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ORDER OF ADOPTION 

Pursuant to authority vested n the Department of Industry, labor and Human Relations by section{s) 

20.445 (1) (j), 101.19, 101.143 (2) aod 168.12, aod cbapter 145 

Stats., the Department of Industry, labor and Human Relations 0 creates; [8J amends; 

~ repeals and recreates; [B repeals and adopts rules of Wisconsin Administrative Code chapter(s): 

ILHR 2, ILHR 50 and ILHR 81 Fee Schedule, Buildiog Code aod Plumbing Code 
(Number) (Title) 

Theattachedrulesshalltakeeffecton the first day of the mooth followiog publicatioo 
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The Wisconsin Department of Industry, Labor and Human Relations proposes 
an order to repeal ch. Ind 69, ILHR 81.16, ILHR 81.38 and ILHR 81.65 (2); to 
amend ILHR 50.12 (5), ILHR 81.64 (1), ILHR 81.64 (4), ILHR 81.646 (2) and 
ILHR 81.67 (2) and (3); to repea1 and recreate ILHR 81.66; and to create 
ch. ILHR 2, relating to program revenue fees. 

******************************************************************************* 

ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED RULES 

Statutory Authority: ss. 20.445 (l)(j), 101.19, 101.143 (2) and 168.12, 
and ch. 145 

Statutes Interpreted: ss. 20.445 (l)(j), 101.19, 101.143 (2) and 
168.12, and ch. 145 

The Division of Safety and Bui1dings within the Department of Industry, 
Labor and Human Relations is responsible for administering and enforcing 
public safety rules re1ating to those services enumerated in the Statutes and 
funded from program revenue col1ected through user feesspecified in chapter 
Ind 69. The Department, by ru1e promulgated under chapter 227, Stats., is 
required to fix and co11ect fees which shou1d, as c1ose1y as possib1e, equa1 
the cost of providing those services. 

Much of the current program revenue fee schedu1e has been in effect since 
1982. The resu1tant fees currently do not generate sufficient revenues to 
equa1 the cost of providing the program services. During fisca1 year 1991, 
the tota1 revenue generated from all program fees accounted for only 70 
percent of the tota1 costs. 

A September 1989 evaluation of the Division by the Legislative Audit 
Bureau (LAB) recommended, "the Department proceed with its review and p1anned 
changes to its fee structure to ref1ect changes in programs, and to create 
more equitab1e fees" (page 24). LAB noted, furthermore, some of the observed 
program surp1uses and deficits might be addressed if more equitable fees were 
assessed. 

The proposed rules, therefore, consist of a combination of increases and 
decreases in the various fees to bring the projected revenue generated by each 
program area closer to 100 percent of program costs~ Some programs, however, 
are unab1e to fully recover their costs without substantial increases in fees, 
and currently require subsidization by fees from other programs. In addition, 
changes to various fees attempt to take into account additiona1 costs 
projected with the filling of vacant positions within the Division. 

The overa1l goa1s of the proposed rules are as follows: 

1. Make the fee schedule easier to read. In many cases, the 
public has found the code difficult to understand, and Division 
staff, sometimes, interprets the code differently. The 
proposed rules c1arify the procedures. 
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2. Make the fees more uniform, wherever possible. In some 
instances, similar tasks, especially admlnistrative duties, 
currently performed by the Division's bureaus are charged 
different fees. The proposed rules eliminate this situation as 
much as possible. 

3. Make the fee schedule easier to amend. Wherever possible, 
simi1ar tasks charging the same fees are combined into the same 
sections, thus al10wing changes to be made more readily. 

4. Make the fees easier to ealeulate. This point especially holds 
true for building p1an review and inspections, where several 
subsections of text are incorporated into one tab1e. 

5. Adjust program fees to minimize subsidization by other programs. 

6. Act upon LAB's recommendations. 

The proposed rules do not amend the current fees in several program areas 
because of recent changes in those fees. There are no changes proposed in the 
amusement ride program fees (ILHR 2.20), the tramway, lift and towing devices 
inspection fees (ILHR 2.21), and the petroleum-related program fees (sectlons 
ILHR 2.41 - 2.44). 

The Division will closely monitor its fees and program revenue reserve 
through an internal policy, which is also currently being revised, developed 
in September 1986. This policy is the result of a study which examined the 
issues of frequency of fee adjustments, parameters to correlate fees and 
costs, tnd appropriate reserve levels. The revised policy will inc1ude 
methodologies on how general purpose revenue should be used and administrative 
overhead costs shou1d be allocated. 

A 1989 report by the Bureau of Labor Market Information within the 
Department projected an upward trend in overall industry employment through 
the year 2000. However, fluctuations in private sector employment and, 
likewise, revenues may occur. What this implies is the Division may 
experience a natural growth in overal1 revenues for some time. Increased 
Division work10ad, then, may require additional staffing and will help to 
maintain the desired re~erve level. 

While these trends are only based upon projeetions, they wil1 provide the 
Division with some va1uab1e insight as to what may be expected for revenue in 
the upcoming years. The Division will take this information into 
consideration for future changes in the fee schedule. 

In conclusion, therefore, the proposed rules both comply with the 
recommendations of LAB and bring as many program areas to fu11 cost recovery 
as possible. 

******************************************************************************* 



SECTION 1. Chapter Ind 69 is repea1ed. 

SECTION 2. Chapter ILHR 2 is created to read: 

CHAPTER ILHR 2 
FEE SCHEDULE 

SUBCHAPTER I 
MISCELLANEOUS 

ILHR 2.001 SCOPE. The fees estab1ished in this ehapter sha11 be paid to 
the Wisconsin department of industry, 1abor and human re1ations (OILHR) -­
division of safety and bui1dings, for providing those services authorized in 
the Wisconsin Statutes. The division may withho1d providing serviees to 
individua1s who have past due accounts with the division. 

Note: All eheeks or money orders are to be made payab1e to Wiseonsin 
DILHR -- Division of Safety and Bui1dings. 

ILHR 2.02 HANDLING , COPYING AND MISCELLANEOUS FEES. (1) HANDLING FEES. 
(a) The department may charge a hand1ing fee, determined at $20.00 per hour, 
with a minimum fee of $20.00, in addition to any other fee provided in this 
chapter, to offset administrative costs. 

(b) A hand1ing fee of $50.00 per p1an sha11 be charged to the submitting 
party for any p1an which is submitted to the department, entered into the 
department's p1an system and, then, requested to be returned by the submitting 
party prior to review. This fee does not app1y to building p1an components, 
other than the origina1 building or heating and venti1ation p1an noted in s. 
ILHR 2.31 (1) (a) 1. a. & b., submitted after the origina1 plan submitta1. 

(2) . PHOTOCOPYING FEES. A photocopying fee of $0.25 per page may be 
charged. 

(3) PLAN REPRODUCTION FEES. A fee of $5.00 per p1an sheet sha11 be 
charged to the submitting party for p1an reproduction on p1an sheets 1arger 
than 1ega1 size. P1an sheets at or sma11er than 1ega1 size may be charged the 
normal photocopying fee. 

(4) PLAN APPROVAL - ADDITIONAL COPIES. (a) P1umbing. Upon request, 
additiona1 copies of approved p1umbing p1ans, with code vio1ations cited and 
bearing the approval stamp, beyond the minimum amount required by 
administrative code or the department, sha11 be provided upon receipt of a 
$10.00 fee, plus $5.00 per plan sheet. 



(b) Private sewage. Upon request, additiona1 copies of approved private 
sewage p1ans, with code vio1ations cited and bearing the approva1 stamp, 
beyond the minimum amount required by administrative code or the department, 
sha11 be provided upon receipt of a $10.00 fee. 

(c) Bui1ding.Upon request, additional building p1ans identica1 to 
previous1y approved plans sha11 be stamped approved upon receipt of a $20.00 
fee per p1an. 

(5) MAILING LISTS. The fee for mai1ing 1ists sha1l be $25.00 for the 
first 1,000 names and $5.00 for each 1,000 names thereafter. This fee sha11 
be doubled, if gummed 1abels are requested. 

(6) COMPUTER INFORMATION. Information from computer fi1es is availab1e 
for the costs incurred in generating the data requested. 

(7) MICROFILM FEES. Microfi1m prints of approved building and heating 
plans for the years 1967-1972 are availab1e at the cost of reproduction. 

(8) INSPECTION AND COPYING OF FILES, PLANS AND SPECIFICATIONS. The 
department sha11 allow inspection and copying of all files and p1ans, 
specifications and related materials fi1ed with the department, except as 
fo110ws: 

(a) The department may restrict, on a case by case basis, the right of 
inspection or copying of fi1es and p1ans, specifications and re1ated materia1s 
where the possible harm to the public interest outweighs the benefits of 
inspection or copying for the following types of bUi1dings and facilities: 

1. Banks, savings and loans, credit unions, securities dea1ers and 
other types or parts of buildings where large sums of money, negotiab1e 
securities or valuab1es are stored in secured areas; 

2. Jai1s and other correctiona1 institutions; 

3. Public faci1ities regu1ar1y used for the storage or eva1uation of 
evidence in criminal proceedings; 

4. Armories; 

5. Public broadcastlng facl1ities; 

6. Power generating facilitles; 

7. Museums and 11braries; and 

8." Noncommercia1 storage tanks which store heating oil for consumptive 
use on the premises. 

(b) The department sha11 a110w inspection or copying of files and plans, 
specifications and re1ated materials of all buildings in response to lawful 
subpoena or written requests from law enforcement agencies. 
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(e) Prior to any inspeetion or eopying of files and plans, 
speeifieations and re1ated materia1s, a written, signed app1ieation sha11 be 
obtained from the person requesting the inspeetion or eopying. The 
app1ieation sha11 contain a general deseription of the fi1es or premises for 
whieh inspeetion or eopying is requested and the fu11 name, address and 
te1ephone number of the requester. The written request sha11 contain a 
statement that any information obtained from the inspeetion or eopying shall 
not be used for any un1awfu1 purpose or unfair competitive practice, and that 
the information set out therein is true and correet. The department will 
eonsider the information supp1ied in the request in eonjunetion with the type 
of buildings noted in par. (a) in determining whether the request for 
inspeetion or copying shall be granted. The department may transmit a copy of 
this statement to the owner and submitter of the doeuments being inspeeted or 
eopied. 

(d) The department may eharge a reasonable amount to defray its eosts in 
providing eopies. 

ILHR 2.03 SPECIAL INSPECTIONS. (1) FEES. Unless speeified otherwise in 
this ehapter, fees for department eosts ineurred in the performance of speeia1 
inspeetions, ine1uding inspeetions for a1terations, fabrieation, repairs, 
testing and quality assuranee methods, whieh are either provided on request or 
to satisfy administrative eode requirements, sha11 be determined in aecordanee 
with Table 2.03. An additional amount may be eharged to eover all expenses, 
ine1uding trave1 time, mi1eage, meals and 1odging~ Trave1 expenses, however, 
shall be 1imited to those allowed under ss. 16.53 and 20.916, Stats., and 
eolleetive bargaining agreements. 

Table 2.03 

Individual Speeial Inspeetions 

(a) Inspeetions performed between the hours of 7:45 a.m. 

Fee Per Hour 
Per Inspeetor 

and 4:30 p.m. on weekdays, Monday through Friday ........ $40.00 

(b) Inspeetions performed on Saturdays, Sundays, 
holidays and at times other than seheduled in (a). 

(e) For supervising the American Soeiety of Mechanieal 
Engineers (ASME) joint review and audit and for 

$60.00 

eondueting shop audits, Monday through Friday .......... $60.00 

(2) MINIMUM CHARGE. In referenee to Table 2.03 (a) and (b), a minimum 
eharge of 4 hours sha11 be assessed for all speeia1 inspeetions required 
during fabrieation and testing of ASME eode iterns. 

