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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Rules adopted revising chs. ATCP 10 and 11, relating to
a poultry flock certification program.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and

consumer protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s
animal health and disease control programs, including the
national poultry improvement program (NPIP).  The NPIP is
designed to prevent the spread of Salmonella pullorum, fowl
typhoid and, in the case of turkeys, Mycoplasma
gallispepticum.  NPIP is governed by 9 CFR 145 and 147.
NPIP enrollment is voluntary, but non−enrolled flocks are
subject to certain movement restrictions.

(2)  Current DATCP rules prohibit the import, use, sale or
movement of poultry, farm−raised game birds or their eggs for
breeding or hatching unless they originate from flocks that are
enrolled in NPIP and meet NPIP standards.  Current DATCP
rules also prohibit the exhibition of poultry or farm−raised
game birds at a fair, exhibition or swap meet unless they
originate from an NPIP “pullorum−typhoid clean” or
equivalent flock, or are individually tested for
pullorum−typhoid.

(3)  NPIP is primarily designed for large commercial flocks
that move birds or eggs in interstate commerce.  NPIP requires
yearly testing of all sexually mature birds, and routine
inspections.  Fees for enrollment in the program differ based
on flock size and purpose, and range from $20 to $200.  NPIP
enrollment and testing may be cost−prohibitive for small
flocks.  Current rules restrict market access and exhibition by

small producers of poultry and farm−raised game birds, and
impose an unnecessary burden on those producers.  Some
small producers may be tempted to ignore or subvert current
rules, in order to market or exhibit their poultry or farm−raised
game birds.  That may, in turn, create unnecessary risks of
disease.

(4)  It is urgently necessary to provide alternative disease
monitoring options for small producers of poultry and
farm−raised game birds, so that those producers can legally
and economically move, market and exhibit their birds.  The
current lack of alternatives creates an unnecessary economic
hardship, and an unnecessary risk of disease spread.

(5)  DATCP has proposed rules which would create
practical disease monitoring alternatives for small producers
of poultry and farm−raised game birds.  DATCP is proceeding
to adopt those rules by normal rulemaking procedures.
However, normal rulemaking procedures require at least a
year to complete.  A temporary emergency rule is needed to
eliminate unnecessary hardship and risk in the short term, and
to provide practical and effective disease monitoring for this
year’s fair and exhibition season.

Publication Date: March 3, 2006
Effective Date: March 3, 2006
Expiration Date: July 31, 2006
Hearing Date: March 31, 2006

Commerce
(Commercial Buildings, Chs. Comm 61−65)
Rules adopted revising ch. Comm 62, relating to automatic

fire suppression for student housing facilities serving colleges
and universities.

Finding of Emergency
Department of Commerce finds that an emergency exists

within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of a rule is
necessary for the immediate preservation of the public health,
safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting the
emergency is as follows.

1.  In accordance with sections 101.14 (4) (b) 3., Stats., and
the provisions under 2005 Wisconsin Act 78, the department
has the responsibility to promulgate rules requiring the
installation of automatic fire sprinkler systems in various
student housing facilities serving colleges and universities.

2.  2005 Wisconsin Act 78 was published on January 6,
2006, making January 7, 2006 the effective date of the Act.

3.  Various provisions of the Act specified the effective date
as the trigger to install the automatic fire sprinkler systems.

4.  The department recognizes that promulgating this
emergency rule will incorporate under the commercial
building code, chapters, Comm 61 to 65, specific design and
construction standards for new student housing facilities that
are consistent with the intent of the Act.

5.  The department recognizes that without promulgating
this emergency rule, there could be confusion in design of any
new student housing to be constructed in the very near future.
The omission of the automatic fire sprinkler system during the
initial design and construction would potentially place lives
at greater risk.
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6.  In addition, the department recognizes that without
promulgating this emergency rule, the confusion in omitting
the automatic fire sprinkler system would result in additional
costs to retrofit the installation of the system in order to fulfill
the statutory obligation based upon the effective date of the
Act.

Publication Date: March 4, 2006
Effective Date: March 4, 2006
Expiration Date: August 1, 2006
Hearing Date: May 15, 2006

Corrections

A rule was adopted creating s. DOC 332.19, relating to a
sex offender registration fee.

Finding of Emergency
The department of corrections finds that an emergency

exists and that rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of public peace, health, safety and welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is: Under
2005 WI Act 25, the legislature authorized the department to
establish a sex offender registration fee.  If the rule is not
created promptly and immediately, the department will not be
able to collect the fees which are to be used to offset the costs
of monitoring probationers, parolees, or persons on extended
supervision, which could result in a lessening of supervision
due to budget limitations.

The purpose of the emergency rule is to establish an annual
sex offender registration fee to partially offset the costs of
monitoring persons who are on probation, parole, or extended
supervision.  The permanent rule process has been started.
However, the permanent rule process will take approximately
nine months to complete.  Emergency rules are necessary to
respond promptly to the collection of fees while permanent
rules are being developed.

Publication Date: June 8, 2006
Effective Date: June 8, 2006
Expiration Date: November 5, 2006
Hearing Date: July 18, 2006 

[See Notice this Register]

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 1.395, relating to the use of
funds in a federal campaign committee that has been
converted to a state campaign committee and relating to the
use of those converted funds whose contribution to the federal
committee would not have been in compliance with
Wisconsin law if the contribution had been made directly to a
state campaign committee.

Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the

recent change in federal law that permits the transfer of the
funds in a federal candidate campaign committee’s account to
the candidate’s state campaign committee account and finds
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the
facts constituting the emergency is as follows:

Since the Bi−Partisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002
(BICRA), transfers of funds from a federal campaign
committee to a state campaign committee had not been

authorized under federal law.  In November, 2004, Congress
amended the Federal Election Campaign Act, (H.R. 4818, s.
532 (3) and 532 (4), to permit the transfer of a federal
candidate’s campaign committee’s funds to the candidate’s
state campaign committee, if state law permitted, and subject
to the state law’s requirements and restrictions.

Because of  Congress’ action in November, 2004, money
which had not been available to a state committee under
BICRA, and which might not have qualified for use for
political purposes in a state campaign because of its source or
because of other noncompliance with state law, could now be
transferred to a state committee, if state law permitted.
Wisconsin law, under the Board’s current rule, s. ElBd 1.39,
Wis. Adm. Code,  allows for conversion of federal campaign
committees, and their funds, to a state campaign committee
without regard to the source of those funds and without regard
to contribution limitations.

Restricting the use of such money to that money which has
been contributed to the candidate’s federal committee, under
circumstances in which the contribution would have
complied with Wisconsin law if it had been given directly to
the Wisconsin campaign committee, is found to be in the
public interest.

Publication Date: February 3, 2005

Effective Date: February 3, 2005*
Expiration Date: July 3, 2005
Hearing Date: May 18, 2005

*  On February 9, 2005, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

Emergency Management

Rule adopted creating ch. WEM 7, relating to disaster
assistance for local governments.

Finding of Emergency
  The Wisconsin Division of Emergency Management finds

that an emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting an emergency is as
follows:

1.  The 2005 Wis. Act 269 created the major disaster
assistance program under Wis. Stats. § 166.03 (2) (b) 9.  An
annual appropriation of $3,000,000 SEG A for fiscal years
2005−06 and 2006−07 was established under Wis. Stats. §
20.465 (3) (b) (s) from the petroleum inspection fund.  These
funds were provided to make payments to local units of
government for damages and costs incurred as a result of a
major catastrophe. This Act was made retroactive to January
1, 2005.

2. The Act requires the Wisconsin Department of Military
Affairs, through its Division of Emergency Management, to
promulgate rules to implement and establish the application
process and the criteria to determine eligibility under the
major disaster assistance program. The Division will
immediately begin the permanent rule−making process for
establishing administrative rules for these payments, but
cannot complete the required hearings and review of these
rules prior to the lapse of funds retained in the major disaster
assistance appropriation for fiscal year 2005−06.

3. To ensure that appropriated funds for fiscal year
2005−06 are timely paid to local governmental units for
damages and eligible costs incurred as a direct result of major
catastrophes, emergency administrative rules must be
established immediately.
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Publication Date: June 8, 2006

Effective Date: June 8, 2006

Expiration Date: November 5, 2006

Natural Resources (4)
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

1. Rules were adopted amending ch. NR 25 relating to
commercial fishing for lake trout in Lake Superior.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:
The waters of Lake Superior were not part of the extensive
off−reservation treaty rights litigation known as the Voigt
case.  The parties stipulated that the Lake Superior rights
would be dealt with, to the extent possible, by agreement
rather than litigation.  This rule represents the implementation
of the most recent negotiated amendments to the agreement
between the State and the Red Cliff and Bad River Bands.  In
order to comply with the terms of the agreement, the State
must change its quotas and commercial fishing regulations at
the earliest possible date.  Failure by the State to do so will not
only deprive state fishers of increased harvest opportunities
available under the agreement, but could also jeopardize the
agreement, putting the entire Lake Superior fishery at risk of
litigation.

Publication Date: December 15, 2005

Effective Date: December 15, 2005

Expiration Date: May 14, 2006
Hearing Date: January 13, 2006

Extension Through: July 12, 2006

2. Rules were adopted revising s. NR 10.25, relating to the
issuance of turkey hunting permits.

Plain Language Analysis
This rule change will allow the department to issue turkey

tags remaining after the initial permit drawing in accordance
with state statute, which is first−come, first−served.
Additionally, this rule updates code language to accurately
describe how permits are currently issued (by zone and by
time period) and establishes that no person may obtain more
than one turkey carcass tag per day.

Exemption from finding of emergency
2005 Wisconsin Act 25, allowed the department to utilize

the procedure under s. 227.24, Stats., to promulgate rules
implementing s. 29.164, Stats., for the period before the date
on which permanent rules take effect, but may not exceed the
period authorized under s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2), Stats.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3), Stats., the
department is not required to provide evidence that
promulgating a rule under this subsection as an emergency
rule is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,
health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide a
finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.

Publication Date: February 13, 2006
Effective Date: March 1, 2006
Expiration Date: July 29, 2006
Hearing Date: April 10, 2006

3. Rules were adopted revising ch. NR 47, relating to the
forestry research and development grant program.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to
regulate and administer grant programs.  The State legislature
has delegated responsibility for rule−making to the
Department of Natural Resources.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of the rules in
time to allocate funds during this fiscal year.  Failure to
establish rules during FY06 will result in lost opportunity for
Wisconsin interests to compete for federal grants that improve
the public health, public good and the environment through
the development of alternative renewable energy and
biochemical sources from forestry biomass.

Publication Date: March 16, 2006
Effective Date: March 16, 2006
Expiration Date: August 13, 2006
Hearing Date: April 24 & 26, 2006

4. Rules were adopted creating s. NR 45.04 (1) (g), relating
to regulation of firewood entering and exiting department
lands and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
It is important to have restrictions on out−of−state firewood

entering department lands in place this camping season due to
recent developments in efforts to eradicate and quarantine
emerald ash borer in the areas where it is currently
established.  In Michigan, Ohio, Indiana and Ontario,
eradication programs are being dramatically scaled back or
abandoned entirely for this summer.  A recent audit of
quarantine efforts in Michigan where emerald ash borer is
most abundant and widespread is critical and faults their
program for lax enforcement and poor education of the public
to the dangers of moving firewood.  Given this situation, a
need for an external quarantine to protect Wisconsin forest
resources, industry, and community trees becomes obvious.
The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection has proposed an external quarantine on
host material of emerald ash borer and three other invasive
pests and diseases and our firewood regulation would help
support this effort, provide an opportunity for education of the
public and reduce one of the reasons people move firewood:
for use while camping.

Publication Date: March 27, 2006
Effective Date: April 1, 2006
Expiration Date: August 29, 2006
Hearing Date: July 5, 2006

Natural Resources (2)
(Environmental Protection − Water

Regulation, Chs. NR 300—)

1. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 326, relating to regulation
of piers, wharves, boat shelters, boat hoists, boat lifts and
swim rafts in navigable waterways.
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Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature recently enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118, to
streamline the regulatory process for activities in public trust
waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to administer the
new law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

2003 Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be
undertaken in public trust waters exempt from a permit, or
under a general permit. Certain activities may not be
undertaken in waters that are defined as “areas of special
natural resource interest” or at other locations where the
activity would cause detrimental impacts on public rights and
interests in navigable waters.  Without emergency rules to aid
in administering the new law, the following severe problems
will occur:

Until general permits are created by rule, any activity
which is not exempt requires an individual permit with an
automatic 30−day public notice.  The required 30−day
comment period will unnecessarily delay hundreds of
construction projects that otherwise could go ahead with
specified conditions for protecting lakes and streams (for
example, all new riprap and culvert applications currently
require public notices).

Unclear wording of exemptions currently puts property
owners, contractors and consultants at risk of violation.
Without clear procedures and standards established by
emergency rule, many more people may request exemption
determinations, slowing the decisions on individual permit
applications.

Wording of exemptions and temporary grading jurisdiction
puts lakes and streams at risk.  Without standards as intended
and described in the new law, exempted activities and grading
along shorelines will cause inadvertent but permanent
destruction of fish and wildlife habitat, loss of natural scenic
beauty and reduced water quality.  Rights of neighboring
property owners may also be harmed.  Cumulatively over one
or two construction seasons, these impacts will have
immediate and permanent effects on Wisconsin’s
water−based recreation and tourism industry.

To carry out the intention of the Legislature that 2003 Act
118 to speed decision−making but not diminish the public
trust in state waters, these emergency rules are required to
establish definitions, procedures and substantive standards
for exemptions, general permits and jurisdiction under the
new law.

Publication Date: April 19, 2004
Effective Date: April 19, 2004*
Expiration Date: September 16, 2004
Hearing Date: May 19, 2004

*On June 24, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

2. Rules adopted creating ss. NR 328.31 to 328.36, relating
to shore erosion control on rivers and streams.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin

Legislature enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118 to streamline the
regulatory process for activities in public trust waters.  The
state has an affirmative duty to administer the law in a manner
consistent with the public trust responsibilities of the State of
Wisconsin under Article IX, Section I of the Wisconsin
Constitution.

Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be undertaken
as exempt from a permit, or under a general permit.  There are
no statutory exemptions for shore protection on rivers and
streams.  Without emergency rules to create general permits,
all shore protection projects on rivers and streams require an
individual permit with an automatic 30−day public notice.
The required 30−day comment period will unnecessarily
delay projects that otherwise could go ahead with prescribed
conditions established in a general permit.  To carry out the
intention of Act 118 to speed decision−making but not
diminish the public trust in state waters, these emergency
rules are required to establish general permits to be in effect
for the 2006 construction season, with specific standards for
shore erosion control structures on rivers and streams.

Publication Date: May 5, 2006
Effective Date: May 8, 2006
Expiration Date: October 4, 2006
Hearing Date: June 13, 2006

Regulation and Licensing

Rules were adopted creating chs. RL 164 and 165, relating
to a code of conduct and renewal requirements for substance
abuse professionals.

Plain language analysis
The purpose of this emergency rule is to create a code of

conduct to facilitate assumption of disciplinary proceedings
as part of the transfer of the regulation of substance abuse
professionals from the Department of Health and Family
Services to the Department of Regulation and Licensing.  The
emergency rule also sets forth the requirements for renewal.

The Department of Regulation and Licensing must
promulgate this emergency rule for the period before the
effective date of the permanent rules as promulgated under
Wis. Stats. s. 440.88 (3).  Under the previous regulatory
scheme, the Department of Health and Family Services and
the Wisconsin Certification Board had established a code of
conduct and restrictions on late renewals.  This emergency
rule continues the applicability of the rules until the
department, with the advice of the Advisory Committee, can
establish permanent rules.

Exemption from finding of emergency
Section 9140 (1q) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 states in part:

“Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule under this subsection as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.”

Publication Date: April 15, 2006
Effective Date: April 15, 2006
Expiration Date: September 12, 2006
Hearing Date: June 27, 2006
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Transportation

Rules adopted creating ch. Trans 515, relating to
contractual service procurement.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 8 of 2005 Wis. Act 89,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Transportation
The proposed rule requires a cost benefit analysis before

procuring engineering or other specialized services under s.
84.01 (13), Stats., in excess of $25,000 when those services
are normally performed by state employees. The required
analysis includes a comparison between the costs of
contracting out and performing the services with state
employees.  The analysis also considers other subjective
factors such as timeliness, quality and technical expertise.

Publication Date: July 1, 2006

Effective Date: July 1, 2006

Expiration Date: November 28, 2006

Workforce Development
(Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279)

Rules adopted revising ss. DWD 274.015 and 274.03 and
creating s. DWD 274.035, relating to overtime pay for
employees performing companionship services.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

On January 21, 2004, pursuant to s. 227.26(2)(b), Stats., the
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules directed
the Department of Workforce Development to promulgate an
emergency rule regarding their overtime policy for
nonmedical home care companion employees of an agency as
part of ch. DWD 274.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:  Sections 103.005, 103.02, and 227.11,
Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Sections 103.01 and 103.02, Stats.
Section 103.02, Stats., provides that “no person may be

employed or be permitted to work in any place of employment
or at any employment for such period of time during any day,
night or week, as is prejudicial to the person’s life, health,
safety or welfare.” Section 103.01 (3), Stats., defines “place
of employment” as “any manufactory, mechanical or
mercantile establishment, beauty parlor, laundry, restaurant,
confectionary store, or telegraph or telecommunications
office or exchange, or any express or transportation
establishment or any hotel.”

Chapter DWD 274 governs hours of work and overtime.
Section DWD 274.015, the applicability section of the
chapter, incorporates the statutory definition of “place of
employment” and limits coverage of the chapter to the places
of employment delineated in s. 103.01 (3), Stats., and various
governmental bodies. Section DWD 274.015 also provides
that the chapter does not apply to employees employed in
domestic service in a household by a household.

Section 103.02, Stats., directs that the “department shall,
by rule, classify such periods of time into periods to be paid
for at the rate of at least one and one−half times the regular
rates.” Under s. DWD 274.03, “each employer subject to this
chapter shall pay to each employee time and one−half the
regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours
per week.” Section DWD 274.04 lists 15 types of employees
who are exempt from this general rule and s. DWD 274.08
provides that the section is inapplicable to public employees.

Nonmedical home care companion employees who are
employed by a third−party, commercial agency are covered
by the overtime provision in s. DWD 274.03. Section DWD
274.03 applies to all employees who are subject to the chapter
and not exempt under ss. DWD 274.04 or 274.08. The chapter
applies to companion employees of a commercial agency
because under s. DWD 274.015 a commercial agency is
considered a mercantile establishment. Section DWD 270.01
(5) defines a mercantile establishment as a commercial,
for−profit business. The chapter does not apply to companion
employees of a nonprofit agency or a private household. In
addition, none of the exemptions to the overtime section in ss.
DWD 274.04 or 274.08 apply to companion employees of a
commercial agency.

The Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules has directed DWD to promulgate an emergency rule
regarding the overtime policy for nonmedical home care
companion employees of an agency. This provision is created
at s. DWD 274.035 to say that employees who are employed
by a mercantile establishment to perform companionship
services shall be subject to the overtime pay requirement in s.
DWD 274.03. “Companionship services” is defined as those
services which provide fellowship, care, and protection for a
person who because of advanced age, physical infirmity, or
mental infirmity cannot care for his or her own needs. Such
services may include general household work and work
related to the care of the aged or infirm person such as meal
preparation, bed making, washing of clothes, and other
similar services. The term “companionship services” does not
include services relating to the care and protection of the aged
or infirm person that require and are performed by trained
personnel, such as registered or practical nurses.

This order also repeals and recreates the applicability of the
chapter section and the overtime section to write these rules
in a clearer format. There is no substantive change in these
sections.

Publication Date: March 1, 2004
Effective Date: March 1, 2004*
Expiration Date: July 29, 2004

*  On April 28, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended s. DWD 274.035 created as
an emergency rule.
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Scope statements

Elections Board
Subject

Amend the rules of the Elections Board, to add a provision,
s. ElBd 7.04,  that will require the security, review and
verification of software components used with each
electronic voting system approved by the board for use in
Wisconsin.
Policy Analysis

Objective of the rule.  Per 2005 Wisconsin Act 92, the
Elections Board must “promulgate rules to ensure the
security, review and verification of software components used
with each voting system approved by the board.  The
verification procedures shall include a determination that the
software components correspond to the instructions actually
used by the system to count votes.”

2005 Wisconsin Act 92 defines software components as
including “vote−counting source code, table structures,
modules, program narratives and other human−readable
computer instructions used to count votes with an electronic
voting system.”

