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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Beginning with rules filed with the Legislative Reference
Bureau in 2008, the Legislative Reference Bureau will assign
a number to each emergency rule filed, for the purpose of
internal tracking and reference.  The number will be in the
following form: EmR0801.  The first 2 digits indicate the year
of filing and the last 2 digits indicate the chronological order
of filing during the year.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection (2)

1. EmR0804 − Creating subch. IV of Ch. ATCP 161,
relating to the “buy local” grant program created under s.
93.48, Stats.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
DATCP has general authority under s. 93.07 (1), Stats., to

interpret laws under its jurisdiction.  Section 93.48 (1), Stats.,
specifically requires DATCP to adopt rules for the “buy local”
grant program.  Section 9103(3i) of 2007 Wisconsin Act 20
(biennial budget act) authorizes DATCP to adopt temporary
emergency rules without the normal “finding of emergency,”
pending the adoption of “permanent” rules.  This temporary
emergency rule implements the “buy local” grant program on
an interim basis, pending the adoption of “permanent” rules.

Publication Date: February 22, 2008

Effective Date: February 22, 2008

Expiration Date: May 1, 2009
Hearing Date: May 30, 2008

2. EmR0822 − Rules adopted revising Ch. ATCP 10,
relating to diseases of fish and farm−raised deer.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The Wisconsin department of Agriculture, Trade and

Consumer Protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s
animal health and disease control programs, including
programs to control diseases of fish and farm−raised deer.

Disease Testing of Fish
(2)  DATCP regulates fish farms, including fish farms

operated by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
(“DNR”).  DATCP also regulates the import, movement and
disease testing of fish. 

(3)  Viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) is a serious
disease of fish.  VHS was first reported in Wisconsin on May
11, 2007, after the Wisconsin Veterinary Diagnostic
Laboratory confirmed positive samples from freshwater
drum (sheepshead) in Little Lake Butte des Mortes (part of the
Lake Winnebago system).  VHS was subsequently found in
Lake Winnebago, and in Lake Michigan near Green Bay and
Algoma.  The source of VHS in these wild water bodies is not
known.  VHS has not yet been reported in any Wisconsin fish
farms.  VHS can be fatal to fish, but is not known to affect
human beings.

(4)  Current DATCP rules require health certificates for fish
and fish eggs (including bait) imported into this state, for fish
and fish eggs stocked into waters of the state, and for fish and
fish eggs (including bait species) moved between fish farms
in this state.  Import health certificates must include VHS
testing if the import shipment includes salmonids (salmon,
trout, etc.) or originates from a state or province where VHS
is known to occur.  VHS testing is not currently required for
fish or fish eggs stocked into waters of the state from
Wisconsin sources, for bait fish or eggs originating from
Wisconsin sources, for fish or fish eggs moved between fish
farms in Wisconsin, or for non−salmonids imported from
states where VHS has not yet been found.

(5)  Because VHS has now been found in waters of the
state, it is necessary to expand current VHS testing
requirements.  Because of the urgent need to minimize the
spread of VHS in this state, it is necessary to adopt VHS
testing requirements by emergency rule, pending the adoption
of a “permanent” rule.

Disease−Free Herd Certification of 
Farm−Raised Deer Herds

(6)  DATCP registers farm−raised deer herds in this state.
DATCP also regulates the import, movement and disease
testing of farm−raised deer.  Under current DATCP rules,
DATCP may certify a farm−raised deer herd as
brucellosis−free or tuberculosis−free, or both, based on herd
test results provided by the farm−raised deer keeper.
Certification is voluntary, but facilitates sale and movement
of farm−raised deer.

