
CERTIFICATE 

STATE OF WISCONSIN ) 
) SS 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES ) 

I, Joseph Leean, Secretary of the Department of Health and Social Serviees and 

custodian of the offieial records of the Department, do hereby certify that the annexed rules 

relating to the fee paid by a home health agency to renew its license were duly approved and 

adopted by this Department on September 6, 1995. 

I further certify that this copy has been compared by me with the original on file in the 

Department and that this copy is a true copy of the original, and of the whole of the original. 

SEAL: 

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my 
hand and affixed the offieial seal of the Department at 
the State Office Building, 1 W. Wilson Street, in the 
eity of Madison, this 6th day of September, 1995. 

re ry 
rtment of Health and Social Serviees 



ORDER OF THE 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES 

AM ENDI NG AND CREATING RULES 

To amend HSS 133.03(6)(b) and to ereate HSS 133.02(6g), relating to the fee paid by 
a home health ageney to renew its lieense. 

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and Social Serviees 

Seetion 50.49, Stats., direets the Department to develop, establish and enforee 
standard s for operation of home heal th agencies, authorizes the Department to lieense home 
health agencies, requires the Department to make whatever inspeetions and investigations of 
home heal th agencies it eonsiders neeessary in order to administer this regulatory program and 
requires the Department to establish by rule an annuaI lieense fee for home health agencies. 

In February 1995 there were 188 home heal th agencies operating in Wiseonsin. 

The Department revised its lieensing standard s for home heal th agencies, ch. HSS 133, 
effeetive June 1984. Chapter HSS 133 has not been signifieandy updated sinee then, and in 
partieular the annuallieense renewaI fee has not been inereased sinee then. 

This order increases the annuaI lieense renewaI fee to eover inereased eosts of this 
regulatory program and bases the fee on annuaI net ineome of the home heal th ageney, as 
required by s.50.49(2)(b), Stats., rather than gross annual ineome of the ageney as provided 
for in the eurrent rules. 

The Department's authority to amend and ereate these rules is found in s. 50.49(2)(b), 
Stats. The rules interpret s. 50.49(2)(b), Stats. 

SECTION 1. HSS 133.02(6g) is ereated to read: 

HSS 133.02(6g) "Net ineome" means totaI ageney revenue minus totaI expenses as 
reported in the home health ageney's annual fiseal report under s. HSS 133.03(6)(e). 

SECTION 2. HSS 133.03(6)(b) is amended to read: 

HSS 133.03(6)(b) The application is aeeompanied by a fee equal to 0.15% 3.00% of 
the gross annuaI net ineome of the home health ageney based on the ageney's most reeent 
annuaI fiseaI report, with a maximum fee of $1,000 $2,500 and a minimum fee of $±OO $500. 



The rules contained in this order sh all take effect on the first day of the month 
following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2), 
Stats. 

Dated: September 6, 1995 

SEAL: 

Wisconsin Department of Health and 
Social Serviees 
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State ofWisconsin 

Department of Health and Social Serviees 

Tommy G, Thompson, Governor 
Joe Leean, Secretary 

September 6, 1995 

Mr. Bruce E. Munson 
Revisor of Statutes 
131 W. Wilson St., Suite 800 
Madison, WI 53703 

Dear Mr. Munson: 

As provided in s. 227.20, Stats., there is hereby submitted a certified copy of ss. HSS 133.02 
and 133.03, administrative ruIes relating to the fee paid by a home health agency to renew its 
license. 

These ruIes are aIso being submitted to the Secretary of State as required by s. 227.20, Stats. 

(-S~cerely , 
.. \ 

Endosure 

1 West Wilson Street Post Office Box 7850 Madison, WI 53707-7850 Telephone (608) 266-9622 