Under s. 5.84, Stats., “Where any municipality employs an
electronic voting system which utilizes automatic tabulating
equipment, either at the polling place or at a central counting
location, the municipal clerk shall, on any day not more than
10 days prior to the election day on which the equipment is to
be utilized, have the equipment tested to ascertain that it will
correctly count the votes cast for all offices and on all
measures.” The testing process for electronic voting systems
has been heightened by 2005 Wisconsin Act 92, under which
the Elections Board is required to ensure the security and
verification of the software components by a review process.
  The verification procedures shall include a determination
that the software components correspond to the instructions
actually used by the system to count votes.
Statutory authority

s. 5.05 (1) (f) and s. 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Staff time required

At least 80 hours of state employees’ time.
Entities affected by the rule

Wisconsin municipalities that use an electronic voting
system will be required to perform the security compliance
procedures required by the rule. The State Elections Board
will be required to perform the verification review required by
the rule.
Comparison with federal regulations

No federal regulation addresses the activities to be
regulated by the rule, but the U.S. Election Assistance
Commission is developing guidelines regarding the
verification and security of software components used with
each electronic voting system.  The guidelines are not
mandatory, however.

Emergency Management
Subject

The Wisconsin Department of Military Affairs, through its
Division of Emergency Management, proposes to create ch.
WEM 7, relating to the application process and criteria for
determining eligibility for payments to local units of
government for damages and costs incurred for major
catastrophes.
Policy Analysis

The objective of this rule is to reduce the financial burden
on local units of government for damages suffered and
eligible costs incurred as the direct result of a major natural
disaster. The intent of the rule is to make payments to local
units of government for specific costs related to emergency
response and recovery efforts that cannot be insured or that are
impossible to predict based on the unique nature of the
disaster response.  These costs include debris removal,
emergency protective measures taken to eliminate or reduce
immediate threats to life, public health or safety or damages
to roads or bridges.
Description of existing policies relevant to the rule and
of new policies proposed to be included in the rule, and
an analysis of the policy alternatives

 2005 Wisconsin Act 269 created section 166.03 (2) (b) 9.,
Stats. that gives the Department of Military Affairs, through
its Division of Emergency Management,  the authority to
establish an application process and eligibility criteria for
payments to local units of government for damages and costs
incurred for major catastrophes.

 The alternatives to the proposed rule would result in not
establishing a mechanism or eligibility criteria for payment to
local units of government as provided under recently passed
legislation.
Comparison with federal regulations

The federal Public Assistance Program (44 CFR part 206,
Subparts G and H), made available in a Presidential Disaster
Declaration, and the major disaster assistance program as
provided for in WEM 7 are similar.  Both programs provide
grants to local governments that have sustained damages or
incurred costs as a result of a major disaster.  Each also has a
cost share provision; the federal public assistance program is
75% federal with the remaining 25% split between the state
and local applicant while the state program cost share is 70/30,
state/local.   The eligibility criteria for the state program
resemble those of the federal program, specifically as they
pertain to debris clearance, emergency protective measures
and damage to road systems.  The administrative and
management processes for the state program will be patterned
after those of the federal public assistance program and will
be documented in a State Administrative Plan.  For both
programs the actual amount paid to an applicant is determined
by the applicant’s ability to submit appropriate
documentation justifying the claimed costs.
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Statutory authority
The Department’s authority to promulgate rules is under

sections 166.03 (2) (b) 9., and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Staff time required

The Department anticipates spending approximately 180
hours in the rule−development process.
Entities affected by the rule

This rule will affect local units of government.

Emergency Management
Subject

The Wisconsin Department of Military Affairs, through its
Division of Emergency Management, proposes to create ch.
WEM 8, relating to the establishment of standards for the
adoption of the Mutual Aid Box Alarm System, also know as
MABAS, that may be used for the systematic deployment of
fire, rescue and emergency medical services personnel and
equipment in a multi−jurisdictional or multi−agency
emergency response.
Policy Analysis

The objective of this rule is to establish standards to adopt
the MABAS deployment mechanism to efficiently coordinate
the provision of fire, rescue and emergency medical services
mutual aid during multi−jurisdictional or multi−agency
emergency response to crises, natural disasters and manmade
catastrophes. When an emergency response exhausts local
resources, the utilization of the Mutual Aid Box Alarm
System will efficiently provide additional emergency
response personnel and equipment to assist stricken
communities and regions. The coordination and effective
deployment of emergency response personnel and specialized
response equipment at multi−agency and multi−jurisdictional
emergency responses will serve to better protect the citizens
and environment of the State as well as enhance
intergovernmental cooperation.
Description of existing policies relevant to the rule and
of new policies proposed to be included in the rule, and
an analysis of the policy alternatives

2005 Wisconsin Act 257 amended section 166.03 (2) (a) 3.,
Stats. to give the Department of Military Affairs, through its
Division of Emergency Management, the authority to
establish standards for the adoption of the Mutual Aid Box
Alarm System for utilization by fire, rescue and emergency
medical services responders. This legislation also mandates
that these standards be promulgated as administrative rules.

The alternative to the proposed rule would result in not
establishing standards for the adoption of a proven
mechanism for the systematic deployment of emergency
response personnel and equipment at a multi−agency or
multi−jurisdictional emergency response as provided under
recently passed legislation.
Comparison with federal regulations

The Department is unaware of any proposed or existing
federal regulation that is covered by this proposed rule.
Statutory authority

The Department’s authority to promulgate rules is under
sections 166.03 (2) (a) 3., and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Staff time required

The Department anticipates spending approximately 150
hours in the rule−development process.

Entities affected by the rule
This rule will affect local units of government.

Natural Resources
Subject

Objective of the rule.  Creation of appendix EEEEE in ch.
NR 460 and subchapter III in ch. NR 463 to incorporate
national emission standards for hazardous air pollutants
(NESHAP) for iron and steel foundries.  Other chapters may
be amended, if germane and appropriate, to accomplish the
actions described above.
Policy Analysis

There are no policy issues to be resolved. The US
Environmental Protection Agency promulgated the NESHAP
for iron and steel foundries on April 22, 2004 (69 FR 21906)
and amended this NESHAP on May 20, 2005 (70 FR 29400).
The NESHAP establishes maximum achievable control
technology (MACT) requirements for iron and steel
foundries. This action incorporates the foundry NESHAP into
the Wisconsin Administrative Code.

Section 285.27 (2), Stats., requires the Department to
promulgate NESHAP by rule. In addition, since this
NESHAP affects more than ten facilities in Wisconsin,
promulgation into state rule is consistent with the MACT
Streamlining Policy approved by the Natural Resources
Board in 1996.
Statutory authority

Sections 285.11 (1), 285.27 (2), and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Staff time required

About 375 hours of Department staff time will be needed
to develop this rule.
Comparison with federal regulations

This action promulgates national emission standards for
hazardous air pollutants (NESHAP) for iron and steel
foundries. The EPA has identified iron and steel foundries as
a major source of hazardous air pollutant (HAP) emissions.
These standards implement section 112(d) of the Clean Air
Act (CAA) by requiring all major sources to meet HAP
emissions standards reflecting application of the maximum
achievable control technology (MACT).

The HAP emitted by facilities in the iron and steel
foundries source category include metal and organic
compounds. For iron and steel foundries that produce low
alloy metal castings, metal HAP emitted are primarily lead
and manganese with smaller amounts of cadmium,
chromium, and nickel. For iron and steel foundries that
produce high alloy metal or stainless steel castings, metal
HAP emissions of chromium and nickel can be significant.

Organic HAP emissions include acetophenone, benzene,
cumene, dibenzofurans, dioxins, formaldehyde, methanol,
naphthalene, phenol, pyrene, toluene, triethylamine, and
xylene. Exposure to these substances has been demonstrated
to cause adverse health effects, including cancer and chronic
or acute disorders of the respiratory, reproductive, and central
nervous systems. When fully implemented, the final federal
rule will reduce HAP emissions from iron and steel foundries
by over 820 tons per year (tpy) nationwide.

As noted above, the federal NESHAP for iron and steel
foundries is an existing federal regulation. While some
changes to the federal rule language and organization may be
necessary to accommodate state administrative rule format,
no substantial changes will be made, and the state rule will be
essentially identical to the federal NESHAP.
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Entities affected by the rule
The NESHAP for iron and steel foundries will affect about

26 facilities statewide.  All known affected and potentially
affected sources have been or will be notified and informed
about the existing federal NESHAP regulation including
applicable notification requirements and compliance
deadlines.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce

On June 15, 2006, the Department of Commerce
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule affects Chs. Comm 5, 20, 21, 22, and

27,  relating to the installation of manufactured homes.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The  Safety and Buildings Division is responsible for the
rule promulgation.  A public hearing will be held on July
17, 2006.

Contact Person
James Quast, Program Manager
(608) 266−9292
jim.quast@wisconsin.gov

Natural Resources

On May 31, 2006, the Department of Natural Resources
submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule−making order relates to regulation of

firewood entering department lands and affecting small
business.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on July 5,

2006.
Contact Person

Dr. Andrea Diss Torrance
Bureau of Forest Science
(608) 264−9247

Public Service Commission

On June 1, 2006, the Public Service Commission of
Wisconsin submitted a proposed rule to the Joint
Legislative Council Staff (Rules Clearinghouse) for
review.

Analysis
The proposed rule, Commission docket 1−AC−198,

relates to the provision of universal telecommunications
service, administration of the universal service fund and
related changes.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing will be held on July 14, 2006, at 9:30

a.m., at the Public Service Commission Building, 610
North Whitney Way, Madison, Wisconsin.

The Telecommunications Division of the Commission
is the organizational unit responsible for the promulgation
of the rule.

Contact Person
The contact person is Anita Sprenger, Universal Service

Fund Manager, (608) 266−3843.

Regulation and Licensing
On June 12, 2006, the Department of Regulation and

Licensing submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
Statutory Authority:  s. 227.11 (2), Stats., and ch. 460,

Stats.
The proposed rule−making order relates to application

requirements, definitions, certifications, reciprocity,
waiver of education requirements and unprofessional
conduct, governing the certification of massage therapists
and bodyworkers.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on July 14,

2006 at 9:00 a.m. in Room 123 at 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin.

Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Office of Legal Counsel,

(608) 266−0495.
Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Transportation
On June 7, 2006, the Department of Transportation

submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis
Statutory Authority:  ss. 227.14 (4m), Stats.
The proposed rule−making order relates to allowing the

operation of double bottoms and certain other vehicles on
specified highways.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on July 12,

2006.
The organizational unit responsible for promulgation of

the proposed rule: Division of Transportation System
Development, Bureau of Highway Operations.

Contact Person
Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
(608) 266−8810

Transportation
On June 1, 2006, the Department of Transportation

submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Analysis
Statutory Authority:  ss. 227.14 (4m), Stats.
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The proposed rule−making order relates to CDL
exemptions.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on June 29,

2006.
The organizational unit responsible for promulgation of

the proposed rule: Division of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of
Field Services.

Contact Person
Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
(608) 266−8810

Workforce Development

On June 15, 2006, the Department of Workforce
Development submitted proposed rules to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rules affect Ch. DWD 127, relating to the

unemployment insurance work search.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on July 25,
2006.  The organizational unit responsible for the

promulgation of the proposed rules is the DWD
Unemployment Insurance Division.

Contact Person
Elaine Pridgen
(608) 267−9403
elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us

Workforce Development

On June 15, 2006, the Department of Workforce
Development submitted proposed rules to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rules affect Ch. DWD 129, relating to

unemployment insurance benefit claiming procedures.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on July 25,
2006.  The organizational unit responsible for the
promulgation of the proposed rules is the DWD
Unemployment Insurance Division.

Contact Person
Elaine Pridgen
(608) 267−9403
elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

(Licenses, Certification, Chs. Comm 5)
(Uniform Dwelling, Chs. Comm 20−25)
(Manufactured Homes, Ch. Comm 27)

[CR 06−071]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 101.96

Stats., as created by 2005 Wisconsin Act 45, the Department
of Commerce will hold a public hearing on proposed rules
under Chs. Comm 5, 20, 21 and 27 relating to installation of
manufactured homes and affecting small business.

The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time: Location

Monday, July 17, 2006
at 1:00 p.m.

201 W. Washington Avenue
Conference Room 3C
Madison

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until July 28, 2006, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to Jim Quast, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box 2689,
Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at jim.quast@
wisconsin.gov.

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Commerce
Statutes interpreted: Section 101.96, Stats., as created

 by 2005 Wisconsin Act 45
Statutory authority: Section 101.96, Stats., as created

by 2005 Wisconsin Act 45
Related Statute or Rule: Section 101.63 (1), Stats.
Explanation of Agency Authority.  Section 101.96 (1) (a),

Stats., requires the Department of Commerce to establish
installation standards for the safe installation of manufactured
homes in this state.  Section 101.96 (1) (b), Stats., requires the
department to establish a method for ensuring compliance
with the installation standards, and to establish criteria for the
licensure of 3rd party inspectors.  Section 101.96 (2), Stats.,
requires the department to establish a program for the
licensure of manufactured home installers.  The installer
license program must include license eligibility, an
examination, an examination waiver procedure, license term,
and license fees.

Summary of Proposed Rules.  The proposed rules consist
of new requirements in chapters Comm 5 and 20 to address the
licensure of manufactured home installers, and the
installation and inspection of manufactured homes.

The proposed rules for the licensure of manufactured home
installers consist of new requirements under section Comm
5.327 in chapter Comm 5.  Those rules contain qualification
requirements consistent with the provisions in 2005
Wisconsin Act 45.  The proposed rules require persons
installing manufactured homes to be licensed after January 1,
2007.  Completion of educational coursework which includes
an exam is required to obtain the license unless the person
provides evidence of having actively participated in the
installation of at least 10 manufactured homes.  The term of
the license is 4 years, and a specified number of hours of
continuing education are required for renewal of the license.

The proposed rules establishing installation requirements
for manufactured homes are incorporated into the current
rules in chapter Comm 21 of the Uniform Dwelling Code.
The installation of manufactured homes produced on or after
the effective date of the rules must utilize acceptable practices
that address soil mechanics, site preparation, structural
support, anchorage, and connections.  The Department
anticipates that installation practices being proposed by the
federal Department of Housing and Urban Development
currently under Title 24 CFR Part 3285 – Model
Manufactured Home Installation Standards once finalized
will be recognized by the Department of Commerce as an
acceptable installation practice.  The requirements in chapter
Comm 27 are moved to chapters Comm 20 and 21, and
chapter Comm 27 is repealed.  As part of the Uniform
Dwelling Code, the installation of a manufactured home will
be administered and enforced by various certified UDC
inspectors.

The proposed rules clarify administrative procedures
regarding record keeping of permit applications, plan
approvals, inspections and enforcement actions.  A proposed
rule revision also clarifies the application of thermal envelop
requirements with respect to ground source heat pumps.
Proposed rules also update various national standards to the
latest editions that are currently referenced in the Uniform
Dwelling Code.

Comparison with Federal Regulations.   An Internet−based
search of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) found the
following existing federal regulations relating to the
installation and inspection of manufactured homes.

�  Title 24 CFR Part 3282 – Manufactured Home
Procedural and Enforcement Regulations.  This regulation in
the federal Department of Housing and Urban Development
contains the procedures for conducting inspections and
investigations necessary to enforce the federal manufactured
home construction and safety standards under Title 24 CFR
Part 3280.

�  Title 24 CFR Part 3280 – Manufactured Home
Construction and Safety Standards.  This regulation in the
federal Department of Housing and Urban Development
contains the standards for the design, construction,
transportation, fire safety, plumbing, heat−producing and
electrical systems of manufactured homes which are designed
to be used as dwelling units.
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These federal regulations apply to different subjects and do
not address the same activities as compared to the proposed
rules.

An Internet−based search of the 2004 and 2005 issues of
the Federal Register found the following proposed
regulations relating to the installation and inspection of
manufactured homes.

�  Federal Register, Vol. 70, No. 79, Tuesday, April 26,
2005, 24 CFR Parts 3280 and 3285, Model Manufactured
Home Installation Standards, proposed rule.  The proposed
regulations under Part 3285 contain standards for the
installation of new manufactured homes, including standards
for the completion of certain aspects necessary to join all
sections of multi−section homes.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States. An Internet−
based search of adjacent states’ rules found the following
regulations that include requirements relating to the
installation and inspection of manufactured homes.

�  Illinois has state regulations requiring manufactured
homes to be tied down in accordance with the state tie down
installation requirements, the home manufacturer’s
instructions and the tie down manufacturer’s instructions.
Illinois also requires manufactured homes to be installed by
a licensed installer.  Licensed installers must complete a
10−hour installation course approved by the Department of
Public Health.  Inspections of new community sites are
required before placement of homes.

�  Iowa has state regulations applying to the installation of
manufactured homes and the licensure of home installers,
administered by the Department of Public Safety.  The state
installation regulations consist of standards for piers and tie
downs, and require installations to be performed by a certified
manufactured home installer.  Installer certification consists
of submitting an application describing the applicant’s
training and experience related to manufactured home
installation.  Inspections of home installations are made upon
request of the home owner.

�  Michigan has state regulations applying to the
installation of manufactured homes and the licensing of home
installers, administered by the Department of Consumer and
Industry Services.  The regulations require installation in
accordance with the manufacturer’s installation instructions.
Applicants for the installer license must complete a
department−approved installation instruction program.  Field
inspections of manufactured home communities are
performed by the department.

�  Minnesota has state regulations applying to the
installation of manufactured homes and the licensure of
manufactured home installers, administered by the
Department of Administration.  The regulations require
installation in accordance with the manufacturer’s installation
instructions and specified support and stabilizing
requirements.  Passage of an examination is required for the
installer license.  Inspections of home installations are made
upon request of the home owner.

Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies.
In developing the proposed rules the Department reviewed

the federal regulations under the Manufactured Housing
Improvement Act of 2000 relating to Model Manufactured
Home Installation Standards.

The Department also utilizes advisory councils in
analyzing and developing proposed revisions for
manufactured homes.  The councils involved in the review of
the proposed rules were the Manufactured Homes, and Home
Parks Advisory Council, the Manufactured Housing Council,
and the Uniform Dwelling Code Council.  These councils
involve a variety of organizations whose memberships

include many types of small businesses.  The Department
utilizes these councils to gather information on potential
impacts in complying with the both the technical and
administrative requirements of the codes.  A responsibility of
council members is to bring forth concerns their respective
organizations may have with the requirements, including
concerns regarding economic impacts.  (Copies of the council
meetings summaries are on file in the Safety and Building
Division.)

An economic impact report has not been required pursuant
to s. 227.137, Stats.

Analysis and Supporting Documents Used to Determine
Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of Economic
Impact Report.   The proposed rules reflect the mandates of
2005 Wisconsin Act 45 which was proposed and supported by
the Wisconsin Housing Alliance.  Members of this group
include manufactured home installers, dealers, manufacturers
and manufactured home community owners.  Act 45 was the
result of a federal HUD initiative under 24 CFR Part 3285.

The requirements relating to the installation of
manufactured homes impact businesses of all sizes.  The rules
impact a variety of businesses, including small businesses,
particularly those businesses that produce, sell, install or
inspect manufactured homes.

The potential compliance effects of the rules occur on two
basic levels, administrative and technical.  Pursuant to federal
law and 2005 Wisconsin Act 45, beginning on January 1, 2007
the installation of manufactured homes must occur under the
supervision of licensed installers.  The Department believes
that the number of manufactured home installer businesses to
be less than 50 based upon an estimate from the Wisconsin
Housing Alliance.  The renewal of an installer’s license will
be contingent upon fulfilling continuing education
obligations.

The installation of a manufactured home under the UDC
program will necessitate acquiring a permit and inspections.
In those portions of the state where administration and
enforcement of the program is by the Department through
contracts with independent inspection agencies, the
Department anticipates the permit and inspection fees to be
approximately $350 per installation.  The application for the
permit may be made by the home owner or their designated
agent which could be the installer, manufacturer, the dealer or
some one else.

The code establishes technical standards that are to be
adhered to when installing manufactured homes.

The Department believes that the proposed rules would
have a minimal additional impact on small business based
upon a determination from HUD which indicated that the
costs and cost impacts do not represent a significant economic
effect on either an industry wide or per−home basis.  (Federal
Register/Vol. 70, No. 79/ Tuesday, April 26, 2005 p. 21516)

Advisory Council
The proposed rules have been developed with the

assistance of the following Advisory Councils:
Manufactured Homes and 

Home Parks Advisory Council
Name Representing

Phil Blazkowski Inspector. . . . . 

Brian Brown Sewer/Water Service Provider. . . . . . . 

Gregg Cleveland Fire Chief. . . . 

Joseph Dentice, Jr. Community Operator. . . 

Mark Flood Community Owner. . . . . . . . 

John Geise Manufacturer. . . . . . . . . 
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Pete Halverson Manufactured Home Dealer/. . . . . . 
Salesperson

Ron Middleton Community Owner. . . . . . 

Al Rhinerson Installer. . . . . . . 

Tom Schrader Public. . . . . . . 

Kristen Zehner Manufactured Home Owner. . . . . . 

Manufactured Housing Code Council

Name Representing

Steve Andreske Manufacturer. . . . . 

Dan Curran Inspector. . . . . . . . 

John Geise Manufacturer. . . . . . . . . 