(7)  Under current rules, a tuberculosis−free herd
certification is good for 3 years, but a brucellosis−free herd
certification is good for only 2 years.  There is no compelling
veterinary medical reason for the difference.  A rule change
(extending the brucellosis−free certification term from 2 to 3
years) is needed to harmonize the certification terms, so that
farm−raised deer keepers can conduct simultaneous tests for
both diseases.  Simultaneous testing will reduce testing costs
and limit stress on tested deer.  An emergency rule is needed
to avoid some unnecessary costs for farm−raised deer keepers
this year, pending the adoption of permanent rules.
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Publication Date: July 9, 2008
Effective Date: July 9, 2008
Expiration Date: December 6, 2008
Hearing Date: August 1, 2008

Children and Families (2)
(Formerly Workforce Development)
Family Supports, Chs. DWD 12 to 59

1. EmR0814 − Rule adopted repealing EmR0807 affecting
s. DWD 56.04, relating to child care enrollment
underutilization.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that an emergency rule is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety,
or welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The Department implemented the child care enrollment
underutilization emergency rule as a cost−saving measure
effective March 30, 2008.  2007 Wisconsin Act 226 provides
$18.6 million to address the fiscal year 2007−08 Wisconsin
Shares funding shortfall.  The Governor’s veto message
directs the Department of Workforce Development to
“suspend the current attendance−based rule for the remainder
of fiscal year 2007−08.”  The Department is repealing the
enrollment underutilization emergency rule and will be
withdrawing the corresponding proposed permanent rule.

Publication Date: May 25, 2008
Effective Date: May 25, 2008
Expiration Date: October 22, 2008
Hearing Date: June 27, 2008

2. EmR0821 − Rules adopted creating ss. DWD 40.02
(12m), 40.05, and DWD 40 Appendix D, relating to
establishment of birth cost orders based on child support
guidelines.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The federal Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE)
has notified Wisconsin that OCSE will not certify the state’s
request for federal income tax refund offset for birth cost
orders that have not been set in accordance with the child
support guidelines in Chapter DWD 40, which take into
consideration the payer’s ability to pay.

Federal income tax refund offset is one of the primary tools
for collection of birth cost orders owed to the State of
Wisconsin. In calendar year 2007, the child support program
collected $11,481,000 in birth costs through federal income
tax refund offset.  Of the nearly $11.5 million collected,
approximately $6.62 million was returned to the federal
government to reimburse Medicaid costs, $1.72 million was
used by county child support agency programs to benefit
children in the state, and the remaining $3.14 million was
returned to the state Medicaid program.

Publication Date: June 27, 2008
Effective Date: June 27, 2008
Expiration Date: November 24, 2008
Hearing Date: July 29, 2008

Commerce
Uniform Dwelling, Chs. Comm 20−25

Wisconsin Commercial Building Code, Chs. Comm 60−66

EmR0826 − Rules adopted to renumber s. Comm
66.0911; to amend s. Comm 20.24 (1) and (2); and to create
ss. Comm 21.095, 20.24 Table 20.24−14, 62.1200, 62.3500
(3) (e), 66.0911 (title) and (2), relating to carbon monoxide
alarms and affecting small business.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Under the nonstatutory provisions of 2007 Wisconsin Act

205, the Department of Commerce is directed to issue
emergency rules that implement provisions of the Act.  The
Act specifically states:  “Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1)
(a) and (3) of the statutes, neither the department of commerce
or the department of health services is required to provide
evidence that promulgating rules under this subsection as
emergency rules is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for the rules promulgated under this
subsection.”

The Act mandates the installation and maintenance of
carbon monoxide alarms in buildings accommodating certain
types of residential occupancies and within which fuel
burning appliances are located.  Residential occupancies
include tourist rooming houses, bed and breakfast
establishments, and any public building that is used for
sleeping or lodging, such as, hotels, motels, condominiums,
apartment buildings, dormitories, fraternities, sororities,
convents, seminaries, community based residential facilities,
home shelters, but not hospitals and nursing homes.  The Act
requires the installation of carbon monoxide alarms in new
buildings as of October 1, 2008.  The owners of existing
buildings will have until April 1, 2010 to install the carbon
monoxide alarms.  The Act also provides for the omission of
carbon monoxide alarms in certain instances which are
further clarified by the administrative rules.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective Date: October 1, 2008
Expiration Date: February 28, 2009
Hearing Date: October 14, 2008

Commerce (2)
Financial Resources for Businesses and Communities,

Chs. Comm 104−135

1. EmR0823 − Rules adopted amending Comm Table
108.6–1, sections Comm 108.07 (5), 108.22 (1), and
154.06 (intro.) , relating to emergency assistance grants in
the community development block grant program, and
affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists and that adoption of the rule included in this order is
necessary for the immediate preservation of public health,
safety, and welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are
as follows. 

