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Department of Health and Social Services

SEAL:

G- 1-93



ORDER OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
CREATING RULES

To create HSS 15, relating to a monthly assessment on licensed and occupied beds in
intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded (ICF-MR) and other nursing homes.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and Social Services

The Budget Adjustment Act, 1991 Wisconsin Act 269, created s. 50.14, Stats., which for the
1992-93 state fiscal year imposes an assessment of $68 a month on each licensed, occupied bed in all
intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded (ICF-MR), except facilities that are owned or
operated by state government or the federal government or are located outside of Wisconsin, and $32
a month on each licensed occupied bed in nursing homes, except beds occupied by residents whose
care is paid for in whole or part by Medicare and except homes that are owned or operated by state
government or the federal government or are located outside of Wisconsin. The assessment is for the

privilege of doing business in the state.

The Department is to levy, enforce and collect the assessments. These rules reproduce the
provisions of s. 50.14(2), Stats., that prescribe how the total assessment of a facility is calculated and
provisions of s. 50.14(3), Stats., concerning when payments are to be submitted to the Department
and the Department’s obligation to verify the bed count and adjust the amount due accordingly. They
also incorporate by reference specified parts of ss. 77.59 to 77.61, Stats., and s. 77.62, Stats., which
apply to the Department of Revenue to govern determinations of deficiencies in payments and refunds
owed in relation to sales and use taxes. These parts are made to apply to deficiency and refund
determinations by the Department in relation to the assessments, as well as interest and penalties for
late payments or failure to make payments, collection of delinquent payments and certain other
administrative matters. Section 50.14(4), Stats., directs the Department and facilities to follow those
provisions. Finally, the rules establish such additional procedures and other requirements as are
necessary for levying, enforcing and collecting the assessments. - :

The Department’s authority to create these rules is found in s. 50.14(5)(b), Stats. The rules
interpret s. 50.14, Stats.

SECTION 1. HSS 15 is created to read;
Chap_ter HSS 15

ASSESSMENT FOR OCCUPIED BEDS IN NURSING HOMES AND INTERMEDIATE
CARE FACILITIES FOR THE MENTALLY RETARDED (ICF-MR)

HSS 15.01 Authority and purpose

HSS 15.02 Definitions

HSS 15.03 Facilities and beds not subject to assessment
HSS 15.04 Assessment calculation

HSS 15.05 Deficiency and refund determinations

HSS 15.06 Interest and penalties

HSS 15.07 Administration and due dates

HSS 15.08 Collection of delinquent assessments

HSS 15.09 Appeals
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HSS 15.01. AUTHORITY AND PQRPQSE. This chapter is promulgated under the authority of
* 5. 50.14(5)(b), Stats., to establish procedurés and other requirements necessary for levying and
collecting the monthly assessment imposed under s. 50.14(2), Stats., on all occupied, licensed beds in‘
intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded (ICF-MR) and nursing homes, except facilities
that are owried and operated by state government or the federal government or located outside the

state, or beds occupied by residents whose care is reimbursed in whole or in part by medicare under

42 USC 1395 to 1395ccc.

HSS 15.02 DEFINITIONS. In this chapter:

(1) "Assessment" means a tax that is determined, levied, collected and paid according to this
chgpter and s. 50.14, Stats., including any applicable interest and penalties.

(2) "Bedhold" means a facility bed is being held for a resident who is temporarily absent from
the facility under the conditions described in s. HSS 132.53(5) or s. HSS 134.53(6), whichever
applies;

(3) "Department" means the Wisconsin department of health and social services.

(4) "Facility" means an ICF-MR or nursing home.

®) ."ICF-MR" or "intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded" means a facility or
distinct part of a facility defined under 42 USC 1396d(d) and regulated under ch. HSS 134,

(6) "Midnight census” means the count of occupied beds in a facility at 12:00 a.m. on any given
day.

(7) "Nursing home" has the meaning prescribed under s. 50.01(3), Stats., except that it does not
include an ICF-MR.

(8) "Occupied bed" means a licensed bed in a facility that at the midnight census is being
charged or is chargeable to a resident or third party, including a bed under s. HSS 132.53(5) or

s. HSS 134.53(6) that is being held for a resident who is temporarily absent from the facility.
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HSS 15.03 FACILITIES AND BEDS NOT SUBJECT TO ASSESSMENT.. (1) EXEMPT

FACILITIES. The following facilities are excluded from assessments imposed under this chapter and
s. 50.14, Stats.:

(a) State-owned or state-operated facilities;

(b) Facilities owned or operated by the federal government; and

(c) Facilities located outside the state. |

(2) EXEMPT BEDS. Beds for which payment is made in whole or in part by medicaré under

42 USC 1395 to 1395ccc are excluded from the calculation under s. HSS 15.04.

HSS 15.04 ASSESSMENT CALCULATION. (1) ASSESSMENT. Every facility which is not

excluded under s. HSS 15.03(1) shall pay an assessment per occupied bed as prescribed by s. 50.14,
Stats., and as calculated pursuant to this section and s. 50.14, Stats. The amounts of the assessment
per occupied bed shall be as specified by s. 50.14, Stats.