Bart Huntington Manufactured Home Dealer. . . . . 

Ross Kinzler Manufactured Housing Industry. . . . . . . 
Association

Bob Kluwin Manufactured Housing Industry. . . . . . . . 
Supplier

Harry Kreuser Labor. . . . . . 

Ron Middleton Manufactured Home Community. . . . . . 
Owners

Jim Reitzner Manufactured Home Community. . . . . . . . 
Owners

Al Rhinerson Manufactured Home Installers. . . . . . . 

Al Schwoerer Manufactured Home Installers. . . . . . . 

Mark Theide Manufactured Home Dealers. . . . . . . 

Kristen Zehner Public. . . . . . 

Uniform Dwelling Code Council

Name Representing

Allan Bachmann Remodeling Contractor. . . . 

Jeffrey Bechard Labor. . . . . 

Ken Dentice Building Inspector. . . . . . . . 

David Dolan−Wallace Architect

Dan Gorski Contractor. . . . . . . . . 

Robert Jakel Public. . . . . . . . 

Steve Levine Public. . . . . . . 

Daniel Nowak Building Inspector. . . . . . 

Frank Opatik Housing Manufacturer. . . . . . . 

Tom Palecek Housing Manufacturer. . . . . . . 

William Roehr Labor. . . . . . 

Gary Ruhl Labor. . . . . . . . . 

Mary Schroeder Contractor. . . . . 

Kathleen Stadtherr Building Inspector. . . 

William Turner Supplier. . . . . 

John Vande Castle Supplier. . . 

Mike Wallace Building Inspector. . . . . . . 

Paul Welnak Labor. . . . . . . . 

Copies of Rule
The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules

are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email

at roberta.ward@wisconsin.gov, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.
Environmental Assessment

Notice is hereby given that the Department has considered
the environmental impact of the proposed rules.  In
accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are a
Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the
rules.

The requirements relating to the installation of
manufactured homes impact businesses of all sizes.  The rules
impact a variety of businesses, including small businesses,
particularly those businesses that produce, sell, install or
inspect manufactured homes.

2. Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

The installation of a manufactured home under the UDC
program will necessitate acquiring a permit and inspections.
In those portions of the state where administration and
enforcement of the program is by the Department through
contracts with independent inspection agencies, the
Department anticipates the permit and inspection fees to be
approximately $350 per installation.  The application for the
permit may be made by the home owner or their designated
agent which could be the installer, manufacturer, the dealer or
some one else.

3. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.

Pursuant to federal law and 2005 Wisconsin Act 45,
beginning on January 1, 2007 the installation of manufactured
homes must occur under the supervision of licensed installers.
The renewal of an installer’s license will be contingent upon
fulfilling continuing education obligations.  The code
establishes technical standards that are to be adhered to when
installing manufactured homes.

4. Rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses.

Rules were not submitted to Small Business Regulatory
Review Board.

The small business regulatory coordinator for the
Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
carol.dunn@wisconsin.gov.
Fiscal Estimate

The proposed rules establish licensure for installers of
manufactured homes and standards for the installation and the
installation inspection of manufactured homes.  The
Department estimates that the number of manufactured home
installers to be less than 50.  The Department proposes a
license fee of $100 with the term of the license lasting 4 years.
This would generate an increase of $5,000 in revenues over
a 4−year period.  The Department would be absorbed within
current resources.

The installation and the inspection of the installation of
manufactured homes is to be placed under the administration
and enforcement of the Uniform Dwelling Code, UDC,
chapters Comm 20−25.  The Department estimates that there
will 3,000 installations annually.  The Department would
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collect an estimated $75,000 annually in seal fee revenue
under the UDC program.  The consultant and processing
workload associated with the manufactured home installation
facet of the program would be absorbed by current staff.

Administration and enforcement of the UDC Code
typically is handled at the local municipal level with
municipal costs offset by permit and/or inspection fees
established by each municipality.

The installation of a manufactured home under the UDC
program will necessitate acquiring a permit and inspections.
In those portions of the state where administration and
enforcement of the program is by the Department through
contracts with independent inspection agencies, the
Department anticipates the permit and inspection fees to be
approximately $350 per installation.

The proposed rules and the enabling legislation, 2005
Wisconsin Act 45, are the result of a federal HUD initiative
under 24 CFR Part 3285.  HUD has indicated that the “costs
and cost impacts do not represent a significant economic
effect on either an industry wide or per−home basis.”  (Federal
Register/Vol. 70, No. 79/ Tuesday, April 26, 2005 p. 21516)

No long−range fiscal implications are anticipated.

Notice of Hearings
Corrections

[CR 06−066]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to sections

227.11 (2) and 301.45 (10), Stats., and interpreting ss. 301.45
(10), Stats., the department of corrections will hold public
hearings to consider:

Emergency rule DOC 332.19, relating to the establishment
of a sex offender registration fee to partially offset the costs
of monitoring persons on probation, parole, or extended
supervision; and

Proposed permanent rule DOC 332.19, relating to the
establishment of a sex offender registration fee to partially
offset the costs of monitoring persons on probation, parole, or
extended supervision.

Hearing information:
Date & Time Location
July 18, 2006 Conference Room 116
10:00 a.m. State Office Building

819 North 6th Street
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

July 18, 2006 St. Croix Conference Room−First Floor
2:30 p.m. Department of Administration

101 East Wilson Street
Madison, Wisconsin

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Written comments on the proposed rule will be
accepted into the record and receive the same consideration
as testimony presented at the hearing if they are received by
July 21, 2006.  Written comments should be addressed to:
Kathryn R. Anderson, DOC, P.O. Box 7925, Madison, WI
53707−7925, or by email kathryn.anderson@doc.state.wi.us.

The public hearing sites are accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you have special needs or circumstances that
may make communication or accessibility difficult at the

hearing, please contact Kathryn Anderson, DOC, P.O. Box
7925, Madison, WI 53707−7925, email
kathryn.anderson@doc.state.wi.us, telephone (608)
240−5049 by July 7, 2004.

The purpose of the emergency rule is to establish an annual
sex offender registration fee to partially offset the costs of
monitoring persons who are on probation, parole, or extended
supervision.  The permanent rule process has been started.
However, the permanent rule process will take approximately
nine months to complete.  Emergency rules are necessary to
respond promptly to the collection of fees while permanent
rules are being developed.

Under the authority vested in the Department of
Corrections by ss. 227.11 (2) and 301.45 (10), Stats., the
Department of Corrections hereby creates rules relating to the
establishment of a sex offender registration fee to partially
offset the costs of monitoring persons on probation, parole, or
extended supervision, as follows:

PLAIN LANGUAGE ANALYSIS:
Statutory authority: s. 227.11 (2) and 301.45 (10), Stats.
Statutes interpreted: s. 301.45(10), Stats.
The rule establishes an annual fee to partially offset the

costs of monitoring persons who are on probation, parole, or
extended supervision.   Generally, the department has
interpreted that all individuals who are subject to it
supervision whether incarcerated or on probation, parole, or
extended supervision, are under its custody.  Because of the
statutory language which seems to distinguish between those
“in custody” and those on probation, parole, or extended
supervision, the department has defined the term “custody”
and used the terms “offender” and “inmate” to describe the
individuals who are subject to this fee.  The department has set
the annual fee at $50.00.  The department also has established
procedures for the collection and recording of the registration
fee, as well as procedures for the failure of payment by an
inmate or offender.

SECTION 1. Section DOC 332.19 is created to read:
DOC 332.19 Sex offender registration fee.
(1) APPLICABILITY.  A person who is required to register

as a sex offender under s. 301.45, Stats., and who is in the
department’s custody or who is on probation, parole, or
extended supervision shall be charged a registration fee to
partially offset the costs of monitoring offenders.

(2) DEFINITIONS.
(a) “Custody” means being under the authority of the

department as an inmate, a probationer, parolee, or person
subject to extended supervision under s. 302.113, Stats.

(b) “Offender” means a person on probation, parole, or
extended supervision under s. 302.113, Stats.

(3) FEE. The sex offender registration fee shall be $50.00
on an annual basis.

(4) RECORDING OF REGISTRATION FEE.  With
reference to the sex offender registration fee under sub. (3),
the department shall do the following:

(a) Record all registration fees paid by an inmate or
offender.

(b) Provide the inmate or offender access to a copy of the
record of payments to verify receipt of payments.

(c) Advise the inmate or offender of nonpayment of
registration fees.

(d) Audit the record of payment of registration fees.
(5) COLLECTION OF REGISTRATION FEE. In

collecting the sex offender  registration fee, all of the
following shall occur:

(a) The department shall do the following:
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1. Establish a registration fee payment schedule including
all of the following:

a. A grace period for the initial registration fee payment.
b. A deadline for payment for each subsequent year of

registration.
2. Approve procedures for the collection of registration

fees.
3. Provide the inmate or offender with a copy of the sex

offender registration fee payment procedures.
4. Credit those moneys collected to the appropriation

account under s. 20.410 (1) (gd), Stats.
(b) The inmate or offender shall pay the sex offender

registration fee to the department according to the procedures
established by the department.

(6) DEPARTMENT ACTION WHEN AN INMATE OR
OFFENDER FAILS TO PAY REGISTRATION FEE.  The
department may use any of the following actions in any order
when an inmate or offender fails to pay the sex offender
registration fee:

(a) Counseling.
(b) Wage assignment.
(c) Review of supervision or custody level to determine if

more restrictive sanctions are needed, including an increase
in the level of supervision, increase in the security level of
custody, or electronic monitoring or detention in a jail,
correctional facility or house of corrections for those on
probation, parole or extended supervision.

(d) Issue a recommendation for revocation of parole,
probation or extended supervision for an offender’s willful
failure to pay the sex offender registration fee.

(e) Any other appropriate means of obtaining the sex
offender registration fee.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The Department of Corrections has determined that the

rule will not have a significant economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses since the rule does not
regulate small businesses as that term is defined in s. 227.114,
Stats.

Contact Person
Paper copies of the rule and the fiscal estimate may be

obtained without cost from Kathryn Anderson, DOC, P.O.
Box 7925, Madison, WI 53707−7925, telephone (608)
240−5049, email kathryn.anderson@doc.state.wi.us or by
direct link:

http://www.wi−doc.comEmer_RuleDOC332_19.htm.
Copies will also be available at the public hearings.

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board

[CR 06−054]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5)
(b) and 227.11 (2), Stats., and interpreting s. 457.12 (4),
Stats., the Professional Counselor Section of the Marriage and
Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work
Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to amend s. MPSW

11.02, relating to required examinations for licensure as a
professional counselor.
Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: August 1, 2006
Time: 1:15 p.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing:
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by August 1,
2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing.

Statutes interpreted:  Section 457.12 (4), Stats.
Statutory authority:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and

457.03 (3), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:  Under s. 457.03, Stats.,

the Professional Counselor Section is charged with
establishing examination requirements for becoming a
licensed professional counselor.  The section has determined
that the National Counselor Mental Health Certification
Examination is an additional examination that adequately
measures competency and is therefore seeking to amend its
rule to include it.  Furthermore, the section is seeking the
authority to review other examinations that applicants may
have taken in order to determine whether those too adequately
measure competency.

Related statute or rule:  There are no related statutes or rules
other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:  This proposed rule−making order
will permit applicants for licensure as professional counselors
to take and pass examinations that would demonstrate their
professional competency.  Currently, either the National
Counselor Examination or the Certified Rehabilitation
Counselor Examination is required for licensure.  This
proposal would give applicants an additional option of being
able to take the National Counselor Mental Health
Certification Examination.  It would also permit the section to
approve another examination that it deems to be equivalent to
the other three.  As a result, the proposed change would permit
applicants who take and successfully pass one of three
examinations or an equivalent one approved by the section to
become eligible for licensure as a professional counselor.

This amendment will provide greater flexibility to
applicants while maintaining protection of the public.
Presently, those individuals who take and pass the National
Counselor Mental Health Certification Examination must
also take and pass the National Counselor Examination in
order to be eligible for licensure as a Wisconsin professional
counselor, thereby resulting in an unnecessary barrier to
licensure.

SECTION 1 amends the existing rule to include the
National Counselor Mental Health Certification Examination
and also permits the section to accept additional examinations
that it deems to be equivalent to the other ones.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation:
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There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The Professional Counselor Section is amending its rules
based on the section’s professional experience for
requirements for licensure.  A review of surrounding state
licensure supports the section’s proposal.  Iowa allows
passage of the NCMHCE and Minnesota allows for passage
of examinations determined equivalent by their board.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report:

There are no supporting documents determining effect on
small business.  The rules change does not affect small
business as it does not place any additional regulatory
requirements for attaining professional counseling licensure.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires as “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Fiscal estimate

The Department of Regulation and Licensing estimates
that this rule will require time in the Division of Professional
Credentialing.  The total staff salary and fringe is estimated at
$57.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Effect on small business:

These proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency contact

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and
Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission:

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal
Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box
8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.  Email
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before August 1, 2006, to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1.  MPSW 11.02 is amended to read:

MPSW 11.02 Examination required.  An applicant for
licensure as a professional counselor shall pass both parts of
the examination required under s. 457.12 (4), Stats.,
consisting of take and pass the Wisconsin statutes and rules
examination, and either one of the national counselor
examination or the certified rehabilitation counselor
examination following:  the National Counselor
Examination, the National Counselor Mental Health
Certification Examination, the Certified Rehabilitation
Counselor examination, or another examination approved by
the section.  Both parts of the examination may be taken prior

to the completion of the required period of supervised
practice.

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board

[CR 06−055]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5)
(b), 227.11 (2) and 457.03 (1), Stats., and interpreting
s. 457.035, Stats., the Professional Counselor Section of the
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and
Social Work Examining Board will hold a public hearing at
the time and place indicated below to consider an order to
repeal s. MPSW 13.01, relating to psychotherapeutic
counseling by professional counselors.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: August 1, 2006
Time: 1:15 p.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by August 1,
2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted:  Section 457.035, Stats.
Statutory authority:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and

457.03 (1), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:
Under s. 457.035, Wis. Stats., the Professional Counselor

Section may promulgate rules regarding psychotherapy.  The
section did so and is now seeking to repeal its previously
promulgated rule because it has determined that it is
unnecessary.  Currently, licensed professional counselors are
able to practice independently, without supervision.  If the
existing provision is implemented, it will require certain
practitioners to obtain supervision or will require them to
meet additional requirements.

Related statute or rule:
There are no related statutes or rules other than those listed

above.
Plain language analysis:
Currently, the independent practice of psychotherapy is

within the scope of practice for licensed professional
counselors.  Repeal of the rule would preserve existing policy.
Unless repealed, s. MPSW 13.01 will become effective and
require professional counselors to work under supervision if
they are providing psychotherapy but have not completed the
requirements for independent practice.
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Because there have not been complaints under the status
quo, the Professional Counselor Section believes that the
implementation of this provision is unnecessary and will in no
way harm the public.  Additionally, if implemented, an undue
burden will be placed on licensees as they would be required
to take an additional examination, and provide evidence of
their clinical practice and academic coursework.

SECTION 1 repeals s. MPSW 13.01 thereby eliminating
the requirements for professional counselors who provide
psychotherapy.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation:

There is no applicable existing federal regulation.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
Illinois:
Illinois has two statutory levels of licensure for

professional counselors, including both licensed professional
counselors and clinical professional counselors.

Iowa:
Iowa does not license professional counselors as a

profession, but instead issues licenses to Mental Health
Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists.  In Iowa,
there is only one level of licensure and no separate clinical
level.

Michigan:
Michigan appears to have two levels of licensure, including

a limited professional counselor license available to
individuals with a bachelor’s degree and 5 years experience
and a professional counselor license.  However, the
professional counselor license does not have a clinical
component or level.

Minnesota:
Minnesota issues licenses to professional counselors, but

does not have a clinical level credential.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The section is proposing to amend its rules based on the

professional experience of its members.  There is no factual
analysis available to support or oppose this proposal.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report:

The proposed rule change, if enacted on or before January
1, 2007, will have no effect on existing small business.  The
rule change repeals an administrative rule with an initial
effective date of January 1, 2007, thereby preserving the
status quo.

After January 1, 2007, s. MPSW 13.01 (the existing rule)
will become effective, limiting the scope of practice of
existing licensees unless they apply for a certification through
the Department of Regulation and Licensing.  This proposed
rule change, if enacted after January, 2007, will eliminate the
need for an additional certification, and in the section’s
opinion, relieve an undue burden on professional counselors
who may wish to practice independently.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Fiscal estimate
The department finds that the proposed rule will have no

significant fiscal impact.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Effect on small business
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency contact person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Written comments
Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,

Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal
Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box
8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.  Email
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before August 1, 2006, to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE
SECTION 1.  MPSW 13.01 is repealed.

Notice of Hearings
Natural Resources

(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 29.014

and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., interpreting ss. 29.014 and 29.041,
Stats., the Department of Natural Resources will hold public
hearings on revisions to ch. NR 10, Wis. Adm. Code, relating
to the 2006 migratory game bird seasons and waterfowl
hunting zones.  The proposed rule establishes the season
length and bag limits for the 2006 Wisconsin migratory game
bird seasons.  For ducks, the state is divided into two zones
each with 60−day seasons.  The season is proposed to begin
at 9:00 a.m. on September 23 and continue for 60 consecutive
days in the north, closing on November 21.  In the south, the
season would begin at 9:00 a.m. on September 30 and
continue through October 8, followed by a 5−day split, and
then reopening on October 14 and continuing through
December 3.  The daily bag limit is 6 ducks including no more
than 4 mallards, of which only one may be a hen, one black
duck, one pintail, one canvasback (from October 14 to
November 12 statewide), 2 wood ducks, 2 redheads and 2
scaup.

For Canada geese, the state is apportioned in 3 goose
hunting zones with other special goose management subzones
within the Exterior Zone.  Season lengths are:  Collins Zone
– 64 days; Horicon Zone – 92 days; Exterior Zone – 92 days;
and the Mississippi River subzone – 70 days.  The Burnett
County subzone is closed to Canada goose hunting.  The
statewide daily bag limit for Canada geese is the Horicon and
Collins Zones is 2 birds per day during the open seasons
within each zone.  In the Exterior Zone and its subzones, the
daily bag limit will be one bird per day from September 16 to
October 1 and 2 birds per day for the remainder of the season.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that in addition
to comments on the proposed season lengths and bag limits,
the Department is seeking public input regarding proposals
(1) for the opening time for the first day of the 2006 duck
seasons; (2) to eliminate the Canada goose Horicon Intensive
Management subzone adjacent to the Horicon National
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Wildlife Refuge; and (3) establishing a new North/South zone
boundary for Wisconsin’s duck zones for the 2006−2010
period.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have an economic impact on small businesses.  The
Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be
contacted at SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by calling
(608) 266−1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

August 7, 2006 Basement conference room
  (Monday) County Administration Building

400 4th Street North
La Crosse  at 7:00 p.m.

August 8, 2006 Room A, DNR Service Center
  (Tuesday) 107 Sutliff Avenue

Rhinelander  at 7:00 p.m.

August 9, 2006 Room 310, Green Bay City Hall
  (Wednesday) 100 N. Jefferson Street

Green Bay  at 7:00 p.m.

August 10, 2006 Main conference room
  (Thursday) State Office Building

141 NW Barstow Street
Waukesha  at 7:00 p.m.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of information
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Ms. Kim Benton at (608) 261−6458 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

Written Comments and Copy of Rule

The proposed rule and supporting documents, including
the fiscal estimate may be viewed and downloaded and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  (Search this website
using the Natural Resources Board Order No. WM−26−06.)
Written comments on the proposed rule may be submitted via
U.S. mail to Ms. Kim Benton, Bureau of Wildlife
Management, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707.
Comments may be submitted until August 10, 2006.  Written
comments whether submitted electronically or by U.S. mail
will have the same weight and effect as oral statements
presented at the public hearings.  If you do not have Internet
access, a personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal
estimate may be obtained from Ms. Benton.

Notice of Hearing
Public Service Commission

[CR 06−067]
The Public Service Commission of Wisconsin proposes an

order to revise ch. PSC 160, relating to the provision of
universal telecommunications service, administration of the
universal service fund and related changes.

The Commission invites testimony and written comments
about all of the proposed rule changes, and also about:

� Whether changes concerning Eligible
Telecommunications Carrier (ETC) status are necessary or
desirable pursuant to changes made to the federal ETC
requirements by the Federal Communications Commission
(FCC).1

1See, In Re:  Federal−State Joint Board on Universal Service, “Report
and Order,” CC Docket No. 96−45; FCC 05−46, issued March 17, 2005.  The
Report and Order adopted certain recommendations made by the
Federal−State Joint Board on Universal Service regarding minimum
eligibility, certification, and reporting requirements for carriers wanting to be
designated as an ETC by the FCC. The Report and Order encouraged states
exercising jurisdiction over ETC designations pursuant to 47 U.S.C. § 214
(e) (2), to adopt the same requirements.  In addition, the Report and Order
permits states to extend generally applicable consumer protection
requirements to all ETCs, including wireless carriers.