-3-



ILHR 2.04 MISCELLANEOUS PLAN REVIEHS, INSPECTIONS AND SERVICES. (1) 
MISCELLANEOUS PLAN REVIEHS. Unless speeified otherwise in this ehapter, the 
fee for department eosts ineurred in performing miseel1aneous p1an reviews 
sha11 be $40.00 per hour per p1an, with a minimum fee of $40.00 per p1an. 

(2) MISCELLANEOUS INSPECTIONS AND INVESTIGATIONS. Un1ess speeified 
otherwise in this ehapter, the fee for department eosts ineurred in performing 
inspeetions on day eare faei1ities, eommunity-based residentia1 faeilities or 
other miseel1aneous inspeetions or investigations sha11 be $40.00 per hour per 
inspeetion or investigation, with a minimum fee of $40.00 per inspeetion or 
investigation, plus aetua1 expenses, ine1uding travel time, mileage, mea1s and 
lodging. Travel expenses, however, shall be 1imited to those allowed under 
ss. 16.53 and 20.916, Stats., and eol1eetive bargainirig agreements. 

(3) MISCELLANEOUS GOODS AND SERVICES. The department may colleet a fee 
for providing goods and serviees re1ated to work that has been de1egated by 
the department to authorized agents, munieipalities or other state ageneies 
based upon aetua1 eost. 

ILHR 2.05 CERTIFICATION OF CERTIFIED INSPECTORS AND INDEPENDENT 
INSPECTION AGENCIES. (1) GENERAL. All "applieants for eertifieation as a 
eertified inspeetor or independent inspeetion ageney shal1 submit, with the 
app1ieation form, fees as speeified in this seetion. 

(2) CERTIFIED INSPECTORS. (a) Applieation and initial eertification. 
Persons app1ying for eertification in one or more of the eategories speeified 
in par. (b) shall submit a fee of $35.00. 

(b) Categories of certification. Persons may be eertified in one or 
more of the following categories: 

1. Commerelal BUilding Inspeetor as defined in s. ILHR 26.05 (3) (e); 

2. Commereial E1eetriea1 Inspeetor as defined in s. ILHR 17.05 (5); 

3. Dwe11ing Construetion Inspeetor as defined in s. ILHR 26.05 (3) (a); 

4. Dwe11ing Eleetrica1 Inspeetor as defined in s. ILHR 26.05 (3) (d); 

5. Dwelling Heating, Venti1ating and Air Conditioning Inspeetor as 
defined in s. ILHR 26.05 (3) (e); 

6. Plumbing Inspeetor I as defined in s. ILHR 81.31 (3); 

7. Plumbing Inspector II as defined in s", ILHR 81.31 (4); 

8. Renta1 Unit Energy Inspeetor as defined in s. ILHR 68.04 (3); and 

9. Restrieted Commereial Electrieal Inspeetor as defined in s. ILHR 
17.05 (21). 
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(e) Examinations. Upon determination of ellglbility for examination for 
eertifieation as a eertified inspeetor, fees shall be submitted for 
examination as follows: 

1. Initia1 examination 

2. Examination retakes . 

3. Speeia1 examination arrangements 

$20.00 per eategory 

$20.00 per eategory 

$30.00 per eategory 

(d) Education and training seminars. Fees sha11 be assessed on an 
individua1 basis for edueation and training programs the department sponsors 
or participates in. 

(e) Recertificatlon. The annua1 recertifieation fee for a eertified 
inspeetor in one or more eategories of certifieation sha11 be $35.00 per 
person. 

(f) Reissuanee of eertifieates. The fee for the issuanee of a 
certificate whieh is 10st or stolen or for the rep1acement of a eertlficate 
sha11 be $10.00 per eertifieate. 

(g) Renewa 1 s of expi red eertifJeate-.i. The fee per eerti fi eate for the 
renewa1 of an expired certifieate sha11 be as fo11ows: 

1. Renewal made within 60 ealendar days after expiration date $10.00 

2. Renewa1 made more than 60 ea1endar days after expiration date ... 
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . .. examination retake 

(3) INDEPENDENT INSPECTION AGENCY. Fees for the initia1 eertifieation 
or reeertifieation of an independent inspeetion ageney to perform any or all 
of the inspection serviees outlined under sub. (2) (b) sha1l be assessed 
annually at the eost of $250.00. 

ILHR 2.06 FEE ASSESSMENT AND COLLECTION. (1) ASSESSMENT. Unless 
speeified otherwise in this ehapter,registration, inspeetion and all other 
fees in this chapter shall be paid annually before registration is proeessed 
by the department. 

(2) COLLECTIOK. All fees not paid within 60 ea1endar days after th~ 
first invoice date shal1 be assessed a late payment fee determined in 
aecordanee with Tab1e 2.06. 

Table 2.06 

Time Lapsed After 
Initial 60 days 
Less than 2 months 
2 to 4 months 
5 to 7 months 
8 to 10 months 
Over 10 months 
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Late Payment Fee 
$ 10.00 
$ 25.00 
$ 40.00 
$ 50.00 
$ 75.00 p1us $10.00 per 

month thereafter 



(3) MONTHLY BILLING SERVICE. Upon ,request and advance approval, the 
department may bill for services rendered on a monthly basis rather than 
requiring payment on an individual fee basis. Advance approval shall be 
obtained from the director in charge of the affected program. The decision to 
grant the request shall be based on the applicantls past record of paying for 
the service, the credit rating from a recognized credit organization or a 
letter of financial reference concerning loan and account information from a 
financia1 institution. 

(4) CHARGE CARO. The department may accept fee payment by charge card. 

ILHR 2.07 FEE REFUNDS. (1) GENERAL. If arequest for a permit, for 
which a fee is paid and a processing time is specified, is not processed by 
the department within the time specified, arefund of 50% of the fee paid 
shal1 be made to the person who paid for the request for the permit. 

(2) DEFINITIONS. The following definitions sha11 app1y in this section: 

(a) liFeeli means the amount of money paid for a single permit or request 
for service, but does not mean the total amount of money which may be 
submitted with an app1ication covering more than one permit or request for 
service. 

(b) "Permit ll inc1udes a license certification of an individua1 or 
company, examination of p1ans, initia1 certificate of operation, registration 
of a device, approva1 of a material or product, shaft excavation permit, 
petition for variance, permission to start construction, renta1 unit 
certificate of compliance, priority review and petition, and underground tank 
registration and use permit, but does not inc1ude any 1icense specified under 
s. 145.08 (1), Stats., or inspection services. 

(3) PROCESSING TIME. (a) Starti ng. date. The permit process i ng ti me 
sha11 begin on the day after receipt of the request for the permit whether by 
mail or in person. When the department finds a permit app1ication has been 
submitted with inadequate information or fees, the app1ication wi11 be placed 
on hold and the department will notify the applicant of the information needed 
to process the application. Upon receipt of the comp1ete i nformation , the 
department will process the permit, except that the length of the processing 
time shall start over and the processing time shall begin the day after the 
receipt of the additiona1 information or fees. 

(b) Ending date. The ending date which shall be used to assess whether 
the permit was processed within the time period specified shall be the date 
the department actua11y made a determination to approve, deny or withhold the 
permit, and not the date on the correspondence noting the action or the date 
the permit was mailed out. 

Note: The specific processing times for various permits may be found in 
the respective chapters where the permits are required. 
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(4) DETERMINATION. (a) The starting and ending dates recorded on the 
computer records or individual file shall be presumed by the department to be 
correet and shall be the dates used to assess whether a refund is to be made. 

(b) The initial determination as to whether the permit was processed 
within the time period specified shall be made by the director of the bureau 
responsible for issulng the permit. 

(c) Determinations subject to dispute shall be forwarded to the division 
administrator for a final determination. 

(5) PAYMENT OF RE FUND FEES. (a) All refunds made by the department 
shall be forwarded through the United states Postal Service. 

(b) Refunds shall be mailed to the person who paid for the request for 
the permit at the address of re cord indicated on the department's request for 
service forms. 

ILHR 2.08 WAIVER OF FEE ASSESSMENTS. All or a portion of any fee may be 
waived upon a determination of indigency. Waivers under this section may be 
granted only by the secretary of the department. 
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SUBCHAPTER II 
SAFETY SERVICES 

ILHR 2.10 COMPLAINT INVESTIGATIONS AND CERTIFICATES OF OPERATION. 
(1) REPEATED, UNWARRANTED COMPLAINT INVESTIGATIONS. Fees for repeated, 
unwarranted comp1aint investigations conducted by the department sha11 be 
assessed to the individua1 requesting the comp1aint investigation at the rate 
determined in accordance with s. ILHR 2.04 (2), with a minimum fee of $110 per 
investigation, payab1e in advance of the investigation. 

(2) CERTIFICATES OF OPERATION. Un1ess specified otherwise in this 
subchapter, the certificate of operation fee sha11 be determined in accordance 
with Tab1e 2.10. 

Tab1e 2.10 

Inspeetion Performed By Fee Per Certifieate 

Authorized inspector emp10yed by the 
department . . . . . . . . . $25.00 

Certified inspeetor emp10yed by a first c1ass eity . $25.00 

Certified inspeetor emp10yed by an 
insuranee company or agency. . $25.00 

ILHR 2.11 BOILERS AND PRESSURE VESSELS. (1) BOILER FEES. Inspection 
fees for boi1ers shall be determined in aeeordanee with Tab1e 2.11-1. 

Tab1e 2.11-1 

Heating Surface Tvne of Insnection 
Type of Boi 1 er Area (Square Feet) Interna1 Externa1 

Miniature 20 or 1ess $ 15.00 $ 15.00 
Power 21 - 250 $ 40.00 $ 40.00 

251 - 1,000 $ 90.00 $ 60.00 
1 ,OO 1 - 1 0 , 000 $120.00 $ 85.00 
Over 10,000 $315.00 $145.00 

Heating N/A 
-With manho1e $ 70.00 $ 30.00 
-Without manho1 e $ 65.00 $ 30.00 
-Multiple boilers 

at one 10cation Not more than $150.00 
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(2) PRESSURE VESSEL FEES. Inspeetion fees for pressure vessels shall be 
determlned ln aeeordanee wlth Table 2.11-2. 

Table 2.11-2 

Vo1ume of Operatlng 
Pressure Vesse1s Pressure Type of Inspeetl.QJl 

(Cubie Ft.) (pslg) Internal or Externa 1 

All slzes Less than 15 No Fee 
11 or less 15 or more No Fee 
12 thru 200 15 or more $25.00 
201 thru 500 15 or more $60.00 
Over 500 15 or more $70.00 
Mu1tlple pressure 
vesse1s at one 10cation --- Not more than $150.00 

(3) REINSPECTION FEES. A fee of $40.00 per inspeetion sha11 be assessed 
for inspeetions made by the department to gain complianee wlth ehs. ILHR 
41-42, after order s have been issued by the department. 

(4) ALTERATION AND REPAIR FEES. An owner, manufaeturer or contraetor 
reporting an alteratlon or repair to a bol1er or pressure vessel, as required 
by ch. ILHR 42, shall pay a fee of $25.00 wlth eaeh alteratlon or repalr 
report . 

(5) FEE FOR FAILURE TO HAVE BOILER OR PRESSURE VESSEL READY FOR 
INSPECTION. The owner shall pay a fee equal to 50% of the appllcab1e 
inspection fee for failure to have the boiler or pressure vessel ready for 
lnspection on the date speeifled, unless the owner notifles the department, ln 
wrlting, 7 buslness days prlor to the specifled inspeetlon date. 

(6) CERTIFICATES OF OPERATION. The department shall issue a eertlficate 
of operation for each boiler or pressure vessel upon recelpt of the inspection 
report indicatlng the bol1er or pressure vessel satisfles the mlnlmum 
operatlng standards speeifled in chs. ILHR 41-42. The fee per eertiflcate 
sha11 be determlned in aeeordanee with s. ILHR 2.10 (2). 