(2) CALCULATION. (a) The assessment shall be on the average number of occupied,
licensed beds of the facility for the calendar month previous to the month of assessment, based on an
average daily midnight census computed and reported by the facility and verified by the department.
Beds for which payment is made by medicare under 42 USC 1395 to 1395ccc shall be excluded from
the calculation. A bed occupied by a person who is eligible for both medicare and medicaid, and for
which medicare pays a portion of the room and board for the person, is excluded from the
calculation.

() In determining the number of occupied, licensed beds, if the number of beds is other
than a whole number, the fractional part of the amount shall be disregarded unless it equals 50% or
more of a whole number, in which case the amount.shall be increased to the néxt whole number.

(c) 'In a facility having some beds that are ICF-MR beds and some beds that are nursing
home beds, separate calculations shall be performed for the ICF-MR beds and for the nursing home

beds. The bed of a person with a developmental disability as defined under s. HSS 132.13(4) or
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s. HSS 134.13(9) who is a resident of a nursing home shall be assessed at that facility’s rate, while
the bed of a resident who is not developmentally disabled but who is residing in an ICF-MR shall be

assessed at the ICF-MR rate.

HSS 15.05 DEFICIENCY AND REFUND DETERMINATIONS. The department may conduct

office or field audits or both to determine any assessment or refund due. The department and
facilities under this chapter have authority and obligations in the same manner described in s.

77.59(1) to (5), (6)(intro.), (a) and (c) and (7) to (10), Stats.

HSS 15.06 INTEREST AND PENALTIES. Assessments are subject to interest and penalties in

the same manner and amounts described in s. 77.60(1) to (7), (9) and (10), Stats.

HSS 15.07 ADMINISTRATION AND DUE DATES. (1) A facility shall provide the

department with the data necessary for the calculation of the assessment.on forms prescribed by the
départment, shall retain records supporting that data, and shall tender payment for the assessment in
accordance with instructions issued by the department. In administering this system, the department
and facilities shall have powers and‘ obligations in the same manner described in s. 77.61(9) and (12)
to (14), Stats.

(2) The department shall mail the required assessment forms to each sﬁbject facility during the
first 5 working days following the éssessment month. The completed forms and payment shall be
submitted by the facility on a timely basis. The completed forms and payment shall be considered
timely only if the envelope containing them is properly addressed, has postage duly prepaid, is
postmarked no later than the last day of the calendar month following the assessment month, and is

actually received by the department within 5 calendar days after the last day of the calendar month.
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(3) If the department determines that a facility’s bed calculation is inaccurate, the departmen‘t
shall notify the facility of any changes in the calculation or assessment and shall send the facility an
invoice for the additional amount due or send the facility a refund. Any additional amount due shall
be paid by the facility no later than 30 days following the date of the department’s notice.

(4) A facility shall notify the department of a change in ownership, transfer of license, change
in number of licensed beds, address change and any other information pertinent to the facility’s
assessment on a form provided by the department. Notification of change shall be included with the

first assessment payment made following the change.

HSS 15.08 COLLECTION OF DELINQUENT ASSESSMENTS. The department may collect

delinquent assessment payments in a manner comparable to that described in s. 77.62, Stats.

HSS 15.09 APPEALS. If a facility contests any action of the department under this chapter or

s. 50.14, Stats., the facility may submit a request for hearing to the department’s office of
administrative heérings. The request for hearing shall be in writing and shall contain a brief and plain
statement identifying every matter or issue contested. The request for hearing shall be sent to the
department’s office of administrative hearings so that it is received there no later than 30 days after
the date of the department’s action. A final hearing decision shall be subject to judicial review as
prescribed under ch. 227, Stats. A request for a hearing does not relieve the facility of the obligation
to pay a disputed assessment within the prescribed deadline.

Note: A request for a hearing should be sent to the Office of Administrative Hearings,
P.O. Box 7875, Madison, WI 53707. ‘
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The rules contained in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2), Stats.

Wisconsin Department of Health and
Social Services

e Cfers

Date: April 2, 1993

Gerald Whitburn
Secretary

SEAL:
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