� Whether assessment of wireless providers should be
resumed.

� Whether changes should be made to Wis. Admin. Code
ss. PSC 160.031 and 160.035 to update the data transmission
capability requirement.  Possible approaches could be:

� Making no changes to the section.
� Raising the speed requirement for all voice grade lines to

some other number, such as 28 kbs, or 56 kbps.
� Other options, such as allowing for the use of other,

non−voice grade services to meet the requirement, allowing
partnering with other providers, allowing phase−in periods or
applying the requirement to a certain percentage of
customers, allowing waivers if the company can demonstrate
that meeting the requirement will not be profitable, or using
Universal Service Fund (USF) money to allow companies to
meet the requirement.   These options are further described in
the Commission Information Memo on Data Transmission.2

2 The Commission Information Memo is dated November 2, 2005, and
is available on the Commission website, psc.wi.gov, under
Telecommunications Major Cases.

Analysis Prepared by the Public Service Commission of
Wisconsin

The analysis is set forth as Attachment A.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Existing USF rules may have an effect on small
telecommunications utilities, which are small businesses
under s. 196.216, Stats., for the purposes of s. 227.114, Stats.
These small telecommunications utilities, like other
telecommunications providers (both large and small), have
obligations under the USF, including an obligation for
payments to the USF.  Additionally, this rule continues to
allow the USF assessment of commercial mobile radio service
(CMRS) providers, although the assessment has been
suspended by the Commission pending the promulgation of
this rule.  The Commission may or may not end the
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suspension.  Other requirements in the rule only apply to
CMRS providers who voluntarily choose to become
designated as eligible telecommunications carriers.  Since the
Commission does not regulate CMRS providers, its does not
have records indicating how many of them are small
businesses.

These proposed rules should have no particular impact on
small businesses.  The Commission already has established,
in s. PSC 160.18 (1), an exemption from fund assessments to
protect entry by and continued operation of small
telecommunications providers as directed by statutory
objectives.  In s. PSC 160.01 (2) (b), the existing rules allow
the Commission to give individual consideration to unusual
situations and to adopt different requirements for particular
telecommunications providers.  Small businesses can request
that the Commission provide an exception to a rule
requirement.  There are no new reporting or bookkeeping
requirements created under these proposed rules.

The agency has considered the methods in s. 227.114 (2),
Stats., for reducing the impact of the rules on small
businesses.  Accordingly, the agency has included provisions
for exemption from assessments for small providers, and
allowing requests for consideration of unusual circumstances,
as noted above.  Further application of these methods is not
consistent with statutory objectives.

Fiscal Estimate
These rule changes have no fiscal impact.  There is also no

financial impact on the private sector.

Notice of Hearing
NOTICE IS GIVEN that pursuant to s. 227.16 (2) (b),

Stats., the Commission will hold a public hearing on these
proposed rule changes in the Amnicon Falls Hearing Room at
the Public Service Commission Building, 610 North Whitney
Way, Madison, Wisconsin, on Friday, July 14, 2006, at 9:30
a.m.  This building is accessible to people in wheelchairs
through the Whitney Way (lobby) entrance.  Handicapped
parking is available on the south side of the building.

Written Comments
Any person may submit written comments on these

proposed rules.  The hearing record will be open for written
comments from the public, effective immediately, and until
Friday, July 28, 2006, at noon (Thursday, July 27, 2006, at
noon, if filed by fax).  All written comments must include a
reference on the filing to docket 1−AC−198.  File by one mode
only.

Industry:  File comments using the Electronic Regulatory
Filing system.  This may be accessed from the Commission’s
website psc.wi.gov.

Members of the Public:
If filing electronically:  Use the Public Comments system

or the Electronic Regulatory Filing system.  Both of these may
be accessed from the Commission’s website psc.wi.gov.

If filing by mail, courier, or hand delivery:  Address as
shown in the box on page 1.

If filing by fax:  Send fax comments to (608) 266−3957.
Fax filing cover sheet MUST state “Official Filing,” the
docket number 1−AC−198, and the number of pages (limited
to 25 pages for fax comments).

Contact Person
Questions regarding this matter should be directed to Anita

Sprenger, Universal Service Fund Manager at (608)
266−3843.  Small business questions may be directed to Gary
Evenson at (608) 266−6744 or Gary.Evenson@psc.
state.wi.us.  Media questions should be directed to Linda

Barth, Director of Governmental and Public Affairs at (608)
266−9600.  Hearing or speech−impaired individuals may also
use the Commission’s TTY number, if calling from
Wisconsin (800) 251−8345, if calling from outside Wisconsin
(608) 267−1479.

The Commission does not discriminate on the basis of
disability in the provision of programs, services, or
employment.  Any person with a disability who needs
accommodations to participate in this proceeding or who
needs to get this document in a different format should contact
Anita Sprenger, as indicated in the previous paragraph, as
soon as possible.

Analysis Prepared by the Public Service Commission of
Wisconsin

Statutory authority:  ss. 196.02 (3), 196.218 (5m), and
227.11 (2), Stats.

Statute interpreted:  196.218, Stats.

Objective of the Rule
The objective of this rulemaking is to revise the existing ch.

PSC 160, Universal Service Support Funding and Programs.
These rules were originally created in 1996, then revised in
2000.  Minor changes are also made to Wis. Admin. Code chs.
161, 165, and 171.  In the proposed rule, the Commission
revises existing Universal Service programs that provide
access to telecommunications service to all Wisconsin
customers regardless of geographic location, income or
disability, and to assist in the deployment of advanced
services in all areas of the state.  In this same chapter, are
revisions to the mechanism for funding those programs and
for administering the Universal Service Fund (USF).

The Commission is proposing the following revisions to its
universal service rules to reflect its experience with
administering and operating the programs included in this
proposed rule.  The revisions also reflect the evolution of the
telecommunications market and telecommunications
technology in Wisconsin, and also ensure that state universal
service programs do not conflict with new federal programs
and rules.

In preparation of these proposed rules, Commission staff
worked closely with the Universal Service Fund Council
(USFC).  The USFC submitted its recommendations on rule
changes to the Commission in January 2002.  Since then, staff
continued revising various sections of the rule.  Many of the
changes were minor and editorial, but some were substantive.
On August 30, 2004, the USFC approved a revised draft of the
rules that incorporated all of the changes staff had proposed
to that point.  Only a few changes to the proposed rule have
been made since the USFC approved the draft in August 2004.
Those sections are noted in the analysis below.

Statutory Authority to Promulgate the Proposed Rule
Section 196.218, Stats., defines and authorizes the USF.

Specifically, s. 196.218 (5m), Stats., requires the
Commission to periodically review and revise, as appropriate,
the universal service rules.

Section−by−Section Analysis of the Proposed Revisions
A number of non−substantive changes have been made to

update language to current drafting style.  For example, uses
of “shall not” have been changed to “may not.”

PSC 160.01  Scope and Purpose
The only change is to the reference regarding services to

programs since this chapter focuses on universal service
programs.

PSC 160.02  Definitions
The modifications reflect updates in statutes and rules.  The

definition of “institutions” is removed since the institutions
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program no longer exists.  A definition for “pay−per−call
service” has been added as defined in statute.  Cognitive
impairment has been added to the definition of disability to
address the needs of those individuals with cognitive
impairments that need specialized telecommunications
equipment to have access to essential telecommunications
services.  SeniorCare under s. 49.688, Stats., has been added
as a program that enables a household to be defined as
low−income.  This will enable many of the senior citizens that
currently qualify under the Wisconsin Homestead Tax Credit
eligibility criteria to now qualify under SeniorCare.  The
verification process for SeniorCare is simpler and more
efficient than the verification process for Homestead Tax
Credit.  The definition of “two−line hearing carryover” has
been added.

PSC 160.03  Essential Telecommunications Services
Single party revertive calling is deleted from the list of

essential telecommunication services with regard to the USF
because it is already included as a basic utility obligation
under Wis. Admin. Code s. PSC 165.081 (6).  The description
of toll blocking is changed so that rather than repeating the
requirement here, it refers to the section of the rule relating to
toll blocking.

The USFC recommended deleting the directory listing and
annual directory distribution requirements from the list of
essential services because at the time this was decided,
another rulemaking would have made these sections
redundant.  That rule is not through the promulgation process,
so the recommended changes to this rule have not been
included in this rulemaking.  They can be included in the next
review of these rules.

PSC 160.035  Advanced Service Capabilities
This authorizes the Commission to use universal service

support to enable a provider to use other sources, such as small
diameter satellite dish system companies, to provide an
equivalent to an advanced service when it is not reasonable to
require a provider to offer a given advanced service capability.

PSC 160.04  Toll Blocking
The proposed revisions for this section include blocking of

all pay−for−service calls, rather than specifying 900 and 976
calls as the current rule does.  Clarification concerning the
blocking of collect and certain other calls is added.

PSC 160.05  Universal Service Fund Programs

Reference to the “assistance to institutions” program is
eliminated since this program no longer exists.  Intralata toll
provider of last resort is removed from the program list since
the section it refers to is being deleted.  Two−line voice
carryover was expanded to also include two−line hearing
carryover.

PSC 160.06  Eligibility for Low−Income Programs

This section is updated to expand eligibility to those who
qualify for federal USF support as residents of tribal lands.

PSC 160.061 (1)
Changes to this section allow residences with more than

one telephone line to qualify for LinkUp for one of the lines.
(Currently residences with more than one line are not eligible
for any LinkUp assistance.)  This modification allows more
flexibility for participants in the program, particularly in
situations where a separate telephone line is needed by a
low−income resident of a household where multiple families
or unrelated roommates share an address.  With this change,
the rule would be consistent with the Federal
Communications Commission (FCC) rule which now allows
Lifeline to cover one line in residences with more than one
line.

PSC 160.061 (5)
Language is added to clarify when a customer becomes

eligible for LinkUp benefits, if eligibility cannot be verified
at the time the service order is issued.  Specifically, a provision
is added relating to customers who are eligible for federal
universal service fund support as residents of tribal lands.

PSC 160.061 (6)
This change corrects an anomaly that could result in certain

eligible telecommunications carriers (ETCs) receiving less
USF support for LinkUp than non−ETCs with the same
charges.  This is due to the interplay between state and federal
USF support for ETCs.  This rule revision ensures that ETCs
and non−ETCs receive the same total amount of USF support
for LinkUp.

PSC 160.061 (7)
This section is added so that local service providers file

timely requests for reimbursements and so charges to the
universal fund cannot be accumulated over several years.

PSC 160.062 (1), (2) and (3)
The first change in this section clarifies the intent to have

providers offer a lifeline discount on any rate or package the
customer chooses.  This change would enable customers to
select the local rate or service package that will best meet the
needs of their household and have the lifeline discount
package applied to that rate or package.

The second change in this section enables residences with
more than one line to potentially qualify for Lifeline for one
of the lines.  This allows more flexibility for the program
particularly in situations where a separate telephone line is
needed by a low−income resident of a household where
multiple families or unrelated roommates share an address.
This is consistent with the FCC rule, which now allows
Lifeline to cover one line in residences with more than one
line.

PSC 160.062 (4) (Changes in this section were made after
the Council approved the draft rules)

The changes to this section clarify how to determine what
the lifeline discount will be under several scenarios.  This
section is added because of the changing telecommunications
market where many customers purchase local service as part
of a larger telecommunications service package and it can be
unclear as to how to determine what level lifeline discount to
apply.

This section also addresses when and how a commercial
mobile radio (wireless) service provider establishes its
lifeline base rate, from which the monthly lifeline rate
adjustment is calculated.

PSC 160.062 (5) (Changes in this section were made after
the Council approved the draft rules)

This section includes changes in how the reimbursement
level for providers is determined in certain situations, so that
changes at the federal level can be accommodated without
Commission action.  Generally, state USF dollars are not
affected, and this change will allow the federal contribution
to the lifeline adjustment to be provided to customers
automatically.  The current rules require an exception from
the Commission before providers can increase Lifeline
credits in order to match FCC ordered increases in the federal
Subscriber Line Charge – even when the FCC increases its
reimbursements to cover those increases.  Finally, this section
changes the calculation of lifeline adjustments.

PSC 160.062 (6)
This section adds provisions related to customers who are

eligible for federal USF support as residents of tribal lands.
PSC 160.062 (9) (Changes in this section were made after

the Council approved the draft rules)
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This section adds provisions that require customer
notification before ending lifeline assistance.  This gives
customers who no longer qualify as low−income under one
criteria, but who still qualify under a different criteria, time to
show that they qualify under that different criteria.  These
changes are based on changes adopted by the FCC.

PSC 160.062 (11)
This section is added so that local service providers file

timely requests for reimbursements and so charges to the
universal fund are not able to accumulate over several years.

PSC 160.063
In this section, the program is changed from a Request for

Proposal (RFP) process to a biennial grant program.  Offering
the grant program will be determined by availability of
funding.  The grant program will be managed similarly to the
other two grant programs in PSC 160, except that this program
would be offered biennially.  This will simplify the process for
this program and will enable organizations that are focused on
serving low−income customers to more easily apply for
funding.

PSC 163.07
The requirement for a written medical description of

special needs has been changed to allow such descriptions to
be prepared by medical professionals rather than just by
doctors.  This change makes the language consistent with
similar provisions elsewhere in the rules.

PSC 160.071
Service and Equipment Pricing for Individuals with

Special Needs
Some minor editing changes and minor rule changes are

made to improve program operation such as requiring eligible
equipment lists and identifying processes to modify that list
and to handle objections to the equipment lists and eligibility
determinations.  Specific program changes are discussed
below.

PSC 160.071 (1) (b)
The voucher amount for the hard of hearing category is

reduced from $200 to $125.  This change reflects a
determination made by the Commission on September 23,
2004, to reduce the hard of hearing voucher to $125 because
the Telecommunications Equipment Purchase Program
(TEPP) exceeded its budget in FY04 and FY05.

The Commission based its decision to reduce the voucher
maximum for the hard of hearing category on program data
from the previous two fiscal years.  If program changes were
not made and the rate at which the program was growing
continued at the pace it was in September 2004, the projected
program expenditure was over $4 million while the program
budget was $2.3 million.  The hard of hearing disability
category had experienced the most growth seeing more than
a doubling of applications over two years (from 4,110
applications in FY 2003 to 8,274 in FY 2004).

PSC 160.071 (1) (c)
This section is amended to enable low−income speech,

mobility or motion impaired voucher recipients to be exempt
from the $100 co−payment if they are able to certify that they
meet the income requirements of the telecommunications
assistance program (TAP), which provides the co−payment
for low−income hard of hearing or deaf voucher recipients.
In the past, low−income disabled voucher recipients that are
speech, motion, or mobility impaired had no program for
assistance in paying the $100 co−payment that is required
under the TEPP.  This has been a barrier for some disabled
individuals in obtaining the equipment needed to use the
telecommunication system.  The number of low−income
disabled individuals that would qualify for waiving the $100

co−pay requirement is expected to be small and not expected
to significantly affect the TEPP budget.

PSC 160.071 (1) (i)
The addition will the give the Commission the ability to

impose consequences on vendors that abuse these programs.
PSC 160.071 (1) (k) 2. and 3.
These additions explicitly allow the purchase of a personal

computer under the TEPP to serve as telecommunications
equipment for individuals that have a medical statement
indicating that such equipment is necessary for that individual
to access telecommunications services.

PSC 160.071 (2)
This section deals with leasing specialized customer

premises equipment for persons with disabilities.  The only
change is to make the program optional.  While this is a very
rarely used option, retaining the concept in the rule will
provide flexibility to both providers and customers.

PSC 160.071 (3)
This section is significantly changed to reflect profound

changes in the long distance sector of the telecommunications
industry.  The existing rule requires long distance companies
to provide a discount to eligible disabled customers based on
the formerly prevalent time−of−day rate discount schedules.
These discounts are now outdated because options for long
distance providers services and rates have changed with the
advent of competition in long distance markets.  The draft rule
includes language changes to the required discount program
so that it is optional for providers to provide the discount and
provides the opportunity for providers to be reimbursed for
the discount if certain conditions are met.  The basis for
providing TTY users with a discount is that for the same
“conversation,” a TTY user’s telephone call lasts many times
longer than a non−TTY user’s telephone call.  This discount
helps bring TTY users’ long distance costs closer to those of
non−TTY users.  For providers to be reimbursed, they must
offer a discount program that results in a minimum of a 35
percent discount.  Three options are included in the rule for
how providers are able to offer discounts to TTY users.  This
allows flexibility for providers to choose how they can best
offer a discount program to these customers within the
constraints of their established billing systems.

PSC 160.071 (4)
This section of the rule relates to discounted wireless

service and is similar in intent to the section above.  Offering
the discount to special needs customers is also optional.  The
only difference is that in this subsection the discount is applied
to the total wireless bill.

PSC 160.071 (7) (b)
The section has two changes.  First, this section enables

speech impaired customers to receive, without charge,
two−line hearing carryover services.  This includes intrastate
nonrecurring charges or the monthly rate for the second line.
Second, a requirement for timely filing of reimbursement
requests is added.

PSC 160.073  Public interest pay telephone
The section under par. (3) is added to ensure that when a

provider has approval for installation of a new public interest
pay telephone, that the telephone is installed in a reasonable
timeframe.

The sections under (4) (d) through (g) and (5) (g) are added
to further define where public interest pay telephones may or
may not be located and places requirements on the operation
of those telephones.  The section under (6) was amended to
clarify the level of detail required in financial records that
public interest pay telephone providers must keep.  The
section under (7) was changed to allow more flexibility in



Page 26 June 30, 2006WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 606

reporting and the section under (8) (d) was added so that
public interest pay telephones are labeled as such.

The section under (9) is added to explicitly provide that the
Commission may suspend or reduce payment to providers if
there are problems with the operation of the public interest
pay telephone.

PSC 160.09  High rate assistance credits
The revised rule clarifies how often the high rate assistance

credits need to be calculated and defines how the average
price of a one−minute intrastate toll call can be determined.
It also eliminates the reference to Wisconsin Department of
Workforce as the source for median household income since
it does not publish such a number.  Instead the revised rule
references the figure published by the U. S. Census Bureau or
as determined by the Commission.  If the Commission
determines this figure, there will be an opportunity for public
comment.

This section also addresses when and how a commercial
mobile radio (wireless) service provider’s method of
calculating high rate assistance credits will be established.
Further, it adds certain FCC authorized charges to the pool of
charges that are considered when determining whether a
credit is owed.

A requirement for timely filing for reimbursement requests
is also added.

PSC 160.092  Alternative universal service protection
plans (Changes in this section were made after the Council
approved the draft rules)

This section is amended to add plans to ensure interlata and
intralata toll service, and other measures approved by the
Commission to protect universal service, to the list of
alternative plans that may be implemented.  The existing
“intralata toll provider of last resort” section is being deleted
from the rule.  This amendment allows the Commission to
establish a similar (but experimental and limited) program
should it become necessary in the future.  Such a plan can only
be implemented after notice and opportunity for hearing.

PSC 160.10  Rate shock mitigation
A requirement for timely filing for reimbursement requests

is added to this section.
PSC 160.11  Assistance to institutions
The section of the rule for the institutional discount

program is eliminated.  This program was replaced by
TEACH, now know as the Educational Telecommunications
Access Program.  The existing rule allowed continued
funding until October 29, 2002, for institutions already in the
program.  However, as of the beginning of FY2002, no
institutions remained in the program.

PSC 160.115
Medical telecommunications equipment program.  The

term “medical clinic” is clarified to include clinics and
hospitals.

This section now includes the terms “directly or indirectly”
to clarify that applications, such as those for equipment that
improves the efficiency of the medical clinic and so improve
patient health care, are eligible for this grant program.

This section changes “will” to “may” in par. (5)(c) since it
may be premature for some applicants to have selected their
final vendor when applications are filed.

PSC 160.125 (2)  Funding to promote access to
telecommunications services.

While funding for the projects is provided on a fiscal year
basis, this section is changed so that more than one year of
funding may be approved when the Commission is awarding
grants.  This gives flexibility to the Commission to approve

multi−year projects if it determines that the success of the
program is dependant upon multi−year funding.

Dates for when applications are submitted and awarded are
eliminated to give the Commission more flexibility and to
recognize that the biennial budget needs to be approved prior
to awarding grants.

The matching fund requirement of grant applicants is
reduced from 50 percent to 25 percent.  With a less stringent
matching requirement, more applicants will be able to apply
for the grants.  Language is also added to clarify that in−kind
goods or services may be used to meet the grant matching
requirement.

PSC 160.13  Designation of eligible telecommunication
carriers (Changes in this section were made after the Council
approved the draft rules)

A change is made to (1) (a) to clarify that commercial
mobile radio service providers can be designated as eligible
telecommunication carriers (ERCs).  Section (1) (e) is created
to merge the existing pay telephone requirements in Wis.
Admin. Code chs. PSC 160 and PSC 165.  It also allows
multiple ETCs to share in the provision of the required pay
telephone.

