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E M E R G E N C Y   R U L E S   N O W   I N   E F F E C T

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate rules
without complying with the usual rule−making procedures. Using
this special procedure to issue emergency rules, an agency must find
that either the preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare necessitates its action in bypassing normal rule−making
procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state newspaper,
which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal. Emergency rules are
in effect for 150 days and can be extended up to an additional
120 days with no single extension to exceed 60 days.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice will
contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the agency finding
of emergency, date of publication, the effective and expiration dates,
any extension of the effective period of the emergency rule and
information regarding public hearings on the emergency rule.

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection

1. Rules were adopted amending s. ATCP 60.19 (3) and (4),
relating to drug residues in raw milk.

Finding  of Emergency
The state of Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and

consumer protection (DATCP) finds that an emergency exists and
that the following emergency rule is necessary to protect public
health, safety and welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are
as follows:

(1)  Milk from Wisconsin dairy farms may not contain drug
residues.  Current rules under ch. ATCP 60, Wis. Adm. Code, require
every dairy plant operator to perform a drug residue screening test
on every bulk load of raw milk received by that operator.  If the bulk
load tests positive for any drug residue, the operator must test a milk
sample from each producer milk shipment included in that bulk
load.  Current rules do not require a dairy plant operator to perform
a confirmatory test if a producer sample tests positive on an initial
test.

(2)  If a producer sample tests positive for drug residue, the dairy
plant operator may hold that producer financially responsible for
contaminating the bulk load.  In some cases, the cost of a
contaminated tanker load of milk may be $5,000 or more.  The
department may also take enforcement action against the milk
producer.  Enforcement may result in financial penalties or
suspension of the milk producer’s license.

(3)  In several enforcement actions, producers have argued that
dairy plant drug residue tests were inaccurate.  Producers claimed
that there was no confirmatory testing, and no opportunity to
confirm the accuracy of the dairy plant operator’s test findings.
Inaccurate findings may unfairly penalize affected producers, and
result in severe financial losses to those producers.  The lack of a
confirmatory test aggravates conflicts between dairy plant operators
and milk producers.

(4)  Confirmatory testing of test−positive producer samples
would provide greater assurance of fairness for milk producers, and
would help avoid conflicts between dairy plant operators and
producers.  Dairy plant operators can perform confirmatory tests at
reasonable cost.  An emergency rule requiring confirmatory testing
of producer samples is necessary to protect milk producers, and to
promote the efficient operation and economic well−being of
Wisconsin’s dairy industry.

(5)  Confirmatory testing of test−positive producer samples will
enhance, and not reduce, the safety of Wisconsin milk supplies.
Dairy plant operators will still be required to test bulk tanker loads
of milk, and dispose of tanker loads that test positive for drug
residues.

(6)  This emergency rule will strengthen public health protection
by requiring dairy plant operators to dispose of contaminated loads,
or denature contaminated loads before transferring them to the
custody of another person.  Denaturing ensures that persons
receiving custody of contaminated loads will not redirect them to
human food use.

(7)  Pending the adoption of rules according to normal
administrative rulemaking procedures, it is necessary to adopt this
emergency rule to do both of the following:

(a)  Protect the public milk supply against drug residue
contamination by assuring proper disposal of contaminated milk.

(b)  Provide additional assurance that milk producers will not be
subjected to serious penalties or financial losses based on inaccurate
drug residue tests.

Publication  Date: April 30, 1999

Effective Date: April 30, 1999

Expiration Date: September 27, 1999

Hearing Date: June 18, 1999

Extension Through: November 25, 1999

2. Rules adopted revising s. ATCP 100.45, relating to
security of dairy plant payments to milk producers.

Finding  of Emergency
(1)  Section 100.06, Stats., is designed to provide “reasonable

assurance” that dairy farmers will be paid for the milk they produce.
Under ss. 97.20(2)(d)2. and l00.06, Stats., a dairy plant must, as a
condition to licensing, comply with  applicable security
requirements under s. 100.06, Stats., and department rules under ch.
ATCP 100, Wis. Adm. Code.  Since dairy plant licenses expire on
April  30 annually, dairy plants must comply with applicable security
requirements in order to qualify for license renewal on May 1 of each
year.

(2)  Under s. 100.06, Stats., and ch. ATCP 100, a dairy plant
operator who purchases milk from producers must do one of the
following:

(a)  File with the department of agriculture, trade and consumer
protection (“department”) audited financial statements which show
that the operator meets minimum financial standards established by
s. 100.06, Stats.

(b)  File security with the department in an amount equal to at
least 75% of the operator’s ”maximum liability to producers,” as
calculated under s. ATCP 100.45(5).

(c)  Enter into a dairy plant trusteeship under ch. ATCP 100,
Subch. V.

(3)  Under s. ATCP 100.45(5), a dairy plant operator’s
“maximum liability to producers” is based on the plant operator’s
largest monthly purchase of milk during the preceding license year.
Milk  prices hit all time record highs in 1998, dramatically increasing
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monthly dairy plant payrolls.  Security requirements for the 1999
license year are currently based on these inflated 1998 monthly
payrolls, even though 1999 monthly payrolls have dropped
dramatically in response to price changes.

(4)  Since December 1998, the average market price for raw milk
has fallen by approximately 40%.  Dairy economists expect BFP
average prices to remain at least 12% to 16.2% below last year’s
average during 1999.  Because of the dramatic decline in milk
prices, dairy plants have smaller producer payroll obligations than
they had in 1998.

(5)  Prices received by Wisconsin dairy plants for processed dairy
products have also fallen dramatically since December. This has
created serious financial hardships for some dairy plants.

(6)  Current security requirements, based on 1998 producer
prices and payrolls, are excessive in relation to current payroll
obligations and impose an added financial burden on dairy plants.
Current security requirements under s. ATCP 100.45(5), based on
last year’s prices, are at least 31 to 48% higher than they would be
if calculated at current prices.

(7)  Because of the dramatic decline in dairy prices, some dairy
plant operators are required to file large amounts of additional
security, often amounting to millions of dollars.  This is a major
expense for affected operators.  Operators may find it difficult,
financially, to obtain and file the required security.  If a dairy plant
is unable to file the required security in connection with the May 1,
1999 license renewal, the department will forced to take action
against the dairy plant’s license.  This could result in the forced
closing of some unsecured dairy plants.  The forced closing of an
unsecured plant may, in turn, result in serious financial losses to
producer patrons.

(8)  By requiring excessive security based on last year’s prices,
current rules are making it unnecessarily difficult and expensive for
dairy plants to obtain and file security. This could contribute to the
financial failure of some dairy plants, or to the forced closing of
some unsecured plants.  Dairy plant financial failures or closings, if
they occur, may cause serious and widespread financial injury to
milk producers in this state. This constitutes a serious and imminent
threat to the public welfare.

(9)  In order to reduce the risk of dairy plant financial failures or
forced closings, rule amendments are urgently needed to adjust
dairy plant security requirements to appropriate levels based on
current milk prices.  The rule amendments will relieve financially
stressed dairy plants from unnecessary financial burdens and will
make it easier for those dairy plants to file security with the
department.  That, in turn, will reduce the risk of dairy plant financial
failures, or the forced closing of unsecured plants, which may
adversely affect milk producers.

(10)  Rule amendments, to be effective, must be promulgated
prior to the dairy plant license year beginning May 1, 1999.  That is
not possible under normal rulemaking procedures.  Therefore, the
following emergency rule is needed to protect the public welfare.

(11)  Should milk prices rise beyond the levels currently
anticipated for the license year beginning May 1, 1999, so that
security filed under this emergency rule is less than 75% of a dairy
plant operator’s current monthly producer payroll,  the operator is
required to notify the department of that fact under s. 100.06, Stats.,
and s. ATCP 100.20(3).  The department may demand additional
security at that time.

Publication  Date: April 20, 1999

Effective Date: May 1, 1999

Expiration Date: September 28, 1999

Extension Through: November 26, 1999

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Commerce
(Financial  Resources for Communities,
Chs. Comm 105 to 128)

Rules adopted creating ch. Comm 111, relating to certified
capital companies.

Finding  of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency exists

and that the adoption of the rule is  necessary for the immediate
preservation of public health, safety and welfare.

Analysis  of Rules
Statutory Authority: ss. 560.31, 560.34 (1m) (b), and 227.24
Statutes Interpreted: ss 560.31, 560.34 (1m) (b), and 227.24
On June 17, 1999, the Department of Commerce (Commerce)

held a public hearing on proposed rules in response to 1997 Wis. Act
215. That act provides tax credits to persons that make certain
investments in certified capital companies that are certified by
Commerce. Legislators and persons interested in the rules testified
at the hearing and requested that Commerce adopt an emergency
rule that would (1) allow persons to apply for certification to become
certified as capital companies, (2) allow persons to apply to make a
certified capital investment in a certified capital company, and (3)
set forth the operational and reporting requirements of certified
capital companies required under the law. Since then, articles in the
newspaper as well as business journals have pointed out the lack of
venture capital in the state hinders high−tech growth and making
that capital available will benefit Wisconsin as it has done in other
states. This emergency rule is necessary to begin implementation of
the law and to place Wisconsin in a better position to make capital
available to draw high−tech industries, create new businesses, and
expand existing businesses that will ultimately create new jobs and
benefit all its citizens.

Publication  Date: July 23, 1999

Effective Date: July 23, 1999

Expiration Date: December , 19, 1999

Hearing Date: August 17, 1999

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Crime Victims Rights Board

Rules adopted creating ch. CVRB 1, relating to the rights of
crime victims.

Finding  of Emergency
The Crime Victims Rights Board finds that an emergency exists

and that rules are necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is:

The Crime Victims Rights Board was created by 1997 Wis. Act
181, effective December 1, 1998, to enforce victims’ rights
established by Wis. Const. Art. I, s. 9m, adopted in 1993.  The
Wisconsin Constitution states that the Legislature shall provide
remedies for the violation of victims’ constitutional rights.  The
Board’s process represents the only means of enforcing the remedies
available to victims of crime who are not provided with the rights
guaranteed to them by the Wisconsin Constitution and the
Wisconsin statutes.  The Board can issue reprimands to correct
violations of victims’ rights, seek forfeitures in egregious cases, and
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seek equitable relief to enforce victims’ rights.  The Board can also
work to prevent future violations of victims’ rights by issuing
reports and recommendations on crime victims’ rights and services.

Complaints must be presented to the Department of Justice
before they can be presented to the Board.  The Department
estimates that it receives 200 complaints annually involving the
treatment of crime victims.  The Department has no authority to
enforce victims’ rights; the Department can only seek to mediate
disputes.  Of those complaints, approximately 25 per year cannot be
resolved to the parties’ satisfaction, and are therefore ripe for the
Board’s consideration.  There are presently 5 complaints that could
be referred to the Board if the Board were able to receive and act on
complaints.

Until the Board establishes its complaint process by
administrative rule, it is unable to provide the remedies
constitutionally guaranteed to crime victims.

Publication  Date: September 17, 1999

Effective Date: September 17, 1999

Expiration Date: February 14, 1999

Hearing Date: November 9, 1999
[See Notice this Register]

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Employment Relations Commission

Rules adopted revising ch. ERC 33, Appendix C, relating
to the calculation of a minimum qualified economic
offer in collective bargaining with professional
school district employes.

Finding  of Emergency
We find that it is necessary to promulgate the amendment to ch.

ERC 33, Appendix C as an emergency rule to preserve the public
peace, health, safety and welfare. Without the amendment, the
timely and peaceful resolution of collective bargaining disputes in
Wisconsin will be endangered.

Publication  Date: June 12, 1999

Effective Date: June 12, 1999

Expiration Date: November 9, 1999

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Professional Geologists, Hydrologists and Soil
Scientists

Rules adopted creating chs. GHSS 1 to 5, relating to the
registration  and regulation of professional geologists,
hydrologists and soil scientists.

Exemption  From Finding of Emergency
The Examining Board of Geologists, Hydrologists and Soil

Scientists finds that an emergency exists and that the attached rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace,
safety or welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting the
emergency is:

Section 64 of 1997 Wis. Act 300 states that the board is not
required to make a finding of emergency.  However, the board offers
the following information relating to the promulgation of these rules
as emergency rules.  The new regulation of professional geologists,
hydrologists and soil scientists was created in 1997 Wis. Act 300.

The Act was published on June 30, 1998; however the Act created
an effective date for the new regulation as being the first day of the
6th month beginning after the effective date of this subsection.

Publication  Date: May 15, 1999

Effective Date: May 15, 1999

Expiration Date: October 12, 1999

Hearing Date: June 23, 1999

Extension Through: December 10, 1999

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Health & Family Services
(Management,  Technology , etc., Chs. HFS 1−)

A rule was adopted revising chapter HFS 12, Appendix A,
relating to caregiver background checks.