ILHR 2.12 ANHYDROUS AMMONIA SYSTEMS. (1) PLAN EXAMINATION AND 
INSPECTION FEES. The owner or user shall submit a fee of $150.00 for plan 
examinatlon and external inspection of each new anhydrous ammonla handling or 
storage faeility. Anhydrous ammonla systems shall not be put into operation 
until an initial inspeetlon has been eondueted by the department. 
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(2) PERIODIC INSPECTION FEES. (a) Storage facl11t~. Fees for the 
requlred perlodlc lnspectlon of storage facl11tles sha11 be $75.00 per 
fael11ty. 

(b) Nurse tanks. Fees for the required periodic inspection of nurse 
tanks shal1 be determlned in accordance with Tab1e 2.12. 

Nurse Tanks 
Per S lte 

10 or 1ess . 
11 - 30. 
31 - 50. 
Over 50 .. 

Tab1e 2.12 

Fee 

$ 30.00 
$ 65.00 
$100.00 

.$140.00 

(3) CERTIFICATES OF OPERATION. The department sha11 issue a certificate 
of operation for each anhydrous ammonia system upon recelpt of the inspection 
report indicating the anhydrous ammonia system satisfies the minimum operating 
standards specified in ch. IlHR 43. The fee per certificate sha1l be 
determined in accordance with s. IlHR 2.10 (2). 

IlHR 2.13 MECHANICAl REFRIGERATION SYSTEMS. (1) INSPECTION FEES. The 
inspeetion fees, based on the aggregate tonnage of the mechanieal 
refrigeration system, shall be determined in aceordance with Tab1e 2.13. 

Table 2.13 

Capaeity in Tons* Inspection Fee 

less than 3 . No fee 
3 thru 25 . $ 30.00 
26 thru 100 $ 50.00 
101 thru 250. $ 65.00 
251 thru 500. . $105.00 
501 thru 750. $140.00 
751 thru 1,000. . $170.00 
Over 1 ,000. . $200.00 

*Note: For the purpose of assessing the inspeetion fee, the eapaeity of 
a mechanieal refrigeration system will be determined in tons. One ton of 
refrigeration capacity is considered to be the equivalent of abstracting heat 
at the rate of 12,000 Btu per hour. 
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(2) CERTIFICATES OF OPERATION. The department sha11 issue a eertifieate 
of operation for eaeh mechanieal refrigeration system upon reeeipt of the 
inspeetion report indieating the mechanieal refrigeration system satisfies the 
minimum operating standards speeified in ch. ILHR 45. The fee per eertifieate 
sha11 be determined in aeeordanee with s. ILHR 2.10 (2). 

(3) OZONE-DEPLETING REFRIGERANT REGISTRATION. (a) Business 
establishments desiring to be registered for servieing of refrigeration 
equipment under s. ILHR 45.30 or for selling used refrigerant under s. ILHR 
45.31 sha11 submit a fee of $100.00 with eaeh registration form. 

(b) The fee for the registration of the eertifieate of eompeteney.for 
the use of refrigerant transfer or reeyeling equipment sha11 be $15.00. The 
fee for a dup1ieate eertifieate of eompeteney shal1 be $15.00. 

(e) The fee for reviewing and approval of ozone-depleting refrigerant 
training courses under s. ILHR 45.34 (4) shall be based on an hourly rate of 
$40.00 per hour, with additional fees as al10wed under s. ILHR 2.03. 

ILHR 2.14 WELDER CERTIFICATION FEES. (1) ONE TEST REPORT. Except as 
provided in sub. (2), persons desiring to be eertified as a struetura1 we1der 
shall submit, with eaeh qualifieation test report form, a fee of $22.00. 

(2) TWO OR MORE TEST REPORTS. When 2 or more welder qualifieations are 
eomp1eted and reported within a period of time not to exeeed 15 business days, 
one fee may be submitted in the amount of $44.00 for the test reports 
submitted for an individual we1der. 

Note: Mu1tiple processes used for one test eoupon are considered one 
report. 

(3) TESTING AGENCIES. The fee for reviewing and approval of struetural 
steel weld testing ageneies sha11 be based on an hourly rate of $40.00 per 
hour, with additional fees as a110wed under s. ILHR 2.03. 

ILHR 2.15 ELEVATORS. POWER DUMBWAITERS. ESCALATORS. MOVING WALKS AND 
RAMPS. LIFTS FOR THE PHYSICALLY DISABLED AND MATERIAL LIFTS. (1) PLAN 
EXAMINATION, APPLICATION AND INSPECTION FEES. Fees for the initial inspeetion 
and for the examination of plans or for an app1ieation for installation or 
alteration, or both, submitted in aeeordance with the requirements of 
ch. ILHR 18, shal1 be determined at the rate of 1.5% of the eost to the 
purehaser, exe1uding bUilding eonstruetion. The minimum fee sha11 be $200.00. 

(2) INSPECTION FEES. Fees for periodie inspeetions and reinspeetions of 
all elasses of elevators and lifting deviees within the seope of ch. ILHR 18 
shal1 be determined in aeeordanee with Table 2.15-1. 

Number of Landings 

0-4 
5 - 10 
11 or more 

Table 2.15-1 
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(3) CERTIFICATES OF OPERATION. The department sha11 issue a certificate 
of operation for each e1evator upon receipt of the inspection report 
indicating the e1evator satisfies the minimum operating standards specified in 
ch. IlHR 18. The fee per certificate sha11 be determined in accordance with 
Tab1e 2.15-2. 

Tab1e 2.15-2 

Inspection Performed by 

Authorized inspector emp10yed by the 
department . . . . . . . . . 

Certified inspector emp10yed by an 
insurance company or agency. 

Fee Per Certificate 

$25.00 

.$25.00 

IlHR 2.16 CERTIFICATES OF COMPETENCY AND INSURANCE COMPANY ASSESSMENTS. 
(1) CERTIFICATES OF COMPETENCY. (a) Insurance company emp10yes e1igib1e to 
be examined for competency as a boi1er or e1evator inspector sha11 submit, 
with the proper app1ication form, an examination fee of $75.00. 

(b) Boi1er inspectors receiving a reciproca1 certificate of competency 
by qua1ifying as a member of the national board of boi1er and pressure vessel 
inspectors sha11 submit, with their app1ication form, a fee of $60.00. 

(c) An app1icant who fai1s the schedu1ed examination need not submit an 
additiona1 examination fee when the app1ication for reexamination is fi1ed 
within 12 months from the date of the initia1 examination. If 3 or more 
examinations are taken, an additiona1 examination fee sha11 be charged for 
each examination. 

(d) The annua1 renewa1 fee for certificates of competency sha11 be 
$30.00 per certificate. 

(2) INSURANCE COMPANY ASSESSMENTS. The department may inspect any 
insta11ation which is a1so inspected by a certified inspector emp10yed by an 
insurance company or agency. Hhen the department inspection confirms that the 
insurance inspection report is incomp1ete, inva1id or unacceptab1e, the 
department wi11 assess the insurance company or agency a fee determined in 
accordance with s. IlHR 2.11 or 2.15 (2). 

IlHR 2.17 MINES. PITS AND QUARRIES. (1) SUBMITTAl REQUIREMENTS. The 
operator, meaning a person or firm operating the crushing, screening or 
washing equipment, sha11 submit, with the fee specified in sub. (2), the name 
of the mine, pit or quarry; the name of the operator or company; the mai1ing 
address; the te1ephone number; and the type of product to be mined, such as 
ore, stone, c1ay, 1ime or aggregate. 
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(2) ANNUAL SAFETY INSPECTION SERVICE. The annual safety inspeetion 
service fee for eaeh meta1 or nonmeta1 mine, pit or'quarry sha11 be based on 
the size of the respeetive operation for the ea1endar year. Produetion 
reeords sha11 be made avai1ab1e upon request. The fee sha11 be determined in 
aeeordanee with Tab1e 2.17. This fee does not app1y to mines, pits or 
quarries used for private domestie use. 

Tab1e 2.17 

Annua1 Produetion(Tons Per Year) 

Less than 50,000 .. 
50,000 - 100,000 . 
100,001 - 200,000. 
200,001 - 300,000 .. 
300,001 - 400,000. 
400,001 - 500,000. 
Over 500,000 ... 

Annua1 Safety 
Inspeetion Fee 

... $ 95.00 
. $ 185. OO 
.$ 370.00 
.$ 560.00 
.$ 740.00 
.$ 930.00 
.$1,485.00 

(3) SHAFT MINE DEVELOPMENT. (a) The fee for obtaining a shaft 
exeavation permit sha11 be $275.00 per permit. 

(b) The fee per inspeetor for inspeetions or monitoring visits or both 
required by s. 101.15 (2) (f), Stats., shal1 be determined in aeeordanee with 
s. ILHR 2.04 (2). 

(e) The fee for speeial inspeetions provided on request shall be in 
aeeordanee with s. ILHR 2.03. 

(4) DRILL RIG INSPECTIONS. The fee for eondueting a safety inspeetion 
of a drill rig and associated equipment for exploration drilling shall be 
$55.00 per inspeetion. 

ILHR 2.18 BLASTERS AND EXPLOSIVES. (1) BLASTERS. Persons eligible to 
be examined to reeeive a blaster's eertifieate shall submit, with the proper 
app1ieation form, fees in aeeordanee with Table 2.18-1. 

Table 2.18-1 

___ -'E"'-'-x.amination or Certifieation 
B1aster's examination. .. . ... . 
B1aster's eertifieate . .. . ... . 
Renewal fee for a b1aster's eertifieate 
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(2) INSPECTIONS OF EXPLOSIVES. (a) Use of explosives. Fees for 
eondueting a safety inspeetion of the use of explosives shall be assessed at 
$55.00 per inspeetion. Use of explosives shall inelude the storage of daily 
supplies. 

(b) Permanent storage. Fees for eondueting a safety inspeetion of a 
permanent explosive storage faeility shall be determined in aeeordanee with 
Table 2.18-2. The fees are based on the eombined volume of one or more 
magazines at any given site. This inspeetion fee is intended for blasters and 
explosive eontraetors working independently of mine, pit or quarry operations. 

Table 2.18-2 

Quantity of Explosives 

Storage Per Site 
Less than 100 cubic feet . 
100 - 500 eubic feet . 
Over 500 cubic feet ... 

Fee 

$ 55.00 
. $ 80.00 
. $110.00 

(e) Storage of explosives in a community. Fees for department costs 
ineurred in the performance of safety inspeetions of temporary explosive 
storage magazines in a community shall be $55.00 per magazine. 

ILHR 2.19 FIREWORKS MANUFACTURING PLANLS. (1) INSPECTION FEES. Fees 
for department eosts ineurred in the performance of inspeetion of fireworks 
manufaeturing plants shall be $40.00 per hour per manufaeturing plant, with a 
minimum fee of $40.00 per manufaeturing plant. An additional amount may be 
eharged to eover all expenses, ineluding travel time, mileage, meals and 
lodging. Travel expenses, however, shall be limited to those allowed under 
department employe travel regulations. 

(2) LICENSE FEES. The fee for an original fireworks manufaeturer 
lieense or a renewal lieense shall be $25.00 per lieense. 