A change was also made to the section defining the territory
for which a provider is designated as an ETC.  It is changed
to indicate that in a non−rural territory the area may not be
smaller than a wire center.  For rural companies it is changed
to indicate that it cannot include only a portion of a wire
center.  These changes are made to conform with FCC orders.

PSC 160.14  Intralata toll service provider of last resort
This section is deleted.  This issue is dealt with in the

amendment to PSC 160.092.
PSC 160.15  Identification of charges
This section is amended to conform with existing law

concerning identification of the portion of local exchange
rates that are for recovery of certain mandatory USF
contributions.  A new provision is also created stating that
adjustments to local exchange rates made more than four
months after a new USF assessment rate goes into effect will
not be considered to be for the purpose of recovering
contributions to the USF.  This provision precludes a company
from representing on customer bills that a rate adjustment is
due to an increase in its USF assessment if the rate increase
occurs too long after the actual change in assessment.

PSC 160.17  Fund budget and assessment rates.
A requirement is added that, like it does with the

department of administration and the TEACH program, the
Commission must consult with the department of public
instruction (DPI) before determining the amount budgeted for
certain programs DPI administers.

PSC 160.18  Collection of universal service fund monies
The language that established the procedure for the (now

passed) initial USF assessment of commercial mobile radio
service providers is deleted.

Clarification is added regarding the procedure for
objecting to an assessment and how assessment collections
will be “trued up” from year to year as customer numbers and
company revenues change.

PSC 160.19  Universal Service Fund Council
The requirement for institutional representatives on the

USFC has been removed.  This was a vestige of the time when
the universal service fund rules included an “aid to
institutions” program.

Changes to rules other than PSC 160
PSC 161.05 (4)
This provision is deleted because the rule section it

references is being repealed,
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PSC 165.043 (4)
This provision is amended to add a requirement that notice

be provided to customers, in situations where line power is not
provided to the network interface device, that service may be
affected if there is a power failure.  Historically, customers
that have their telephone line through telephone wiring in a
home are accustomed to telephones functioning even if there
is a commercial power outage.  This addition would provide
notice to those customers that loss of electric power may also
affect telephone service.  While in early rule drafts this was
located in the list of “essential services” in s. PSC 160.03(2),
it was decided that it made more sense to locate this in the
consumer protection rules.

PSC 165.088
This provision is being deleted.  The issue is dealt with

through PSC 160.13 (1) (e).
PSC 171.06 (1)
This provision is amended to clarify that cable television

telecommunications service providers are subject to s.
196.218, Stats.  This updates the provision to conform with
existing law.

Comparison with Existing or Proposed Federal
Regulations

There is both a state USF and a federal USF.  The state and
federal funds and programs are complementary rather than
duplicative.

“Eligible Telecommunications Carriers” (ETCs) are
designated by the Commission and are, thereafter, eligible for
funding from the federal USF and for certain funding from the
state USF.  ETC status was created by the FCC, and codified
in 47 U.S.C. § 214 (e) (2).  Under FCC rules, the state
Commissions are required to designate providers as ETCs.3

Designation as an ETC is required if a provider is to receive
federal USF funding.  ETC designation is also required to
receive funding from some, but not all, state universal service
programs. The FCC established a set of minimum criteria that
all ETCs must meet.  These are codified in the federal rules.4

The 1996 Telecommunications Act states that “States may
adopt regulations not inconsistent with the Commission’s
rules to preserve and advance universal service.”5  A court
upheld the states’ right to impose additional conditions on
ETCs in Texas Office of Public Utility Counsel v. FCC, 183
F.3d 393, 418 (5th Cir. 1999).  Therefore, while states must
examine the federal requirements, they are allowed to create
additional requirements. Wisconsin has done so.  The
Commission’s requirements for ETC designation clarify and
expand upon the more basic FCC rules.

The federal USF provides funding to ETCs that are found
to serve high−cost areas.  That funding is to be used to help
cover the costs of expanding infrastructure into those areas.
Doing so should help ensure that rates in those areas stay
lower since rates need not provide the funds for that
expansion.  The Wisconsin USF provides funding to
providers with high rates for credits provided to customers.
The federal USF also includes lifeline and link−up programs.
The Wisconsin Lifeline and Link−Up programs are structured
to take maximum advantage of the available federal lifeline
and link−up funds.

The federal USF assessment applies to all carriers,
including wireless carriers, and is assessed based on interstate
revenues.  The state USF assessment applies to all providers,
including wireless providers (although that assessment is
currently suspended) and is assessed based on intrastate
revenues.  Wisconsin exempts certain providers from
assessment, such as those with under $200,000 in intrastate
revenues.

3 47 U.S.C. § 214 (e) (2), 47 C.F.R. § 54.201 (b).
4 47 U.S.C. § 214 (e) (1), 47 C.F.R. § 54.101 (a).
5 47 U.S.C. § 254 (f).

Fiscal Estimate
The proposed rule is required to be reviewed periodically

by Wis. Stat. 196.218.  The rules changes being proposed are
intended to continue and enhance the general purposes of the
USF statutes and will not add to or subtract from the grants
and costs to manage the USF programs.

Comparison with Similar Rules in Adjacent States
The following discussion focuses on areas where

significant changes are being made to the USF rules.
Many state USF programs, both in Wisconsin and in other

states, are intertwined with federal universal service
programs.  As a result, there is a certain amount of similarity
among state programs.  For example, each of the surrounding
states has Lifeline and Link−Up type programs.6  As required
under federal law, each has income−based eligibility criteria
although the specifics vary somewhat.  The level of credits to
customers and the resulting reimbursements to providers are
similar, due in part to the federal matching dollars attached to
credit/reimbursement levels.  A difference in Link−up
programs is that the Wisconsin program will pay for whatever
nonrecurring installation costs are not paid for under the
federal program.  In each of the surrounding states the
potential exists for a low−income customer to have to pay for
a portion of the installation charges (although three of them
also require that any additional amount be eligible for an
interest free deferred payment arrangement.)  A difference in
Lifeline programs is that the four other states have a set figure
for the Lifeline credit/reimbursement amount (although in
Michigan that amount may vary depending on which
company is involved).  Wisconsin also has a set amount if the
base rate7 is $25 or below.  If the base rate is $25 or above, the
reimbursement/credit is whatever amount is necessary to
bring that base rate to $15.  In this way, low−income
customers in higher cost (generally rural) areas receive a
credit sufficient to bring the base rate to a reasonably
affordable level.

Wisconsin also has a program that helps provide access to
telecommunications service for persons with hearing, speech
and/or mobility disabilities.  TEPP provides vouchers to help
persons with disabilities that impair their ability to use
standard telecommunications equipment to access
telecommunications service, obtain equipment that will assist
them in doing so.  Iowa, Illinois, and Minnesota each have
similar programs although the specifics vary.  For example,
Illinois’ program is limited to those with hearing or speech
disabilities, and in Minnesota the equipment belongs to the
state and must be returned if the customer leaves the state or
loses his/her phone line.

Wisconsin was the first and is still only one of three states
that have a Public Interest Pay Telephone program.8  The
programs of both other states are modeled, in very large part,
on the Wisconsin program.  This is the first rulemaking since
the program was implemented in Wisconsin and the changes
made in this rulemaking are based on the experience gained
during the first few years of the program.

Wisconsin also has a program to help lower the monthly
cost of telephone service in areas of the state where rates are
high.  In determining whether assistance under this “high rate
assistance” program is required, the program looks both at the
rate for basic service and what percentage of a county’s
median household income that rate entails.  Although its
commission must vote to activate it, Michigan statutes
provide for a similar program that would provide a subsidy to
customers of the difference between an affordable rate and the
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company’s forward looking economic cost of providing
service (should the latter be higher than the former).  Illinois
has a high−cost program that provides support to small
telecommunication providers if the economic costs of
providing certain services exceed the affordable rate set for
those services.

6Lifeline helps pay the monthly cost of telephone service.  Link−up
helps pay the cost of service installation.

7The “base rate” is the monthly residential rate including touch−tone
service, 911 charges on the telephone bill, the federal subscriber line
charge, and 120 local calls.

8The other two states are Alaska and Hawaii.

Notice of Hearing
Regulation and Licensing

[CR 06−069]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Department of Regulation and Licensing in s.
227.11 (2), Wis. Stats., and ch. 460, Wis. Stats., and
interpreting Wis. Stats. Chapter 460, the Department of
Regulation and Licensing will hold a public hearing at the
time and place indicated below to consider an order to repeal
RL 90.02 (3) and (9), 91.03 (1) (c) 3., 5. and 6., 92.01 (3) and
92.02; to renumber and amend RL 91.01 (3) (b) to (f) and
91.03 (2); to amend RL 90.01, 90.02 (2), (6) and (8), 91.01
(title), (intro.) and (2), 91.03 (title), (1) (intro.) and (1) (c) 1.,
4. and 7., 91.04, 92.01 (title), (1), (2), (4) (intro.), (a), (b), (5)
(intro.), (b), (d) and (e), 93.01 (title) and 93.01, 93.02 (title),
(intro.), (2) and (3), 93.03, 93.04 (intro.) and (1) (c), 94.01
(title), (intro.), (6), (9), (16), (19), (20), (26), (27) and (28); to
repeal and recreate RL 90.02 (1) (b), 91.01 (3) (a) and 91.03
(1) (c) 2.; and to create RL 90.02 (1g), (1r), (5m), (10) to (13),
a Note following RL 91.01 (3) (a), 91.01 (b) to (e), 91.015,
91.03 (1) (c) 8. and (2) (a) and (b), 91.05, a Note following RL
94.01 (27), RL 94.01 (29) to (32) and 94.02, relating to
application requirements, definitions, certification,
reciprocity, waiver of education requirements and
unprofessional conduct, governing the certification of
massage therapists and bodyworkers.

Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: July 14, 2006
Time: 9:00 A.M.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 123
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing

Interested persons are invited to present information at the
hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or by email to pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Written
comments must be received on or before July 21, 2006 to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted:  Wis. Stats. Chapter 460.
Statutory authority:  Section 227.11 (2), Stats., and ch. 460,

Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:

2001 Wisconsin Act 74 recreated the credentialing and
practice requirements for the practice of massage therapy and
bodywork in the state of Wisconsin.  The proposed rule
revisions to Wis. Admin. Code Chapters RL 90 to 94 are
intended to update these administrative rules for consistency
with 2001 Wisconsin Act 74.

Related statute or rule:
Wis. Admin. Code chapters RL 90 to 94.
Plain language analysis:
The proposed revisions to Chapters RL 90 to 94 are

necessary to implement Chapter 460 of the Wisconsin
Statutes pursuant to 2001 Wisconsin Act 74, governing the
certification of massage therapists and bodyworkers.  The
proposed rules will in part modify the requirements necessary
for qualified applicants, reciprocal certification, acceptable
training programs, waivers of education requirements,
renewals, acts constituting unprofessional conduct, and the
handling of complaints by the department relating to specified
allegations of sexual misconduct.

SECTION 1 changes “registration” to “credentialing.”
SECTION 2 repeals and recreates language relating to

application requirements which must be met for a credential
to be issued.

SECTION 3 creates two new definitions – “approved
training program” and “certificate holder.”

SECTION 4 amends the definition of “classroom hour.”
SECTION 5 repeals the definition of “course of

instruction.”
SECTION 6 creates the definition of “insured.”
SECTION 7 amends the definitions of “manual action” and

“massage therapy or bodywork.”
SECTION 8 repeals the definition of “registrant.”
SECTION 9 creates definitions of “policyholder,” “sexual

contact,” “sexual intercourse” and “sexually oriented
business.”

SECTION 10 changes “registration” to “a certificate.”
SECTIONS 11, 13 and 14 make changes relating to

application requirements which must be met for a credential
to be issued.

SECTION 12 creates a note indicating where to find a list
of approved schools.

SECTION 15 creates s. RL 91.015, relating to the waiver
of education requirements necessary for a credential to be
granted.

SECTIONS 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 and 24 make
changes relating to the requirements for the granting of a
reciprocal certificate and defines that the requirements for a
current similar license, registration or certificate to practice
massage therapy or bodywork in another state or territory of
the United States or another country, are substantially
equivalent to the requirements under s. 460.05, Stats., if the
requirements include certification by the National
Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
or any other organization accredited by the National
Commission for Certifying Agencies to certify massage
therapy or bodywork; or completion of at least 500 classroom
hours of instruction in massage therapy or bodywork at a
school approved by an accrediting agency.

SECTION 25 changes “registration” to “certification.”
SECTION 26 creates s. RL 91.05, a grandfathering

provision for the granting of a certificate as a massage
therapist or bodyworker.

SECTION 27 amends s. RL 92.01, to include new
requirements for an approved training program.
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SECTION 28 repeals a provision that is no longer
necessary.

SECTION 29 amends s. RL 92.01 (4), to include new
requirements for an approved training program.

SECTION 30 repeals a provision that is no longer
necessary.

SECTIONS 31, 32, 33 and 34 amend rules relating to
renewal and conform the nomenclature of these sections to
Chapter 460, Stats.

SECTION 35 amends the title of s. RL 93.01 from
“Violations of standards of practice” to “Unprofessional
conduct.”  Section RL 94.01 (6) is amended relating to the
requirements for obtaining informed consent from a patient.
Section RL 94.01 (9) is amended relating to the failure to keep
confidential information received from a client.  Section RL
94.01 (16) is amended relating to the failure by a credential
holder to cooperate in a timely manner with the department’s
investigation of complaints filed against a credential holder.
Section RL 94.01 (19) is amended to change a reference from
“registrant” to “certificate holder.”  Section RL 94.01 (20) is
amended to change a reference from “unregistered” to
“uncertified.”  Section RL 94.01 (26) is amended relating to
the failure to maintain premises according to standards
recognized by the massage therapy or bodywork profession.
Section RL 94.01 (27) is amended relating to a certificate
holder notifying the department for the conviction of a crime.

SECTION 36 creates a note where complaint forms may be
obtained.

SECTION 37 deletes “of registration” in s. RL 94.01 (28)
deletes.

SECTION 38 creates additional violations of
unprofessional conduct.  Section RL 94.01 (29) is created to
prohibit practicing massage therapy or bodywork, whether
for compensation or not, for a sexually oriented business.
Section RL 94.01 (30) is created to prohibit having sexual
contact or sexual intercourse with a client that occurs on or
after March 1, 2003.  Section RL 94.01 (31) is created relating
to the failure to make a report as required under s. RL 94.02.
And s. RL 94.01 (32) is created to clarify permissible
advertising by a certificate holder.

SECTION 39 creates s. RL 94.02 relating to the
submission of reports to the department if a certificate holder
has reasonable cause to believe that another certificate holder
has committed a crime relating to prostitution under ss.
944.30 to 944.34, Stats., or has had sexual contact or sexual
intercourse with a client.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation:

No federal regulation exists.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The provisions of 2001 Wisconsin Act 74 and 2005

Wisconsin Act 25 were reviewed to determine the appropriate
provisions of then existing Wis. Admin. Code Chapters RL 90
to 94 which required amending for conformity.  2001
Wisconsin Act 74 and 2005 Wisconsin Act 2005 also required
the creation of new rule provisions in Chapters RL 90 to 94.
The proposed rules were submitted to the Massage Therapy
and Bodyworker Council for review and comments as
required by s. 460.04 (3), Stats.

Massage Therapy and Bodyworker Council Comments –
(April 13, 2004)

MOTION:  Amy Remillard moved, seconded by Mary
Ellen Martin, to change the three hours [education
requirements] from CPR to a science portion of the rules.
Motion carried unanimously.

Department response:  change made.
MOTION:  Amy Remillard moved, seconded by Vlad

Thomas, to change the rule [informed consent] to read,
“practice massage therapy or body work on a client without
first obtaining the written informed consent of the client and
has informed the client they may withdraw at any time.”
Motion carried unanimously at today’s meeting.

Department response:  change made.
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine

effect on small business:
The proposed amendments to the department’s

administrative rules, Chapters RL 90 to 94, represent a
recodification and clarification of existing administrative
rules of the department.  These amended rules do not represent
any significant change in terms of increasing or decreasing
existing requirements on the certification of governance of
Massage Therapist and Bodyworkers, therefore no additional
effect on small business or economic impact is anticipated.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.

Fiscal estimate
The department estimates that this rule will require staff

time in the Division of Professional Credentialing.  The total
staff salary and fringe is estimated at $230.

Effect on small business
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us.or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Written Comments
Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack at the

Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal
Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box
89235, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.  Email to
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before July 21, 2006, to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE
SECTION 1.  RL 90.01 is amended to read:
RL 90.01 Authority and intent.  The rules in chs. RL 90

to 94 are adopted by the department pursuant to ss. s. 227.11
(2), Stats., and 440.982 ch. 460, Stats., to govern the
registration credentialing of massage therapists and
bodyworkers.

SECTION 2.  RL 90.02 (1) (b) is repealed and recreated to
read:

RL 90.02 (1) (b)  A state government agency or territorial
government agency located in another state or territory of the
United States or another country.

SECTION 3.  RL 90.02 (1g) and (1r) are created to read:
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RL 90.02 (1g)  “Approved training program” means a
series of classroom courses, not including continuing
education, which is approved by the department having a
unified purpose which led to a diploma or degree or to an
occupational or vocational objective, meeting the
requirements of s. RL 92.01.

(1r)  “Certificate holder” means a person granted a
certificate under ch. 460, Stats.

SECTION 4.  RL 90.02 (2) is amended to read:
RL 90.02 (2)  “Classroom hour” means a period of

instruction in an approved course consisting of not less than
50 minutes.

SECTION 5.  RL 90.02 (3) is repealed.
SECTION 6.  RL 90.02 (5m) is created to read:
RL 90.02 (5m)  “Insured” means any person to whom or for

whose benefit an insurer makes a promise in an insurance
policy.  The term includes policyholders, subscribers,
members, and beneficiaries.

SECTION 7.  RL 90.02 (6) and (8) are amended to read:
RL 90.02 (6)  “Manual action” includes holding,

positioning, rocking, kneading, compressing,
decompressing, gliding or percussing the soft tissue of the
human body and or applying friction to soft tissue a passive
range of motion to the human body.

(8)  “Massage therapy or bodywork” means the science and
healing art that uses manual actions to palpate and manipulate
the soft tissue of the human body, in order to improve
circulation, reduce tension, relieve soft tissue pain or increase
flexibility,  and includes determining whether massage
therapy or bodywork is appropriate or contraindicated, or
whether referral to another health care practitioner is
appropriate.  Massage therapy or bodywork does not include
making a medical or chiropractic diagnosis or instructing in
or prescribing rehabilitative strengthening or conditioning
exercises that are within the practice of physical therapy, as
defined in s. 448.50 (4), Stats.

SECTION 8.  RL 90.02 (9) is repealed.
SECTION 9.  RL 90.02 (10) to (13) are created to read:
RL 90.02 (10)  “Policyholder” means the person who

controls the policy by ownership, payment of premiums, or
otherwise.

(11)  “Sexual contact” has the meaning given in s. 939.22
(34), Stats.

(12)  “Sexual intercourse” has the meaning given in s.
948.01 (7) (a), Stats.

(13)  “Sexually oriented business” means keeping a place
of prostitution as defined in s. 944.34, Stats.

SECTION 10.  RL 91.01 (title), (intro.) and (2) are
amended to read:

RL 91.01 (title) Application for registration  a
certificate. (intro.)  An individual applying for registration a
certificate as a massage therapist or bodyworker shall submit
all of the following:

(2)  The fee required specified in s. 440.05 (1), Stats.
SECTION 11.  RL 91.01 (3) (a) is repealed and recreated

to read:
RL 91.01 (3) (a)  Has graduated from a school of massage

therapy or bodywork approved by the educational approval
board at the time of the applicant’s graduation or completed
an approved training program as described in s. RL 92.01.

SECTION 12.  A Note following RL 91.01 (3) (a) is created
to read:

Note:  A list of approved schools is available upon request
to the Educational Approval Board at 30 West Mifflin Street,
9th Floor, P.O. Box 8696, Madison, Wisconsin 53708, or the
department at 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708.

SECTION 13.  RL 91.01 (3) (b), (c), (d), (e) and (f) are
renumbered RL 91.01 (3) (f), (i), (g), (h) and (j), and as
renumbered RL 91.01 (3) (f), (g), (i) and (j) are amended to
read:

RL 91.01 (3) (f)  Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and
111.335, Stats., does not have a conviction record has not been
convicted of any other offense not listed in par. (e), the
circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of
massage therapy or bodywork.

(g)  Has passed either the national certification
examination for therapeutic massage and bodywork or the
national certification examination for therapeutic massage
that are offered by the national certification board for
therapeutic massage and bodywork, or a substantially
equivalent another examination approved relating to the
practice of massage therapy or bodywork that is administered
by a national board that is accredited by the national
commission of certifying agencies of the national
organization for competency assurance or that is developed,
administered or a substantially equivalent examination
approved by the department relating to the practice of
massage therapy or bodywork.