Finding  of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that an

emergency exists and that the rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  The facts
constituting the emergency are as follows:

Since October 1, 1998, the Department has been implementing
statutes that became effective on that date that require use of uniform
procedures to check the backgrounds of persons who apply to the
Department, to a county social services or human services
department that licenses foster homes for children and carries out
adoption home studies, to a private child−placing agency that does
the same or to a school board that contracts for day care programs,
to provide care or treatment to persons who need that care or
treatment, or who apply to a regulated entity to be hired or contracted
with to provide services to the entity’s clients or who propose to
reside as a non−client at the entity.  The statutes, ss. 48.685 and
50.065, Stats., direct the regulatory agencies and regulated entities
to bar persons, temporarily or permanently, depending on the
conviction, finding or charge, who have in their backgrounds a
specified conviction, finding or charge substantially related to the
care of clients, from operating a service provider organization,
providing care or treatment  to persons who need that care or
treatment or otherwise having contact with the clients of a service
provider.

The new statutes, commonly referred to as the Caregiver Law,
were effective on October 1, 1998, for applicants on or after that date
for licensure, certification or other agency approval, and for persons
applying to be hired by or to enter into a contract with a regulated
entity on or after that date to provide services to clients or to take up
residence as a non−client at a regulated entity.

For regulated agencies approved before October 1, 1998, and for
persons employed by, under contract to or residing as non−clients at
regulated entities before October 1, 1998, the Caregiver Law’s
required uniform procedures and “bars” are to apply beginning on
October 1, 1999.  That is to say, by October 1, 1999, background
checks, using the uniform procedures, are to be completed for all
service providers who were approved before October 1, 1998, and
for all employes, contractors and non−client residents employed by,
under contract to or living at a regulated entity before October 1,
1998, and action taken to withdraw approval, terminate employment
or end a contract, as appropriate.

To implement the new Caregiver Law, the Department on
October 1, 1998, published administrative rules, ch. HFS 12, Wis.
Adm. Code, by emergency order.  Chapter HFS 12 included an
appendix which consisted of a list of crimes.  The original list
specified 159 crimes for conviction of any one of which a person
would be barred permanently (45 crimes), all programs, or would be
barred temporarily, all programs, pending demonstration of
rehabilitation, from being approved to be a service provider or from
providing care or treatment to clients or  otherwise having access to



Page 8 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER No. 526 Mid−October, 1999

clients.  The October 1998 emergency rules were modified in
December 1998 and February 1999 by emergency order, and were
replaced by permanent rules effective July 1, 1999.  The Crimes List
in the current permanent rules specifies 117 crimes with 9 being
permanent bar crimes for all programs.

This order again modifies ch. HFS 12, but only the Crimes List
and not the text of the chapter.  The number of specified crimes is
reduced to 79, with 6 of them, all taken from ss. 48.685 and 50.065,
Stats., being permanent bar crimes for all programs.  The change to
the ch. HFS 12 Crimes List is being made at this time because the
1999−2001 Budget Bill, now before the Legislature but not likely to
take effect before October 1, 1999, is expected to provide for a more
modest Crimes List than the one now appended to ch. HFS 12. This
means that the Legislature intends that some persons who under the
current rules would lose their jobs effective October 1, 1999, will be
able to keep their jobs. The Department has the authority to further
modify the Crimes List so that it corresponds to how the Legislature,
after having heard arguments since October 1998 about how the
Caregiver Law should be amended and implemented, wants it to
work.  This is what the Department is doing through this order.

Publication  Date: September 16, 1999

Effective Date: September 16, 1999

Expiration Date: February 13, 2000

Hearing Date: October 28, 1999
[See Notice this Register]

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Health & Family Services
(Medical  Assistance, Chs. HFS 101−108)

1. Rules were adopted revising chs. HFS 101 to 103, and
108, relating to operation of BadgerCare health insurance
program.

Finding  of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that an

emergency exists and that the rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  The facts
constituting the emergency are as follows:

This order creates rules that specify how a new program called
BadgerCare, established under s. 49.665, Stats., will work.  Under
BadgerCare, families with incomes up to 185% of the federal
poverty level, but not low enough to be eligible for regular Medical
Assistance (MA) coverage of their health care costs, and that lack
access to group health insurance, are eligible to have BadgerCare
pay for their health care costs.  The order incorporates the rules for
operation of BadgerCare into chs. HFS 101 to 103 and 108, four of
the Department’s chapters of rules for operation of the MA program.

BadgerCare is projected to cover over 40,000 currently
uninsured Wisconsin residents, including more than 23,000
children, by the end of 1999.

Benefits under BadgerCare will be identical to the
comprehensive package of benefits provided by Medical
Assistance.  The existing Wisconsin Medicaid HMO managed care
system, including mechanisms for assuring the quality of services,
improving health outcomes and settling grievances, will be used
also for BadgerCare.

Department rules for the operation of BadgerCare must be in
effect before BadgerCare may begin.  The program statute, s.
49.665, Stats., was effective on October 14, 1997.  It directed the
Department to request a federal waiver of certain requirements of
the federal Medicaid Program to permit the Department to
implement BadgerCare not later than July 1, 1998, or the effective
date of the waiver, whichever date was later.  The federal waiver
letter approving BadgerCare was received on January 22, 1999.  It

specified that BadgerCare was not to be implemented prior to July
1, 1999. Once the letter was received, the Department began
developing the rules. They are now ready. The Department is
publishing the rules by emergency order so that they will go into
effect on July 1, 1999, rather than at least 9 months later, which is
about how long the process of making permanent rules takes, and
thereby provide already authorized health care coverage as quickly
as possible to families currently not covered by health insurance and
unable to pay for needed health care.

The rules created and amended by this order modify the current
Medical Assistance rules to accommodate BadgerCare and in the
process provide more specificity than s. 49.665, Stats., about the
nonfinancial and financial conditions of eligibility for BadgerCare;
state who is included in a BadgerCare group and whose income is
taken into consideration when determining the eligibility of a
BadgerCare group; expand on statutory conditions for continuing to
be eligible for BadgerCare; exempt a BadgerCare group with
monthly income at or below 150% of the federal poverty level from
being obliged to contribute toward the cost of the health care
coverage; and set forth how the Department, as an alternative to
providing Medical Assistance coverage, will go about purchasing
family coverage offered by the employer of a member of a family
eligible for BadgerCare if the Department determines that
purchasing that coverage would not cost more than providing
Medical Assistance coverage.

Publication  Date: July 1, 1999

Effective Date: July 1, 1999

Expiration Date: November 28, 1999

Hearing Dates: August 26, 27, 30 & 31, 1999

2. Rule adopted amending s. HFS 105.39 (4) (b) 3.,  relating
to certification of specialized medical vehicle providers.

Finding  of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of the rules included in this
order is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
peace, health, safety or welfare.  The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:

The Department’s rules for certification of specialized motor
vehicle (SMV) providers under the Medical Assistance (MA)
program include requirements for SMV drivers.  Among current
requirements is that each driver must receive training in first aid and
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) before driving a vehicle or
serving as an attendant and must receive refresher training in first aid
every 2 years and refresher training in CPR annually.  The specific
requirements for refresher training date from December 1, 1994.
When revising its rules for SMV providers earlier in 1994 the
Department proposed to require refresher training every 2 years for
both first aid and CPR, but at the public hearings on the proposed
rules 5 SMV providers said the CPR refresher training should take
place annually and the Department agreed and made that its
requirement.

Although the American Red Cross CPR training and certification
that the person is trained continue to be annual, the equivalent
American Heart Association CPR training and certification (the
American Heart Association prefers “recognition” to
“certification”) is now every 2 years.  This means that to comply
with the Department’s current MA rule for SMV drivers, s. HFS
105.39 (4) (b) 3., drivers who receive their training from the
American Heart Association must repeat the training each year.
That is unnecessary for maintenance of American Heart Association
certification (recognition) and the time and expense involved is a
burden on SMV providers and drivers.  The Department is
modifying the rule through this order to simply require that drivers
maintain CPR certification.

The Department through this order is also changing the
requirement for refresher training in first aid from every 2 years to
at least every 3 years.  That is because the American Red Cross
certification in first aid is now for 3 years.  A requirement for more



Page 9WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER No. 526Mid−October, 1999

frequent refresher training in first aid is a burden in time and expense
involved for SMV providers and drivers.

Publication  Date: July 3, 1999

Effective Date: July 3, 1999

Expiration Date: November 30, 1999

Hearing Date: September 1, 1999

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Health and Family Services
(Health,  Chs. HSS/HFS 110−−)

1. Rules were adopted revising ch. HFS 119, relating to the
Health Insurance Risk−Sharing Plan.

Exemption  From Finding of Emergency
Section 149.143 (4), Stats., permits the Department to

promulgate rules required under s. 149.143(2) and (3), Stats. by
using emergency rulemaking procedures, except that the
Department is specifically exempted from the requirement under s.
227.24(1) and (3), Stats., that it make a finding of emergency.  These
are the rules.  Department staff consulted with the HIRSP Board of
Governors on April 30, 1999 on the proposed rules, as required by
s. 149.20, Stats.

Analysis  Prepared by the Department of
Health and Family Services

The State of Wisconsin in 1981 established a Health Insurance
Risk−Sharing Plan (HIRSP) for the purpose of making health
insurance coverage available to medically uninsured residents of the
state.  One type of coverage provided by HIRSP is supplemental
coverage for persons eligible for Medicare.  This coverage is called
Plan 2.  Medicare (Plan 2) has a $500 deductible.  Approximately
17% of the 7,291 HIRSP policies in effect on March 31, 1999 were
of the Plan 2 type.

The Department through this rulemaking order is amending ch.
HFS 119 in order to update HIRSP Plan 2 premium rates in
accordance with the authority and requirements set out in s. 149.143
(2) (a) 2., Stats.  The Department is required to set premium rates by
rule.  These rates must be calculated in accordance with generally
accepted actuarial principles.  Policyholders are to pay 60% of the
costs of HIRSP.

There are separate sets of tables in ch. HFS 119 that show
unsubsidized and subsidized Plan 2 premium rates.  Both sets of
tables are amended by this order to increase the premium rates
because Plan 2 costs, which historically have been running about
50% less than Plan 1 costs, began to increase several years ago and
now are running at about 67% of Plan 1 costs.  The Plan 2 premium
rates need to be increased to cover increased costs of treatment for
individuals enrolled under Plan 2.  The order increases these
premium rates by about 18%.

In January 1999, the Department published an emergency rule
order to increase HIRSP unsubsidized Plan 2 premium rates by
about 10%, with the intention of increasing those rates again in July
1999 to the level provided for in this order.  However, in May 1999
the Legislature’s Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules (JCRAR) refused to extend the effective period of that part of
the January 1999 emergency rule order relating to premium rate
increases, with the result that effective May 31, 1999, the rates
reverted back to the rates in effect before January 1, 1999.
Consequently, to increase rates effective July 1, 1999, the
Department through this rulemaking order has based the increased
rates on the rates in effect prior to January 1, 1999.

The Department through this order is also adjusting the total
HIRSP insurer assessments and provider payment rates in
accordance with the authority and requirements set out in s. 149.143
(2)(a)3. and 4., Stats.  With the approval of the HIRSP Board of
Governors and as required by statute, the Department reconciled
total costs for the HIRSP program for calendar year 1998.  The
Board of Governors approved a reconciliation methodology that
reconciles the most recent calendar year actual HIRSP program
costs, policyholder premiums, insurance assessments and health
care provider contributions collected with the statutorily required
funding formula.  By statute, the adjustments for the calendar year
are to be applied to the next plan year budget beginning July 1, 1999.

The result of this reconciliation process for calendar year 1998
indicated that insurance assessments collected were greater than the
20% of costs (net of the GPR contribution from appropriation s.
20.435(5)(af), Stats.), required of insurers.  Also, the calendar year
1998 reconciliation process showed that an insufficient amount was
collected from health care providers.  As a result of this
reconciliation, the insurer assessments for the time periods July 1,
1999 through December 31, 1999 and January 1, 2000 through June
30, 2000, are reduced to offset the overpayment in 1998.  The total
adjustments to the provider payment rates for the same time periods
are sharply increased in order to recoup the provider contribution
that was not collected in calendar year 1998.  The budget for the plan
year ending June 30, 2000 and the calendar year 1998 reconciliation
process were approved by the HIRSP Board of Governors in April
1999.

Publication Date: June 30, 1999

Effective Date: July 1, 1999

Expiration Date: November 28, 1999

Hearing Date: September 9, 1999

2. Rules adopted creating s. HSS 122.10, relating to
distribution of 3 closed nursing home beds to a nursing
home that serves only veterans.

Finding  of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of the rules is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

These rules are for the one−time distribution of 3 closed nursing
home beds to a nursing home or nursing homes that serve only
veterans.  Following distribution of the 3 beds, the rules will be
allowed to lapse.

Section 150.31, Stats., establishes a statewide bed limit for
nursing homes as one means of controlling nursing home costs and
Medical Assistance program expenditures.  Within that bed limit a
facility may close or its bed capacity may be reduced, in which case
beds are freed up and may be redistributed by the Department under
s. HSS 122.05(1)(c).

