CR 93-101

# **CERTIFICATE**

STATE OF WISCONSIN

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME, GREETINGS:

I, Patrick D. Braatz, Director, Bureau of Health Professions in the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing and custodian of the official records of the Veterinary Examining Board, do hereby certify that the annexed rules were duly approved and adopted by the Veterinary Examining Board on the 17th day of November, 1993.

I further certify that said copy has been compared by me with the original on file in this office and that the same is a true copy thereof, and of the whole of such original.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed the official seal of the board at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin this 17th day of November,

Patrick D. Braatz, Director Bureau of Health Professions Department of Regulation and

Licensing

### STATE OF WISCONSIN VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : ORDER OF THE

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD

VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES

: (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 93-101)

#### ORDER

An order of the Veterinary Examining Board to create VE 7.055 and VE 9.035 relating to reinstatement of lapsed licenses and certificates.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing.

### ANALYSIS

Statutes authorizing promulgation: ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 440.08 (3) (b) and 453.03 (1), Stats.

Statutes interpreted: s. 440.08 (3) (b), Stats.

In this proposed rule-making order the Veterinary Examining Board creates a rule relating to veterinarians and animal technicians who fail to renew their license or certificate within 5 years after the expiration of the individual's last license or certificate. This rule is a result of changes made in the law by 1991 Wisconsin Act 39.

Section VE 7.055 sets forth the procedures and requirements for veterinarians seeking to renew their licenses which have lapsed 5 or more years since their last license.

Section VE 9.035 sets forth the procedures and requirements for animal technicians seeking to renew their certificates which have lapsed 5 or more years since their last certificate.

## TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. VE 7.055 is created to read:

- VE 7.055 <u>REINSTATEMENT OF A LAPSED LICENSE</u>. A license expires if not renewed by January 1 of even-numbered years. A licensee who allows the license to expire may apply to the board for reinstatement of the credential as follows:
- (1) If the licensee applies for renewal of the license less than 5 years after its expiration, the license shall be renewed upon payment of the renewal fee and fulfillment of the continuing education requirements under s. VE 10.04.
- (2) If the licensee applies for renewal of the credential 5 or more years after its expiration, the board shall inquire as to whether the applicant is competent to practice as a veterinarian in this state and shall impose any reasonable conditions on reinstatement of the license, including reexamination, as the board deems appropriate. An applicant under this subsection is presumed to be competent to practice as a veterinarian in this state if at the time of application for reinstatement the applicant holds a

full unexpired license issued by a similar licensing board of another state or territory of the United States or of a foreign country or province whose standards, in the opinion of the board, are equivalent to or higher than the requirements for licensure in this state. Notwithstanding any presumption of competency under this subsection, the board shall require each applicant under this subsection to pass the examination specified under s. VE 3.02 (4).

#### SECTION 2. VE 9.035 is created to read:

- VE 9.035 <u>REINSTATEMENT OF A LAPSED CERTIFICATE</u>. A license expires if not renewed by January 1 of even-numbered years. A certificate holder who allows the certificate to expire may apply to the board for reinstatement of the credential as follows:
- (1) If the certificate holder applies for renewal of the certificate less than 5 years after its expiration, the certificate shall be renewed upon payment of the renewal fee and fulfillment of the continuing education requirements under s. VE 10.04.
- (2) If the certificate holder applies for renewal of the credential 5 or more years after its expiration, the board shall inquire as to whether the applicant is competent to practice as an animal technician in this state and shall impose any reasonable conditions on reinstatement of the certificate, including reexamination, as the board deems appropriate. An applicant under this subsection is presumed to be competent to practice as an animal technician in this state if at the time of application for reinstatement the applicant holds a full unexpired certificate issued by a similar licensing board of another state or territory of the United States or of a foreign country or province whose standards, in the opinion of the board, are equivalent to or higher than the requirements for certification in this state. Notwithstanding any presumption of competency under this subsection, the board shall require each applicant under this subsection to pass the examination specified under s. VE 8.02 (2) and (3).

### (END OF TEXT OF RULE)

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

Agency

Chairperson eterinary Examining Board

## CORRESPONDENCE/MEMORANDUM

## STATE OF WISCONSIN

DATE:

November 18, 1993

TO:

Gary Poulson

Assistant Revisor of Statutes

FROM:

Pamela Haack, Administrative Assistant Department of Regulation and Licensing

SUBJECT:

Final Rulemaking Order

**Agency: VETERINARY EXAMINING BOARD** 

Clearinghouse Rule: 93-101

Attached is a copy and a certified copy of a final order adopting rules. Would you please publish these rules in the code.

Please stamp or sign a copy of this letter to acknowledge receipt.

Thank you.