(i)  Has in effect as a policyholder and insured, malpractice
liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than
$1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occurrences
in one year.

(j)  Has successfully completed a course consisting of 8 5
classroom hours in adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation and
standard first aid, unless if the individual has not graduated
from a school of massage therapy or bodywork approved by
the educational approval board and the 8 5 classroom hours
are not completed as part of a course of instruction by the
individual as part of an approved training program as
provided under s. RL 92.01 (5) (e) (4) (f).

SECTION 14.  RL 91.01 (3) (b) to (e) are created to read:
RL 91.01 (3) (b)  Has successfully completed at least 6

classroom hours of study in the laws of this state and rules of
the department relating to the practice of massage therapy or
bodywork in a course of instruction offered by any of the
following:

1.  A school of massage therapy or bodywork approved by
the educational approval board, whether or not the course of
instruction was completed to meet a requirement for
graduation.

2.  An approved training program whether or not the
training program is completed by the individual for purposes
of satisfying par. (a).

3.  A school approved by an accrediting agency.
4.  A technical college established pursuant to s. 38.02,

Stats.
(c)  Is 18 years of age or older.
(d)  Has graduated high school or attained high school

equivalency as determined by the department of public
instruction under s. 115.29 (4), Stats.

(e)  Has not been convicted of an offense under s. 940.22,
940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33,
944.34, 948.025, 948.08, 948.09, 948.095 or 948.10, Stats., or
a comparable offense under federal law or a law of any other
state.

SECTION 15.  RL 91.015 is created to read:
RL 91.015 Waiver of education requirements.  A

requirement of s. RL 91.01 (3) (a) and (b) shall be waived if
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an individual submits evidence satisfactory to the department
that he or she has successfully completed a course consisting
of 5 classroom hours in adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation
and standard first aid and satisfied one of the following:

(1)  Is currently either certified or recertified by the national
certification board for therapeutic massage and bodywork.

(2)  Is currently either certified or recertified as active and
in good standing by any other organization accredited to
certify massage therapy or bodywork by the national
commission for certifying agencies.

SECTION 16.  RL 91.03 (title), (1) (intro.) and (1) (c) 1. are
amended to read:

RL 91.03 (title) Reciprocal registration certificate.  (1)
(intro.)  An individual applying for registration a certificate on
the basis of a similar license, registration or certification
certificate in another state or jurisdiction territory of the
United States or another country shall:

(c) 1.  Holds a current similar license, registration or
certificate to practice massage therapy or bodywork in
another state or jurisdiction territory of the United States or
another country, the requirements for which are substantially
equivalent to the requirements under s. 460.05, Stats.

SECTION 17.  RL 91.03 (1) (c) 2. is repealed and recreated
to read:

RL 91.03 (1) (c) 2.  Has not been convicted of an offense
under s. 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31,
944.32, 944.33, 944.34, 948.02, 948.025, 948.08, 948.09,
948.095 or 948.10, Stats., or a comparable offense under
federal law or a law of any other state.

SECTION 18.  RL 91.03 (1) (c) 3. is repealed.
SECTION 19.  RL 91.03 (1) (c) 4. is amended to read:
RL 91.03 (1) (c) 4.  Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and

111.335, Stats., does not have an arrest or conviction record
has not been convicted of any other offense not listed under
subd. 2., the circumstances of which substantially relate to the
practice of massage therapy or bodywork.

SECTION 20.  RL 91.03 (1) (c) 5. and 6. are repealed.
SECTION 21.  RL 91.03 (1) (c) 7. is amended to read:
RL 91.03 (1) (c) 7.  Has in effect as a policyholder and

insured, malpractice liability insurance coverage in an
amount that is not less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and
$1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year.

SECTION 22.  RL 91.03 (1) (c) 8. is created to read
RL 91.03 (1) (c) 8.  Has not engaged in conduct while

practicing massage therapy or bodywork that jeopardizes the
health, safety, or welfare of a client or that evidences a lack of
knowledge of, inability to apply, or the negligent application
of, principles or skills of massage therapy or bodywork.

SECTION 23.  RL 91.03 (2) is renumbered RL 91.03 (2)
(intro.) and is amended to read:

RL 91.03 (2) (intro.)  In determining whether to grant a
reciprocal registration, the department shall consider whether
the requirements Requirements for a current similar license,
registration or certificate to practice massage therapy or
bodywork in the other another state or jurisdiction are similar
to the requirements for registration as a massage therapist or
bodyworker in this state. territory of the United States or
another country, are substantially equivalent to the
requirements under s. 460.05, Stats., if the requirements
include either of the following:

SECTION 24.  RL 91.03 (2) (a) and (b) are created to read:
RL 91.03 (2) (a)  Certification by the national certification

board for therapeutic massage and bodywork or any other

organization accredited by the national commission for
certifying agencies to certify massage therapy or bodywork.

(b)  Completion of at least 500 classroom hours of
instruction in massage therapy or bodywork at a school
approved by an accrediting agency, and passing an
examination relating to the practice of massage therapy or
bodywork that is administered or approved by an accrediting
agency.

SECTION 25.  RL 91.04 is amended to read:
RL 91.04 Accommodations relating to a disability.  A

qualified individual with a disability shall be provided with
reasonable accommodations requested in connection with the
completion of an application for registration certification as
a massage therapist or bodyworker.

SECTION 26.  RL 91.05 is created to read:
RL 91.05 Alternate certification.  The department shall

grant a certificate as a massage therapist or bodyworker to a
person who satisfies all of the following:

(1)  Is 18 years of age or older.
(2)  Has graduated high school or attained high school

graduation equivalency as determined by the department of
public instruction under s. 115.29 (4), Stats.

(3)  Submits an application for the certificate to the
department on a form provided by the department.

(4)  Has paid the fee specified in s. 440.05 (1) (a), Stats.
(5)  Submits evidence satisfactory to the department that

the person has in effect as a policyholder and insured,
malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is
not less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all
occurrences in one year.

(6)  Has not been convicted of an offense under s. 940.22,
940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33,
944.34, 948.02, 948.025, 948.08, 948.09, 948.095 or 948.10,
Stats., or a comparable offense under federal law or a law of
any other state.

(7)  Submits evidence satisfactory to the department that,
during the 2 year period after March 1, 2003, the person was
actively engaged in the practice of massage therapy or
bodywork.  In this section, “active practice” means having
engaged in at least 1500 hours of the practice of massage
therapy or bodywork during the 2 year period after March 1,
2003.

(8)  Attests that he or she only recently became aware of the
requirements of ch. 460, Stats.

SECTION 27.  RL 92.01 (title), (1) and (2) are amended to
read:

RL 92.01 (title) Course of instruction Approved
training program . (1)  An individual applying for
registration a certificate as a massage therapist or bodyworker
and who has not graduated from a school of massage therapy
or bodywork approved by the educational approval board
shall submit an official transcript or other official
documentation showing dates and total hours attended and a
description of the curriculum completed establishing that he
or she has completed at least 600 classroom hours of study in
a course of instruction an approved training program.

(2)  Credit may be granted for a course of instruction an
approved training program regardless of when the instruction
program was completed.

SECTION 28.  RL 92.01 (3) is repealed.
SECTION 29.  RL 92.01 (4) (intro.), (a), (b), (5) (intro.),

(b), (d) and (e) are amended to read:
RL 92.01 (4) (intro.)  In addition to satisfying the

requirements of sub. (4) (5), a course of instruction that is
approved by the department an approved training program
shall be one of the following:
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(a)  An associate degree program, or a vocational technical
diploma program in massage therapy or bodywork offered by
a technical college established pursuant to s. 38.02, Stats.

(b)  A course of instruction in massage therapy or
bodywork offered by a school accredited by an accredited
agency at the time the individual completes the course of
instruction.

(5) (intro.)  An approved course of instruction consisting
training program shall consist of a minimum of 600 classroom
hours of study and shall include the following subject areas:

(a)  Anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology:  122
125 classroom hours.

(b)  Business, law and ethics:  50 classroom hours, which
may include at least 6 classroom hours in the laws of this state
and rules of the department relating to the practice of massage
therapy or bodywork required by s. RL 91.01 (3) (b).

(e)  Adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and
standard first aid:  8 5 classroom hours.  The requirement of
this paragraph may be alternatively satisfied as provided
under s. RL 91.01 (3) (f) (j).

SECTION 30.  RL 92.02 is repealed.
SECTION 31.  RL 93.01 (title) and 93.01 are amended to

read:
RL 93.01 (title) Registration Certificate expiration.

Registration Certificates for massage therapists and
bodyworkers expires expire on March 1 of each
odd−numbered year.

SECTION 32.  RL 93.02 (title), (intro.), (2) and (3) are
amended to read:

RL 93.02 (title)  Renewal of registration certificate.
(intro.)  In order to renew a registration certificate on or before
the renewal date, the registrant certificate holder shall submit
the following to the department:

(2)  The renewal fee required under s. 440.08 (2) (a) 67q.
46r., Stats.

(3)  Evidence satisfactory to the department that he or she
has in effect as a policyholder and insured, malpractice
liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than
$1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occurrences
in one year.

SECTION 33.  RL 93.03 is amended to read:
RL 93.03 Failure to renew.  A registrant certificate holder

who fails to renew a registration certificate by the applicable
renewal date shall not use any title or description that implies
that he or she is registered credentialed by the department as
a massage therapist or bodyworker until his or her registration
certificate is renewed under s. RL 93.04.

SECTION 34.  RL 93.04 (intro.) and (1) (c) are amended
to read:

RL 93.04 Late renewal. (intro.)  A massage therapist or
bodyworker who fails to renew his or her registration
certificate by the renewal date may renew the registration
certificate by satisfying all of the following requirements:

(1) (c)  Evidence satisfactory to the department that he or
she has in effect as a policyholder and insured, malpractice
liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than
$1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occurrences
in one year.

SECTION 35.  RL 94.01 (title), (intro.), (6), (9), (16), (19),
(20), (26) and (27) are amended to read:

RL 94.01 (title) Violations of standards of practice
Unprofessional conduct. (intro.)  The following, without
limitation because of enumeration, are violations of the
standards of practice for massage therapists and bodyworkers

professional conduct and constitute unprofessional conduct
under s. 460.14 (2) (g), Stats.:

(6)  Failing to obtain and record Practicing massage
therapy or bodywork on a client without first obtaining the
written informed consent of the client or the client’s
authorized representative before initiating a plan of treatment
and informing the client in writing that he or she may
withdraw the consent at any time.

(9)  Failing to maintain the confidentiality of all client
information, unless disclosure is required by law or court
order keep confidential any information that a client gives in
confidence to the certificate holder and any other information
that the certificate holder obtains about a client in the course
of practicing massage therapy or bodywork that a reasonable
person in the client’s position would want kept confidential,
unless the information is otherwise required by law to be
disclosed or the client specifically authorizes the disclosure of
the information.

(16)  After a request by the department, failing to cooperate
in a timely manner with the department’s investigation of
complaints filed against the individual or registrant certificate
holder.  There is a rebuttable presumption that a registrant or
individual certificate holder who takes longer than 30
calendar days to respond to a request of the department has not
acted in a timely manner under this subsection.

(19)  Failing to practice massage therapy or bodywork
within the scope of the registrant’s certificate holder’s
competence, education, training and experience.

(20)  Aiding or abetting an unregistered uncertified person,
knowingly conspiring with an unregistered uncertified
person, or allowing one’s registration certificate to be used by
an unregistered uncertified person to evade the use of title
restrictions under ch. 440 460, Stats., relating to the practice
of massage therapy or bodywork.

(26)  Failing to maintain premises according to standards
recognized by the massage therapy or bodywork profession or
to standards established by local regulation, whichever
standard is higher.

(27)  Failing to notify the department of any criminal
conviction within 30 calendar days after the date of conviction
submit a written report to the department if the certificate
holder is convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, or is found to
have committed a violation, in this state or elsewhere, if the
circumstances of the felony, misdemeanor or violation
substantially relate to the practice of massage therapy or
bodywork.  The report shall be made on a complaint form
provided by the department and shall be submitted within 30
days after the entry of the judgment of conviction or the
judgment that the certificate holder committed the violation,
and shall identify the date, place, and nature of the conviction
or finding.  If the report is submitted by mail, the report is
considered to be submitted on the date that it is mailed.  In this
subsection, “violation” means a violation of any state or local
law that is punishable by a forfeiture.

SECTION 36.  A Note following RL 94.01 (27) is created
to read:

Note:  Complaint forms are available from the Department
of Regulation and Licensing, Division of Enforcement, 1400
East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:
http://drl.wi.gov.

SECTION 37.  RL 94.01 (28) is amended to read:
RL 94.01 (28)  Failing to display his or her certificate of

registration in his or her place of business or practice so that
it can easily be seen and read by the public.

SECTION 38.  RL 94.01 (29) to (32) are created to read:
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RL 94.01 (29)  Practicing massage therapy or bodywork,
whether for compensation or not, for a sexually oriented
business.

(30)  Having sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a
client that occurred on or after March 1, 2003.

(31)  Failing to make a report as required under s. RL 94.02.
(32)  Advertising by a certificate holder that he or she

practices massage therapy or bodywork unless the
advertisement includes his or her certificate number and a
statement that the certificate holder is a “certified massage
therapist or bodyworker” or “certified massage therapist” or
“certified bodyworker.”  A telephone directory listing for
which no additional advertising charge is made is not
considered advertising.

SECTION 39.  RL 94.02 is created to read:
RL 94.02 Duty to make reports. (1)  A certificate holder

shall submit a report to the department if he or she has
reasonable cause to believe that another certificate holder has
committed a crime relating to prostitution under ss. 944.30 to
944.34, Stats., or has had sexual contact or sexual intercourse
with a client.  If the report relates to sexual contact or sexual
intercourse with a client, the report may not identify the client
unless the client has provided written consent for disclosure
of this information.

(2)  For purposes of this section, “reasonable cause” means
any of the following:

(a)  Being informed by a person that he or she has engaged
in an act with another certificate holder prohibited by ss.
944.30 to 944.34, Stats.

(b)  Being informed by a person that he or she, while a client
of another certificate holder, engaged in nonmarital sexual
contact or sexual intercourse with the other certificate holder.

(c)  Being informed by another certificate holder that he or
she has engaged in nonmarital sexual contact or sexual
intercourse with a client, or has done an act prohibited by ss.
944.30 to 944.34, Stats.

(3)  The report shall be made on a complaint form provided
by the department.  The department may use the report as the
basis for an investigation under s. 460.14 (1), Stats.

Note:  Complaint forms are available from the Department
of Regulation and Licensing, Division of Enforcement, 1400
East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708, or from the department’s website at:
http://drl.wi.gov.

(4)  A complaint as defined in s. RL 2.03 (2), filed against
a certificate holder pursuant to s. RL 2.08, based upon the
allegation of one or more acts prohibited under ss. 944.30 to
944.34, Stats., constitutes reasonable cause for the
department to believe that a certificate holder has committed
a crime and the department shall report the belief to the district
attorney for the county in which the crime, in the opinion of
the department, occurred.

Notice of Hearing
Transportation

[CR 06−068]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 85.16

(1) and 348.07 (4), Stats., interpreting s. 348.07 (4), Stats., the
Department of Transportation will hold a public hearing at the
following location to consider the amendment of chapter
Trans 276, Wisconsin Administrative Code, relating to
allowing the operation of double bottoms and certain other
vehicles on certain specified highways:

July 12, 2006
Department of Transportation

Hill Farms State Transportation Office
Room 501, Eau Claire Room

Madison, WI
10:00 AM

(Parking is available for persons with disabilities)
An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on

request for this hearing.  Please make reservations for a
hearing interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing.
Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of
Transportation

Statutory Authority:  ss. 85.16 (1) and 348.07 (4), Stats.
Statute Interpreted:  s. 348.07 (4), Stats.
Plain Language Analysis and Summary of, and

Preliminary Comparison with, Existing or Federal
Regulation.  In the Surface Transportation Assistance Act of
1982 (STAA), the federal government acted under the
Commerce clause of the United States Constitution to provide
uniform standards on vehicle length applicable in all states.
The length provisions of STAA apply to truck
tractor−semitrailer combinations and to truck
tractor−semitrailer−trailer combinations.  (See Jan. 6, 1983,
Public Law 97−424, § 411)  The uniform standards provide
that:

� No state shall impose a limit of less than 48 feet on a
semitrailer operating in a truck tractor−semitrailer
combination.

� No state shall impose a length limit of less than 28 feet on
any semitrailer or trailer operating in a truck
tractor−semitrailer−trailer combination.

� No state may limit the length of truck tractors.
� No state shall impose an overall length limitation on

commercial vehicles operating in truck tractor−semitrailer or
truck tractor−semitrailer−trailer combinations.

� No state shall prohibit operation of truck
tractor−semitrailer−trailer combinations.

The State of Wisconsin complied with the federal
requirements outlined above by enacting 1983 Wisconsin Act
78 which amended § 348.07 (2), Stats., and § 348.08 (1),
Stats.  This act created §§ 348.07 (2) (f), (fm), (gm) and
348.08 (1) (e) to implement the federal length requirements.
In 1986 the legislature created § 348.07 (2) (gr), Stats., to add
53 foot semitrailers as part of a two vehicle combination to the
types of vehicles that may operate along with STAA
authorized vehicles.  (See 1985 Wisconsin Act 165)

The vehicles authorized by the STAA may operate on the
national system of interstate and defense highways and on
those federal aid primary highways designated by regulation
of the secretary of the United States Department of
Transportation.  In 1984 the USDOT adopted 23 CFR Part
658 which in Appendix A lists the highways in each state upon
which STAA authorized vehicles may operate.  Collectively
these highways are known as the National Network.  In 1983
Wisconsin Act 78, the legislature enacted § 348.07 (4), Stats.,
which directs the Wisconsin Department of Transportation to
adopt a rule designating the highways in Wisconsin on which
STAA authorized vehicles may be operated consistent with
federal regulations.

The Department of Transportation first adopted ch. Trans
276 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code in December of
1984.  The rule is consistent with 23 CFR Part 658 in that the
Wisconsin rule designates all of the highways in Wisconsin
that are listed in 23 CFR Part 658 as part of the National
Network for STAA authorized vehicles.  The federal
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regulation does not prohibit states from allowing operation of
STAA authorized vehicles on additional state highways.  The
rule making authority granted to the Wisconsin Department
of Transportation in § 348.07(4), Stats., allows the DOT to
add routes in Wisconsin consistent with public safety.  The
rule making process also provides a mechanism to review
requests from businesses and shipping firms for access to the
designated highway system for points of origin and delivery
beyond 5 miles from a designated route.  A process to review
and respond to requests for reasonable access is required by
23 CFR Part 658.

This rule amends Trans 276.07(25), Wisconsin
Administrative Code, to add one segment of highway to the
designated highway system established under s. 348.07(4),
Stats.  The actual highway segment1 that this rule adds to the
designated highway system is:
Hwy.           From                           To                                      
STH 180     STH 64 at Marinette    USH 141 in Marinette Co.

The long trucks to which this rule applies are those with
53−foot semitrailers, double bottoms and the vehicles which
may legally operate on the federal National Network, but
which exceed Wisconsin’s regular limits on overall length.
Generally, no person may operate any of the following
vehicles on Wisconsin’s highways without a permit:  A single
vehicle with an overall length in excess of 40 feet2, a
combination of vehicles with an overall length in excess of
65 feet, a semitrailer longer than 48 feet, an automobile
haulaway longer than 66 feet plus allowed overhangs, or a
double bottom.  Certain exceptions are provided under
s. 348.07 (2), Stats., which implements provisions of the
federal Surface Transportation Assistance Act in Wisconsin.

The effect of this rule will be to extend the provisions of
s. 348.07 (2) (f), (fm), (gm) and (gr), and s. 348.08 (1) (e),
Stats., to the highway segment listed above.  As a result,
vehicles which may legally operate on the federal National
Network in Wisconsin will also be allowed to operate on the
newly−designated highway.  Specifically, this means there
will be no overall length limitation for a tractor−semitrailer
combination, a double bottom or an automobile haulaway on
the affected highway segment.  There also will be no length
limitation for a truck tractor or road tractor when operated in
a tractor−semitrailer combination or as part of a double
bottom or an automobile haulaway.  Double bottoms will be
allowed to operate on the affected highway segment provided
neither trailer is longer than 28 feet, 6 inches.  Semitrailers up
to 53 feet long may also be operated on this highway segment
provided the kingpin to rear axle distance does not exceed
43 feet.  This distance is measured from the kingpin to the
center of the rear axle or, if the semitrailer has a tandem axle,
to a point midway between the first and last axles of the
tandem.  Otherwise, semitrailers, including semitrailers
which are part of an automobile haulaway, are limited to
48 feet in length.

These vehicles and combinations are also allowed to
operate on undesignated highways for a distance of 5 miles or
less from the designated highway in order to reach fuel, food,
maintenance, repair, rest, staging, terminal or vehicle
assembly or points of loading or unloading.