The Wisconsin Veterans Home at King has 4 separately licensed
nursing home buildings on its grounds, and a total licensed capacity
of 718 beds.  It is operating at 99.9 percent of capacity with a long
waiting list for admission.  Managers of the Wisconsin Veterans
Home have decided to close their underutilized 3 bed hospital
operation at King.  The 3 hospital beds are currently located in
Stordock Hall.  The 3 nursing home beds will replace the hospital
beds.  Because of the burgeoning population of older veterans,
whose active service was during World War II, the Korean War, and
the Vietnam War, and the immediate pressure on admissions to the
facility, and the desirability of having flexibility when moving
residents, Wisconsin Veterans Home managers have asked that the
space previously used for hospital beds be converted to nursing
home space and that 3 closed nursing home beds be transferred to
the Veterans Home.  These beds could be put on line immediately
and provide some relief to those awaiting admission.

This rulemaking order establishes a process for considering
applications for 3 closed nursing home beds to be made available to
a nursing home or nursing homes that serve only veterans, that ask
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for no more than 3 beds and that do not require space to be added to
the building in which the beds will be located to accommodate those
beds.

Publication  Date: August 3, 1999

Effective Date: August 3, 1999

Expiration Date: December 31, 1999

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Higher Educational Aids Board

Rules adopted amending s. HEA 11.03 (3) and creating s. HEA
11.03 (5), relating to the Minority Teacher Loan Program.

Finding  of Emergency
The 1989 Wis. Act 31 created s. 39.40, Stats., which provides for

loans to minority students enrolled in programs of study leading to
licensure as a teacher. The Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids
Board (HEAB) administers this loan program under s. 39.40 and
under ch. HEA 11. Current rules require that a student be enrolled
full  time and show financial need to be considered for participation
in the Minority Teacher Loan Program. Students who did not enroll
full  time and did not show financial need were allowed to participate
in the program in the past when part of the program was
administered by another administrative body. These students are
enrolled in teacher education programs that train teachers
specifically for the school districts named in the statutes that outline
the intent of the Minority Teacher Loan Program. Unless the Board
changes its rules, many participating students will lose their
eligibility  in the program. This will cause a hardship to those
students who relied on the interpretation of the prior system
administration. Revising the rules would allow students who
participated in the program in the past to continue to participate. The
proposed revision will not affect expenditures of State funds for the
Minority Teacher Loan Program.

Publication  Date: August 6, 1999

Effective Date: August 6, 1999

Expiration Date: January 3, 2000

Hearing Date: October 28, 1999

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT

Natural Resources
(Fish,  Game, etc., Chs. NR 1−)

Rules adopted revising ch. NR 10, relating to the 1999
migratory game bird season.

Finding  of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., is

necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect the public
welfare. The federal government and state legislature have
delegated to the appropriate agencies rule−making authority to
control the hunting of migratory birds. The State of Wisconsin must
comply with federal regulation in the establishment of migratory
bird hunting seasons and conditions. General regulations are not
made available to this state until mid−August of each year. This
order is designed to bring the state hunting regulations into
conformity with federal regulations. Normal rule−making

procedures will not allow the establishment of these changes by
September 1. Failure to modify our rules will result in the failure to
provide hunting opportunity and continuation of rules which
conflict with federal regulations.

Publication  Date: September 10, 1999

Effective Date: September 10, 1999

Expiration Date: February 7, 2000

Hearing Date: October 14, 1999

EMERGENCY RULES NOW IN EFFECT (2)

Natural Resources
(Environmental  Protection−W ater Regulation,
  Chs. NR 300−)

1. Rules adopted creating ch. NR 303, relating to department
determinations of navigability for farm drainage ditches.

Exemption  From Finding of Emergency
The Department was directed by the JCRAR under s. 227.26 (2)

(b), Stats., to promulgate emergency rules regarding navigability

Analysis  Prepared by the Department of
Natural Resources

Statutory authority:  s. 227.26 (2)(b)

Statute interpreted:  s. 30.10 (4)(c)

This order codifies present department program guidance for
staff making navigability determinations for farm drainage ditches,
identifying various methods and information to be relied on when
making such determinations.

Publication  Date: May 1, 1999

Effective Date: May 1, 1999

Expiration Date: September 28, 1999

Hearing Dates: June 16 and 17, 1999

Extension Through: November 26, 1999

2. Rules adopted creating ch. NR 328, relating to regulation
of water ski platforms and water ski jumps.

Analysis  by the Department of Natural
Resources

Statutory authority:  ss. 30.135, 227.11 (2) (a) and 227.24

Statutes interpreted:  ss. 30.66, 30.69 and 30.135

Chapter NR 328 describes the conditions where a water ski jump
or platform will require a permit. It explains what constitutes a
substantive  written objection to a water ski jump or platform and
provides a list of reasons that support a substantive written
objection. It specifies the contents of a public notice and the process
for making a substantive written objection. It details how the
department will respond to complaints about an existing water ski
jump or platform.

These rules were promulgated as emergency rules at the direction
of the joint committee for review of administrative rules.

Publication  Date: July 9, 1999

Effective Date: July 9, 1999*

Expiration Date: December 6, 1999

*Rule suspended by Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative  Rules on July 5, 1999.
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STATEMENTS  OF  SCOPE  OF  PROPOSED  RULES

Commerce
(Anhydrous Ammonia, Ch. Comm 43)

Subject:

Ch. Comm 43 − Relating to anhydrous ammonia.

Description of policy issues:

Description of the objective of the rule:

The objective of the rule is to update ch. Comm 43 to current
national standards.

Description of existing policies relevant to the rule and of new
policies proposed to be included in the rule and an analysis of policy
alternatives:

Chapter Comm 43 establishes minimum technical standards for
the safe design, construction, installation, operation and
maintenance of anhydrous ammonia systems.  The chapter closely
follows a national standard issued by the American National
Standards Institute (ANSI).  This rule project will update the chapter
and it will evaluate adopting by reference the ANSI standard for
anhydrous ammonia rather than reprinting the provisions in the
Administrative Code.

The alternative of not revising the chapter would result in the
Administrative Code not being up−to−date with current national
standards.

Statutory authority for the rule:

The statutory authority is contained in ss. 101.02 (15) (h) to (j),
101.17 and 101.19 (1) (b), Stats.

Estimate of the amount of time that state employes will spend
to develop the rule and of other resources necessary to develop
the rule:

The Department estimates that it will take approximately
400 hours to develop this rule.  This time includes forming and
meeting with an advisory council, then drafting the rule and
processing the rule through public hearings and legislative review.
The Department will assign existing staff to develop the rule.  There
are no other resources necessary to develop the rule.

Elections Board

Subject:

S. E1Bd 1.655 − Scope of regulated activity; identification of the
source of communications paid for with money raised for political
purposes and the source of other communications subject to
s. 11.30, Stats.

Description of policy issues:

Description of objective(s):

To amend the Elections Board’s existing rule; to add a provision
that provides for identifying the source of communications that are
subject to s. 11.30 (5), Stats., i.e. communications concerning
support for or opposition to a candidate, political party or
referendum for which source identification is requested by the
person polled.

Description of policies — relevant existing policies, proposed
new policies and policy alternatives considered:

Under the existing rule, communications that are not paid for by
a registrant and that do not expressly advocate the election or defeat
of a clearly−identified candidate may appear to be exempt from
source identification, notwithstanding the provisions of s. 11.30 (5),
Stats.  The rule clarifies the point that the source of communications
for which source identification is required by s. 11.30 (5), Stats., is

still required to be provided notwithstanding any other provision of
s. ElBd 1.655.

Statutory authority for the rule:
SS. 5.05 (1) (f) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Estimates of the amount of time that state employes will
spend developing the rule and of other resources necessary to
develop the rule:

4 hours of staff time.

Natural Resources
Subject:
NR Code  − Relating to the addition of a deer hunting season in

Council Grounds State Park.

Description of policy issues:
Description of policy issues to be resolved, include groups likely

to be impacted or interested in the issue:

The proposed rule concerns Council Grounds State Park, a
502−acre state park located in and adjacent to the City of Merrill.
Conservative estimates of deer density in this area are well above the
established over−winter goal of 21 deer/square mile.  Recently,
Department wildlife management and park staff have met with local
government representatives to discuss the high deer densities.  In
light of these meetings, the Department is proposing a deer hunting
season within Council Grounds State Park.  The public hearing
would allow all interested parties to discuss the proposed rule.

This rule/Board action does not represent a change from past
policy.

Statutory authority:
Section 29.014, Stats.

Anticipated time commitment:
The anticipated time commitment is 184 hours.  The public

hearing will be held in December, 1999 at Merrill, Wisconsin.

Public Service Commission
Subject:
Ch. PSC 163  − Relating to telecommunications utility price

regulation (Docket 1−AC−189).

Description of policy issues:
Objective of the rule:

The objective of the proposed rule revision is to make those
changes to ch. PSC 163 deemed necessary as a result of the
Commission’s review of price regulation pursuant to s. 196.196
(1) (g), Stats., and the annual reviews of price regulation for each
price−regulated telecommunications utility.  In addition, the
objective of the proposed rule revisions is to update the citations and
clarify language, where necessary.

Existing policies relevant to rule, new policies proposed, and
analysis of alternatives:

In Docket 05−TI−174, the Commission completed its initial
review of price regulation pursuant to s.  196.196 (1) (g), Stats.  As
a result of that review, the Commission determined that it is
reasonable to revise ch. PSC 163.  These changes may include such
things as:

a.  The 30−day deadline in s. PSC 163.04 (8) (a) should be
replaced with a 60−day deadline, and the provision to allow an
additional 30 days if a hearing is held should be changed to allow an
additional 60 days.
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b.  The penalty and incentive mechanism values shown in
s. PSC 163.04 (2) (g) Table 1 should be revised to reflect different
weightings for quality of service, infrastructure investment, and the
Wisconsin Advanced Telecommunications Foundation.

c.  Section PSC 163.04 (2) (d) should be revised to continue
infrastructure incentives and penalties on an optional basis and
s. PSC 163.04 (1) should be revised to provide for an optional filing
of proposed retail−related and wholesale−related infrastructure
objectives.  Ch. PSC 163 should be revised, where applicable, to
refer to not only annual infrastructure commitments but also to the
annual infrastructure objectives which may be filed.

d.  Section PSC 163.04 (2) (c) should be modified to incorporate
the findings from the Commission’s Second Final Order in
Docket 05−TI−157, and to add two new components, trunk
blockage and answer speed for business office calls.

e.  The language in s. PSC 163.04 (2) (a) should be clarified to
reflect the use of the most recent quarterly chain−weighted GDPPI
and the prior year’s corresponding quarterly index, using the same
revision series.

f.  The current discretionary penalty and incentive mechanism
should be clarified and be revised to consider customer education in
addition to the other discretionary factors.

Statutory authority:
SS. 196.02 (3), 196.196 (1) (c) , and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Time estimates for rule development:
Completing the rulemaking proceeding is estimated to take at

least 150 staff hours.

Other resources necessary to develop rule:

No additional staff or other agency resources are anticipated for
this rulemaking.

Social Workers, Marriage and Family
Therapists and Professional Counselors
Examining Board

Subject:
SFC Code − Relating to types of programs to obtain continuing

education hours.

Description of policy issues:
Objective of the rule:

To clarify types of programs acceptable for continuing education
hours.

Policy analysis:

Continuing education requirements for social workers were
implemented on June 1, 1999 [Chapter SFC 8].  This rule will
clarify what types of programs will be acceptable for meeting those
requirements.

Statutory authority:
Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Estimate of the amount of state employe time and any other
resources that will be necessary to develop the rule:

50 hours.

Workforce Development
(Economic Support, Chs. DWD 11−59)

Subject:
Ch. DWD 12.16 (4) (c)−−Relating to:  Criteria for extension of

participation in W−2 transitions.

Description of policy issues:
Objective of the rule:

Codify the criteria for deciding on the extension of participation
in W−2 Transitions beyond 24 months under s. 49.147 (5) (b) 2.,
Stats.

Existing policies and new policies included in the proposed rule
and an analysis of policy alternatives:

The provisions in the statutes on the extension of CSJs and trial
jobs (s. 49.147 (3) (c), (4) (b) 2. and (c) 4., Stats.) state that an
extension beyond 24 months of participation in the employment
position may be granted if the participant has made all appropriate
efforts to find unsubsidized employment and has been unsuccessful
because local labor market conditions preclude a reasonable job
opportunity for the participant (and, in the case of CSJs, that no trial
job opportunities are available).  However, for W−2 Transitions the
statute states only that the 24 month period “may be extended on a
case−by−case basis by the department or by the W−2 agency with
the approval of the department.”  The department is considering a
rule that would specifically adopt the general criteria that are in use
for deciding on the extension of participation in W−2 Transitions,
including whether the participant is making all appropriate efforts
to find employment by participating in all assigned activities and
whether significant barriers prevent advancement to a higher W−2
employment position.

Statutory authority for the pr oposed rule:
Section 103.005 (1), Stats.
Estimate of the amount of time employes will spend

developing the proposed rule and of other resources needed to
develop the rule:

40 hours.

Workforce Development
(Unemployment Compensation,

 Chs. DWD 100−150)
Ch. DWD 133 − Relating to: Continuing employment

relationship; temporary help industry.
Description of policy issues:
Objective of the rule:
The objective of the proposed rule is to recognize, in limited and

defined circumstances, a continuing employment relationship
between employees and a temporary help agency, during the waiting
period between assignments.

