
CERTIFICATE 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING 

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME, GREETINGS: 

I, Patrick D. Braatz, Director, Bureau of Health Professions in the 

Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing and custodian of the 

offieial records of the Hearing and Speech Examining Board, do hereby 

certify that the annexed rules were duly approved and adopted by the 

Hearing and Speech Examining Board on the 6th day of December, 1993. 

I further certüy that said copy has been compared by me with the 

original on file in this office and that the same is a true copy thereof, and 

of the whole of such original. 

IN T:ESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have 
hereunto set my hand and affixed the 
official seal of the board at 1400 East 
Washington Avenue, Madison, 
Wisconsin this 6th day of December, 
1M!J<i-:'---.. 



STATE OF WISCONSIN 
HEARING AND SPEECH EXAMINING BOARD 

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING 
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE 
HEARING AND SPEECH EXAMINING BOARD 

ORDER OF THE 
HEARING AND SPEECH EXAMINING BOARD 

ADOPTING RULES 
(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 93-139) 

An order of the Hearing and Speech Examining Board to amend HAS 1.01 (intra.), 
6.06 (1) (b) and 6.08 (1) (b) and (2) (b) and to create ch. HAS 7 re1ating to 
app1ication fees for individua1s app1ying for temporary 1icenses and permits 
and the renewa1 of 1icenses of hearing instrument specia1ists, speech-1anguage 
patho1ogists and audio1ogists. 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regu1ation and Licensing. 

ANALYSIS 

Statutes authorizing promu1gation: ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 
440.08 (3) (b), 459.12, 459.24 and 459.33, Stats. 

Statutes interpreted: ss. 440.08 (3) (b), 459.09, 459.24 (5) and 459.32, 
Stats. 

These ru1es are being proposed as aresult of changes made in the law by 1989 
Wisconsin Act 316 which gave authority to the Hearing and Speech Examining 
Board to 1icense speech-1anguage patho1ogists and audio1ogists, and as a 
resu1t of amendments to s. 440.08 (2), Stats., which authorized the Department 
of Regu1ation and Licensing to imp1ement a uniform procedure for renewa1 of 
credentia1s issued under chs. 440 to 459, Stats. Section 440.08 (3) (b), 
Stats., a1so authorized the Hearing and Speech Examining Board to adopt ru1es 
re1ating to 1ate renewa1 of credentia1s. 

Sections HAS 6.06 (1) (b) and 6.08 (1) (b) and (2) (b) are amended to c1arify 
that the fee for individua1s app1ying for temporary 1icenses under 
s. 459.24 (6), Stats., and permits under s. 459.32, Stats., is specified in 
s. 440.05 (6), Stats., rather than s. 440.05 (1) and (2), Stats. 

Chapter HAS 7 is being created to identify the procedures for renewa1 of 
1icenses. The ru1es incorporate the procedures for 1ate renewa1 of 
credentia1s contained in s. 440.08 (3), Stats. Under the statutes, a 
credentia1 holder may renew a credentia1 by submitting an app1ication on a 
form provided by the department and paying the app1icab1e renewa1 fees 
specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a) and (3), Stats. A credentia1 holder who fai1s 
to renew a credentia1 within 5 years after the renewa1 date may be required by 
the board to satisfy additiona1 education and examination requirements. 

TEXT OF RULE 

SECTION 1. HAS 1.01 (intro.) is amended to read: 

HAS 1.01 DEFINITIONS. (intra.) As used in chs. HAS 1 to & 2, un1ess the 
context otherwise requires: 
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(a) If applying less than 5 years after the renewal date, 
submitting to the department: 

1. An applieation for renewal on a form provided by the 
department. 

2. The applicable renewal fee specified in s. 440.08 (2) 
(a) and (3), Stats. 

3. Certification of calibration of audiornetric equipment 
as required under s. 459.085, Stats. 

(b) If applying 5 years or rno~e after the renewal date, 
satisfying the requirements in par. (a), and submitting proof of: 

1. Successful completion of educational coursework 
required by the board to ensure protection of the public health, safety and 
welfare; and 

2. Successful completion of an examination required by the 
board to ensure protection of the public health, safety and welfare. 

(2) A licensee who fails to renew a license granted under ss. 459.24 
and 459.28, Stats., by the renewal date may restore the license by satisfying 
the following requirements. 

(a) If applying less than 5 years after the renewal date, 
subrnitting to the department: 

1. An application for renewal on a form provided by the 
department. 

2. The applicable renewal fee specified in s. 440.08 (2) 
(a) and (3), Stats. 

(b) If applying 5 years or mare after the renewal date, 
satisfying the requirements in par. (a), and submitting proof of: 

1. Successful completion of educational coursework 
required by the board to ensure protection of the public health, safety and 
welfare; and 

2. Successful completion of an examination required by the 
board to ensure protection of the public health, safety and welfare. 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

The rules adopted in this order shall take effeet on the first day of the 
month following publication in the Wisconsin adrninistrative register pursuant 
to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), 

Dated 
person 

Hearing and Speech Exarnining Board 
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CORRESPONDENCE/MEMORANDUM STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DATE: 

TO: 

FROM: 

SUBJECT: 

December 7, 1993 

Gary Pou1son 
Assistant Revisor of Statutes 

Pame1a Haack, Administrative Assistant 
Department of Regu1ation and Lic~nsing 

Fina1 Ru1emaking Order 

Agency: HEARING AND SPEECH EXAMINING BOARD 

Clearlnghouse Rule: 93-139 

Attached is a copy and a certified copy of a fina1 order adopting ru1es. 
Wou1d you p1ease pub1ish these ru1es in the code. 

P1ease stamp or sign a copy of this 1etter to acknow1edge receipt. 

Thank you. 


