con­
tinuing education programs and courses shall terminate on December 31 
following the last day of the licensing biennium. A school shall submit 
applications for approval of continuing education programs and courses 
to the department before conducting any continuing education program 
or course which the department has prescribed for a subsequent licensing 
biennium. 

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Request For Approval of Real Estate Con­
tinuing Education Program or Courses, Form #17 4 7, from the Wisconsin Department of Reg­
ulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 281, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, 
Wisconsin 53708. 
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(2) Instructors of continuing education programs and courses shall be 
approved by the department. Instructors shall be experienced in the sub­
ject which they are teaching and shall possess at least one of the follow­
ing minimum qualifications: 

(a) Be an instructor of real estate courses who is or has been engaged in 
the practice of teaching at an accredited institution of higher education. 

(b) Be a properly licensed or certified person who is engaged in the real 
estate aspects of appraising, financing, marketing, brokerage manage­
ment, real property management, real estate counseling, real property 
law, or other related subjects and has been for at least 5 years continu­
ously engaged in such practice. 

(c) Be a member of the state bar of Wisconsin who is engaged in the 
field of real estate-related law. 

( d) Be a person who, in the judgment of the department, is qualified by 
experience or education, or both, to supervise a course of study. 

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Application for Approval of Instructor, Form 
#831, from the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Washington 
Avenue, Room 281, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708. 

(3) An instructor whose real estate license has been limited, suspended 
or revoked may not instruct in approved programs while the disciplinary 
action is in effect. 

(4) The department may require a school seeking initial approval and 
reapproval of continuing education programs and courses to describe or 
furnish its organizational structure, registration policies, fee schedules, 
promotional materials, detailed outlines of each program with specific 
allocations of classroom hours to each topic, student records system, the 
names and qualifications of administrators and instructors, the method 
for evaluating instructors, the method of instruction, a summary of eval­
uations conducted, and the time, date and location of each continuing 
program. 

(5) A school shall inform the department of any changes in the infor­
mation which it provided to the department in an application form 
within 10 days following the date of the change. 

(6) The following are additional criteria for approval of continuing ed­
ucation programs or courses: 

(a) Applicants for approval of continuing education programs or 
courses may not discriminate against anyone on the basis of sex, race, 
color, sexual orientation as defined ins. 111.32 (13m), Stats., handicap, 
religion, age, physical disability, or national origin in their educational 
programs. 

(b) A school shall agree not to conduct an approved continuing educa­
tion program or course during more than 6 hours in any one day. 

(c) A school shall submit to the department with the application for 
approval at least 5 multiple-choice questions for each hour of instruction. 
The school shall clearly indicate the answer to each question and the 
portion of the course outline to which the question relates. The questions 
shall comply with reasonable standards of test development and shall 
relate to the substantive contents of the continuing education program 
or course. The questions shall be the original work of the writer and not 
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be published. A school may only make questions available to school 
personnel. 

Note: An applicant may obtain a copy of the Continuing Education Question Development 
Form, Form #17 46, and the Instructions for Submittin~ Continuing Education Questions, 
Form #1745, from the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East Wash­
ington Avenue, Room 281, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708. 

(d) A school shall agree to conduct an examination at the end of each 
continuing education program or course. The examination shall contain 
at least 5 multiple-choice questions for each hour of instruction. The ex­
amination shall be closed-book and the passing score shall be no less than 
70 percent, unless the school provides substantial justification to the de­
partment for a lower score and the department approves the lower pass­
ing score. 

( e) A school shall agree not to make available to students before the 
students take a specific examination the questions or answers to the 
questions. A school shall keep tests and answer sheets in a secure location 
at all times before and after administration of the examination, including 
during construction and printing. 

(f) A school shall agree to inform students about the number of points 
of credit for each question in the examination and the passing score. It 
shall also provide clear instructions to students for recording their re­
sponses on the examination booklet. 

(g) A school shall agree to provide each student with a certificate of 
attendance at a program or course. The certificate shall comply with the 
requirements in s. RL 25.07. 

(h) A school shall agree to submit to the department within 30 days 
after completion of a program or course a list of those who attended the 
program or course. The list shall clearly state the name of the school; the 
name of the program, course or courses; the names of all those who com­
pleted the program or course and a clear indication of those who passed 
the examination and those who did not pass the examination; the date of 
birth or the license number of each person whose name appears on the 
list; the total number of hours credited to each successful student and the 
name and signature of an authorized agent of the school. 

(i) A school shall make arrangements so that when instruction is pro­
vided by some means without the instructor physically present in the 
classroom and the students are unable to interact with the person doing 
the instructing another approved instructor will be present in the class­
room. If the students are able to interact with the person doing the in­
structing a monitor, but not necessarily an approved instructor, shall be 
present. 

(j) A school may not count examination time as part of the required 
classroom hours. 