ILHR 2.20 AMUSEMENT RIDES. (1) PLAN EXAMINATION, OA TA REVIEW, 
REGISTRATION AND INSPECTIONS. Fees for amusement rides shall be determined in 
aeeordanee with the following sehedule: 

(al Plan examination for new amusement ride tramways ......... . 
. . .. .... . . . . .. . .$135.00 per plan submittal 

Note: See s. ILHR 33.01 for definitions of tramways. 
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(b) Review of engineering analysis and test 'data associated with the 
aeeeptanee of amusement rides and bungee jumping sites ... $135.00 per review 

(e) Annual registration for amusement rides: 

1. Coin operated kiddie rides with a maximum eapacity of 3 ehildren 
$20.00 per ride 

2. All other rldes ..... . .... $40.00 per ride 

(d) Inspeetion of eoin operated kiddie rides with a maximum eapaeity of 
3 ehildren ........................... $35.00 per ride 

(e) Inspeetion of Class 1 amusement rides ........ $75.00 per ride 

(f) Inspeetion of Class 2 amusement rides, exeept amusement rides that 
the manufaeturer estimates require more than 40 work hours for ereetion ... 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $140.00 per ride 

(g) Inspeetion of Class 3 amusement rides and amusement rides that the 
manufaeturer estimates require more than 40 work hours for ereetion ..... 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$200.00 per ride 

(h) Inspeetion of amusement ride tramways 

(i) Inspeetion of bungee jumping site 

... $250.00 per tramway 

$500.00 per site or tower 

(j) Late registration fee for failure to register amusement ride before 
opening it to the public. . . . . . . . .. . ........ $100.00 per ride 

(k) Reinspeetion fee to gain eomplianee with department orders if 
eomplianee is not met . . ............. $150.00 per visit 

Note: See s. ILHR 34.03 for definitions of ride elasses. 

(2) FEE ASSESSMENT AND COLLECTION. Registration and inspeetion fees for 
amusement rides shall be paid annually before registration is proeessed by the 
department. 

ILHR 2.21 TRAMHAYS. LIFTS AND TOHING DEVICES. (1) PLAN EXAMINATION 
FEE. Fees for the examination of plans for tramways, lifts and towing deviees 
shal1 be determined in aeeordanee with Table 2.21-1. 

Tab1e 2.21-1 

_----'T~yQe of Li ft or D~e,---,-v--,'-i -,,-,e e"--_____________ -'--'F e",->e,-:-,-P-",-e.L..r --,P_--.!l~aclln __ _ 
Gondola lifts and rides . . . . . . . . . . . . .$300.00 
Chair lifts and rides . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$225.00 
Surfaee tows, exeept fiber and wire rope tows*. . .$150.00 
Fiber and wire rope tows. . . . . . . . . . . . . .$100.00 
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Note #1: See ch. ILHR 34 for definition of the term "Amusement Ride" as 
it app1ies to tramways, lifts and towing devices used as amusement rides. 

*Note #2: Surface tows include T-bar, platter and similar devices. 

(2) INSPECTION FEES. Fees for the inspection of new installations, 
annual inspections and other inspections shall be determined in accordance 
with Table 2.21-2. 

Tab1e 2.21-2 

Type of Lift or Device 

Gondo1a 1ifts and rides ..... . 
Chair lifts and rides ...... . 
Surface tows, except fiber and wire rope tows*. 
Fiber and wire rope tows ..... . 

Inspection Fee 
Per Insta1lation 

.$205.00 

.$205.00 

.$135.00 

.$ 81.00 

Note #1: See ch. ILHR 34 for definition of the term "Amusement Ride" as 
it applies to tramways, 1ifts and towing devices used as amusement rides. 

*Note #2: Surface tows inc1ude T-bar, p1atter and simi1ar devices. 

(3) LOAD TEST FEE. The fee for certifying a 10ad test shall be $135.00 
per load test. 

(4) CERTIFICATES OF OPERATION. Thedepartment sha11 issue a certificate 
of operation for each device upon receipt of the inspection report indicating 
the device satlsfies the minimum operating standards specified in ch. ILHR 
33. The fee per certificate shal1 be $16.00. 
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SUBCHAPTER III 
BUILDINGS 

ILHR 2.31 BUILDINGS, STRUCTURES, HEATING AND VENTILATION. (1) PLAN 
SUBMITTAL. Fees relating to the submittal of all plans, submitted in 
accordance with the requirements of chs. ILHR 50 to 64, shall be determined in 
aeeordanee with the following: 

(a) Building, heating and ventilation. 1. 'General I. Fees relating to 
the submittal of all building and heating, ventilation and air eonditioning 
(HVAC) plans shall be computed on the basis of the total gross floor area of 
eaeh building and shall be determined in aeeordanee with Table 2.31-1. The 
fees in Table 2.31-1 shall be submitted to the department for buildings not 
located in munie;palities that have assumed building inspeetion 
responsibilities. 

Table 2.31-1 

Area 
(Square Feet) 

Less than 2,500 
2,501 - 5,000 
5 , OO 1 - 1 0 , 000 

10,001 - 20,000 
20,001 - 30,000 
30,001 - 40,000 
40,001 - 50,000 
50,001 - 75,000 
75,001 - 100,000 

100,001 - 200,000 
200,001 - 300,000 
300,001 - 400,000 
400,001 - 500,000 

Over 500,000 

Type of Submittal 

Buil di ng & HVAC 

$ 320 
430 
580 
900 

1,280 
1,690 
2,280 
3,080 
3,880 
5,940 

12,200 
17 , 190 
21 ,220 
22,810 

Miscellaneous plans (see subd. 3.) . 
Permissions to start (see part (e» .. 
Revisions (see part (d» ...... . 

HES 
Building Area Only 

$ 270 
320 
480 
630 
900 

1 ,220 
1,590 
2,120 
2,600 
4,240 
7,430 

11 , 140 
13,790 
14,850 

HVAC Area Only 

$ 190 
240 
270 
370 
480 
690 
900 

1 ,220 
1,690 
2,120 
4,770 
6,900 
9,020 

10 ,080 

.$250 

.$ 80 

.$100 

2. ISeope. I The fees indicated in Table 2.31, relating to building and 
heating and ventilation plans, inelude the plan review and inspeetion fees for 
all components, whether submitted with the original submitta1 or at a later 
date. Components included with the initial fee are: 

a. Building plans; 
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b. Heating, ventl1atlon and air conditioning (HVAC) p1ans; 

c. Bleacher plans for interior bleachers only; 

d. Fire escapes; 

e. Footing and foundations plans (see subd. 3.a.); and 

f. Structural component p1ans, such as floor and roof trusses, precast 
concrete, 1aminated wood, meta1 bui1dings, solariums and other slmi1ar parts 
of the building. 

3. 'Misce11aneous p1ans. I Misce11aneous p1ans are p1ans which have no 
building or HVAC p1an submissions and for which no area may be associated. 
The fee indlcated in Table 2.31 re1ating to misce11aneous p1ans inc1udes the 
p1an review and inspection fees. Misce11aneous p1ans inc1ude, but are not 
1imited, to: 

a. Footing and foundation p1ans submitted prior to the submission of the 
building p1ans; 

b. Industria1 exhaust systems for dust, fumes, vapors and gases, for 
government-owned bui1dings only; 

c. Spray booth p1ans, for government-owned bui1dings only; 

d. Stadium, grandstand and b1eacher plans, and interior b1eacher p1ans 
submitted as independent projeets; 

e. structural p1ans submitted as independent projeets, such as docks, 
piers, antennae, outdoor movie screens and observation towers; and 

f. Any building component, other than building and HVAC, submitted 
following the fina1 inspection by a deputy of the department or, in the case 
of an agent municipa1ity or county, the inspector having jurisdiction. 

4. 'Exceptions. I a. 'Fees for mu1tiple identica1 bui1dings at the same 
site. I The fees out1ined in this subparagraph may be applied to a project 
which contains multip1e identica1 bui1dings. In order to qua1ify for the 
mu1tip1e identica1 building fee, plans for all bui1dings sha11 be submitted at 
the same time. The fees for the submittal of building and heating and 
venti1ation p1ans for the first building sha11 be determined in accordance 
with Tab1e 2.31 on the basis of the tota1 gross area of one building. The fee 
for each of the remaining identica1 bui1dings sha11 be computed on the basis 
of an area of 1ess than 2,500 square feet. 

b. 'Agent municipa1ities and counties. I A p1an review fee sha11 be 
submitted to the department in accordance with Tab1e 2.31-2 for bui1dings 
10cated in agent municipa1ities and counties that have assumed those building 
inspection responsibi1ities re1ative to s. 101.12 (3) (g), Stats., and ch. 
ILHR 50. 
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Tab1e 2.31-2 

Area FEES 
(Square Feet) Building & HVAC Building Area Only HVAC Area Only 

Less than 2,500 $ 290 $ 240 $ 170 
2,501 - 5,000 390 290 .220 
5,001 - 10,000 520 430 240 

10,001 - 20,000 810 570 330 . 
20,001 - 30,000 1 , 150 810 430 
30,001 - 40,000 1 ,530 1 ,100 630 
40,001 - 50,000 2,060 1,440 810 
50,001 - 75,000 2,780 1 ,910 1 ,100 
75,001 - 100,000 3,500 2,350 1 ,530 

100,001 - 200,000 5,350 3,830 1 ,910 
200,001 - 300,000 11 ,000 6,700 4,310 
300,001 - 400,000 15,500 10,050 6,220 
400,001 - 500,000 19, 140 12,440 8,130 

Over 500,000 20,570 13,400 9,090 

(b) Building a1terations. 1. The examination fees for alteration plans 
of existing buildings and struetures undergoing remode1ing or review of tenant 
space layouts sha11 be determined in aeeordanee with Table 2.31-1 or 
Table 2.31-2 on the basis of the floor area, roof areas and external wall 
surfaees undergoing remode1ing. 

2. The fee speeified in subd. 1. shall be based on the aetual gross 
square footage of the area being remodeled. Hhen the remodeling of an 
individual building element affeets eode eomp1ianee for a larger area, the fee 
sha11 be computed on the basis of the total square footage of the affeeted 
area. 

(e) Permission to start eonstr~tion. The fee for a permission to start 
eonstruetion shall be as speeified in Table 2.31-1. 

(d) Revisions. The fee for revisions to previously approved plans shall 
be as speeified in Tab1e 2.31-1. This paragraph app1ies when p1ans are 
revised for reasons other than those which were requested by the department. 
No revision fee wil1 be eharged for p1ans requested by the department as a 
eondition of origina1 p1an approva1. 

(2) FEE FOR EXTENSION OF PLAN APPROVAL. The examination fee for a plan 
previous1y approved by the department for which an approva1 extension is 
'requested shall be $75.00 per plan. 

(3) PRIORITY PLAN REVIEH. An appointment may be made with the 
department to facilitate the examination of p1ans. The plans shall comply 
with the provisions of s. ILHR 50.12. The fee for this type of plan submittal 
sha11 be determined at twice the normal rate, based on the appropriate 
eategory of p1an speeified under this section. 
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(4) REINSPECTION FEE. A fee as speeified in s. ILHR 2.04 (2) sha11 be 
assessed for inspeetions made by the department to gain eomp1ianee with ru1es 
after orders have been issued by the department. 

(S) COMPLETION STATEMENT. A fee of $10.00 shall be assessed for any 
project where the department has issued orders for a eompletlon statement to 
be submitted as required by s. ILHR 50.10. 

(6) FEE REFUNDS. The department may refund the differenee in fees 
between Tables 2.31-1 and 2.31-2 for projeets that are abandoned prior to 
construetlon. 

(7) COLLECTION OF FEES. Fees sha11 be remltted at the time the p1ans 
are submltted. No p1an examinations, approva1s or inspeetlons sha11 be made 
unti1 fees are received. 

ILHR 2.32 ELECTRICAL EXAMINATION AND CERTIFICATION. (1) COMMERCIAL 
ELECTRICAL INSPECTOR EXAMINATION AND CERTIFICATION FEES. Fees for examination 
and eertification of commerclal eleetriea1 lnspeetors and restrleted 
commerelal eleetrlea1 inspeetors shal1 be determined in aeeordanee with 
s. ILHR 2.0S. 

(2) INDEPENDENT INSPECTION AGENCY CERTIFICATION FEES. Fees for the 
eertifieation of independent inspeetion ageneies offering to perform 
eleetrieal inspeetions of public buildings and places of emp10yment shall be 
determined in accordance with s. ILHR 2.0S. 

(3) MASTER ELECTRICIAN EXAMINATION AND CERTIFICATION FEES. (a) 
Application. 1. Persons app1ying for eertifieation as a master e1eetrieian 
sha11 submit a fee of $35.00. 