 1The rule text often achieves these objectives by consolidating individual segments
into contiguous segments with new end points.  In order to determine the actual highway
segment added, it is necessary to compare the combined old designations with the
combined new designation.

2 45−foot buses are allowed on the National Network and Interstate system by
Federal law.  Section 4006(b) of the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of
1991.

2005 Wisconsin Act 363.  2005 Wis. Act 363 amends s.
348.07(4), Stats., effective August 1, 2006.  That Act also
requires the Department to promulgate emergency and

permanent rules governing long trucks.  It’s effect on this
proposed rule change has not been determined.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States
None of the states adjacent to Wisconsin (Michigan,

Minnesota, Illinois and Iowa) have administrative rules
relating to long truck routes in their states.

Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies Used and
How the Related Findings Support the Regulatory
Approach Chosen

Due to the federal requirement that requests for access to
the designated highway system in a state be decided within 90
days of the request, a proposed rule making to add requested
routes is initiated without investigation.  The public hearing
and Department investigation undertaken in preparation for
the hearing provide the engineering and economic data
needed to make a final decision on whether to withdraw the
proposal or proceed to final rule making.

Small Business Analysis
The provisions of this rule adding a highway segment to the

designated system have no direct adverse effect on small
businesses, and may have a favorable effect on those small
businesses which are shippers or carriers using the
newly−designated routes.  The Department’s Regulatory
Review Coordinator may be contacted by e−mail at
andrew.ruiz@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438−4585.

Fiscal Effect and Anticipated Costs Incurred by Private
Sector

The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal
impact on the liabilities or revenues of any county, city,
village, town, school district, vocational, technical and adult
education district, sewerage district, or federally−recognized
tribes or bands.  The Department estimates that there will be
no fiscal impact on state or private sector revenues or
liabilities.

Contact Person and Place Where Comments are to be
Submitted and Deadline for Submission

The public record on this proposed rule making will be held
open until close of business the day of the hearing to permit
the submission of comments in lieu of public hearing
testimony or comments supplementing testimony offered at
the hearing.  Any such comments should be submitted to
Ashwani Sharma, Department of Transportation, Bureau of
Highway Operations, Room 501, P. O. Box 7986, Madison,
WI 53707−7986.  You may also contact Mr. Sharma by phone
at (608) 266−1273.

To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the
current rule, and submit written comments via
e−mail/internet, you may visit the following website:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/rulenoti
ces.htm.

Notice of Hearing
Transportation

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 84.01
(13), amended by 2005 Wis. Act 89, Stats., interpreting s.
84.01 (13), Stats., the Department of Transportation will hold
a public hearing on the 8th day of August, 2006, at the Hill
Farms State Transportation Building, Room 951, 4802
Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, WI, at 10:00 AM, to consider
the emergency rule creation of ch. Trans 515, Wisconsin
Adm. Code, relating to contractual service procurement.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible
entrance are available.
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Copies of Emergency Rule
Requests for copies of the emergency rule should be

submitted to Randy Knoche, Department of Transportation,
Bureau of State Highway Programs, Room 951, P. O. Box
7913, Madison, WI  53707−7913.  You may also contact Mr.
Knoche by phone at (608) 266−1824.

To view the emergency rule or the proposed permanent
rule, or submit written comments on the permanent rule via
e−mail/internet, you may visit the following website:

http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/
rulenotices.htm.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Transportation
Statutes interpreted:  ss. 16.70 (3g) and 84.01 (13), Stats.
Statutory authority:  ss.  16.70 (3g) and 84.01 (13), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:  The Department of

Transportation is authorized to execute contracts for
engineering and other services under s. 84.01(13), Stats.  That
statute also requires the Department to conduct a cost−benefit
comparison of having that work performed by state
employees, if the contract will cost $25,000 or more.  In
addition to promulgating permanent rules, Act 89 requires the
Department to promulgate emergency rules on this subject not
later than July 1, 2006, and requires the Department to
conduct this comparison for all contractual services solicited
on or after July 1, 2006.

Related statute or rule: ss. 16.70 (3g), 84.01(13) and 84.06
(1m), Stats.

Plain language analysis:  The proposed rule requires a cost
benefit analysis before procuring engineering or other
specialized services under s. 84.01(13), Stats., in excess of
$25,000 when those services are normally performed by state
employees.  The required analysis includes a comparison
between the costs of contracting out and performing the
services with state employees.  The analysis also considers
other subjective factors such as timeliness, quality and
technical expertise.

Factual data and analytical methodologies: 2005
Wisconsin Act 89 requires the Department to promulgate this
rule.

Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States:
Michigan:  Department legal counsel is unaware of and

was unable to locate any rules in this state pertaining to this
subject.

Minnesota:  Department legal counsel is unaware of and
was unable to locate any rules in this state pertaining to this
subject.

Illinois:  Department legal counsel is unaware of and was
unable to locate any rules in this state pertaining to this
subject.

Iowa:  Iowa Code sec. 23A.2 (2205) prohibits the state
from offering to the public any supply or service that is also
offered by private enterprise.  This prohibition does not apply
to supplies or services to be used or consumed solely by the
state.  There appears to be no requirement that the state
compare costs and benefits of obtaining services by state
employees or private enterprise.

Small Business Analysis
The proposed rule does not affect the amount or quality of

engineering or specialized services procured from private
enterprise and therefore is expected to have no effect on small
businesses.

The requirements of the rule will be implemented by
Department employees and will have no effect on external
parties including small business.  The Department’s

Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by e−mail
at andrew.ruiz@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414)
438−4585.

Fiscal Effect
The Department estimates that compliance with 2005

Wisconsin Act 89 will cost it $217,000 per year.  No similar
costs will be borne by the private sector.

Notice of Hearing
Workforce Development

(Unemployment Insurance)
[CR 06−072]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to Sections
108.04 (2), 108.14 (2) and 227.11, Stats. the Department of
Workforce Development proposes to hold a public hearing to
consider rules affecting Ch. DWD 127, relating to the
unemployment insurance work search.

Hearing Information

July 25, 2006 MADISON
  (Tuesday)
   1:30 p.m.

G.E.F. 1 Building
Room H306
201 E. Washington Ave.

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearings and
will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
of their positions. Persons making oral presentations are
requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested
rewording in writing.

Visitors to the GEF 1 building are requested to enter
through the left East Washington Avenue door and register
with the customer service desk. The entrance is accessible via
a ramp from the corner of Webster Street and East Washington
Avenue. If you have special needs or circumstances regarding
communication or accessibility at the hearing, please call
(608) 267−9403 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as ASL interpreters, English
translators, or materials in audiotape format will be made
available on request to the fullest extent possible.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:   Sections 108.04 (2), 108.14 (2) and
227.11, Stats.

Statutes interpreted:   Sections 108.04 (2), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority. Section 108.04 (2) (a) 3.,

Stats., provides that a claimant is eligible for unemployment
benefits as to any given week for which he or she earns no
wages if, among other things, the individual conducts a
reasonable search for suitable work during that week. The
search for suitable work must include 2 actions that constitute
a reasonable search as prescribed by rule of the department.
Section 108.04 (2) (b), Stats., provides that the requirements
for registration for work and search for work shall be
prescribed by rule of the department, and the department may
by general rule waive these requirements under certain stated
conditions. Section 108.14 (2), Stats., provides that the
department may adopt and enforce all rules which it finds
necessary or suitable to carry out Chapter 108, Stats.,
regarding unemployment insurance.

Summary of proposed rule. Section 108.04 (2), Stats.,
provides that an unemployment insurance claimant must
conduct a reasonable search for suitable work. The
department may waive this requirement under certain stated
conditions. Chapter DWD 127 currently provides that the
department shall waive the work search requirement for a
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given week if certain specified circumstances apply to a
unemployment insurance claimant and may waive the work
search requirement for a given week when others apply. The
proposed rule will make all waivers of the work search
requirement mandatory if any of the specified circumstances
apply.

The proposed rule will also modify two of the waiver
criteria. Currently, the department may waive a claimant’s
work search requirement if the claimant has a reasonable
expectation of starting work with a new employer within 4
weeks after the week in which he or she initiates a claim or in
which an eligibility review is conducted. Under the proposed
rule, the department will waive the work search requirement
if the claimant has an offer of work that begins within 4 weeks
regardless of when this occurs. In addition, currently the
department waives a claimant’s work search requirement if
the claimant’s most recent employer failed to post or maintain
any notice as to claiming unemployment benefits. Under the
proposed rule, this provision will be modified to clarify that
this waiver criteria does not apply if the claimant was aware
of the work search requirement.

The proposed rule will also make various technical
corrections. Section 108.04 (1) (e), Stats., as affected by 2005
Wisconsin Act 86, repeals the provision that self−employed
individuals shall not be eligible for benefits for any week in
which the individual worked at self−employment, unless the
individual establishes that he or she has made an active and
bona fide search for employment. Self−employed claimants
are now subject to the same work search requirements and
waivers as non−self−employed claimants. The proposed rule
will repeal s. DWD 127.09 relating to the definition of
self−employment.

Section 108.04 (2) (a) 3. (intro.), Stats., as affected by 2003
Wisconsin Act 197, provides that the work search
requirement does not apply to an individual if the department
determines that the individual is currently laid off from
employment with an employer but there is a reasonable
expectation of reemployment of the individual by that
employer. The proposed rules will repeal an obsolete
provision at s. DWD 127.02 (2) that limited the work search
waiver based on a reasonable expectation of reemployment to
12 weeks after the claimant initiated the claim or 6 weeks after
an eligibility review is conducted. The proposed rule will also
repeal an obsolete provision at s. DWD 127.035 that limited
the work search waiver to 18 months under certain conditions
when the layoff was due to a disaster or the temporary closing
of the employer’s worksite for refurbishing or relocation of
the worksite and the department believed that a customary
work search would impose a hardship on employers in the
labor market and would not be likely to result in suitable
employment for a substantial number of the affected
employees.

In addition, the proposed rule will update certain rule
provisions to reflect changes in 1999 Wisconsin Act 15.
Section 108.04 (2) (a) 3., Stats., as affected by 1999
Wisconsin Act 15, provides that the requirement that the
individual conduct a reasonable search for work during the
week must include 2 actions that constitute a reasonable
search. The current s. DWD 127.01 does not specify 2 actions.
The proposed rule will also repeal an obsolete statutory
reference to s. 108.04 (7) (i), Stats., in s. DWD 127.01 (2) (b).
This rule provision allows a claimant to refuse to apply for
work with an employer if the claimant previously terminated
employment with the same employer with good cause
attributable to the employer under s. 108.04 (7) (b), Stats., or
because the employer made employment, compensation,
promotion or job assignments contingent upon the
employee’s consent to sexual contact or sexual intercourse

under s. 108.04 (7) (i), Stats. 1999 Wisconsin Act 15 repealed
s. 108.04 (7) (i), Stats., and amended s. 108.04 (7) (b) to
include sexual harassment.

The proposed amendment to s. DWD 127.04 (1) clarifies
that the department may notify a claimant that evidence of his
or her work search will be required for a future week, as well
as past weeks. Sections DWD 127.05 (2) and (3) on the
requirement to report work search efforts are repealed
because they duplicate requirements found in other sections
of Chapter DWD 127.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies.
The criteria for a mandatory waiver of the work search
requirement in s. DWD 127.03 and the permissive waiver
criteria in s. DWD 127.02 are combined into one section of
mandatory criteria to better reflect current department
informal practice to always grant a waiver when any of the
specified conditions are met.

The requirement to grant a waiver of the work search
requirement when the claimant’s last employer failed to post
the required notice on claiming insurance is amended to
clarify that the claimant must have been unaware of the work
search requirement. This amendment is in response to a
decision by the Labor and Industry Review Commission that
found that the current language requires a waiver even after
the department notifies a claimant of the work search
requirement.

Other changes are primarily statutory updates and
clarifications of rule language.

Comparison with federal law
There is a federal requirement that UI claimants search for

work, but there is no federal law on the specific issues
addressed in the proposed rule.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
Iowa. The work search requirement shall be waived if a

claimant is temporarily unemployed from the claimant’s
regular job in which the claimant worked full−time and will
again work full−time, for a period not to exceed 4 weeks due
to a plant shut−down, vacation, inventory, lack of work, or
emergency.

Michigan. The work search requirement shall be waived if
the layoff is temporary and work is expected to be available
within 45 calendar days following the last day the individual
worked and the employer notifies the agency in writing or by
electronic data exchange that the layoff is temporary before
the claimant is certified for his or her first compensable week
following the layoff. The work search requirement may be
waived if the return−to−work date is not later than 15 days
following the layoff and the work search requirement is not
waived under the previous provision. The work search
requirement may also be waived if the state unemployment
rate equals or exceeds 8.5%.

Illinois. The Illinois work search rules provide that a
claimant must register in person at the Employment Service
Office unless otherwise instructed by the local office for one
of 10 listed reasons. Many of the reasons are similar to
Wisconsin’s work search waiver.

Minnesota. The department was unable to locate any
Minnesota statutes or rules on the work search waiver.

Effect on small business
The proposed rules do not add or change any requirements

for small businesses. There are no reporting, bookkeeping, or
other procedures required for compliance with the proposed
rule and no professional skills are required. The DWD Small
Business Regulatory Coordinator is Jennifer Jirschele, (608)
266−1023, jennifer.jirschele@dwd.state.wi.us.



Page 37June 30, 2006 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 606

Fiscal impact
The proposed rules have no fiscal effect on state or local

governments.

Agency contact person
Carla Breber, UI Disputed Benefit Claims, (608)

266−7564, carla.breber@dwd.state.wi.us.

Copy of the rules and submission of written comment
You may review and print a copy of the proposed rules at

the department’s proposed rule hearing website at
http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/dwd/hearings.htm. You may
receive a paper copy of the rule by contacting:

Elaine Pridgen
Office of Legal Counsel

Dept. of Workforce Development
P.O. Box 7946

Madison, WI 53707−7946
(608) 267−9403

fax: (608) 266−1784
elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us

Written comments on the proposed rules received at the
above address, email, or fax no later than July 26, 2006, will
be given the same consideration as testimony presented at the
hearing.

Notice of Hearing
Workforce Development

(Unemployment Insurance)

[CR 06−073]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to Sections

108.06 (2) (bm), 108.06 (2) (d), 108.08 (1), 108.14 (2), and
227.11, Stats., the Department of Workforce Development
proposes to hold a public hearing to consider rules affecting
Ch. DWD 129, relating to unemployment insurance benefit
claiming procedures.

Hearing Information

July 25, 2006 MADISON
  (Tuesday)
   1:30 p.m.

G.E.F. 1 Building
Room H306
201 E. Washington Avenue

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearings and
will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation
of their positions. Persons making oral presentations are
requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested
rewording in writing.

Visitors to the GEF 1 building are requested to enter
through the left East Washington Avenue door and register
with the customer service desk. The entrance is accessible via
a ramp from the corner of Webster Street and East Washington
Avenue. If you have special needs or circumstances regarding
communication or accessibility at the hearing, please call
(608) 267−9403 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as ASL interpreters, English
translators, or materials in audiotape format will be made
available on request to the fullest extent possible.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:   Sections 108.06 (2) (bm) and (d),
108.08 (1), 108.14 (2) and 227.11, Stats..

Statutes interpreted: Sections 108.06 (2) and 108.08 (1),
Stats.

Explanation of agency authority.  Section 108.08 (1),
Stats., provides that to receive unemployment insurance
benefits for any given week of employment, a claimant shall
give notice to the department with respect to such week of
unemployment within such time and in such manner as the
department may by rule prescribe.

Section 108.06 (2) (bm), Stats., provides that an
employee’s benefit year begins on the Sunday of the week in
which the employee files a valid request to establish a benefit
year with the department, except that the department may
permit an employee to begin a benefit year prior to that time
under circumstances prescribed by rule of the department.

Section 108.06 (2) (d), Stats., provides that a claimant may
request that the department set aside a benefit year by filing
a written, verbal or electronic request in the manner that the
department prescribes by rule. If the statutory criteria for set
aside are not met, the department shall not set aside the benefit
year unless the department defines by rule exceptional
circumstances in which a claimant may be permitted to set
aside a request to establish a benefit year and the claimant
qualifies to make such a request under the circumstances
described in the rule.

Section 108.14 (2), Stats., provides that the department
may adopt and enforce all rules which it finds necessary or
suitable to carry out Chapter 108, Stats., regarding
unemployment insurance.

Summary of proposed rule

Initiating a claim. Section 108.08 (1), Stats., provides that
to receive unemployment insurance benefits for any given
week of unemployment, a claimant shall give notice to the
department with respect to such week of unemployment
within such time and such manner as the department may by
rule prescribe. Section DWD 129.01 (1) currently provides
that a claimant is eligible only if, as of the first week being
claimed, the claimant notifies the department in person, by
telephone, or as otherwise prescribed by the department
during that week or within 7 days after the close of that week,
of the claimant’s intent to initiate the claim. The proposed
rules repeal the phrase “as of the first week being claimed.”
This clarifies that all claims can be backdated one week. The
current language does not clearly state when a claim can be
automatically backdated, which has resulted in the provision
being applied inconsistently. The proposed rules also remove
in−person as a specified option for filing an initial claim. It
would still be an option under the “as otherwise prescribed”
phrase. The proposed rules also add the option of filing via the
Internet. Internet filing has been allowed since 2003 under the
“as otherwise prescribed” language.

Continuing a claim. Section DWD 129.01 (2) describes the
requirements for continuing a claim by filing a weekly
certification. The current rule provides that the claimant is
eligible for benefits for any week only if the claimant files a
weekly certification in the manner prescribed by the
department within 14 days following the end of the week for
which benefits are claimed. The 14−day deadline is extended
to 19 days for claimants who claim through the interstate
system.

The proposed rules are rewritten for clarity, specify the
option of filing a weekly certification via the Internet, and
repeal the extended 19−day deadline for interstate claims.
Since the vast majority of claims are filed by telephone or
Internet, extra time for interstate claims is not needed. In
addition, the proposed rules repeal the requirement that the
claimant contact the department to receive directions on how
to proceed if neither a check nor a reason for not receiving a
check is received within 7 days after submitting weekly claim.
This language has no bearing on the payment of benefits.
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Resuming a claim. If a weekly certification is not filed for
a benefit week as described in s. DWD 129.01 (2) on
continuing a claim, the claim becomes inactive as of the first
week after the last week in which a timely weekly certification
could have been filed. The subsection on resuming a claim, s.
DWD 129.01 (3), currently provides that a claim may be
resumed by filing the notice required for initiating a claim
under s. DWD 129.01 (1), except the deadline for resuming
a claim is within 14 days after the close of the week falling
between the week for which the untimely weekly certification
was submitted and the week in which the claimant notifies the
department. The proposed rules on resuming a claim are
rewritten for clarity and repeal the provision that allows
payment for the 14 days prior to a resumed claim so that all
initial claim applications, including resuming a claim, have
the same time limit, which is “within 7 days after the close of
the first week being claimed.”

Waiver for exceptional circumstances. Section DWD
129.01 (4) lists criteria under which the department will waive
the requirements for initiating a claim, continuing a claim,
resuming a claim, or backdating a benefit year. The proposed
rule adds the general criteria, “other exceptional
circumstances over which the claimant has no control.”

Set aside a benefit year. Section 108.06 (2) (d), Stats.,
provides that a claimant may request that the department set
aside a benefit year by filing a written, verbal, or electronic
request in the manner that the department prescribes by rule.
The department shall grant the request and cancel the benefit
year if the request is voluntary, benefits have not been paid to
the claimant and at the time the department acts upon the
request for that benefit year the claimant’s benefit eligibility
is not suspended. If the claimant does not meet these
requirements, the department shall not set aside the benefit
year unless the department defines by rule exceptional
circumstances in which a claimant may be permitted to set
aside a benefit year and the claimant qualifies to make such
a request under the circumstances described in the rule.

The current s. DWD 129.04 provides that the request to set
aside a benefit year must be in writing and that the department
has recovered, or has waived the recovery of, all benefits paid
to the claimant for that benefit year or offsets this amount
against benefits the claimant would otherwise be eligible to
receive at the time the request to set aside a benefit year is
made. If the statutory criteria for set aside are not met, the
department may set aside the benefit year under other
conditions. Other conditions include the following:

�  The department terminates coverage of an employer
previously subject to ch. 108, Stats., for whom the claimant
performed services in the base period and the claimant could
not have foreseen this termination of coverage.

�  The department makes an error relating to the claimant’s
establishing of a benefit year;

�  The wage data used by the department to establish the
benefit year is erroneous.

�  The claimant elects alternative filing because the
claimant’s benefit year was established in the last month of a
calendar quarter and benefits were paid to the claimant prior
to the department advising the claimant of the choice of
alternative filing.

The proposed rules repeal the requirement that a request to
set aside a benefit year be in writing and create new
exceptional circumstances when set aside of a benefit year
may be allowed. The new exceptional circumstances are as
follows:

�  The claimant’s first payment in the benefit year was made
after an additional initial claim was filed.