Existing policies and new policies included in the proposed rule
and an analysis of policy alternatives:

The Department’s current policy provides that:
“[T]he [D]epartment considers the employment

relationship to continue when, at the later of either the
end of an assignment or the date on which the agency
learns of the end of an assignment, the employe is
notified that the temporary help agency will have an
assignment for the employe within seven days.  The
temporary help agency need not specifically identify
the assignment but merely indicate that one will be
available to begin within seven days of the end (or
agency notice of the end) of the most recent assignment.
Additionally, the relationship continues when, during
that seven day period, the employer finds that it cannot
provide the assignment within those seven days but
assures the employe that another assignment will be
provided, to begin within another seven days.  If, for any
reason, this second assignment does not materialize, the
employment relationship will be considered to have
been terminated at that time due to lack of work.”   See
UCD 95−06 (December 27, 1994).

The proposed rule seeks to implement this policy or a version
thereof.

Statutory authority for the pr oposed rule:
Sections 108.14 and 227.11, Stats.
Estimate of the amount of time employes will spend

developing the proposed rule and of other resources needed to
develop the rule:

100 hours.
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SUBMITTAL OF RULES TO LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL CLEARINGHOUSE

Notice of Submittal of Proposed Rules to
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce

Rule Submittal Date

On September 23, 1999, the Department of Commerce submitted a
proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule affects ch. Comm 32, relating to public employe
safety and health.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is  required and hearings are scheduled for
October 25 and 26, 1999.  The agency unit responsible for the
promulgation of the proposed rule is the Safety and Buildings
Division.

Contact Information

If you have questions regarding this rule, you may contact:

Ron Acker
Safety and Buildings Division

Dept. of Commerce
P.O. Box 7970

Madison,  WI  53707
Telephone: (608) 267−7907

TDD#: (608) 264−8777
Email: www.commerce.state.wi.us

Health and Family Services

(Community Services, Chs. HFS/HSS 30−−)

Rule Submittal Date

On September 21, 1999, the Department of Health and Family
Services submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis

Section 51.42 (7) (b), Stats.

The proposed rule repeals subch. V of ch. HFS 61 and creates
ch. HFS 35, relating to standards for outpatient mental health
clinics.

Reason for rules, intended effects, requirements:

This order renumbers and updates the Department’s rules for
certification of outpatient mental health clinics, which in the current
rules are called outpatient psychotherapy clinics.  There are
851 certified clinics in Wisconsin.  The current rules are
ss. HFS 61.91 to 61.98.  They date from 1984.  General provisions
in ss. HFS 61.01 to 61.23 also currently apply to the clinics.

The new rules for clinics make the certification process and
enforcement provisions similar to those in new rules for other
community mental health certified programs.  Some sections and
other rule parts, including waivers, client satisfaction, suicide
monitoring and prevention and reporting of certain deaths are
standard or mostly standard in all new community mental health
program rules.

The revised rules give greater flexibility to clinics by permitting a
clinic to meet standards of one of 2 specified national accrediting
organizations in lieu of the standards in the rules and permitting
Master’s−level mental health clinicians to offer one of 4 national
professional listings in place of the requirement for 3000 hours of
supervised clinical experience.

The revised rules also:

1)  Add orientation and inservice training requirements, but without
specifying the number of hours;

2)  Require compliance with new statutes and rules on performing
uniform background checks on applicants for employment and
reporting instances of staff misconduct toward clients; and

3)   Require assignment of responsibility for clinic operations and
the treatment program, without thereby affecting the minimum
required professional staffing of a clinic.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings under ss. 227.16, 227.17 and 227.18, Stats.;
approval of rules in final draft form by DHFS Secretary; and
legislative standing committee review under s. 227.19. Stats.

Contact Information

Dennis Bobo
Division of Supportive Living

Telephone (608) 267−7711

Public Service Commission

Rule Submittal Date

On September 27, 1999, the Public Service Commission submitted
a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed rule affects ch. PSC 4, relating to implementing the
Wisconsin Environmental Policy Act (WEPA).

At its open meeting of September 16, 1999, the Public Service
Commission approved proposed rules to revise ch. PSC 4, Wis.
Adm. Code.  These revisions are intended to reflect recent changes
in the electric utility industry and advances in generation
technologies resulting in cleaner, less environment−damaging
plants.  The proposed rules also clarify the purpose of environmental
assessment documents prepared by the Public Service Commission.



Page 14 Mid−October, 1999WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER No. 526

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. on
Tuesday, October 26, 1999 in the Amnicon Falls Hearing Room of
the Public Service Commission Building, 610 North Whitney Way,
Madison.  The agency organizational unit responsible for the
promulgation of the proposed rule is the Public Service
Commission’s Electric  Division.
Contact Information
If  you have any substantive questions regarding the proposed rules,
you may contact:

Jacqueline Reynolds
Assistant Administrator

Electric  Division
Public Service Commission

610 North Whitney Way
P.O. Box 7854

Madison,  WI  53707−7854
Telephone: (608) 266−1267

If  you have any questions regarding the Public Service
Commission’s internal processing of the proposed rules, you may
contact:

Attorney David A. Ludwig
Telephone: (608) 266−5621
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N O T I C E   S E C T I O N

Notice of Hearings
Commerce

(Public Employe Safety and
Health, Ch. Comm 32)

[CR 99−139]

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 101.02 (1) and 101.055
(3), Stats., the Department of Commerce announces that it will hold
public hearings on the proposed revision of ch. Comm 32, relating
to public employe safety and health.

Hearing Information

October  25, 1999 Room 3B, WHEDA Bldg.
Monday 201 W. Washington A ve.
10:00 a.m. Madison

October 26, 1999 Room 105
Tuesday Eau Claire State Office Bldg.
10:00 a.m. 718 W. Clairemont A ve.

Eau Claire

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearings and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in writing.
Persons submitting comments will not receive individual responses.
The hearing record on this proposed rulemaking will remain open
until November 9, 1999, to permit submittal of written comments
from persons who are unable to attend a hearing or who wish to
supplement testimony offered at a hearing.

These hearings are held in accessible facilities.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make communication or
accessibility difficult at the hearing, please call (608) 261−6546 or
TTY at (608) 264−8777 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as interpreters, English translators, or
materials in audio tape format will, to the fullest extent possible, be
made available upon request by a person with a disability.

A copy of the proposed rules may be obtained without cost from
Roberta Ward, Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, Wisconsin 53701, telephone
(608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearings.

Analysis

Statutory Authority:  ss. 101.02 (1) and 101.055 (3)

Statute Interpreted:  s. 101.055 (3)

The Department of Commerce is responsible for adopting
standards to protect the safety and health of public employes in the
state of Wisconsin.  The adopted standards must provide protection
at least equivalent to that afforded to private sector employes under
standards administered and enforced by the federal Occupational
Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).

Chapter Comm 32 currently contains general safety and health
standards for all public employes through the incorporation by
reference of several OSHA standards.  Chapter Comm 32 also
contains requirements that add to or modify the OSHA standards.

The proposed rules consist of revisions in chapter Comm 32,
including the incorporation by reference of the new OSHA
standards adopted since July 1, 1998.  Those standards cover
powered industrial truck operator training, permit−required
confined spaces, and methylene chloride.

The proposed rules also contain revisions to current requirements
relating to recirculation of contaminated air, ventilation for kilns,
and ventilation for laboratory fume hoods.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
1.Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rules.
The proposed rules will not affect any small businesses as defined

in section 227.114 (1)(a), Stats.  The proposed rules apply to public
sector employers and employes.

2.Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required for
compliance with the rules.

Not applicable.
3.Types of professional skills necessary for compliance with the

rules.
Not applicable.

Environmental Assessment
Notice is hereby given that the Department has prepared a

preliminary environmental assessment (EA) on the proposed rules.
The preliminary recommendation is a finding of no significant
impact.  Copies of the preliminary EA are available from the
Department on request and will be available at the public hearings.
Requests for the EA and comments on the EA should be directed to:

Robert Langstroth
Division of Safety & Buildings

Department of Commerce
P.O. Box 2599

Madison, WI 53701
Telephone  (608) 264−8801

or TTY (608) 264−8777

Written comments will be accepted until November 15, 1999.

Fiscal Estimate
    The Safety and Buildings Division currently administers and

enforces the provisions of chapter Comm 32 as part of the public
sector safety and health program.  The proposed rules update the
existing administrative rules now being enforced, with no new
requirements that would affect costs or revenues.  Therefore, the
proposed rules will not have any fiscal effect on the Division.

    At the local government level, there should be no significant
fiscal effect.  Some of the new requirements may result in additional
costs in time and equipment for some local governments; however,
these costs should be minimal.

Notice of Hearings
Corrections

[CR 97−158]
Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 301.025 and 301.03

(10), Stats., and interpreting ch. 938, Stats., the Department of
Corrections will hold four public hearings to consider the creation
of chs. DOC 371 to 399,  relating to juvenile corrections and
delinquency−related services.

Hearing Information

October  28, 1999 Room 349
Thursday GEF#3 Bldg.
9:00 a.m. 125 South W ebster St.

Madison, WI
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November 10, 1999 Room 149
Wednesday Marathon Co. Courthouse
10:00 a.m. 500 Forest St.

Wausau, WI

November 16, 1999 Room G−034
Tuesday County Human Services Bldg.
10:00 a.m. 721 Oxford A ve.

Eau Claire, WI

November 19, 1999 First Floor Conference Room
Friday DNR State Office Bldg.
10:00 a.m. 2300 North Dr . M.L.King, Jr . Dr.

Milwaukee, WI

Information on parking and access for persons with physical
disabilities is available by calling Jamie Wertel at (608) 266−9953.
An interpreter for persons with hearing impairment will be available
on request for the hearings.  Please make reservations for an
interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing.

Written Comments

The public record on this proposed rule−making will be held
open until close of business November 26, 1999, to permit the
submission of written comments from persons unable to attend the
hearing or who wish to supplement testimony offered at the hearing.
Any such comments should be submitted to Shelley Hagan, Policy
and Grants Coordinator, Division of Juvenile Corrections,
Department of Corrections, 149 East Wilson Street, P.O. Box 8930,
Madison, WI  53708−8930.  Written comments may be faxed to
(608) 267−3661 or sent via electronic mail to
[Shelley.Hagan@doc.state.wi.us].

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of
Corrections

On July 1, 1996, several changes occurred in Wisconsin law that
necessitated the creation of new administrative rules for juvenile
corrections.  The State juvenile corrections agency was transferred
(by 1995 Wis. Act 27) from the Department of Health and Social
Services to the Department of Corrections, making obsolete the
administrative rules which formerly had governed juvenile
corrections and delinquency−related services, Chapters HSS 49 and
331−348.  Further, all delinquency−related law was removed from
Chapter 48, Stats.,  the Children’s Code, and recreated in Chapter
938, Stats., the Juvenile Justice Code, by 1995 Wis. Acts 77 and 352.
The new Juvenile Justice Code had a statement of legislative
purpose that was significantly different from the “best interest of the
child” principle that governed Chapter 48, Stats.  The legislative
intent of Chapter 938, Stats., was to promote a “balanced approach”
under which courts and agencies would give equal weight to
protecting the public from juvenile crime, holding youth
accountable for their actions, and building youth competency to live
crime−free lives.  In order to conform to the intent of the new
Juvenile Justice Code and to current practice in juvenile corrections,
creation of new administrative rules was deemed to be appropriate
at this time.

1995 Wis. Act 352 permitted the Department of Corrections to
operate under administrative policies and procedures in lieu of
having promulgated administrative rules between July 1, 1996, and
June 30, 1997, by which date the Department was to submit
proposed rules to the Legislative Council for review.  This deadline
was extended until December 31, 1997, in 1997 Wis. Act 10.  The
Department submitted proposed rules to the Legislative Council on
December 30, 1997, and has since modified the rules based on the
comments received from the Council staff.

Topical list of rules:

DOC 371 Planning, assessment and case manage-
ment, including release planning, for
youth placed in state Type 1 secured juve-
nile correctional facilities (Type 1 facil-
ities).

DOC 373 Youth conduct while placed in Type 1
facilities, including the process for
addressing misconduct by youth.

DOC 374 Administrative confinement of Type 1
facility youth who pose a significant risk
of harm to self or others, escape, or caus-
ing a disturbance.

DOC 375 The process of placing a Type 1 facility
youth in observation status when the youth
is suspected of being mentally ill and a
danger to self or others, is exhibiting acute
mental distress, or has a communicable
disease.

DOC 376 Rules to be followed by Type 1 facility
staff and youth in maintaining institution
security and safety.

DOC 379 Youth resources while placed in Type 1
facilities including communication (mail,
phone, visits), property, activities, health
and diet, religious practice, and other liv-
ing conditions.

DOC 380 Youth complaint procedure in Type 1
facilities under which youth complaints
may be investigated and resolved.

DOC 381 Temporary release of youth from a Type 1
facility for furloughs, offgrounds activi-
ties, and trial visits.

DOC 383 Administration of psychotropic medica-
tion to youth in a Type 1 facility.