2. Persons app1ying for eertification as a restrieted master e1eetrician 
sha11 submit a fee of $lS0.00. 

(b) Examination. Fees sha11 be submitted for examination and 
reexamination as fo110ws: 

1. Initia1 examination .............. $30.00 

2. Re-examination ................. $30.00 per examination 

(e) Initial eertifieation. Upon suecessfu11y passing the written 
examinatlon, the app1lcant for master e1ectrieian eertiflcation shall submlt a 
fee of $120.00. 

(d) Recertificatlon. The 3-year recertiflcation fee shal1 be $lS0.00. 
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(4) RENEWAL OF EXPIRED CERTIFICATES. Late renewal fees for 
eertifieation renewals submitted following eertifieation expiration shall be 
determined as follows: 

(a) Less than 2 months late 

(b) 2 to 6 months late 

(e) More than 6 months late 

.$10.00 

.$25.00 

examination retake 

ILHR 2.33 MOBILE HOMES. (1) CERTIFICATION AND INSPECTION FEES. Fees 
for eertifieation and inspeetion relative to the manufaeture of mobile homes 
sha11 be determined in aeeordanee with Tab1e 2.33. 

Type of Approva1 

Manufaetured home inspeetion 
Manufaeturer 11eense ..... 

Tab1e 2.33 

P1ant inspeetion and eertifieation. 
Required inspeetion not ine1uded in the fee 

distribution system deseribed in 24 CFR 3282.204(a) 
Warranty-re1ated inspeetions, reinspeetions or 

investigative actions eondueted as aresult of 
eonsumer eomp1aints ............... . 

Fee 

Established by Contraet 
$225.00 per year 
See s. ILHR 2.04 (2) 

See s. ILHR 2.04 (2) 

See s. ILHR 2.04 (2) 

(2) FORMALDEHYDE INVESTIGATION AND TESTING. To offset the department 
eost of eonduetlng forma1dehyde testing and complaint investigation related to 
forma1dehyde in aeeordanee with ch. ILHR 27, a fee sha11 be assessed in 
aeeordanee with s. ILHR 2.04 (2), or $100 per test, whiehever is greater. 

ILHR 2.34 ONE- AND TWO-FAMILY DWELLINGS, MANUFACTURED DWELLINGS AND 
MANUFACTURED MULTI-FAMILY DWELLINGS. (1) UNIFORM BUILDING PERMIT SEAL. A 
fee of $25.00 shal1 be remitted to the department or its agent at the time of 
applieation for a Wiseonsin Uniform BUilding Permft Seal. Munieipalities 
administering the Uniform Dwe11ing Code sha11 purehase one $25.00 permit seal 
for eaeh new dwelling fal1ing within the seope of the Uniform Dwel1ing Code. 

(2) DEPARTMENTAL PLAN REVIEW. Thefollowing fees for p1an review of 
dwel1ings or their a1terations or additions sha11 app1ywhere the department 
administers and enforees the Uniform Dwel1ing Code, and may be applied when 
the department is requested by a munieipa1ity to assist in the administration 
and enforeement of the Uniform Dwe11ing Code: 

(a) Where emp10yes of the department review plans, the fee shal1 be 
determined in aeeordanee with s. ILHR 2.04 (1) or $80.00 per p1an, whiehever 
is greater. 
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(b) Where an independent inspeetor or inspeetion ageney under eontraet 
to the department reviews plans, the fees established in the eontraet shall 
defray the aetual eost of the service. 

(3) DEPARTMENTAL INSPECTIONS. The following fees for on-site 
inspeetions shall apply where the department administers and enforees the 
Uniform Dwelling Code, and may be applied when the department is requested by 
a munieipality to assist in the administration and enforeement of the Uniform 
Dwelling Code: 

(a) Where employes of the department perform on-site inspeetions, the 
fee shall be determined in aeeordanee with s. ILHR 2.04 (2), with a minimum 
fee of $120.00 per inspeetion, payable in advanee of issuing the building 
permit. 

(b) Where employes of the department perform on-site enforeement-related 
inspeetions as aresult of eonsumer eomplaints, eontraetor requests or 
requests by any individuals in munieipalities where permits are not issued and 
inspeetions are not performed, a fee shall be assessed to the individual 
requesting the inspeetion determined in aeeordanee with s. ILHR 2.04 (2), with 
a minimum fee of $120.00 per inspeetion, payable in advanee of the inspeetion. 

(e) Where an independent inspeetor or inspeetion ageney under eontraet 
to the department performs inspeetions, the fees established in the eontraet 
shall defray the aetual eost of the service. 

(4) MANUFACTURED DWELLINGS. (a) Exeept as provided in pars. (b) and 
(e), where employes of the department perform plan reviews, plant evaluations, 
eonsumer complaint investigations or any other type of enforeement-related 
aetivity for manufaetured dwellings, the manufaeturer shall be assessed at the 
rates determined in aeeordanee with s. ILHR 2.04. 

(b) The minimum fee for plan review shall be $80.00 per plan. 

(e) The minimum fee for inspeetions shall be $120.00 per inspeetion. 

(5) MANUFACTURED MULTI-FAMILY DWELLINGS. (a) Fees related to plan 
examination and field inspeetions shall be determined in aeeordanee with s. 
ILHR 2.31. 

(b) Fees related to in-plant inspeetions performed by the department 
shall be assessed and determined in aeeordanee with s. ILHR 2.04 (2). 

(6) WISCONSIN INSIGNIAS. Fees for Wiseonsin insignias shall be assessed 
and computed on the basis of $25.00 for eaeh dwelling unit. 

(7) MISCELLANEOUS FEES. When the department provides goods or serviees 
not speeifieally covered by the fees in subs. (1) to (6), fees may be eharged 
to persons or organizations requesting the goods and serviees based upon 
aetual eost. 

-22-



ILHR 2.35 RENTA1-UNIT ENERGY lFFICIENCY PROGRAM. Pursuant to s. 101.19 
(1) (i), Stats., the fees to administer and enforee s. 101.122, Stats., are as 
fol10ws: 

(1) APPLICATIONS FOR EXEMPTION. A fee of $25.00 sha11 be remitted to 
the department when an app1ieation for exemption is submitted to the 
department. 

(2) APPLICATIONS FOR STIPULATION. A fee of $50.00 sha11 be remitted to 
the department when an app1ieation for stipu1ation is submitted to the 
department. 

(3) APPLICATIONS FOR HAIVER. A fee of $50.00 sha11 be remitted to the 
department when an app1ieation for waiver is submitted to the department. 

(4) CERTIFICATION STAMPS. A fee of $20.00 sha11 be remitted to the 
department for eaeh DILHR eertifieation transfer authorization stamp used to 
authorize eertifieates of eomp1ianee. Only eertified rental unit energy 
efficiency inspeetors and authorized munieipa1ities may purehase eertifieation 
stamps from the department. 

(5) FEES FOR INSPECTION AND CERTIFICATION. (a) Maximum fee. The 
maximum fee for inspeetion and eertification of renta1 units by the 
department, authorizing munieipa1ity or any certified inspeetor, sha11 be as 
fo110ws: 

1. Up to 2 Rental Units ....... $200.00 

2. Three to 8 Renta1 Units 

3. Over 8 Renta1 Units .. 

.$200 p1us $50 for eaeh additiona1 
rental unit over 2 rental units 

.$500 p1us $25 for eaeh additiona1 
rental unit over 8 renta1 units 

(b) Seope of fee. The inspeetion and eertifieation fee sha11 eover the 
eost of performing an initia1 inspeetion, whieh ine1udes issuing a fie1d 
inspeetion report exp1aining items of noneomp1ianee and a fina1 inspeetion, 
whieh ine1udes the eost of the eertifieation stamp and preparation of the 
eertifieate. If additiona1 inspeetions are required due to noneomp1iant items 
not being correeted, an additiona1 fee, based upon an aetua1 eost basis, 
ine1uding sa1ary and aetua1 trave1 expenses, may be eharged to offset the eost 
of further inspeetions. If, after an initia1 inspeetion, a notice of 
noneompliance is issued and, upon reinspeetion, all the required energy 
measures were installed, no additiona1 charges may be made for any further 
inspeetions. Further inspeetions may be neeessary to assure that the proper 
energy measures are installed in response to any additiona1 points of 
noneompliance. 

(e) Fees for requested ins~etions. Inspeetions the department is 
requested to perform wi11 be eharged the maximum fee. 
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(6) TRANSFER AUTHORIZATION STAMPS. Any authorized municipa1ity sha11 
remit to the department the following fees for each transfer authorization 
stamp: 

(a) Certifi cate 

(b) Stipu1ation 

$10.00 

$10.00 

(c) Waiver ............................ $10.00 
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SUBCHAPTER IV 
PETROLEUM 

ILHR 2.41 PETROLEUM PRODUCT FUND. (1) GENERAL. The department sha11 
colleet a fee of $0.50 for eaeh 50 ga110ns of petro1eum product from which a 
sample is taken for the following programs: 

(a) The administration of the petro1eum produet inspeetion program; 

(b) The administration of the petro1eum produet storage tank program; 

(e) The operation of the petro1eum storage environmenta1 remedia1 action 
fund to pay aetua1 and projeeted awards and administrative costs; 

(d) Transfer to the department of agrieu1ture, trade and eonsumer 
protection for the administration of the unfair sales enforcement program; 

(e) Transfer to the department of natural resources for the we11 
eompensation program; and 

(f) Other programs, ineluding the department of natural resourees 
environmental repair fund, that may be speeified by statute. 

(1m) VAPOR RECOVERY GRANT PROGRAM. Beginning on September 1, 1991, the 
department shal1 eh~rge an oi1 inspeetion fee, in addition to any other fees, 
of $0.50 for eaeh 50 ga110ns from whieh petro1eum produet samp1es were taken 
for the vapor reeovery grant program. No fees may be charged under this 
subseetion after October 31, 1992. 

(2) SPECIFIED FEES AS LIENS ON PRODUCT INSPECTED. The fees speeified in 
this section sha11 be a 1ien on the produets inspeeted. 

(3) PENALTIES FOR VIOLATION OF S. 168.05, STATS. In addition to the 
penalties speeified under s. 168.15, Stats., when the department identifies a 
vio1ation of the statutory provisions of s. 168.05, Stats, it sha11 eharge a 
fee based upon the fOllowing schedu1e: 

(a) 1. For the first vio1ation identified during the ea1endar year, a 
fee equa1 to the tota1 inspeetion fee eo11eeted under this seetlon; 

2. For the second vio1ation identified during the ealendar year, twice 
the inspeetion fee speeified in subd. 1; and 

3. For the third and subsequent violations identified during the 
calendar year, three times the inspeetion fee speeified in subd. 1. 
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(b) If the department is notified within 60 days of the violation of 
s. 168.05, Stats., by the person who imported or reeeived the petroleum 
produet, a fee equal to the total inspection fee eolleeted under this seetion 
shall be eharged. 

(4) CERTIFICATION FEES FOR PETROLEUM PRODUCT USERS. (a) Persons 
applying for eertifieation or recertifieation as a petroleum produet user 
shall submit with the applieation for eertifieation or reeertifieation an 
annual fee, determined from the date of eertifieation, of $270.00 for eaeh 
separate storage loeation. 

(b) Certified petroleum produet users are exempt from the payment of the 
fee segment whieh is used to fund the administration of the petroleum 
inspeetion program. The eertified petroleum produet user shall remit to the 
department the remaining segment of the total fee. The amount of the total 
fee determined to be the funding for the petroleum inspeetion program is 
$0.035. 

ILHR 2.42 SELF-SERVICE STATIONS OR STATIONS USING KEY, CARD OR CODE 
OPERATED DISPENSING DEVICES. Fees for the examination of p1ans and site 
inspeetions for self-service stations or stations using key, eard or eode 
operated dispensing deviees shall be determined in aecordanee with 
Table 2.42. Tank installation fees for such stations shall be in aeeordanee 
with Table 2.43. 