Currently under sections Comm 108.06, 108.07, and
108.22 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code, as
promulgated under sections 560.04, 560.045, and 560.9809
of the Statutes, the Department may annually use up to 5
percent of its federal Community Development Block Grant
(CDBG) funds to repair or replace public infrastructure or
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facilities, or for emergency services necessitated by a natural
disaster or catastrophic event.  Also under sections Comm
108.07 and 108.22, the maximum amount of CDBG funds
that the Department can award to any local government for a
natural disaster or catastrophic event is $500,000.

Currently under section Comm 154.06, as promulgated
under sections 560.02 (4) and 560.9809 (2) of the Statutes, the
Department may annually use up to $2,000,000 of CDGB
funds to address emergency housing needs caused by natural
disasters or catastrophic events.

Because of the unprecedented levels of damage to public
infrastructure and facilities from the severe storms and
widespread flooding that occurred throughout the State in
June 2008, the need for emergency assistance to communities
far exceeds the $1.35 Million of CDBG funding that results
from the above 5−percent limit, and the need for emergency
housing assistance for low and moderate income households
far exceeds the above $2,000,000.  Communities and
households in 28 of the 30 counties where the Governor has
declared a state of emergency are eligible for this CDBG
program assistance.

This emergency rule repeals the above limits of 5 percent,
$500,000 and $2,000,000.  This will enable the Department
to (1) use any available CDBG funds for emergency
assistance with repairing or replacing public infrastructure
and facilities, and with repairing or replacing homes damaged
by the severe storms and flooding; and (2) base the award
amounts on the scope of the damages and destruction in the
community and on the funds available.  

Publication Date: July 16, 2008

Effective Date: July 16, 2008
Expiration Date: December 16, 2008
Hearing Date: August 27, 2008

2. EmR0831 − Rules adopted creating section Comm
113.03 (4), relating to allocation of volume cap on
tax−exempt private activity bonds.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists and that adoption of the rule included in this order is
necessary for the immediate preservation of public welfare.

The facts constituting the emergency are as follows.
Because of widespread disruption of the housing markets,
Congress has enacted the Housing and Economic Recovery
Act of 2008 (the “Act”), which contains various relief
measures relating to housing.  Section 3021 of the Act creates
a special one−time additional allocation of volume cap for
calendar year 2008, to be used for the issuance of
single−family housing bonds and multifamily housing bonds
no later than December 31, 2010.

Under section 560.032 of the Statutes, the Department of
Commerce is charged with allocating to Wisconsin issuers the
private activity bond volume cap allocated to Wisconsin
under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, 26 USC 146.  This
emergency rule is necessary to implement the special
allocation of volume cap under the Act, as described above.

Pursuant to section 227.24 of the Statutes, this rule is
adopted as an emergency rule to take effect upon publication
in the official state newspaper and filing with the Legislative
Reference Bureau.

Publication Date: September 27, 2008

Effective Date: September 27, 2008
Expiration Date: February 24, 2009
Hearing Date: October 27, 2008

Corrections

EmR0812 − Rules adopted revising s. DOC 332.19,
relating to the establishment of a sex offender registration fee
to partially offset the costs of monitoring persons who are
required to register as sex offenders.

Finding of Emergency
The department of corrections finds that an emergency

exists and that rules included in this order are necessary for the
immediate preservation of public peace, health, safety and
welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting the emergency
is:  2007 WI Act 20, section 3132, amended s. 301.45 (10),
Stats., in three ways which requires an immediate amendment
of s. DOC 332.19.