DOC 392 Rules for a drug testing program to be
administered for delinquent youth by the
State or by county departments as required
by s. 938.34 (6s), Stats.

DOC 393 Juvenile aftercare provided by the State
and by county departments for youth
released from Type 1 facilities.

DOC 394 Designation of certain child caring institu-
tions (CCIs) as Type 2 CCIs, and the treat-
ment of youth who are placed in Type 2
CCIs by the juvenile court as required by
s. 938.359 (6), Stats.

DOC 396 Supervision of youth placed in Type 2
correctional supervision in the community
by the department.

DOC 397 Supervision programs for delinquent
youth provided by county departments.



Page 17WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER No. 526Mid−October, 1999

DOC 398 Rules for county intensive supervision
programs, required by s. 938.534 (2),
Stats.

DOC 399 Training of juvenile court intake workers
as required by s. 938.06 (1) (am) and (2)
(b), Stats.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules primarily affect the operations of the

Department of Corrections’ institutional and field supervision
services for delinquent youth.  They also affect county courts and
human/social service agencies’ juvenile delinquency programs.
The rules do not affect small business.

Fiscal Estimate
The proposed rules will have no fiscal impact on any State or

local unit of government.

Copies of Proposed Rule and Contact
Information

Paper or electronic medium copies of one, some, or all of the rules
listed above may be obtained without charge in one of four ways:

1.  Visit the Department of Corrections Web site at
[www.wi−doc.com]and click on the link to Division of Juvenile
Corrections administrative rules information, which will provide
links to copies of each administrative rule, which may be
downloaded and printed;

2.  Send a written request to:

Division of Juvenile Corrections
Attention:  Jamie Wertel
149 East Wilson Street

P. O. Box 8930
Madison, WI 53708−8930

3.  Call Jamie at (608) 266−9953; or

4.  Send an electronic mail message to Jamie at
[Jamie.Wertel@doc.state.wi.us].

In your request, please specify the DOC number of the rule(s)
requested, whether you want to receive a paper copy or an electronic
medium document (Word 7.0), and the address to which the rule(s)
should be sent.  (Please include an electronic mail Internet address
if you request a Word 7.0 copy of a rule.)

If  you have questions about the administrative rules process or
content, please contact Gloria Marquardt at (608) 266−8238
[Gloria.Marquardt@doc.state.wi.us] or Shelley Hagan at
(608)266−5820  [Shelley.Hagan@doc.state.wi.us].

Notice of Hearing
Crime Victims Rights Board

Notice is hereby given that the Crime Victims Rights Board will
hold a public hearing at the State Capitol, Senate Room 330SW,
in the city of Madison, Wisconsin on the 9th day of November,
1999, at 1:00 p.m., to consider the creation of ch. CVRB 1, pursuant
to s. 950.09(5), Stats., and interpreting ss. 950.09 and 950.095,
Stats., relating to the review of complaints alleging violations of the
rights of crime victims. Chapter CVRB 1, was adopted as an
emergency rule effective September 17, 1999.

Analysis Prepared by the Crime Victims
Rights Board

Statutory Authority:  s. 950.09(5)

Statutes Interpreted:  ss. 950.09 and 950.095

Under the proposed chapter, a party that has been involved in
efforts by the Wisconsin Department of Justice (“Department”) to

resolve a complaint alleging violations of the rights of a crime victim
may, once the Department has completed its efforts on the
complaint, seek review of the complaint before the Crime Victims
Rights Board (“Board”).  The Board may implement various
remedies if it concludes that a violation of the rights of a crime
victim has occurred.  The Board also has authority to issue reports
and recommendations concerning the securing and provision of
crime victims’ rights and services.

If  the complaint is brought by a victim, or with a victim’s signed
consent, the Board may consider one or more of the remedies
provided by s. 950.09(2), Stats.  In reviewing such complaints, the
Board must make a probable cause determination before beginning
any investigation or pursuing any of the authorized remedies.  If the
Board finds probable cause, it may conduct an investigation on the
complaint.  A hearing may be held at the request of either party or
the Board.  The Board, its designee, or a hearing examiner may
conduct the hearing.  Following the hearing, the Board will issue a
written decision including findings of fact and conclusions of law.
A party that is adversely affected by the Board’s decision may
request rehearing and may also seek judicial review of the Board’s
decision under the provisions of ch. 227, Stats.

If  a complaint is not submitted by a victim or with a victim’s
signed consent, the Board may investigate the complaint and may
issue a report or recommendation based upon the complaint under
s. 950.09(3), Stats.

Text Of Rules

Chapter CVRB 1
RIGHTS OF CRIME VICTIMS

CVRB 1.01  Purpose.  The purpose of this chapter is to establish
procedures for the review of complaints made to the crime victims’
rights board.  This chapter interprets the provisions of ss. 950.09 and
950.095, Stats., and also interprets the provisions of ch. 227, Stats.,
concerning the conduct of proceedings under this chapter.

CVRB 1.02  Definitions.  In this chapter:
(1) “Board” means the crime victims’ rights board.
(2) “Chairperson” means the chairperson of the board.
(3) “Complainant” means the individual filing a complaint with

the board.
(4) “Complaint” means a written, sworn complaint made to the

board regarding a violation of the rights of a crime victim.
(5) “Department” means the department of justice.
(6) “Involved party” means an individual who participated in the

mediation process as provided in s. 950.08(3), Stats.
(7) “Mediator” means an employe of the department who has

sought to mediate or has actually mediated a complaint made to the
department as provided in s. 950.08(3), Stats.

(8) “Party” means the complainant, the respondent, or both.
(9) “Probable cause” means a reasonable basis for belief,

supported by facts, circumstances, and reasonable inferences strong
enough to warrant a prudent person to believe that a violation
probably has been or is being committed as alleged in the complaint.

(10) “Respondent” means the individual identified in the
complaint as the subject of the complaint.

(11) “Victim” has the meaning given in s. 950.02(4)(a), Stats.
CVRB 1.03  Delegation of responsibilities.  The board may

delegate its responsibilities in ss. CVRB 1.05 to 1.07 to an
appropriate designee.

CVRB 1.04  Filing.  (1) All written statements of a party’s
position submitted to the board, including but not limited to the
complaint and the answer, shall be signed by the person preparing
the statement.  A party shall verify that the contents of each filing
submitted by that party or on that party’s behalf are true and correct
to the best of the party’s knowledge and shall sign the filing.

(2) All complaints shall be prepared on a complaint form
obtained from the mediator.  The completed complaint shall be
returned to the board at the address provided on the form.
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(3) A complaint may be filed by any involved party.  The board
may not take any action provided by s. 950.09(2), Stats., other than
seeking equitable relief as provided by s. 950.09(2)(c), Stats., unless
the complaint is filed by a victim or a victim has signed the
complaint indicating that he or she consents to the filing of the
complaint by the involved party.

(4) The board may consider issuing a report or recommendation
as provided by s. 950.09(3), Stats., in response to a complaint filed
by an involved party without endorsement by a victim.  The board
may consider a complaint filed under this subsection, and may issue
a report or recommendation as provided by s. 950.09(3), Stats.,
without making a probable cause determination.

(5) The board may consider complaints alleging violations of
victims’ rights that occurred on or after December 1, 1998.  The
board may not consider alleged conduct that occurred more than
three years from the date the complainant knew or should have
known of a violation of the rights of a victim.  The board may
consider issuing reports or recommendations as provided by s.
950.09(3), Stats., relating to conduct that occurred prior to
December 1, 1998 or more than three years before a complaint was
filed with the board or the board was otherwise notified of the
conduct.

CVRB 1.05  Probable cause determination.  (1) Upon receipt
of the complaint, the board shall contact the mediator and request
verification that the substance of the complaint has been presented
to the department and that the department has completed its action
as required by ss. 950.08(3) and 950.09(2), Stats.

(2) If the substance of the complaint has not been presented to the
department, the board shall advise the complainant of the
complainant’s obligation to present the substance of the complaint
to the department before filing a complaint with the board.

(3) If the department has not completed its action as provided in
s. 950.08(3), Stats., the board shall return the complaint form to the
complainant and shall advise the complainant that the board cannot
review the complaint until the department has completed its action.

(4) If the department has completed its action as provided in s.
950.08(3), Stats., the mediator shall provide the board with
information on the mediation process and its outcome.  This
information may take the form of a memorandum, other written
documentation, or both.

(5) A complaint that names an employee of the department as a
respondent need not be presented to the department before being
presented to the board.

(6) The board may provide a copy of the complaint, with a cover
letter, to the respondent and invite the respondent to submit an
answer to the complaint.  The board shall provide a copy of this letter
to the complainant.  If the respondent submits an answer, the board
shall provide a copy of the answer to the complainant.

(7) The board shall determine probable cause at its next regularly
scheduled meeting or at a meeting called by the chairperson.  Upon
a vote of the board, the board may deliberate and vote on the
probable cause determination in closed session.

(8) In making the probable cause determination, the board may
consider all relevant information, including but not limited to:

(a) The complaint.

(b) The answer.

(c) The information provided by the mediator pursuant to sub. (3)
of this section.

(9) The board shall notify the parties and the mediator of its
probable cause determination.

(a) If the board finds probable cause, the board shall advise the
parties of their right to request a hearing on the complaint.

(b) A finding of no probable cause is a final decision of the board.
If  the board finds no probable cause, the board shall provide notice
to the parties of the right to seek judicial review pursuant to ch. 227,
Stats.

CVRB 1.06  Investigations.  (1) The board may conduct an
investigation of any complaint which meets the probable cause

standards under this chapter.  The board may request responses to
written questions, participation in a personal or telephonic interview
with the board, and written documentation.  The board may consider
a party’s refusal to cooperate with the board’s investigation in
making its determination on the complaint.

(2) The board may request a party to sign a limited release to
enable the board to obtain records for which a release is required.
A party who is asked to sign a release may request a protective order
from the board limiting the disclosure of any such records outside
the board’s process.

(3) Following its investigation and prior to the hearing, the board
shall provide copies to the parties of any documentation obtained
during its investigation that is not subject to a protective order
prohibiting such distribution.

CVRB 1.07  Hearings.  (1) A hearing may be requested by any
party or by the board.  A party may appear in person or by telephone
at the hearing, or may submit a written statement of position on the
complaint in place of a personal appearance.

(2) A party who chooses not to appear at the hearing shall notify
the board not later than two weeks prior to the hearing of this intent.
A party who chooses to submit a written statement shall submit that
statement to the board not later than one week prior to the scheduled
hearing date.

(3) One month prior to the hearing, or at another date determined
by the board, the parties may provide the board with the following:

(a) A list of witnesses whom the party wishes to have the board
subpoena for the hearing.  Subpoenas may also be issued in
accordance with s. 227.45(6m), Stats.

(b) A list of questions for the board to ask another party or witness
at the hearing.

(4) The board, or its designee, or a hearing examiner proceeding
under ch. 227, Stats., may preside over the hearing.

(5) The parties appearing at the hearing shall be afforded
reasonable opportunity to be represented by counsel, to call
witnesses, and to present evidence.  Questioning of a party by
another party is not favored and may be limited by the board
consistent with s. 227.45(6), Stats.

(6) The board may set reasonable time limits for testimony and
may limit the number of witnesses called by a party.  No party may
require the mediator to testify as a witness at the hearing.

(7) Proof of a violation of the rights of a crime victim shall be
made by clear and convincing evidence.  “Clear and convincing
evidence” means evidence which satisfies and convinces the board,
because of its greater weight, that a violation occurred.

(8) A stenographic, electronic or other record shall be made of all
hearings in which the testimony of witnesses is offered as evidence.
Testimony will not be transcribed unless a party requests a transcript
and pays any costs required to prepare the transcript.  The board shall
prepare a transcript, at its own expense, in the event a party seeks
judicial review of the board’s decision.

(9) The board may vote to hold the hearing in closed session
pursuant to s. 19.85(1)(f), Stats.  Parties and their counsel or another
advocate, including a family member, shall be permitted to be
present during the entire hearing.

(10) Witnesses subpoenaed at the request of a party or the board
shall be entitled to compensation from the board for attendance and
travel as provided in ch. 885, Stats.

CVRB 1.08  Decisions.  (1) At the close of the hearing, the board
shall meet for purposes of deliberating on the complaint.  Upon a
vote of the board, the board may deliberate in closed session as
provided by s. 19.85(1)(a), Stats.

(2) Within 30 days of the close of the hearing, or by another date
established by the board, the board’s legal counsel shall prepare a
written proposed decision for the board, including findings of fact,
conclusions of law, and remedy, and shall provide the proposed
decision to the board.

(3) The board shall consider the proposed decision at its next
regularly scheduled meeting or at a meeting called by the
chairperson.  The board may amend any portion of the
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recommended decision prior to approving the final decision.  Upon
a vote of the board, the board may conduct its discussion of the final
decision in closed session as provided by s. 19.85(1)(a), Stats.

(4) The board shall provide the final decision to the parties along
with a notice of the right to request rehearing or seek judicial review
under ch. 227, Stats.

(5) If no hearing has been held, the board shall make its final
decision under the process provided in sub. (2) and (3) of this
section.