Table 2.42 

Type of Examination or Inspection 

Self-Service Stations or Stations Converting to Key, 
Card or Code Operations 
Plan examination fee 
Site inspeetion fee ..... . 

Fee 

.$22.00 

.$43.00 

ILHR 2.43 STORAGE TANKS: FLAMMABLE AND COMBUSTIBLEJllQUIDS, LIQUEFIED 
PETROLEUM GAS, LIQUEFIED NATURAL GAS AND COMPRESSED NATURAL GAS. (1) PLAN 
EXAMINATION AND INSPECTION FEE. Fees for the examination of plans and site 
inspeetions for tanks used for the storage of flammable and eombustible 
liquids, liquefied petroleum gas, liquefied natural gas and eompressed natural 
gas shall be determined in aeeordanee with Table 2.43. 
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Table 2.43 

Type of Registration, Renewal, 
Examination or Inspection Fee 

FLAMMABLE LIQUID TANK SYSTEMS OR COMBUSTIBLE LIQUID TANK SYSTEMS OR COMPONENTS OF 
TANK SYSTEMS 

Plan Examination 
All Tanks Under 5000 Gallon Capacity 

All Tank Systems within Scope of Subch. VI of 
ch. ILHR 10 and Aboveground Tank Systems 
within the Scope of Subch. VI and 
Having a 5000 Gallon Capacity or Larger 

Plans With 10 or Fewer Tank Systems 
or Components of Tank Systems ... 

Plans With 11 or More Tank Systems 
or Components of Tank Systems .. 

Site Inspection Fees 
Installations With Only One Tank System 

(No state plan examination fee 
required; local authorized agent 
will charge a fee which must be 
at least equal to the state fee 
minus the groundwater surcharge.) 

.$35.00 for the first tank system 
or component of a tank system 
plus $10.00 for each 
additional tank system or 
component of a tank system. 

. . . $150. OO 

or Component of a Tank System ......... $100.00 
Installations With Two or More Tank Systems 

or Components of Tank Systems .......... $ 50.00 for each 
tank or component of 
a tank system up to 
$1700.00. 

Miscellaneous Plan Review and Inspection 

Addition of Spill or Overfill Protection Only. 
Addi tion of Leak Detection . . . . .. .. . 
Addition of Corrosion Protection ...... . 
Llning ................... . 
Conversion of Full-Service Stations to 
Self-Service or Conversion to Key, Card or Code . 

.$22.00 

.$22.00 

.$22.00 

.$22.00 

. $35.00 

Site Inspection for Plan Reviews in This Section .$43.00 
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LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS, NATURAL GAS OR COMPRESSED NATURAL GAS 
125 to 1,999 gallon water capacity tank . . . . (No state examination or 

inspection fee required; 
local fire department shall 
be provided with a Complianee 
Certification Form at time of 
installation.) 

2000 Gallon Hater Capacity and Above 

Plan Examination Fee 
Site Inspeetion Fee ........ . 

PLAN REVISIONS 

. $43.00 per tank 
$43.00 per tank 

Plan Revision Examination Fee ........ $22.00 per revised plan 

(2) GROUNDHATER FEE. Pursuant to s. 101.14 (5), Stats., the department, 
shall, in addition to any other fee eharged for plan examination and approval 
for the eonstruction of a new or additional installation or ehange in 
operation of a previously approved installation for the storage, handling or 
use of eombustible or flammable liquids as speeified in sub. (1), colleet a 
groundwater fee of $100.00. 

ILHR 2.44 CERTIFICATION OF TANK SYSTEM SPECIALTIES. (1) GENERAL. All 
applicants for eertifieation as a storage tank system installer, tightness 
tester, or remover, eleaner, reliner, inspector or site assessment provider 
shall submit, with the applieation form, fees as speeified in this seetion. 

(2) APPLICATION AND INITIAL CERTIFICATION. Persons applying for 
certification in one or more of the eategories specified in sub. (3), shall 
submit a fee of $100.00 for eaeh 2 eategories for whieh eertifieation is 
requested. 

(3) CATEGORIES OF CERTIFICATION. Persons may be eertified in one or 
more of the following eategories: 

(a) Installer; 

(b) Remover; 

(e) Tightness tester; 

(d) Cleaner; 

(e) Liner; 

(f) Inspeetor; or 

(g) Site assessment provider. 
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(4) EXAMINATION. Upon determination of e1igibi11ty for examination for 
certiflcation, fees sha11 be submitted for examination and reexamination as 
fo11ows: 

(a) Initial examination 

(b) Examination retakes 

$10.00 per category 

$10.00 per examination 
per category 

(5) EXAMINATION AND TRAINING SEMINARS. Fees sha11 be assessed on an 
individual basis from education and training programs the department sponsors 
or participates in. 

(6) RECERTIFICATION. The recertification fee for 2 categories of 
certification shall be $100.00 per person. 
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SUBCHAPTER V 
MATERIAL APPROVALS AND PETITIONS 

ILHR 2.51 MATERIAL APPROVALS. The fee for approva1 numbers issued by the 
department for the approval of materials, equipment, devlces and methods of 
construction, other than plumblng products, shall be determined in accordance 
with Table 2.51. 

Table 2.51 

Type of Approva1 

New approva 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
Renewal of approval with no changes ........... . 
Renewal with changes .................. . 
Manufacturer's request for mlnor revlsion (no extension of 

approval period) . . . ............. . 
Manufacturer's request for major revision (new 5-year period). 

Fee Per Approval 

.$800.00 
.. $600.00 

.$800.00 

.$200.00 
. . $800.00 

ILHR 2.52 PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE. (1) GENERAL. The department sha11 
consider and may grant a variance from an administrative ru1e upon receipt of 
a fee, a comp1eted petition for variance form from the owner, and a position 
stat~ment from the fire department where app1icab1e, provided an equiva1ency 
Is estab1ished which meets the intent of the rule being petitioned. 

(2) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON RULES UNDER CHS. ILHR 20 TO 25, UNIFORM 
DWELLING CODE, AND CHS. ILHR 67 TO 68, RENTAL UNIT ENERGY EFFICIENCY CODE. 
The fee for reviewing petitions for variance on ru1es under chs. ILHR 20 to 25 
and chs. ILHR 67 to 68 shall be $125.00 per petltion. 

(3) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON RULES UNDER CHS. 
AND HEATING, VENTILATING AND AIR CONDITIONING CODE. 
reviewing petitions for variance on rules under chs. 
$490.00 per petition. 

ILHR 50 TO 64, BUILDING 
(a) The fee for 
ILHR 50 to 64 sha11 be 

(b) A separate petition shall be submitted for each building, eve n if 
the buildings are similar. If, after review, it is determined that some or 
all of the petitions may be processed using a preeedent, a portion of the 
variance fee may be r~funded in accordance with sub. (10) (b). 

(c) Where identlcal petitions are submitted for Identical buildings with 
a common owner on a single piece of property, the fee for the flrst building 
shal1 be $490.00 and the fee for each subsequent building shall be submitted 
in accordance with sub. (10) (b) for precedent petitions. 
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(4) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON RULES UNDER CH. ILHR 70, HISTORIC BUILDING 
CODE. The fee for reviewlng petltlons for varianee on ru1es under ch. ILHR 70 
shall be $300.00 per petltion. 

(5) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE ON RULES UNDER CHS. ILHR 81, 82, 83 AND 85, 
UNIFORM PLUMBING CODE. The fee per petition for proeesslng petltlons for 
varianee on rules under ehs. ILHR 81, 82, 83 and 85 shall be as follows: 

(a) P1umblng varianee 

(b) Setback varianee. 

(e) Site eva1uation varianee. 

$225.00 

$100.00 

$225.00 

(6) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE UNDER S. 101.055 (4), STATS. The fee for 
reviewing petitions for temporary, experimenta1 and permanent varianees under 
s. 101.055 (4), stats., shal1 be $200.00 per petition. 

(7) PETITIONS FOR VARIANCE, OTHER RULES. The fee for reviewing 
petitions for varianee on ru1es of the department, administered by the 
division of safety and bui1dings and not speeiflea11y mentioned under this 
seetion, sha11 be $200.00 per petition. 

(8) PRIORITY PETITIONS. (a) Upon request, the department wl11 process 
petitions for varianee on a priority basis. Except as speeified in par. (b), 
the fees for proeessing these petitions shall be double the amounts speeified 
in subs. (2), (3), (5) to (7) and (9). 

(b) The fees for proeessing petitions for varianee under ch. ILHR 70 
shall be as speeified in sub. (4). 

(9) REVISIONS. (a) Statements or eonditions in a petltion for varianee 
may be revised within one year of the date of the written deeision. The fee 
per petition for revisions to previous1y determined petitions for varianee 
sha11 be as fo110ws: 

1. Petitlons on ru1es under sub. (2) . 

2. Petitions on ru1es under sub. (5) 

3. All other petitions ... 

. $ 50.00 

$ 75.00 

.$100.00 

(b) For revisions requested after one year from the date of the written 
deeision, a new petition for varianee sha11 be submitted. 

(10) ADDITIONAL AND REDUCED FEES. (a) For eomp1ex petitions for 
varianee whieh require more than 10 hours to review and process, an additiona1 
fee may be eharged at the rat e of $40.00 per hour for eaeh hour in exeess of 
10 hours. For preeedent petltions for varianee whleh require more than 3 
hours to review and process, an additiona1 fee may be eharged at the rate of 
$40.00 per hour for eaeh hour in exeess of 3 hours. 
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(b) For petitions processed under sub. (3) or (4), arefund may be 
returned. The minimum fee per petition charged by the department shall be 
based on the following schedule: 

1. The minimum fee for a petition for ~ariance that is returned without 
decision before assignment for staff review shall be 25% of the required fee . 

. 2. The minimum fee for a petition for variance that is returned without 
decision after staff review shall be 25% of the required fee plus $40.00 per 
hour of review and processing time. 

3. The minimum fee for a non-priority petition for variance based on 
precedence shall be 50% of the required fee. 

4. The minimum fee for a priority petition for variance based on 
precedence shall be 75% of the required fee. 
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SUBCHAPTER VI 
BUILDING HATER SYSTEMS 

ILHR 2.61 MISCELLANEOUS INSPECTIONS, REVIEWS AND SERVICES. (1) SPECIAL 
PLUMBING INSPECTIONS. (a) Plumbing inspeetions for sanitary distriets or 
other speeia1 purpose distriets sha11 be determined in aeeordanee with 
s. ILHR 2.03. 

(b) The department may assess a fee determined in aeeordanee with 
s. ILHR 2.03 for a fie1d inspeetion for a department soil seientist to eonduet 
a soi1 eva1uation. 

(2) REVISIONS. The fee for revisions to previous1y approved plumbing 
and private sewage p1ans shall be $60.00 per p1an. This fee shal1 app1y when 
p1ans are revised for reasons other than those whieh were requested by the 
department. 

(3) PRIORITY PLAN REVIEW. An appointment may be made with the 
department to faei1itate the examination of p1ans. The p1ans sha11 eomp1y 
with the provisions of s. ILHR 82.20, for p1umbing, and s. ILHR 83.08, for 
private sewage. Sehedu1ing of the p1ans for priority p1an review sha11 be 
determined in aeeordanee with s. ILHR 82.20, for p1umbing, and by appointment 
for private sewage. The fee for this type of plan examination sha1l be 
determined at twice the norma1 rate. 

(4) PROJECTS WITHOUT APPROVALS. The fees speeified in this sUbehapter 
sha1l be doub1ed for those projeets for whieh the installation of plumbing has 
started without department approval. 

(5) MISCELLANEOUS SERVICES. When the department provides goods or 
serviees not speeifiea1ly covered in this section, fees may be charged to 
organizations requesting such goods and serviees. 