First, the newly amended s. 301.45 (10), Stats., expands the
persons whom the department of corrections may require to
pay an annual sex offender registration fee.  Previously, the
department was limited to assessing the fee only against those
persons who were required to register and who were in its
custody or under its supervision as a person on probation,
parole, or extended supervision.  The new law permits the
department to require all persons who are required to register
as a sex offender to pay an annual fee.

Second, the new law limits the use of the collected sex
offender fees to partially offset the costs of monitoring sex
offenders.  Previously, the department was authorized to use
the collected fees to partially offset the costs of monitoring
those persons on probation, parole, or extended supervision,
regardless of whether they were required to register as sex
offenders.

Third, the legislature increased the maximum annual rate
from $50 to $100.  If the rule is not amended promptly and
immediately, the department will not be able to collect the fees
which are to be used to offset the costs of monitoring persons
who are required to register as sex offenders.  This could result
in a lessening of supervision due to budget limitations.

The purpose of the emergency rule is to amend the current
rule to require all persons who are required to register as sex
offenders under s. 301.45 to pay the annual fee which is used
to partially offset the costs of monitoring registrants.  The
emergency rule also increases the annual rate to $100.  The
permanent rule process has been started.  However, the
permanent rule process will take approximately nine months
to complete.  Emergency rules are necessary to respond
promptly to the collection of fees while permanent rules are
being developed.

Publication Date: May 15, 2008
Effective Date: May 15, 2008
Expiration Date: October 12, 2008
Hearing Date: July 24, 2008

Financial Institutions − Securities

EmR0829 − Rules adopted to amend s. DFI−Sec 4.06 (2)
(i) and to create ss. DFI−Sec 4.06 (1) (v), 5.06 (14) and
Chapter DFI−Sec 10, relating to making it a dishonest or
unethical practice for securities licensees to make use of
misleading designations or certifications purporting to
demonstrate special expertise in the financial or retirement
needs of seniors.

Finding of Emergency
The Division of Securities of the Department of Financial

Institutions for the State of Wisconsin finds that an emergency
exists and that the rules are necessary for the immediate
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preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency follows:

The Division is taking immediate, emergency−rule action
to protect seniors in Wisconsin from being misled through the
use by securities licensees of designations and credentials that
imply or represent that a person has special expertise,
certification, or training in financial planning for seniors, but
where such designations and/or credentials are either
non−existent or do not involve significant education, testing,
training or experience, and in reality are marketing ploys.

Publication Date: September 15, 2008

Effective Date: September 15, 2008

Expiration Date: February 12, 2009

Government Accountability Board

EmR0830 − Rules adopted repealing and recreating
Chapter GAB 4, relating to observers at a polling place or
other location where votes are being cast, counted or
recounted.

Finding of Emergency
Pursuant to section 227.24, Stats., the Government

Accountability Board finds that an emergency exists in the
Board’s May 5, 2008 decision to decline to reaffirm the
administrative rule section ElBd 4.01 because the rule was
inconsistent with the requirements of its enabling statute, s.
7.41, Stats. The statute states that any member of the public
is allowed to be present at the polls on Election Day to
observe; however, it does not specify standards of conduct
they must abide by.

The Board further finds that given the intense interest in the
fall election, the expected high turnout, the increasing use of
observers in the polling place, and the comments of municipal
and county clerks regarding the obstacles observers can pose
to the orderly conduct of elections, it is necessary to codify
standards to regulate the observers’ conduct and that the
attached rule governing observer conduct must be adopted
prior to the fall elections to ensure the public peace and safety
with respect to the administration of the fall elections.

Publication Date: September 26, 2008

Effective Date: September 26, 2008

Expiration Date: February 23, 2009

Health Services
(Formerly Health and Family Services)

Health, Chs. HFS 110—

EmR0825 − Rule adopted creating Chapter HFS 119, to
require emergency medical technicians, first responders, and
individuals who provide instruction to emergency medical
technicians and first responders to complete training on the
use of automated external defibrillators and to specify the
content of the training, qualifications of providers, and
frequency with which training is to be completed, and
affecting small businesses.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The legislature by 2007 Act 104 provides the department

with an exemption from a finding of emergency to adopt these
emergency rules.