CVRB 1.09  Rehearing.  (1) A party aggrieved by the final
decision may file a written request for rehearing with the board
within 20 days of the date the final decision is provided to the parties.

(2) The request for rehearing shall include a detailed statement of
the grounds for the request, including the material error of fact or
law, or newly discovered evidence, that in the party’s view warrants
a rehearing.  If the request is based on newly discovered evidence,
the party shall state why the evidence could not have been
previously discovered through reasonably diligent effort.

(3) The board may grant a rehearing on the basis of one or more
of the following:

(a) A material error of law.

(b) A material error of fact.

(c) The discovery of new evidence sufficiently strong to reverse
or modify the original decision which could not have been
previously discovered through reasonably diligent efforts by the
parties.

(4) The board shall determine whether to grant the request for
rehearing at its next regularly scheduled meeting or at a meeting
called by the chairperson.  If the board grants rehearing, it shall
follow the procedures in s. CVRB 1.07 in conducting the rehearing.

CVRB 1.10  Judicial Review.  Judicial review of the board’s
final decision is governed by ss. 227.52 to 227.59, Stats.

CVRB 1.11  Miscellaneous provisions.  (1) RELIEF FROM
DEADLINES.  The board may grant a party’s request for reasonable
extension of the deadlines set forth in this chapter.

(2) NON−RETALIATION. In this subsection, “person” means
any individual, corporation, association, business enterprise or other
legal entity either public or private. “Person” also includes the state,
any political subdivision of the state, and any department or agency
of the state or its subdivisions.

(a) No person may discharge or otherwise retaliate or
discriminate against any person for contacting, providing
information to or otherwise cooperating with the board.

(b) No person may discharge or otherwise retaliate or
discriminate against any person on whose behalf another person has
contacted, provided information to or otherwise cooperated with the
board.

(c) An individual who believes a violation of this subdivision has
been committed may file a complaint with the equal rights division
of the department of workforce development or the personnel
commission as provided in ss. 111.39 and 230.45, Stats.

(3) COERCION PROHIBITED.  Any form of coercion to
discourage or prevent an involved party, or a representative acting
on behalf of that involved party, from exercising any of the rights
under these rules or ch. 950, Stats. is prohibited.

(4) REPRESENTATION.  A party may be represented
throughout these proceedings, including at hearing, by counsel or by
another advocate.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules do not affect small business.

Fiscal Estimate
The Crime Victims Rights Board is a five−member board charged

to hear and decide complaints concerning possible violations of
rights of crime victims.  The Board is attached to the Department of
Justice (DOJ) for administrative purposes.  The Board will require

20 hours per week of staff assistance, as well as approximately 5
hours per week of legal counsel assistance, excluding special
counsel for forfeiture actions.  In addition to salary and fringe benefit
costs, a majority of the Board’s expenses will be related to travel and
lodging for Board meetings.  The estimate assumes an average of
500 miles of round trip travel, reimbursed at $.29 per mile, for each
Board member and staff for each of 6 meetings, in addition to meals
and lodging.

Remedies available to the Board if it finds a violation include
initiating legal action against the respondent to seek a forfeiture.
Forfeiture actions have fiscal implications for the Board and the
respondent, as both entities will need legal counsel.  The estimate
assumes that forfeiture actions will cost DOJ $9000 in special
counsel fees, and will cost the respondent, whether a state entity or
municipality, another $9000 in fees for special defense counsel.

It is impossible to predict with certainty at this time how many
complaints the Board will receive each year and how many hearings
the Board will hold.  The estimate assumes that the Board will meet
6 times per year, that 8 complaints will lead to hearings, and that 2
cases will lead to forfeiture actions requiring special counsel for the
Board and for the respondent in the forfeiture action.

Contact Person

Karen E. Timberlake
Assistant Attorney General

Wisconsin Department of Justice
P.O. Box 7857

Madison, WI,  53707−7857
(608) 267−1300

Written Material in Lieu of Testimony
Written statements in lieu of testimony at the public hearing

should be sent to Ms. Timberlake at the address above no later than
Monday, November 5, 1999.  The board will also accept written
statements in lieu of testimony on the day of the hearing.

Notice of Hearing
Health and Family Services

(Management and Technology, 
Executive & Strategic Finance, 
Chs. HFS 1−−)

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to ss. 48.685 (5) and (7) (a)
and 50.065 (5) and (7) (a), 1997−98 Stats., and ss. 227.11 (2) and
227.24 (4), Stats., the Department of Health and Family Services
will  hold a public hearing to consider the revision of the Appendix A
Crimes List to ch. HFS 12, Wis. Adm. Code, which was published
by emergency order on September 16, 1999.

Hearing Information

October  28, 1999 Room B139
Thursday State Office Bldg.
From 1:00 p.m. to One West Wilson St.
3:00 p.m. Madison, WI

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with disabilities.
Parking for people with disabilities is available in the parking lot
behind the building, in the Monona Terrace Convention Center
Parking Ramp or in the Doty Street Parking Ramp.  People with
disabilities may enter the building directly from the parking lot at the
west end of the building or from Wilson Street through the side
entrance at the east end of the building.

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of
Health and Family Services

Since October 1, 1998, the Department has been implementing
statutes that became effective on that date that require use of uniform
procedures to check the backgrounds of persons who apply to the
Department, to a county social services or human services
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department that licenses foster homes for children and carries out
adoption home studies, to a private child−placing agency that does
the same or to a school board that contracts for day care programs,
to provide care or treatment to persons who need that care or
treatment, or who apply to a regulated entity to be hired or contracted
with to provide services to the entity’s clients or who propose to
reside as a non−client at the entity.  The statutes, ss. 48.685 and
50.065, Stats., direct the regulatory agencies and regulated entities
to bar persons, temporarily or permanently, depending on the
conviction, finding or charge, who have in their backgrounds a
specified conviction, finding or charge substantially related to the
care of clients, from operating a service provider organization,
providing care or treatment  to persons who need that care or
treatment or otherwise from having contact with the clients of a
service provider.

The new statutes, commonly referred to as the Caregiver Law,
were effective on October 1, 1998, for applicants for licensure,
certification or other agency approval on or after that date, and for
persons applying to be hired by or to enter into a contract with a
regulated entity on or after that date to provide services to clients or
to take up residence as a non−client at a regulated entity.

 For regulated agencies approved before October 1, 1998, and for
persons employed by, under contract to or residing as non−clients at
regulated entities before October 1, 1998, the Caregiver Law’s
required uniform procedures and “bars” were to apply beginning on
October 1, 1999.  That is to say, by October 1, 1999, background
checks, using the uniform procedures, were to be completed for all
service providers who were approved before October 1, 1998, and
for all employes, contractors and non−client residents employed by,
under contract to or living at a regulated entity before October 1,
1998, and action was to be taken to withdraw approval, terminate
employment or end a contract, as appropriate.

To implement the new Caregiver Law, the Department on
October 1, 1998, published administrative rules, ch. HFS 12, Wis.
Adm. Code, by emergency order.  Chapter HFS 12 included an
appendix which consisted of a list of crimes.  The original list
specified 159 crimes for conviction of any one of which a person
would be barred permanently (45 crimes), all programs, or would be
barred temporarily, all programs, pending demonstration of
rehabilitation, from being approved to be a service provider or from
providing care or treatment to clients or otherwise having access to
clients.  The October 1998 emergency rules were modified in
December 1998 and again in February 1999 by emergency order,
and were replaced by permanent rules effective July 1, 1999.  The
Crimes List in the permanent rules specified 117 crimes, with 9 of
these being permanent bar crimes for all programs.

This order again modifies ch. HFS 12, but only the Crimes List
and not the text of the chapter.  The number of specified crimes is
reduced to 79, with 6 of them, all taken from ss. 48.685 and 50.065,
Stats., being permanent bar crimes for all programs.  The changes
to the ch. HFS 12 Crimes List are being made at this time because
the 1999−2001 Budget Bill, which in mid−September 1999 was
before the Legislature but not likely to take effect before October 1,
1999, was expected to provide for a more modest Crimes List than
the one that was appended to ch. HFS 12. This meant that the
Legislature intended that some persons who under the current rules
would lose their jobs effective October 1, 1999, will be able to keep
their jobs. The Department had the authority to further modify the
Crimes List so that it would correspond to how the Legislature, after
having heard arguments since October 1998 about how the
Caregiver Law should be amended and implemented, wanted it to
work.  This is what the Department did through this order.

Contact Information
To find out more about the hearing or to request a copy of the

rules, write or phone:

Paul Menge
OLC/Rules

Dept. of Health and Family Services
P.O. Box 7850

Madison, WI 53707−7850
Telephone (608) 266−5602 or,

if you are hearing impaired, (608) 266−3683 (TTY)

If  you are hearing or visually impaired, do not speak English, or
have other personal circumstances which might make
communication at the hearing difficult and if you, therefore, require
an interpreter, or a non−English, large−print or taped version of the
hearing document, contact the person at the address or phone
number above.  A person requesting a non−English or sign language
interpreter should make that request at least 10 days before the
hearing.  With less than 10 days notice, an interpreter may not be
available.

Written Comments
Written comments on the proposed rules received at the above

address no later than November 2, 1999 will be given the same
consideration as testimony presented at the hearing.

Fiscal Estimate
This order revises the list of crimes appended to the ch. HFS 12

permanent rules that were effective on July 1, 1999 and that replaced
emergency rules first published on October 1, 1998 to implement
the Caregiver Law, ss. 48.685 and 50.065, Stats.

The Caregiver Law requires the Department in it regulatory
activities, county social service and human service departments and
private child−placing agencies that license foster care providers and
approve adoptive family homes and school boards that contract for
day care services to do the following:

1) Use uniform procedures to check the backgrounds of persons
approved, hired or contracted with to provide care or treatment to
persons who need the care or treatment or who will otherwise have
access to those persons; and

2) Bar, permanently or temporarily, persons from providing
services to clients or from residing at a regulated entity who have in
their backgrounds a specified conviction, finding or charge
substantially related to the care of clients.

Chapter HFS 12 was effective on October 1, 1998 for persons
who were seeking regulatory approval, applying for employment or
for a contract with a regulated entity or proposing to reside as a
non−client at a regulated entity on or after that date. Chapter HFS 12
will  be effective October 1, 1999 for persons who before October 1,
1998 had regulatory approval, were employed by or under contract
to a regulated entity or resided as a non−client at a regulated entity.

The Crimes List is revised to reduce the number of specified
crimes from 119 to 79 and the number of crimes from 9 to 6 for which
a conviction would permanently bar a person, for all programs, from
receiving regulatory approval or being hired or contracted with to
provide services to clients or to reside at a regulated entity.

The effect of this order should be some reduction in the number
of rehabilitation review requests received by the Department,
counties and school boards to review and process.  However, it is not
possible to accurately estimate the number of requests that will be
received and what this means for workload and staffing needs of the
Department and local units of government.  In any case, the
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substantial new workload involved for the Department, counties and
some school boards in implementing the caregiver background
check requirements is the result of ss. 48.685 and 50.065, Stats.

Notice of Hearing
Health and Family Services

(Community Services, 
Chs. HFS 30−−)

[CR 95−140]

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to s. 48.67, Stats., the
Department of Health and Family Services will hold a public
hearing to consider the repeal and recreation of ch. HFS 52, relating
to residential care centers for children and youth, currently called
child care institutions.

Hearing Information

October  26, 1999 Room 751
Tuesday State Office Bldg.
From 2:00 p.m. to One West Wilson St.
5:00 p.m. Madison, WI

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with disabilities.
Parking for people with disabilities is available in the parking lot
behind the building, in the Monona Terrace Convention Center
Parking Ramp or in the Doty Street Parking Ramp.  People with
disabilities may enter the building directly from the parking lot at the
west end of the building or from Wilson Street through the side
entrance at the east end of the building.

Analysis Prepared by the Dept. of
Health and Family Services

In Wisconsin 38 privately−owned residential care centers for
children and youths provide treatment to children and youth, and to
some young adults ages 18 to 20 who are under continuing juvenile
court jurisdiction.  A child, adolescent or young adult served by a
center will have one or more of the following problems: an
emotional disturbance, difficulty in acquiring life skills, an alcohol
abuse or drug use or abuse problem or a developmental disability.
Placements into residential care centers take place from youth
correctional institutions and field supervision, mental health
agencies and institutions, county human service and social service
agencies and the interstate compact for placement of children under
ss. 48.988 and 48.989, Stats., or are made by courts as protective
placements under ch. 55, Stats., or by parents.  The Department is
responsible under ss. 48.60, 48.66 and 48.67, Stats., for licensing
and supervising residential care centers on the basis of minimum
requirements for issuance of a license and minimum standards for
operation of a center.  These requirements and standards are set out
in ch. HFS 52, Wis. Adm. Code.

Chapter HFS 52 consists of standards for the administration and
operation of residential care centers for children and youth, formerly
called child care institutions, licensed under ss. 48.60, 48.66 and
48.67, Stats., as “child welfare agencies.”  The Department made
some minor revisions in the rules while renumbering them from
s. PW−CY 40.50 to ch. HSS 52 in 1983.  However, no significant
revisions have been made in the rules since 1971.