ILHR 2.62 APPRENTICESHIPS, LICENSURES, REGISTRATIONS AND CERTIFICATIONS. 
(1) APPRENTICESHIP, LICENSURE AND REGISTRATION FEES. (a) Master p1umber. 
The fees shall be as fo11ows for master plumber: 

1. 'Examination fee. I Master p1umber examination, $50.00. Eaeh 
subsequent examination, $30.00. 

2. 'License fee. I Master plumber lieense, $125.00 and $125.00 for eaeh 
renewa1 of lieense, if app1ieation is made prior to January 1, annua11y; after 
that date an additiona1 fee of $20.00 

3. 'Temporary permit fee. I Temporary permit pending examination and 
issuance of lieense for master p1umber, $200.00. The fee shal1 cover the 
examination fee preseribed and the 1icense fee for the year in whieh issued. 

(b) Journeyman p1umber. The fees shal1 be as follows for journeyman 
p1umber: 
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1. 'Examination fee~' Journeyman plumber examination, $30.00. Eaeh 
subsequent examination, $20.00. 

2. 'Lieense fee.' Journeyman plumber lieense, $45.00 and $45.00 for 
eaeh renewal of lieense, if applieation is made prior to January 1, annually; 
after that date an additional fee of $10.00. 

3. 'Temporary permit fee.' Temporary permit pending examination and 
issuanee of lieense for journeyman plumber, $75.00. The fee shall eover the 
examination fee preseribed and the lieense fee for the year issued. 

(e) flumbJ~rentiee. A $15.00 registration fee shall be paid at the 
time of registration and for eaeh subsequent ealendar year during whieh the 
apprentiee is engaged in the plumbing apprentieeship. 

(d) Master glumber-restricted. The fees shall be as fol1ows for master 
plumber-restrieted: 

1. 'Examination fee.' Master plumber-restricted examination, $50.00. 
Eaeh subsequent examination, $30.00. 

2. 'Lieense fee.' Master plumber-restrieted lieense, $125.00 and 
$125.00 for eaeh renewal of lieense, if applieation is made prior to 
January 1, annually; after that date an additional fee of $20.00. 

3. 'Temporary permit fee.' Temporary permit pending examination and 
issuanee of lieense for master plumber-restrieted, $200.00. The fee shall 
eover the examination fee preseribed and the lieense fee for the year in whieh 
issued. 

(e) Journeyman plumber-restrieted. The fees shall be as follows for 
journeyman plumber-restrieted: 

1. 'Examination fee.' Journeyman plumber-restrieted examination, 
$30.00. Eaeh subsequent examination, $20.00. 

2. 'License fee.' Journeyman plumber-restricted, $45.00 and $45.00 for 
eaeh renewal of license, if applieation is made prior to January 1, annually; 
after that date an additional fee of $10.00. 

3. 'Temporary permit fee.' Temporary permit pending examination and 
issuanee of license for journeyman plumber-restricted, $75.00. The fee shall 
eover the examination fee preseribed and the lieense fee for the year issued. 

(f) Registered learner. A $15.00 fee shall be paid at the time of 
registration and for eaeh subsequent ealendar year during whieh the learner is 
engaged in the registered learner program. 
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(g) Plumber license-retiree. The fee for a plumber 1icense-retiree in 
the categories of a master plumber, master plumber-restricted, journeyman 
p1umber or journeyman plumber-restricted shall be equivalent to the current 
renewal fee for the applicable journeyman p1umber license or journeyman 
plumber-restricted license. A p1umber license-retiree shall be valid for the 
lifetime of the licensee. 

(h) Utility contractor. The fees for the uti1ity contractor shall be 
$125.00 and $125.00 for each renewal of license, if application is made prior 
to January 1, annually; after that date an additional fee of $10.00. 

(i) Pipe layer. The registration fees for pipe layer shall be $45.00 
and $45.00 for each renewal of registration, if application is made prior to 
January 1, annually; after that date an additional fee of $10. 

(j) Aulomatic fire sprinkler contractor. The fees shall be as fol1ows 
for automatic fire sprinkler contractor: 

1. 'Examination fee. I Automatic fire sprinkler contractors examination, 
$100.00. Each subsequent examination, $100.00. 

2. 'License fee ' . Automatic fire sprinkler contractor 11cense, $500.00 
and $500.00 for each renewal of license, if application is made prior to 
January 1, annually; after that date an additional fee of $25.00. 

3. 'Temporary permit fee. I A temporary permit pending examination will 
be issued upon receipt of application and a fee of $350.00 which covers the 
examination fee and the temporary permi1t fee. When the contractor 
successfully passes the examination an additiona1 fee of $250.00 shall be paid 
prior to the issuance of the license for the remainder of the calendar year. 

(k) Journeyman automatic fire sprinkler fitter. The fees sha11 be as 
follows for journeyman automatic fire sprinkler fitter: 

1. 'Examination fee. I Journeyman automatic fire sprinkler fitter 
examination, $20.00. Each subsequent examination, $20.00. 

2. 'License fee. I Journeyman automatic fire sprinkler fitter license, 
$45.00 and $45.00 for each renewal of license, if app1ication is made prior to 
January 1, annual1y; after that date an additional fee of $10.00. 

3. 'Temporary permit fee. I Temporary permits pending examination and 
issuance of 1icense for a journeyman automatic fire sprinkler fitter, $75.00. 
The fee shall cover the examination fee prescribed and the license fee for the 
calendar year issued. 

(1) Automatic fire sprinkler system apprenticeshi~. A fee of $15.00 
shall be paid at the time of registration and for each subsequent calendar 
year during which the automatic fire sprinkler system apprenticeship is activeo 
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(m) Automatic fire sprinkte.r maintenanee. The fees sha11 be as fo110ws 
for automatie fire sprink1er maintenanee regi~tration eertifieate: 

1. IExamination fee. I Automatie fire sprink1er maintenanee examination, 
$50.00. Each subsequent examination, $50.00. 

2. IRegistration certificate fee. I Automatic fire sprink1er maintenanee 
registration certificate, $100.00 and $100.00 for each renewa1 of 
registration, if app1ication is made prior to January 1, annua11y; after that 
date an additiona1 fee of $25.00. 

3. ITemporary permit fee. I Temporary permit pending examination and 
issuance of an automatic fire sprink1er maintenance certificate, $125.00 which 
covers the examination fee. Upon successfu1 passage of the examination an 
additiona1 $100.00 sha11 be paid prior to the issuance of the registration 
certificate for the remainder of the year. 

(n) Automatic fire sprink1er fitter maintenance. The registration 
certificate fees for an automatic fire sprink1er fitter maintenance sha11 be 
$15.00, and $15.00 for each renewa1 of registration, if app1ication is made 
prior to January 1, annually; after that date an additional fee of $10.00. 

(2) SOIl TESTER CERTIFICATION FEES. (a) AQQlication. Persons app1ying 
for the soil tester examination shall submit a fee of $50.00. Persons 
applying for the soi1 mott1ing examination shall submit a fee of $50.00. 

(b) Certific~. Upon suecessfully passing the written examination, 
the app1icant for a certified soil tester certificate shall submit a fee of 
$60.00. 

(c) Recertification. The fee for renewal of a valid soil tester 
certification sha11 be $60.00. 

(d) Reoewal of expired certification. late renewal fees for 
certification renewa1s submitted following certification expiratioll sha11 be 
determined as follows: . 

1. less than 12 months late ........................... $25.00 
2. More than 12 months late ........................... examination retake. 

(3) CONTINUING EDUCATION SEMINARS. The registration fee for an 
individual to attend a continuing education seminar given by the department 
shall be determined on the basis of $5.00 per hour of the seminar. 

IlHR 2.63 PlAT REVIEW AND INVESTIGATIONS FOR SUBDIVISIONS WITHOUT PUBLIC 
SEWERS. (1) APPlICATION. The fees for department plat review and 
investigations of subdivisions not served by public sewers, conducted in 
accordance with ch. 236, Stats., and ch. IlHR 85, shall be determined as 
follows: 
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(a) P1at reyiews. The fee for an initia1 p1at submission sha11 be 
computed on the basis of $35.00 per lot. 

(b) Resubmitted plats. The fee for a resubmitted p1at sha11 be $80.00 
per p1at. 

(c) Fie1d lnvestigations. The fee for any fie1d investigation requested 
by the subdlvider sha11 be $450.00 per day or fraction thereof per subdivision. 

(d) Groundwater monitoring review. The fee for department review of 
groundwater monitoring data sha11 be $200.00 per subdivision. 

(2) COLLECTION OF FEES. All fees sha11 be remitted to the department at 
the time that the plats are submitted for review or when fie1d investigations 
are requested or conducted. No p1at certifications sha11 be made unti1 the 
fees are received by the department. 

ILHR 2.64 PLUMBING SYSTEMS. (1) GENERAL. P1an examination fees for 
pre1iminary or comp1ete p1ans sha11 ac company the p1ans and specifications 
when submitted. If the department determines, upon review of the p1ans, that 
inadequate fees were provided, the necessary additiona1 fees sha11 be provided 
prior to departmenta1 approva1. 

(2) EXAMINATION FEES. The p1an examination fee sha11 be determined in 
accordance with Tab1e 2.64-1. The minimum fee sha11 be $60.00 per p1an. 
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Tab1e 2.64-1 

Type of Review 

1. Sanitary drain and vent system .... 

Fee 

$35.00 per inch 
diameter of each' 

2. Sanitary building sewer only, no drain and vent. 
b1dg. sewer 

$20.00 per inch 
diameter of each 
b1dg. sewer 

...... $35.00 per inch 3. Building water distribution system .. 

4. Building water service only, no water ... 
distribution system 

5. Building storm and c1ear water drain system 

diameter of each 
water service 

$20.00 per 
inch diameter of each 
water servi ee 

$ 8.00 per inch 
diameter of each 
b1dg. storm sewer 

$60.00 per interceptor *6. 
*7. 
*8. 
*9. 

*10. 
* 11 . 
12. 

Car wash interceptor 
Garage catch basin . 
Grease interceptor . 
Oi 1 i nterceptor. . . 
Sanitary dump station. 
Chemica1 waste system. . 

. $60.00 per basin 
$60.00 per interceptor 
$60.00 per interceptor 
$60.00 per station 
$60.00 per system 

Control1ed roof drainage system; does not inc1ude 
conventional building storm piping ....... . 

13. Engineered plumbing system ........... . 
$60.00 per system 
minimum $225.00 or as 
determi ned i n sub. (3) 

14. Mobile home parks and campground/recreationa1 vehic1e parks: 
1-25 sites . . . . $250.00 
26-50 sites. . . . $300.00 
51-125 sites . . . $350.00 
Over 125 sites . . $400.00 

15. Private water main . $20.00 per inch 

16. Reduced pressure princip1ebackflow preventer .. 
17. Sanitary private interceptor main sewers, .... 

determined on the 1argest diameter of each 
interceptor main sewer 

18. Storm private interceptor main sewers, ..... . 
determined on the 1argest diameter of each 
interceptor main sewer 

19. Turf sprinkler system .............. . 

diameter 
$110.00 per device 
$20.00 per inch 
diameter 

$ 8.00 per inch 
diameter 

$60.00 per system 

*Note: For tab1e entries 6 to 11, no additiona1 fee would be required if 
submitted with the sanitary drain and vent system. 
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(3) EXAMINATION FEES FOR ADDITIONS AND REMODELING. 
re10cated fixtures or both are connected to the existing 
building, the fee shall be determined in accordance with 
procedures: 

When new or 
piping inside a 
the following 

(a) Sanitary building sewer, drain and vent. 1. Total all of the 
drainage fixture units which are being added or relocated. 

2. Refer to s. ILHR 82.30, Table 82.30-2, and determine the horizontal 
drain size which would be required if all new or relocated fixtures discharged 
through one pipe. 

Note: Disregard the asterisk limitation regarding water closets. This 
pipe size is used for determining the fee onlyand does not necessarily mean 
this pipe size is used in actual design or installation. 