History: Cr. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.07 Certification of attendance at pre-license and continuing educa­
tion programs and courses. (1) ATTENDANCE REQUIREMENTS. A student 
shall attend all the required hours and receive all the required contents 
before a school may give a certificate of attendance to the student. In 
addition, for continuing education programs and courses a student shall 
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also satisfactorily complete the course examination administered by the 
school, as provided ins. RL 25.066 (6) (g) to (i). 

(2) CERTIFICATION OF ATTENDANCE. (a) Schools shall provide an indi­
vidual certificate of attendance to all students upon satisfactory comple­
tion of education programs and courses. 

(b) The department may accept an official transcript or student grade 
report as evidence of satisfactory completion of credit courses. 

(c) Certificates for pre-license noncredit programs and all continuing 
education programs and courses shall meet the following criteria: 

1. Clearly state the name of the school. 

2. Clearly state the name of the student. 

3. Clearly state the name of the program or course and whether it satis­
fies prelicense or continuing education requirements. 

4. Clearly state the number of hours the student has successfully com­
pleted both by attending the complete program or course or by passing 
the program or course examination. 

5. Clearly state the date of completion of the program or course. 

6. Be signed by an authorized person at the school. 

( d) A school shall maintain attendance records for at least 5 years after 
a program or course has been conducted. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff.11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.07 and am. 
(1) (a), (b) and (e) and (2), Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; r. (1) (d) and (e) 
and (2), renum. (3) to be (2) and am. Register, February, 1987, No. 374, eff. 6-1-87; r. and 
recr. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.075 Continuing education examination conducted by the depart­
ment. ( 1) The department shall conduct a continuing education exami­
nation pursuant to s. 452.12 (5) (c) 2, Stats. 

(2) The department shall conduct the continuing education examina­
tion during each biennial licensure period, but not from July 1 to Decem­
ber 31 of each even-numbered year. 

(3) The continuing education examination shall cover the subjects re­
quired for continuing education approved by the department under s. 
452.05 (1) (d) and (g), Stats., and shall have no less than 5 questions for 
each hour of instruction in the approved continuing education program 
or courses. 

(4) The department shall permit a licensee to retake the continuing 
education examination one time. If the licensee fails the examination a 
second time, the licensee shall attend an approved continuing education 
program or course and pass all course examinations. 

(5) The department shall require a minimum passing score of 70 on the 
continuing education examination. 
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(6) The department shall permit licensees who take the continuing ed­
ucation examination to review the examination and the examination re­
sults, as provided in s. RL 12.025. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.075 and 
am. (1), Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; r. (2), renum. (1) and am. Register, 
February, 1987, No. 374, eff. 6-1-87; r. and recr. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.076 Correspondence courses. Correspondence courses do not sat­
isfy educational requirements in this chapter except to satisfy require­
ments in ss. RL 25.02 (1) (b) and 25.03 (2). 

History: Cr. Register, June, 1982, No. 318, eff. 7-1-82; renum. from REB 16.076, and am. 
Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; am. Register, February, 1987, No. 374, eff. 6-1-
87; am. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.08 Investigation and review. (1) PERIODIC REVIEW. The depart­
ment, or its duly authorized representative, shall investigate and review 
all approved educational programs, courses, and instructors. The 
method of review shall be determined by the department in each case and 
will generally consist of the following: 

(a) Consideration of information available from federal, state, or local 
agencies, private organizations or agencies, or interested persons. 

(b) Conferences with officials or representatives of the school involved 
or with former students of the school. 

(c) Public hearing respecting the educational program, course, or in­
structor involved, with adequate written notice to the school and/or 
instructor. 

(d) Investigation by visitation to the school. 

(2) UPON COMPLAINT. In addition to investigation upon its own initia­
tion, the department may investigate any school or instructor upon re­
ceipt of a complaint from an interested person. 

(3) DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF APPROVAL. (a) The department may 
limit, suspend or revoke the approval of a school or instructor to conduct 
any program or course, which had been approved pursuant to this chap­
ter, when the school or instructor has falsified information on any appli­
cation or certificate of attendance submitted to the department or when 
the school or instructor has not complied with the conditions for ap­
proval. Such actions may also be cause for disciplinary action against a 
licensee, pursuant to s. 452.14, Stats. 

(b) If, after investigation, the department denies or deems it proper to 
withdraw its approval of any educational program, course, or instructor, 
written notification must be given with reasons for such action. The 
school or instructor may request a hearing before the department. 

History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff.11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.08 and am. 
(1) (intro.), (2) and (3), Register, February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; am. (3), Register, 
January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.09 Advertising of real estate non-credit programs offered by licensees. History: Cr. 
Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; renum. from REB 16.09 and am. Register, 
February, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; r. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 

RL 25.10 Forms. History: Cr. Register, October, 1979, No. 286, eff. 11-1-79; renum. from 
REB 16.10 and am. (3), Register, February;, 1983, No. 326, eff. 3-1-83; r. and recr. Register, 
February, 1987, No. 374, eff. 6-1-87; r. Register, January, 1992, No. 433, eff. 2-1-92. 
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