Publication Date: August 29, 2008

Effective Date: September 1, 2008

Expiration Date: January 29, 2009

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

EmR0824 − Rule adopted revising ss. NR 10.01 (1) (b),
(g), (h), (u) and (v) and 10.06 (5), relating to the 2008
migratory game bird seasons and waterfowl hunting zones.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  The federal government and state
legislature have delegated to the appropriate agencies
rule−making authority to control the hunting of migratory
birds. The State of Wisconsin must comply with federal
regulations in the establishment of migratory bird hunting
seasons and conditions.  Federal regulations are not made
available to this state until mid−August of each year. This
order is designed to bring the state hunting regulations to
conformity with the federal regulations.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of these changes
by September 1.  Failure to modify our rules will result in the
failure to provide hunting opportunity and continuation of
rules which conflict with federal regulations.

Publication Date: August 30, 2008
                          Amendment: September 26, 2008

Effective Date: August 30, 2008

Expiration Date: January 27, 2009
Hearing Date: October 27, 2008

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection − General, Chs. NR 100—

EmR0809 − Rule adopted to repeal s. NR 198.15 (2), to
renumber s. NR 198.12 (6) to (10), to amend ss. NR 198.11,
198.14 (1) (e) and (f) 2., 198.23 (5) to (7), 198.33 (5), and
198.44 (5) and to create ss. NR 198.12 (6) and (7), 198.33 (6)
and subch. V of ch. NR 198, relating to grants for the control
of aquatic invasive species.

Finding of Emergency
The substantial increase in grant funding is a strong

message from the Legislature that concern over the welfare of
our public waters is growing, along with the expectation that
these additional funds be put to work as soon as possible.  The
appropriation from which these funds are spent is a biennial
appropriation, meaning that any unspent funds at the end of
the biennium automatically lapse back to the Water Resources
Account of the Conservation Fund.  The timeline for
permanent rule promulgation and the lack of staff to provide
support to eligible sponsors may impede the Department’s
ability to fully and responsibly invest the authorized spending
by the end of the biennium because of the current rule’s
limitations.  An emergency rule will help to minimize or
eliminate the amount of funds that are lapsed.

Publication Date: April 7, 2008

Effective Date: July 1, 2008

Expiration Date: November 28, 2008
Hearing Dates: July 22 to August 5, 2008
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Pharmacy Examining Board
EmR0815 − Rule adopted revising Ch. Phar 13, relating

to the regulation of wholesale prescription drug distributors.

Finding of Emergency
The Board has made a finding of emergency.  The Board

finds that failure to have the proposed rules in effect on June
1, 2008, the effective date of the applicable provisions of 2007
Wisconsin Act 20, will create a danger to the public health,
safety and welfare, by disrupting the wholesale distribution of
prescription drugs in the state of Wisconsin.

Publication Date: May 29, 2008

Effective Date: June 1, 2008

Expiration Date: October 29, 2008
Hearing Date: July 23, 2008

Public Instruction (2)

1. EmR0813 − A rule is adopted revising Ch. PI 37, relating
to grants for national teacher certification and master
educator licensure.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The new provisions modifying the grants for the national
teacher certification program under 2007 Wisconsin Act 20,
the biennial budget bill, took effect October 27, 2007. In order
to establish the new application criteria and procedures to
award grants to eligible applicants in the 2007−08 school year,
emergency rules must be in place as soon as possible.

Publication Date: May 17, 2008

Effective Date: May 17, 2008

Expiration Date: October 14, 2008
Hearing Date: July 23, 2008

2. EmR0816 − A rule adopted revising Ch. PI 30, relating to
state special education aid for certain pupil services
personnel.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The new provisions under 2007 Wisconsin Act 221
modifying the percentage of the salaries of licensed school
nurses, licensed school social workers, licensed school
psychologists, and licensed school counselors that are eligible
for state aid reimbursement first applies to state aid distributed
in the 2008−09 school year.  In order to establish instructions
this spring as to how school districts are to account for these
pupil services staff on special education claim forms, rules
must be in place as soon as possible.