This order updates ch. HFS 52 to bring it into compliance with
current drafting standards, statutes and other rules and to add new
provisions to protect the health, safety and welfare of residents.  The
major new provisions added to ch. HFS 52 are:

1. Requirements for resident admission screening with formal
assessment and treatment planning following admission.

2. A section on the applicability of resident rights under s. 51.61,
Stats., and ch. HFS 94 to children and youth in residential care
centers.

3. Incorporation by reference of the requirements in ch. HFS 12,
relating to caregiver background checks and bars of persons with

certain offenses or criminal acts from working for, contracting with,
or residing at a residential care center.

4.  Policy and procedural requirements for the administration of
medications, including psychotropic medications.

5.  Stipulation that for residential care centers the Wisconsin
Department of Public Instruction will establish and monitor
compliance with educational standards.

6. Requirements relating to behavior management and control
and the use of crisis intervention, physical hold restraint and
physically enforced separation.

7.  Prohibition of locked living units at a center except with
approval of the Department and for purposes and under conditions
specified in the rules.

8.  Professional staff credentials more related to population
served by the center.

9.  Certain physical plant requirements, including Department
approval for installation of psychiatric screening and magnetic or
time delayed door locks.

10. Requirements for transporting residents.
11. Approval criterion for short−term (up to 90 days) and respite

care (up to 9 days)  programs operated by residential care centers.
12. Recognition that, if designated by the Wisconsin Department

of Corrections, a residential care center may operate a program for
type 2 status juveniles placed by a court under s. 938.34 (4d), Stats.,
or by the Department of Corrections under s. 938.357 (4), Stats.

The Department in September and October 1995 held three
public hearings on  an earlier version of these proposed revised rules
for child care institutions.  The proposed new rules were then held
up in the rulemaking process for consideration of specific concerns
raised by new Department executives and because drafting staff
were temporarily reassigned to support implementation of major
new state legislation relating to uniform procedures across
Department regulatory programs for checking caregiver
backgrounds.  Although the proposed rules are very similar to the
proposed rules the Department was going to send to the Legislature
for review in October 1996 following the 1995 public hearings, the
Department has decided to go back to public hearing with them
through this notice because of the addition of three new sections to
the chapter (for type 2 programs, short−term programs and respite
care programs) and the length of time that has elapsed since the last
public review.

Contact Information
To find out more about the hearing or to request a copy of the

rules, write or phone:

Donald Dorn
Division of Children and Family Services

P.O. Box 8916
Madison, WI 53708−8916

Telephone (608) 266−0415 or,
 if you are hearing impaired, (608) 266−7376

If  you are hearing or visually impaired, do not speak English, or
have other personal circumstances which might make
communication at the hearing difficult and if you, therefore, require
an interpreter, or a non−English, large−print or taped version of the
hearing document, contact the person at the address or phone
number above.  A person requesting a non−English or sign language
interpreter should make that request at least 10 days before the
hearing.  With less than 10 days notice, an interpreter may not be
available.

Written comments on the proposed rule received at the above
address no later than October 29, 1999 will be given the same
consideration as testimony presented at the hearing.

Fiscal Estimate
This order revises ch. HFS 52, the Department’s rules for

regulation of child care institutions (CCIs) which are being
re−named residential care centers for children and youth.
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The revision incorporates several new rules which may increase
the operating costs of these child care institutions.  The new rules
deal with bonding requirements, staff−child ratios, interconnected
smoke detector requirements and additional staff time needed to
comply with requirements relating to child protection, patient rights
and grievance procedures, permission to administer psychotropic
medication and assessment and treatment planning.  It is believed
that most CCIs are already in compliance with the majority of the
new requirements so their impact will depend on whether individual
institutions have kept pace with current preferred standards and
practices.  Based on a survey of 8 CCIs, the new rules will generally
have a minimal impact on operating costs.  Some institutions will be
impacted more than others, depending on their current staffing
structure, service resources and plant facilities.

None of the 38 CCIs are operated by state government or local
governments.  However, state government agencies and county
governments purchase CCI residential care and treatment services.
Given that the impact on CCI operating costs will generally be
minimal, the new rules should have a minimal impact on
expenditures by the state and by local governments for CCI services.
Even if the new requirements result in rate increases for CCIs in
some areas of the state, the effect of those increases will depend on
CCI placement trends in those areas.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

These revised rules apply to 38 privately owned residential child
care institutions in Wisconsin, a few of which are small businesses
as “small business” is defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.  The
facilities provide treatment for children, youth and young adults
who have an emotional disturbance, difficulty in acquiring life
skills, a developmental disability or have been abusing alcohol or
involved with drugs.

The rules have not been generally updated for many years.  They
are revised by this order to change the generic name of the facilities
to residential care centers for children and youth, to bring the rules
into compliance with current drafting standards, statutes and other
rules, to permit centers to operate short−term programs (up to
90 days)  and respite care programs (up to 9 days) and to add new
provisions to promote the health, safety and welfare of residents.

There are new requirements relating to:  notification of parents
and the Department; staff training; preadmission screening; initial
assessment of a new resident within 30 days of admission;
development of a treatment plan for each new resident; a center
program statement; conditions for use of behavior management and
control techniques; use of locked living units only with approval of
the Department, and for purposes and under conditions specified in
the rules; resident rights; transportation of residents; medication
administration; fire safety; and conducting caregiver background
checks on prospective new employes.

The new rules are minimum requirements to protect the health,
safety and welfare of center residents.

Many of the new requirements are recognized as good
management practices by the industry.

No new professional skills are necessary for compliance with the
revised rules.

Notice of Hearing
Public Instruction

[CR 99−130]

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to ss. 115.42 (4) and 227.11
(2) (a), Stats., and interpreting s. 115.42, Stats., the Department of
Public Instruction will hold a public hearing as follows to consider
the creation of ch. PI 37, relating to grants for national teacher
certification.

Hearing Information

October  26, 1999 Room 041
Tuesday GEF #3 Building
4:00 p.m. to 125 South W ebster St.
5:00 p.m. Madison, WI

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with disabilities.  If
you require reasonable accommodation to access any meeting,
please call Peter Burke, Teacher Education, Licensing and
Placement, at (608) 266−1879 or leave a message with the
Teletypewriter (TTY) at (608) 267−2427 at least 10 days prior to the
hearing date.  Reasonable accommodation includes materials
prepared in an alternative format, as provided under the Americans
with Disabilities Act.

Copies of Rule and Contact Information
A copy of the proposed rule and the fiscal estimate may be

obtained by sending an email request to
lori.slauson@dpi.state.wi.us or by writing to:

Lori  Slauson
Administrative Rules and Federal Grants Coordinator

Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street

P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI  53707

Written comments on the proposed rules received by Ms. Slauson
at the above address no later than October 29, 1999, will be given
the same consideration as testimony presented at the hearing.
Comments submitted via email will not be accepted as formal
testimony.

Analysis by the Dept. of Public
Instruction

1997 Wis. Act 237 created s. 115.42, Stats., which establishes a
grant program for national teacher certification.  Under the program,
the state superintendent shall award $2,000 in the 1999−2000 school
year and $2,500 in the 2000−01 school year to any applicant who
meets all of the following requirements:

�  The person is certified by the National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards before July 1, 2000.

�  The person is licensed as a teacher by the state superintendent
or employed as a teacher in a private school located in this state.

�  The person is a resident of this state.
�  The person is employed as a teacher in this state.
A person receiving a national teacher certificate is exempt from

meeting the teacher license renewal requirements in the 5 years
immediately preceding his or her application for renewal if he or she
has been initially certified by the National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards during those 5 years.

The rules establish:
�  The application process, including necessary documentation.
�  The number of times that a teacher may be exempt from

continuing professional education requirements.
The statutes also require the rules to specify a selection process

for grant recipients.  Since the appropriation for the program is sum
sufficient for grants awarded, and there is no limit as to the number
of awards that may be made (the language limiting grant recipients
to 20 was vetoed), it would seem that all applicants meeting the
eligibility  criteria specified in the rule will be selected to receive
grants.  Therefore, the rules do not specify a selection process in
addition to the eligibility criteria section.

Fiscal Estimate
The proposed rules establish procedures for awarding grants and

specify exemption allowances for national teacher certificate
holders.  The rule will have no fiscal effect on local government.

Under the program, the state superintendent shall award $2,000
in the 1999−2000 school year and $2,500 in the 2000−2001 school
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year to any applicant meeting certain specifications.  A sum
sufficient appropriation has been created to award grantees.

Administration of the program will be carried out using existing
staff and resources and should not result in any significant costs to
the state.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules are not anticipated to have a fiscal effect on

small businesses as defined under s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

Notice of Hearing
Public Service Commission

[CR 99−140]

Notice is given that a hearing will be held at the time and place
indicated below and continuing at times to be set by the presiding
Administrative Law Judge.  This docket (Docket 1−AC−185)
proposes to revise ch. PSC 4, Wis. Adm. Code.  These rules
currently describe procedures to provide the Public Service
Commission of Wisconsin with adequate information on the
short−term and long−term environmental effects of its actions, as
required by the Wisconsin Environmental Policy Act (WEPA),
ch. 274, section 1, laws of 1971 and s. 1.11, Stats.

Hearing Information

October  26, 1999 Amnicon Falls Hrg. Rm.
Tuesday 1st Floor , PSC
1:30 p.m. 610 North Whitney W ay

Madison, WI

The Commission does not discriminate on the basis of disability
in the provision of programs, services, or employment.  This
building is accessible to people in wheelchairs through the Whitney
Way first floor (lobby) entrance.  Parking for people with disabilities
is available on the south side of the building.  Any person with a
disability who needs additional accommodations or who needs to
obtain this document in a different format should contact the case
coordinator listed below under “Contact Information”.

Analysis
Statutory authority: ss. 196.02 (3) and 227.11

Statute interpreted: s. 1.11

Section 1.11, Stats., is known as the Wisconsin Environmental
Policy Act (WEPA).  This statute requires each state agency to
consider and make known to the public the environmental impacts
of any major action the agency is proposing, if the action would
significantly affect the quality of the human environment.  The
Public Service Commission (Commission) has adopted rules to
implement WEPA.

The Commission’s rules categorize various actions the
Commission undertakes in three separate tables and describe when
an environmental impact statement (EIS) or a preliminary document
known as an environmental assessment (EA) must be prepared for
these actions.  Table 1 consists of “Type I” actions, which the
Commission has determined are major actions significantly
affecting the quality of the human environment.  The rules specify
that an EIS must be prepared for any Type I action.  Table 2 consists
of “Type II” actions, which the Commission has determined have
the potential to significantly affect the quality of the human
environment.  The rules require the Commission to prepare an EA
for each Type II action; the function of an EA is to provide a
preliminary factual investigation of the action’s environmental
impacts.  Under current rules this preliminary investigation allows
the WEPA coordinator, who is a qualified staff person designated by
the Commission, to determine whether an EIS is necessary.  For
Type II actions, the WEPA coordinator also has the option of making
a determination that an EIS is needed based on the information that
is immediately available, without waiting for an EA to be
completed.  Table 3 consists of “Type III” actions, which the

Commission has found do not normally have the potential to
significantly affect the quality of the human environment.  Type III
actions normally require neither an EA nor an EIS, although an
evaluation of a specific Type III proposal may indicate that
preparation of such a document is warranted.

These proposed rules remove the WEPA coordinator’s authority
to determine whether an EIS or an EA is required.  Instead, this
authority reverts to the Commission.  The proposed rules also
change the Type I, II, and III lists, in order to base the level of
required environmental review on the potential for significant
impacts rather than the current arbitrary thresholds.  In addition, they
change the process of preparing an EA.  The proposed rules focus
the EA on determining the need for an EIS, rather than using it to
provide an encyclopedic description of potential environmental
impacts.  Finally, the proposed rules modify the process of securing
public input during the Commission’s review process, so it can be
received at appropriate times.

WEPA coordinator authority
Under current rules, the WEPA coordinator determines whether

a proposed action of the Commission would significantly affect the
quality of the human environment, for which an EIS must be
prepared.  If a project’s environmental effect is less certain the
WEPA coordinator may direct that an EA be completed, and may
then decide whether the EA shows that an EIS is required.  The
proposed rules specify that the Commission will make these
determinations.

Changes to the Type I, II, and III lists
The proposed revisions to the Type I, II, and III lists concern the

proper categorization of electric generating facilities and electric
transmission lines.  Current rules use the size in megawatts (MW)
of a proposed new generating unit as the primary indicator of
whether an EA or EIS should be prepared.  An application for
Commission approval of any new unit whose capacity is 20 MW or
more is currently considered a Type I action, for which an EIS is
mandatory.  If the project would have a capacity of less than 20 MW,
it is currently considered a Type II action.  The proposed rules
categorize a new generating unit according to the type of fuel it
would use and the site where it would be located.  Any new unit that
would be powered by nuclear energy or fueled by coal is included
in the Type I list.  Combustion turbine facilities, combined cycle
facilities, and cogeneration facilities that use gas or some other fuel
are also included in the Type I list, but only if they would be
constructed at a new electric generation site.  If they would be
located at an existing generation site, they are Type II projects.  A
similar distinction is made for hydroelectric facilities; if located at
a new dam site, the project would be a Type I action, but if located
at an existing dam site, the project is a Type II action.