�   The claimant is eligible to start a benefit year in another
state.

�  The cancellation of wage credits under s. 108.04 (5),
Stats., reduces the claimant’s maximum benefit amount to less
than 5 times the weekly benefit rate.

�  Other exceptional circumstances exist over which the
claimant has no control that are related to establishing a
benefit year.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The proposed rules are modernized to specify the Internet

as a method for filing initial claims and weekly certifications.
The proposed rules also remove the specified in−person filing
option since initial claims are no longer routinely filed at local
offices. It would still be an option under the “as otherwise
prescribed” phrase. New exceptional circumstances are
added to allow the set aside of a benefit year based on the
department’s experience with appropriate circumstances that
have occurred with some frequency.

Comparison with federal law
There are no federal standards or regulations for

unemployment insurance benefits regarding filing or notice
requirements.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
Minnesota. Applications for unemployment benefits are

effective the Sunday of the calendar week in which the
completed application is submitted. Applications and weekly
certifications may be submitted by Internet, telephone, or
mail. An account that has become inactive may be reactivated
effective the Sunday of the calendar week in which the
account was reactivated.

Iowa.  An initial claim may be filed by telephone, in person,
or by other means prescribed by the department. Claims are
deemed filed as of Sunday of the week in which the claim is
filed. A claimant must generally complete a voice response
telephone claim to continue benefits. A request to set aside a
benefit year must be in writing. Iowa lists numerous reasons
to allow set aside of a benefit year. Reasons in common with
Wisconsin include that a claimant could refile after the change
of a calendar quarter to obtain an increase in the maximum
benefit amount if the benefit year cancellation were allowed;
if a claimant would receive more benefits from another state;
or if a claimant received erroneous information from an
employee of the department.

Michigan. The Michigan administrative rules provide that
a claimant shall file an initial claim, continued claim, or
resumed claim as directed by the agency. To be considered a
timely filing and effective as of the beginning of the
claimant’s first week of unemployment, a new claim shall be
received by the agency not later than the Friday after the end
of the week containing the claimant’s last day of work. A
continued claim shall be received by the agency not later than
the Friday after the end of the last week of the period for which
the claimant is instructed to report. A resumed claim is
effective as of the beginning of the week in which it is received
by the agency. If a claimant does not file a new, continued, or
resumed claim pursuant to these deadlines but files the new or
resumed claim not later than the 14th day after these time
limits, the claim is consider filed on time if the claimant has
good cause for the lateness of the filing.

A claimant who has established a benefit year but has not
received a benefit check may request a redetermination of
benefit rights and cancellation of the established benefit year
and may file a new claim to establish a new benefit year.

Illinois.  An initial claim for benefits must be filed in person
at the local office unless a claimant is otherwise instructed by
the agency. An initial claim for benefits should be filed no



Page 39June 30, 2006 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 606

later than the end of the first week in which the claimant is
separated from work and the claim shall begin in the week in
which it was filed. Filing by mail may be allowed for
claimants with special circumstances, such as lack of
transportation or physical disabilities. Claimants generally
file a certification for continuing benefits by telephone.
Claimants are given a certification day in which they call and
respond to questions concerning their claims for the prior 2
weeks. If the claimant misses the certification day, a call may
be placed on Thursday or Friday of that week, or on the
designated certification day or Thursday or Friday of the next
week. Filing a certification by mail may be allowed in special
circumstances, such as language issues, hearing impairment,
or lack of access to a touch tone phone.
Effect on small business

The proposed rules do not add or change any requirements
for small businesses. There are no reporting, bookkeeping, or
other procedures required for compliance with the proposed
rule and no professional skills are required. The DWD Small
Business Regulatory Coordinator is Jennifer Jirschele, (608)
266−1023, jennifer.jirschele@dwd.state.wi.us.
Fiscal impact

The proposed rules have no fiscal effect on state or local

governments.

Agency contact person

Carla Breber, UI Disputed Benefit Claims, (608)
266−7564, carla.breber@dwd.state.wi.us.

Copy of the rules and submission of written comment

You may review and print a copy of the proposed rules at
the department’s proposed rule hearing website at
http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/dwd/hearings.htm. You may
receive a paper copy of the rule by contacting:

Elaine Pridgen
Office of Legal Counsel

Dept. of Workforce Development
P.O. Box 7946

Madison, WI 53707−7946
(608) 267−9403

fax: (608) 266−1784
elaine.pridgen@dwd.state.wi.us

Written comments on the proposed rules received at the
above address, email, or fax no later than July 26, 2006, will
be given the same consideration as testimony presented at the
hearing.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 06−009)

Chs. ATCP 10 and 12, relating to animal disease and
movement.

Commerce
(CR 06−031)

Ch. Comm 5, relating to licenses, certifications and
registrations.

Commerce
(CR 06−040)

Ch. Comm 62, relating to automatic fire suppression
systems for student housing serving colleges and
universities.

Employee Trust Funds
(CR 05−114)

Ch. ETF 10, relating to separate retirement system
investments in the fixed and variable retirement
investment trusts.

Health and Family Services
(CR 06−021)

Ch. HFS 157, relating to protecting public health by
regulating the sources and use of ionizing radiation and
affecting small businesses.

Kickapoo Valley Reserve
(CR 06−029)

Ch. KB 1, relating to management of the Kickapoo
Valley Reserve.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−012)

Chs. NR 10 and 19, relating to deer and turkey hunting,
hunting and trapping techniques, permit and license
issuance, dog training and learn−to−hunt programs.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−011)

Ch. NR 20, relating to fishing on the inland, outlying and
boundary waters of Wisconsin.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−075)

Ch. NR 243, relating to animal feeding operations.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−116)

Chs. NR 439, 460, 462 and 484, relating to national
emission standards for hazardous air pollutants for
industrial, commercial and institutional, boilers and
process heaters.

Transportation
(CR 06−036)

Ch. Trans 510, relating to the Transportation Facilities
Economic Assistance and Development (TEA) Program.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Commerce
(CR 05−049)

An order affecting ch. Comm 3, relating to stop work,
stop use and petition for variance procedures.

Effective 8−1−06.

Dentistry Examining Board
(CR 04−095)

An order affecting ch. DE 11, relating to anesthesia
administration.

Effective 1−1−07.

Health and Family Services
(CR 06−018)

An order affecting ch. HFS 148, relating to the chronic
disease drug repository program.
Effective 8−1−06.

Labor and Industry Review Commission
(CR 05−092)

An order affecting chs. LIRC 1 to 4, relating to the rules
of practice and procedure.

Effective 8−1−06.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−101)

An order affecting ch. NR 20, relating to hook and line
walleye, sauger and hybrids fishing in Sherman Lake,
Vilas Co.

Effective 8−1−06.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−089)

An order affecting chs. NR 102 and 207, relating to the
water quality classifications in the Lake Superior basin
and the related anti−degradation procedures for WPDES
permits.

Effective 8−1−06.

Nursing Home Administrator Examining Board
(CR 06−010)

An order affecting chs. NHA 1 to 3, relating to continuing
education.

Effective 8−1−06.

Regulation and Licensing
(CR 06−015)

An order affecting ch. RL 87, Appendix I, relating to the
2006 edition of the Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice (USPAP).

Effective 8−1−06.
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Rules published with this register and final regulatory
flexibility analyses

The following administrative rule orders have been adopted and published in the June 30, 2006, Wisconsin Administrative
Register.  Copies of these rules are sent to subscribers of the complete Wisconsin Administrative Code and also to the subscribers of
the specific affected Code.

For subscription information, contact Document Sales at (608) 266−3358.

Employment Relations Commission
(CR 02−037)

An order affecting chs. ERC 1 to 26, 28, 30 to 33, 40 and
50, relating to the administration of collective bargaining
laws.  Effective 7−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules do not impact small businesses as

defined in ch. 227.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Health and Family Services
(CR 03−085)

An order affecting ch. HFS 2, relating to recoupment of
program benefit overpayments from program recipients. 
Effective 7−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules concern the administration of state

program benefits.  The proposed rules do not directly affect
small businesses, as defined under s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
Accordingly, the Department is exempt from performing an
analysis of the affect on small businesses by operation of ss.
227.114 (8) (b) and 227.19 (3m), Stats.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

Modifications were requested by the Senate Committee
on Health, Children, Families, Aging and Long−Term Care.
The Department submitted modifications to the Senate
Committee and to the Assembly Committee on Children and
Families on April 26, 2006.  No additional comments or
requests for modifications were received.

Insurance
(CR 06−002)

An order affecting ch. Ins 17, relating to fund fees fiscal
year 2007.  Effective 7−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance has

determined that this rule will not have a significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses and
therefore a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The legislative standing committees had no comments on
this rule.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−084)

An order affecting ch. NR 118, relating to management
zone designations in the Lower St. Croix National Scenic
Riverway.  Effective 7−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The change may have a positive impact on small

business.  Businesses may realize increased flexibility and a
decrease in time needed for permit process review for changes
to their structures.  No process, design or operational
standards are contained in the rule; therefore, a final
regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The rules were reviewed by the Senate Committee on
Natural Resources and Transportation and the Assembly
Committee on Natural Resources.  There were no comments
received.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−086)

An order affecting ch. NR 10, relating to deer hunting
season and permit issuance regulation changes.  Effective
7−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules relate to deer hunting and permit

issuance.  These rules are applicable to individual hunters and
impose no compliance or reporting requirements for small
businesses, nor are any design or operational standards
contained in the rules.  Therefore, under s. 227.19 (3m), Stats.,
a final regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The rule was referred to the Assembly Committee on
Natural Resources and the Senate Committee on Natural
Resources and Transportation.  A joint public hearing was
held on January 23, 2006.  As a result of that hearing, the
department was requested to move the antlerless hunt to the
first weekend in December north of Highway 8; add a
two−year sunset of the antlerless hunt north of Highway 8;
move the two−day youth hunt tot he Saturday and Sunday
closest to October 8; and to move the last day of bow hunting
to the Sunday closest to January 3.  At a January 31, 2006,
meeting, the Natural Resources Board modified the rule to
move the two−day youth hunt from its start date of 7 days
following the start of the bow season to a start date of the
Saturday closest to October 8 and to modify the four−day
antlerless hunt north of Highway 8 to be held only in Herd
Control Units starting the second Thursday after the
Thanksgiving holiday.  The Natural Resources Board
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declined to move the antlerless hunt to the first weekend in
December north of Highway 8, add a two−year sunset of the
antlerless hunt north of Highway 8 or the move the last day of
bow hunting to th Sunday closes to January 3.

On February 8, 2006, Senate Committee on Natural
Resources and Transportation again asked for modifications
to delete the provisions in the rule on the four−day December
antlerless gun hunt and replace then with a four−day antlerless
gun hunt north of Highway 8 beginning the first Thursday
following the Thanksgiving holiday and a four−day antlerless
gun hunt south of Highway 8 beginning the second Thursday
following the Thanksgiving holiday.  The Assembly
Committee on Natural Resources requested the department to
move the antlerless hunt to the first weekend in December
north of Highway 8, add a two−year sunset of the antlerless
hunt north of Highway 8 and to move the last day of bow
hunting to the Sunday closest to January 3.  On February 10,
2006, the Natural Resources Board declined to make any
further modifications.  The review committees objected to
portions of Clearinghouse Rule No. 05−086 and the rule was
referred to the Joint Committee for Review of Administrative
Rules.

On Tuesday, April 18, 2006, the Joint Committee for
Review of Administrative Rules held a public hearing.  The
Joint Committee requested the department to modify the rule
to provide for a four−day firearm season beginning on the
second Thursday following the Thanksgiving holiday in
December 2006.  At its April 2006 meeting, the Natural
Resources Board adopted modifications to include all deer
management units north of Highway 8 in the four−day
December gun hunt.  The four−day hunt was limited in 2006.
On May 3, 2006, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules held an executive session and by a 9−1
vote approved the modifications adopted by the Natural
Resources Board.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−100)

An order affecting ch. NR 192, relating to lake
monitoring contracts and the citizen lake monitoring network.
Effective 7−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Small businesses such as laboratories, data processing

consultants and equipment vendors who may be eligible for
contracts to assist in the network will benefit from the
proposed rule.  Participation is voluntary and the impacts
positive.  Therefore, under s. 227.19 (3m), Stats., a final
regulatory flexibility analysis is not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rule was reviewed by the Senate
Committee on Natural Resources and Transportation and the
Assembly Committee on Natural Resources.  The Assembly
Committee on Natural Resources held a public hearing on
March 29, 2006.  No comments or recommendations were
received by the Department as a result of this hearing.

Natural Resources
(CR 05−102)

An order affecting ch. NR 10, relating to small game and
expanded spring turkey hunting in state parks.  Effective
7−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The revisions to chs. NR 10 and 45 pertain to small game

and turkey hunting.  These rules are applicable to individual
sportspersons and impose no compliance or reporting
requirements for small businesses, nor are any design or
operational standards contained in the rule.  Therefore, under
s. 227.19 (3m), Stats., a final regulatory flexibility analysis is
not required.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

The proposed rule was reviewed by the Senate
Committee on Natural Resources and Transportation and the
Assembly Committee on Natural Resources.  The Assembly
Committee on Natural Resources held a public hearing on
March 29, 2006.  No comments or recommendations were
received by the Department as a result of this hearing.

Nursing
(CR 05−121)

An order affecting chs. N 2 and 3, relating to
qualifications for examination and application procedures,
temporary permits and refresher courses.  Effective 7−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Revenue
(CR 04−031)

An order affecting ch. Tax 2, relating to the
apportionment of apportionable income of interstate financial
organizations.  Effective 7−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rule order does not have a significant

economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Revenue
(CR 05−117)

An order affecting ch. Tax 2, relating to the computation
of the apportionment fraction by multi−state public utilities
and telecommunications companies.  Effective 7−1−06.

Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rule order does not have a significant

economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.

Revenue
(CR 06−001)

An order affecting chs. Tax 1 and 2, relating to electronic
funds transfer, information returns and wage statements.
Effective 7−1−06.
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Summary of Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rule order does not have a significant

economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses.

Summary of Comments by Legislative Review
Committees

No comments were received.
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Sections affected by rule revisions and corrections

The following administrative rule revisions and corrections have taken place in June 2006, and will be effective as indicated in
the history note for each particular section.  For additional information, contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at (608) 266−7275.

Revisions

Employment Relations Commission
Chs. ERC 1 to 50

Health and Family Services
Ch. HFS 2
Ch. HFS 79

Insurance
Ch. Ins 17
S. Ins 17.01 (3)
S. Ins 17.28 (3) (c) and (6)

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 10
S. NR 10.001 (3t)
S. NR 10.01 (2) (a), (c), (e), (f) and (g), and (3) (a), (bt),

(c), (e), (ed), (ef), (em), (es), (ev), (f) and (h)
S. NR 10.104 (7), (8), (10) and (11) (a)
S. NR 10.105 (2)
S. NR 10.27
S. NR 10.275 (1) (a) and (b), (2) (c) and (3) (a)
S. NR 10.28 (1) and (4)
S. NR 10.29
S. NR 10.40 (3) (f)

Ch. NR 19
S. NR 19.02 (4) (b)
Ch. NR 45
S. NR 45.09 (4) and (10)
Ch. NR 118
S. NR 118.04 (1) (b) and (3) (b)
Ch. NR 192

Nursing
Ch. N 2
S. N 2.03 (1) (c) and (2) (c)
S. N 2.04 (2) and (6)
S. N 2.06 (1) (b) and (4)
Ch. N 3
S. N 3.04 (1m)

Revenue
Ch. Tax 1
S. Tax 1.12 (3) (fm), (4) (a) and (7) (a)
Ch. Tax 2
S. Tax 2.04 (1) (a) and (b), (2) (d), (de), (dm) and (ds),

(8)
SS. Tax 2.49 to 2.502

Editorial corrections
Corrections to code sections under the authority of s. 13.93 (2m) (b), Stats., are indicated in the following listing.

Natural Resources
Ch. NR 45
S. NR 45.06 (8)

Nursing
Ch. N 1
S. N 1.06 (3) (e)

Ch. N 6
S. N 6.01 (1)

Revenue
Ch. Tax 2
S. Tax 2.03 (1) (intro.)
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Executive  orders

The following are recent Executive Orders issued by the Governor.

Executive Order 146. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff as a mark of respect for Lance Corporal Eric Palmisano of the United States Marine Corps who lost
his life during Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Executive Order 147. Relating to Wisconsin’s leadership role in the development of stem cell technology and jobs.

Executive Order 148. Relating to Department of Natural Resources discretion of administering piers and wharves
regulation in the State of Wisconsin.

Executive Order 150. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff as a mark of respect for Staff Sergeant Nathan Vaco of the United States Army Reserve who lost his
life during Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Executive Order 151. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff as a mark of respect for Former United States Representative Gillespie V. “Sonny” Montgomery.

Executive Order 152. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff as a mark of respect for Specialist Eric Clark of the United States Army Reserve who lost his life during
Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Executive Order 153. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff as a mark of respect for Specialist Grant Dampier of the United States Army who lost his life during
Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Executive Order 154. Relating to a proclamation that the flag of the United States and the flag of the State of Wisconsin
be flown at half−staff on Memorial Day.

Executive Order 155. Relating to issuance of general obligation bonds for the Veterans Home Loan Program of
appointment of hearing officer.

Executive Order 156. Relating to an additional extension of eligibility to received pay and benefits under Wis. Stats.
s. 230.315.
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Public notices

Health and Family Services
(Medical Assistance Reimbursement of Hospitals)

The State of Wisconsin reimburses hospitals for medical services provided to low−income persons under the
authority of Title XIX of the Federal Social Security Act and Chapter 49.43 to 49.47, Wisconsin Statutes. The
Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services administers this program that is called Medicaid or Medical
Assistance (MA). Federal statutes and regulations require state plans, one for outpatient services and one for inpatient
services, that provide the methods and standards for paying for hospital outpatient and inpatient services.

State plans are now in effect for the reimbursement of outpatient hospital services and inpatient hospital services.
The Department is proposing to make changes to the provisions contained in the inpatient and outpatient plan effective
July 1, 2006 to implement proposed provisions and maintain compliance with federal payment limits, and for
administrative efficiencies.

Outpatient Hospital Services
Proposed changes in the state plan for reimbursement for outpatient services may include:
1. Excluding from the final cost settlement for critical access hospitals (CAH), the cost of physical, occupational

and speech therapy services that are payable at the Wisconsin Medicaid Program’s maximum fee schedule for such
services in order to conform reimbursement with provisions of the 2005−2007 State Budget.

2. Allowing adjustments for critical access hospitals (CAH), to current interim payments based on more current
information than is available in past audited cost reports in order to better estimate the final cost settlement for the
respective CAH.

3. Reimbursing all OP lab services on a max fee schedule Effective January 1, 2007, to simplify final cost
settlements.

Implementation of the above changes to the State Plan for outpatient services are expected to be budget neutral.
Inpatient Hospital Services
Proposed changes in the state plan for reimbursement for inpatient services may include:
1. Not requiring hospitals, including IMDs, to contact the external review organization for pre−admission review

or obtain a case−specific control number prior to a substance abuse or mental health admission.
2. Modifying the criteria for a hospital to qualify for the general assistance disproportionate share supplement. Also,

modification of the methodology for distributing the available funds to qualifying hospitals in order to maintain
compliance with federal payment limits and to implement provisions of the 2005−2007 state budget act.

3. Removing the Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs) from the appendix for hospitals qualifying for exemption from
capital cost reduction. This calculation does not affect the CAHs.

4. Allowing adjustments to current interim payments based on more current information than is available in past
audited cost reports in order to better estimate the final cost settlement for the respective CAH.

5. Allowing, For the year July 1, 2006 to June 30, 2007 only, for not annually revising DRG weights based on more
current claim and cost report information. Provide for retaining the DRG weights in effect in the prior year July 1,
2005 to June 30, 2006 to allow for timely payment of claims. Individual hospital rates will change and any new DRGs
will have weights calculated.

Implementation of the above changes to the State Plan for inpatient services are expected to be budget neutral.
Copies of Proposed Changes and Proposed Payment Rates

Copies of the proposed changes will be sent to every county social services or human service department main
office where they will be available for public review. For more information, interested persons may fax or write to:

Hospitals, Physicians and Clinics Section
Division of Health Care Financing
P.O. Box 309
Madison, WI 53701−0309
Fax: (608) 266−1096
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Written Comments
Written comments on the proposed changes are welcome and should be sent to the above address. The comments

received on the changes will be available for public review between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. at:
Division of Health Care Financing
Room 350, State Office Building
One West Wilson Street
Madison, WI



The State of Wisconsin
Department of Administration
Bureau of Document Services
Document Sales and Distribution Section
P.O. Box 7840
Madison, Wisconsin 53707−7840

First Class Mail

Dated Material.  Please Do Not Delay!