3. Determine fee based on Table 2.64-1, entry 1. 

(b) Building water distribution system. 1. Total all of the water 
supply flxttire units which are being added or re10cated, using s. ILHR 82.40, 
Tables 82.40-1 and 2, and convert to gallons per minute (GPM) in accordance 
with s. ILHR 82.40, Table 82.40-3. 

2. The fees shall be determined in accordance with GPM demand of the new 
or relocated fixtures as specified in Table 2.64-2. 

GPM 

1-6. 
7-12 

13-21 
22-31 
32-46 
47-77 
78-119. 

120-170. 
171-298. 

Table 2.64-2 

FEE 

$ 17.00 
· $ 26.00 

$ 35.00 
.. $ 43.00 

$ 52.00 
$ 70.00 
$ 87.00 

· $105.00 
· $122.00 

(c) Building storm sewer and drainage sy~m. 1. Total each different 
type of area which the new or relocated drains serve and convert to GPM using 
ch. ILHR 82, Tables 82.36-1, 2 and 3. To this, add the GPM discharge from any 
added or relocated clear water drains located inside the building. 
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2. Refer to ch. ILHR 82, Table 82.36-4, using the column for 1/4 inch 
per foot pitch, to determine the horizontal drain size which would be required 
if all new or relocated fixtures discharged through one plpe. Use this plpe 
size for determinlng the fee. 

3. Determine the fee based on Table 2.64-1, entry 5. 

ILHR 2.65 PRIVATE SEWAGE SYSTEMS. (1) GENERAL. Plan examination fees 
for preliminary or complete plans shall accompany the plans and speclfications 
when submitted. If the department determines, upon review of the plans, that 
inadequate fees were provided, the necessary additional fees shall be provided 
prior to departmental approval. Written approval shall not be granted until 
all applicable fees have been paid. 

(2) EXAMINATION FEES. Except as provided in sub. (3), the plan 
examination fee shal1 be determined in accordance with Table 2.65. 

Table 2.65 

Type of Review 

Septic Tanks 

750 - 1,500 gal10ns 
1,501 - 2,500 gal10ns 
2,501 - 5,000 ga110ns 
5,001 - 9,000 ga110ns 
9,001 - 15,000 gal10ns . 
Over 15,000 gal10ns 

Dosing Tanks 

o - 1,000 ga1lons 
1,001 - 2,000 ga110ns 
2,001 - 4,000 ga1lons 
4,001 - 8,000 gal10ns 
8,001 - 12,000 ga110ns 
Over 12,000 ga110ns 

Holding Tanks 

500 - 5,000 gallons 
5,001 - 10,000 gal10ns 
Over 10,000 ga110ns 

Groundwater Monitoring ... 
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Fee 

$11 O. OO 
$120.00 
$160.00 
$200.00 
$300.00 
$500.00 

$ 70.00 
$ 80.00 

· $100.00 
· $120.00 

$140.00 
$160.00 

· $ 60.00 
$100.00 
$150.00 

· $ 60.00 



(3) EXPERIMENTAL SYSTEM. The plan examination fee for an experimenta1 
private sewage system sha11 be $300.00 p1us the fee determined in aeeordanee 
with Tab1e 2.65 depending on the type and number of eomponents emp10yed in the 
system. 

ILHR 2.66 PRODUCT APPROVALS AND LISTIN~. (1) APPROVALS. (a) Except 
as provided in par. (b), the fee for the request of a review by the department 
for a p1umbing produet under s. ILHR 84.10 (2) sha11 be determined in 
aeeordanee with Tab1e 2.66. 

Table 2.66 

PRODUCT 

1. Chemieal or bioehemieal treatment 
for private sewage systems 

2. Cross-eonneetion eontrol deviee 

3. Hea1th eare p1umbing app1ianee 

4. Laboratory p1umbing app1ianee 

5. Prefabrieated exterior grease 
intereeptor, ho1ding or septie tank 

6. Prefabrieated p1umbing 

7. Water conserving fixtures: 
a. Faueet 
b. Shower head 
c. Urina1 
d. Urinal flushing deviee 
e. Water closet 
f. Water eloset flushing deviee 

8. Water treatment device 

FEE 
TYPE OF REVIEW 

NEW REVIEW REVISION ORRENEWAL 

$200 

$100 

$200 

$200 

$100 

$200 

$ 80 
$ 60 
$100 
$100 
$100 
$100 

$200 

$100 

$ 50 

$100 

$100 

$ 50 

$100 

$ 40 
$ 30 
$ 50 
$ 50 
$ 50 
$ 50 

$100 

(b) 1. The fee for the request of the review of a research report by the 
department for either a eross-eonneetion eontro1 deviee or a water-conserving 
fixture under the administrative proeedures deseribed in s. ILHR 84.10 (2)(a) 
1 or 2 sha11 be determined in aeeordanee with the revision or renewal 
provisions of Table 2.66. 
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2. The fee for a minor revision to a previously issued approval for an 
exterior grease intereeptor, holdlng or septic tank may be $45.00 plus $5.00 
for eaeh approval affeeted in 1ieu of the fee speeified in Tab1e 2.66. For 
the purpose of this subdlvlslon, a minor revision sha11 be considered a 
modifieation that does not affeet the funetion, retention eapaeity, basie 
shape or size of the tank. The expiration date of the origina1 approval shall 
not be extended if the minor revislon is approved. 

(e) 1. The fee for the request of an alternate approval to be issued by 
the department for a plumbing produet shall be $300.00. 

2. a. Except as provided in subpar. b., the fee for the request of a 
revision or renewal of an a1ternate approval to be issued by the department 
for a plumbing produet shall be $150.00. 

b. The fee for a mlnor revision to a previously issued alternate 
approval for an exterior grease intereeptor, holding, septie or other sewage 
treatment tank may be $45.00 p1us $5.00 for eaeh approval affeeted in 11eu of 
the fee speeified in subpar. a. For the purpose of this subparagraph, a minor 
revision shal1 be considered a modifieation that does not affeet the function, 
retention eapaeity, basie shape or size of the tank, or the basis of the 
approval being elassified as an alternate. The expiration date of the 
origina1 approval sha1l not be extendedif the minor revision is approved. 

(d) 1. The fee for the request of an experimental approval to be issued 
by the department for a plumbing produet sha1l be $500.00. 

2. The fee for the request of arevision of an experimental approva1 to 
be issued by the department for a plumbing produet shall be $250.00. 

(e) The fee for a speeial inspeetion of an installation of a product, 
for whieh an experimenta1 approva1 has been issued in aeeordanee with s. ILHR 
84.50, sha11 be determined in aeeordanee with s. ILHR 2.03. 

(2) LISTINGS. (a) The fee for the request to have a p1umbing product 
listed by the department, in aeeordance with s. ILHR 84.10 (3), sha11 be 
$20.00 per produet. 

(b) The fee for the request of a ehange of manufaeturer's name or 
address on an approva1 issued by the department for a plumbing product shall 
be $15.00. The expiration date of the original approval sha11 not be extended. 

ILHR 2.67 SANITARY PERMITS. (1) FEE. The fee for a sanitary permit, 
determined in aeeordanee with s. 145.19, Stats., shall be at least $91.00. 

(2) PORTION FORWARDED TO THE DEPARTMENT. The governmental unit 
responsible for the regulation of private sewage systems shal1 forward to the 
department $50.00 of eaeh sanitary permit fee, determined in aeeordanee with 
s. 145.19, Stats. 
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SECTION 3. ILHR 50.12 (5) is amended to read: 

ILHR 50.12 (5) APPLICATION FOR APPROVAL. A p1ans approva1 app1ication 
form sha11 be inc1uded with the p1ans submitted to the department for 
examination and approva1. The department shal1 review and make a 
determination on an app1ication for p1an review within 15 business days of 
receipt of the application and all forms, fees, p1ans and documents required 
to comp1ete the review as specified in s. ILHR 2.07 (3). 

SECTION 4. ILHR 81.16 is repea1ed. 

~Qte to Revisor: Please change all cross-references in ch. ILHR 81 from 
II S • ILHR 81.16 11 to II ch. ILHR 2. 11 

SECTION 5. ILHR 81.38 is repealed. 

Note to Rev;sor: P1ease change all cross-references in ch. ILHR 81 from 
II S • ILHR 81.38 11 to II ch. ILHR 2. 11 

SECTION 6. ILHR 81.64 (1) is amended to read: 

ILHR 81.64 (1) APPLICATION. Any person seeking certification as a soi1 
tester sha11 be at 1east 18 years old and sha11 submit a completed application 
for examination on the form supplied by the department. A nonreturnab1e fee 
~f/$lZ/ as specified in ch. ILHR 2 shal1 accompany each app1ication that is 
submitted to the department. 

SECTION 7. ILHR 81.64 (4) is amended to read: 

ILHR 81.64 (4) NONATTENDANCE AT EXAMINATION. Fai1ure to appear at a 
schedu1ed examination without giving prior notice to the department sha11 
necessitate the submitta1 of an additional $lZ application fee in order to 
maintain a valid examination application. 

SECTION 8. ILHR 81.646 (2) is amended to read: 

ILHR 81.646 (2) App1ications for the soi1 mottling examination sha11 be 
accompanied by an examination fee ~f/$lZ as speclfied in ch. ILHR '2 

SECTION 9. ILHR 81.65 (2) is repea1ed. 

SECTION 10. ILHR 81.66 is repea1ed and recreated to read: 

ILHR 81.66 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE: DELINQUENCY AND REl~TAJEMENT. 
(1) RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE. Renewa1 of the certificate shal1 be submitted by 
Ju1y 1 of every year. Notice for the renewa1 of certificate and the renewa1 
application sha11 be sent to all certified soil testers whose certificates 
were in force during the previous applicable certification period. Such 
notice and application shall be sent by the department by first class mail to 
the address given on the latest renewal application on fi1e unless written 
notice of another address ha~ been given. Fai1ure to receive the notice for 
renewal of certificate may not be an excuse for failure to renew. 
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(2) DELINQUENCY AND REINSTATEMENT. If the renewa1 app11catlon and the 
renewa1 fee as speclfied in ch. ILHR 2 are not postmarked by Ju1y 1, the 
certificate sha11 be revoked automatically. Wlthin 12 months after 
revocation, the department may reinstate a revoked certlficate upon receipt of 
a completed certification renewal application and payment of the renewal fee, 
plus a late filing fee as specifled in ch. ILHR 2. A certificate which has 
lapsed for a period of more than 12 months shall be reinstated by the 
department only after filing a new application, payment of the application 
fee, passing an examination and payment of the certlfication fee. No 
certificate may be renewed by the department after Ju1y 1, 1994, unless the 
certified soi1 tester has been certified to use the soil evaluation procedures 
specified in s. ILHR 83.09 (4m). 

SECTION 11. ILHR 81.67 (2) and (3) is amended to read: 

ILHR 81.67 (2) SUSPENSION. The period for suspension shall be 
determined by the department and may not exceed 2 years. A person whose 
certificate has been suspended may have the certificate reinstated by fi1ing a 
new app1ication for certification and payment of the appropriate fee specified 
in i'/I~HR/gl'66 ch. ILHR 2. 

(3) REVOCATION. The period for revocation shal1 be determined by the 
department and may not exceed 5 years. A person whose certificate has been 
revoked shall be e1igib1e for recertification only after the time set for 
revocatlon by departmental order has passed. A person whose certiflcate has 
been revoked sha11 have the certification reinstated only after submitting a 
completed application for examination, payment of the examf~atl~~ 
~Rlication fee, passlng of the examination and payment of the certification 
fee specified in ii'/I~HR/gl'6~/a~~/gl'6~ ch. ILHR 2. 

(END) 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

EFFECTIVE DATE 

Pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats., these ru1es sha11 take effect 
on the first day of the month fOllowing publication in the Wisconsin 
Administrative Register. 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

3241h 
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