Other Type II generating projects under these proposed rules
would be new biomass or waste−to−energy units.  A project to
change an existing generating unit by adding another fuel type for
the unit is also considered a Type II action.  The proposed rules list
new wind−powered electric generating facilities, less than 10 MW
in size, and any new solar−powered facilities, as Type III actions.
A proposal to construct any other new electric generating facility,
not specifically listed elsewhere, is considered a Type II action.

Under existing rules, a proposal to construct, rebuild or upgrade
a new electric transmission line at a voltage of 100 to 345 kilovolts
(kV) is considered a Type II action if the new line would be more
than one mile long.  The proposed rules delete the criterion of length
and substitute a criterion concerning where related construction
activity occurs.  If any construction activity takes place outside the
area of an existing transmission line right−of−way, the project is
classified as a Type II action.  If all construction activity occurs
inside existing transmission line right−of−way, the project is
considered a Type III action.  This criterion is modeled after a
recently enacted statutory exemption that is found in s. 196.491
(4) (c), Stats., declaring that a Certificate of Public Convenience and
Necessity is not necessary to build a new transmission line of less
than 230 kV if “all related construction activity takes place entirely
within the area of an existing electric transmission line
right−of−way.”  (A Certificate of Authority under s. 196.49, Stats.,
may still be necessary for such a project, depending on its cost.)



Page 24 Mid−October, 1999WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER No. 526

The proposed rules add two other items to these tables.  Existing
rules of the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) classify as
Type II actions any proposals to adopt long−range agency plans or
policies that would predetermine future agency actions, if the future
actions may significantly affect the human environment.  The
proposed rules include the same item in the Commission’s list of
Type II actions.  In addition, the proposed rules address a new action
of the Commission that was created by 1997 Wis. Act 204.  Under
s. 196.491 (3m) (a), Stats., an affiliated interest of a public utility
may not own, control, or operate a wholesale merchant plant without
first securing the Commission’s approval.  The proposed rules list
this as a Type III action.

Changes to the process of preparing an EA
The purpose of an EA has been defined by federal regulations

issued by the Council on Environmental Quality, and by case law
interpretations.  An EA is intended to be a concise document that
provides sufficient evidence and analysis of potential environmental
impacts to determine whether preparation of an EIS is necessary.
This purpose, however, is not described in Commission rules and
those prepared in recent years have begun covering all potential
impacts associated with a proposed project, including minor
environmental impacts.  The proposed rule incorporates a
declaration of the purpose of EA preparation, to provide direction to
Commission staff.

Public notice
Current rules require the Commission to deliver an

announcement that it is commencing the preparation of an EA to
area legislators, news media, and others whom the Commission
knows are interested.  The announcement must establish a public
comment period, lasting at least 10 days.  The proposed rule
provides a broader list of those receiving the announcement of an
EA.  It includes any person who has requested to receive this type
of information, and local government representatives such as the
heads of local municipalities and county clerks.  The proposed rule
also removes the deadline for public comment, in order to allow
comments to be received at any point during the process of preparing
an EA.

Current rules allow the Commission’s WEPA coordinator to
make a preliminary determination about the need for an EIS before
the EA is completed.  If such a preliminary determination is made,
the Commission must notify the same group and provide at least
10 days for public comment on the determination.  The proposed
rule revises this process.  It grants the authority to make a
preliminary determination about the need for an EIS to the
Commission, as described above, and specifies that this
determination must occur after the EA is completed.  Notice of this
preliminary determination will then be issued; in addition, the
proposed rule provides that the Commission will make copies of the
EA available upon request.  A 15−day period for public comment on
the determination is specified in the proposed rules.  Based on the
EA and the comments received, the Commission then makes a final
determination as to whether the project constitutes a major action for
which an EIS is required.  The proposed rule also states that a copy
of the EA will be sent to municipal offices in the project area.

Other changes

The proposed rule describes a process by which a supplemental
EA or supplemental EIS can be prepared.  The proposed rule
declares that a supplemental EA must be produced if, after an EA has
been completed but before the Commission has taken action, new
circumstances or information arise that the Commission decides
could affect the quality of the human environment in a manner not
considered in the EA.  Similarly, a supplemental EIS must be
produced if new circumstances or information arise that the
Commission decides would affect the quality of the human
environment in a manner not considered in the EIS.

Current rules require anyone who seeks Commission approval of
a project to contact the Commission at least 30 days before filing
their application.  This advance notice allows the Commission to
provide advice on the project alternatives that should be analyzed
and on other agencies that must be contacted.  The proposed rule
limits this advance notice to Type I and Type II projects, but requires
that notice of such projects must occur at least 30 days before the
applicant provides an engineering plan to the DNR.  This change
will  ensure that the environmental and engineering analysis of
reasonable alternatives, which is required by s. 1.11 (2) (c) 3., Stats.,
is properly coordinated with the DNR.

Copies of Proposed Rules
Anyone wishing to receive a free copy of the proposed rules

should contact the case coordinator listed below under “Contact
Information”.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules are not expected to affect small businesses.

The changes in classification of projects will not increase the
compliance or reporting requirements for project applicants.  In
addition, it is unlikely that applicants for Commission approval of
these projects would be small businesses.

Contact Information
Questions from the media may be directed to Jeffrey L. Butson,

Public Affairs Director, at (608) 267−0912.
Questions regarding this matter may be directed to Kathleen

Zuelsdorff at (608) 266−2730.

Fiscal Estimate
Ch. PSC 4 establishes procedures to provide the Public Service

Commission of Wisconsin (Commission) with adequate
information on the short−term and long−term environmental effects
of its actions, as required by the Wisconsin Environmental Policy
Act, under s. 1.11, Stats.

The proposed revisions to ch. PSC 4 will have no fiscal effect.
While the proposed revisions are expected to increase the efficiency
and effectiveness  of the Commission’s environmental review of
proposed actions, the number of applications requiring review
continues to grow, due to other ongoing changes in the electric utility
industry.  Costs of the Commission should not change.  In addition,
there would be no fiscal impact on investor−owned or municipal
utilities that would affect local governments.
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NOTICE OF SUBMISSION OF PROPOSED RULES TO THE PRESIDING OFFICER OF

EACH HOUSE OF THE LEGISLATURE, UNDER S.  227.19, STATS.

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings for further information on a particular rule.

Agricultur e, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 99−78):

S. ATCP 60.19 (3) and (4) − Relating to drug residues in raw
milk.

Agriculture,  Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 99−116):

SS. ATCP 77.06 and 77.22 − Relating to certification fees for
laboratories engaged in public health testing of  milk, water and
food.

Commerce  (CR 99−89):
Ch. Comm 111 − Relating to certified capital companies.

Corrections  (CR 97−67):
Ch. DOC 309 − Relating to inmate access to legal materials
and legal services.

Employment Relations Commission  (CR 99−104):
Ch. ERC 33 − Relating to school district professional employe
collective bargaining agreements and the calculation of a
qualified economic offer.

Financial Institutions−−Securities  (CR 99−121):
Chs. DFI−Sec 1 to 5 and ss. DFI−Sec 7.06 and 9.01 − Relating
to securities broker−dealer, agent and investment adviser
licensing requirements and procedures, securities registration
exemptions, definitions and forms.

Health and Family Services  (CR 99−112):
S. HFS 105.39 (4) (b) 3. − Relating to refresher training
requirements in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first
aid for drivers of specialized medical vehicles (SMVs) under
the Medical Assistance (MA) program.

Law Enforcement Standards Board  (CR 99−93):
Ch. LES 4 − Relating to the certification of instructors for law
enforcement, jail and secure detention training.

Nursing Home Administrator Examining Board
(CR 99−114):

SS. NHA 1.02, 4.01 and 4.03 − Relating to experience and
reciprocity.

Transportation  (CR 99−107):
Ch. Trans 134 − Relating to registration plates for authorized
special groups.

Transportation  (CR 99−119):
SS. Trans 276.07 and 276.09 − Relating to allowing the
operation of “double bottoms” (and certain other vehicles) on
certain specified highways.
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ADMINISTRATIVE   RULES   FILED   WITH   THE

REVISOR   OF   STATUTES   BUREAU

The following administrative rules have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication of these rules could be
delayed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at (608) 266−7275 for updated information on the effective dates for the listed
rules.

Commerce  (CR 99−7):
An order affecting ss. Comm 2.15, 51.164 and 64.05 and
chs. Comm 18 and 69, relating to elevators and mechanical
lifting devices.

Effective 12−01−99.

Gaming Commission  (CR 99−69):
An order affecting ch. WGC 3, relating to contested case
hearings arising out of the regulating activities of the
Division of Gaming.

Effective 12−01−99.

Pharmacy Examining Board  (CR 99−90):
An order creating ss. Phar 7.01, 7.08, 8.06, 8.07 and 8.09,
relating to the transmission and receipt of electronic
prescription orders.

Effective 11−01−99.

Pharmacy Examining Board  (CR 99−92):
An order creating ch. Phar 16, relating to continuing
education programs offered by a provider approved by the
American Council on Pharmaceutical Education at the time
of the pharmacist’s attendance, or other Board−approved
programs.

Effective 12−01−99.

Workforce Development  (CR 98−34):
An order affecting ch. DWD 120 and ss. DWD 128.02,
129.01 and 150.05, relating to ability to and availability for
work, unemployment insurance (UI) notices and forms, and
exceptional circumstances for failing to apply for UI.

Effective 12−01−99.

Workforce Development  (CR 98−202):
An order affecting s. DWD 11.055 and ch. DWD 16, relating
to the emergency assistance program.

Effective 11−01−99.

Workforce Development  (CR 98−203):
An order affecting chs. HSS 217 and DWD 17, relating to
the training of income maintenance workers.

Effective 11−01−99.

Workforce Development  (CR 98−205):
An order affecting ch. DWD 56, relating to the
administration of day care funds.

Effective 12−01−99.
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N O T I C E  OF  N O N A C Q U I E S C E N C E

NOTICE OF NONACQUIESCENCE

Tax Appeals Commission

−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−

DAVID  L. GILBERT,                                                      : 

Petitioner,                                              :            NOTICE OF NONACQUIESCENCE

v.                                                                                       :            Docket No. 98−D−248

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE,             :

                                                                                         :
                   Respondent.

−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−−

Pursuant to s. 73.01 (4) (e) 2. of the Wisconsin Statutes, the respondent hereby gives notice that, although
it is not appealing the decision or order of the Tax Appeals Commission rendered in the above captioned
matter under date of August 27, 1999, it has adopted a position of nonacquiescence in regard to that decision
or order.

The Department does not acquiesce in that portion of the Commission’s decision in Docket
No. 98−D−248 which indicates that the provisions of s. 227.48 (2), Wis. Stats., are applicable to the issuance
of a denial of a refund claim or the consideration of a petition for redetermination.

Section 227.47 (1), Wis. Stats., provides in part:

Decisions. (1) Except as provided in sub. (2), every proposed or final decision of an agency or
hearing examiner following a hearing and every final decision of an agency shall be in writing
accompanied by findings of fact and conclusions of law. The findings of fact shall consist of a
concise and separate statement of the ultimate conclusions upon each material issue of fact without
recital of evidence.  Every proposed or final decision shall include a list of the names and addresses
of all persons who appeared before the agency in the proceeding who are considered parties for
purposes of review under s. 227.53.  The agency shall by rule establish a procedure for
determination of parties.

(2) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, a proposed or final decision of the personnel
commission, hearing examiner or arbitrator concerning an appeal of the decision of the secretary
of employment relations made under s. 230.09 (2) (a) or (d) shall not be accompanied by findings
of fact or conclusions of law.  If within 30 days after the commission issues a decision in such an
appeal either party files a petition for judicial review of the decision under s. 227.53 and files a
written notice with the commission that the party has filed such a petition, the commission shall
issue written findings of fact and conclusions of law within 90 days after receipt of the notice.  The
court shall stay the proceedings pending receipt of the findings and conclusions.
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Section 227.48, Wis. Stats., provides:

Service of decision. (1) Every decision when made, signed and filed, shall be served forthwith
by personal delivery or mailing of a copy to each party to the proceedings or to the party’s attorney
of record.

(2) Each decision shall include notice of any right of the parties to petition for rehearing and
administrative or judicial review of adverse decisions, the time allowed for filing each petition and
identification of the party to be named as respondent.  No time period specified under s. 227.49
(1) for filing a petition for rehearing, under s. 227.53 (1) (a) for filing a petition for judicial review
or under any other section permitting administrative review of an agency decision begins to run
until the agency has complied with this subsection.

Reading these two statutes together, it is the position of DOR that the provisions of s. 227.48 (2), Wis.
Stats., are applicable only to proposed or final agency decisions following an administrative hearing. No
hearing is required or authorized in connection with the consideration of a refund claim or the consideration
of a petition for redetermination.

The effect of this action is that, although the decision or order is binding on the parties for the instant case,
the Commission’s conclusions of law, the rationale and construction of statutes in the instant case are not
binding upon or required to be followed by the respondent in other cases.
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