Publication Date: May 30, 2008

Effective Date: May 30, 2008

Expiration Date: October 27, 2008
Hearing Date: July 14, 2008

Regulation and Licensing (4)
1. EmR0811 − Rule adopted amending s. RL 16.06 (1) (a),

(b) and (d), relating to how to use approved forms for the
practice of real estate.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Regulation and Licensing finds that

preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare
necessitates putting the rule amendments into effect prior to
the time the amendments would take if the agency complied
with the notice, hearing and publication requirements
established for rule−making in ch. 227, Stats.  The facts
warranting adoption of these rule amendments under s.
227.24, Stats., are as follows:

The department reviewed a proposed draft of a modified
form of the residential real estate listing contract, WB−1,
which contained inserted text that appeared to be or could be
construed to be approved by the department.  The modified
form was forwarded to the department as an example of work
product that was purportedly to be the subject of a continuing
education class demonstrating the allowed means to modify
an approved form.  The modified form was shown to industry
stakeholders, the department’s council on forms, and the Real
Estate Board, for review and comment.  All parties agreed that
the modified form was, or could be, construed to be
misleading based upon its formatting that the modified text
was approved by the department, when in actuality, it was not.
This potential for consumer confusion was agreed to be a
cause for immediate rule−making to prevent modification of
forms such as WB−1 in the manner submitted.

Publication Date: April 16, 2008
Effective Date: April 16, 2008
Expiration Date: September 13, 2008
Hearing Date: June 26, 2008
Extension Through: November 11, 2008

2. EmR0819 − A rule adopted revising s. RL 161.04,
relating to examinations for substance abuse
professionals.

Finding of Emergency
The department has made a finding of emergency.  The

current rules require an applicant for a clinical substance
abuse counselor credential to pass an oral examination.  The
company that produced that examination is not giving that
examination after June 1, 2008.  This emergency rule creates
a time period for a transition to enable a category of applicants
to get a clinical substance abuse counselor credential.  Persons
holding a clinical substance abuse counselor credential can
apply for a supervisory credential.  There is a strong need for
more supervisors in this field because services can only be
provided under supervision.  This rule will enable more
applicants to receive a supervisor credential and is therefore
necessary to maintain the health, safety and welfare of the
public.

Publication Date: June 18, 2008
Effective Date: June 18, 2008
Expiration Date: November 15, 2008

3. EmR0827 − Rule adopted creating s. RL 91.01 (3) (k),
relating to training and proficiency in the use of automated
external defibrillators for certification as a massage
therapist or bodyworker.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
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227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective Date: September 10, 2008
Expiration Date: February 7, 2009

4. EmR0828 − Rules adopted to amend s. RL 181.01 (2)
(c); and to create ss. RL 180.02 (1m), (3m) and (11),
181.01 (1) (d), (2) (c) 1. and 2., relating to training and
proficiency in the use of automated external defibrillators
for licensure as a licensed midwife.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective Date: September 10, 2008
Expiration Date: February 7, 2009

Revenue
EmR0820 − Rule adopted creating ss. Tax 8.03 and 8.05,

relating to the registration of wine collectors, establishing
standards of eligibility for registration as a wine collector,
specifying the form and manner of notice required prior to the
sale of wine by a wine collector, and the creation and
organization of small winery cooperative wholesalers.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The legislature by Section 50 of 2007 Wisconsin Act 85

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.

Publication Date: June 26, 2008

Effective Date: June 26, 2008

Expiration Date: July 1, 2010 or the date on
which permanent rules
take effect, whichever is
sooner.

Transportation

EmR0818 − A rule adopted creating Ch. Trans 263,
relating to multiple trip overweight permits for vehicles
transporting granular roofing materials.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by 2007 Wisconsin Act 171, Section 6 (2),

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.

Publication Date: July 1, 2008

Effective Date: July 1, 2008

Expiration Date: July 1, 2009 or the date on
which permanent rules
take effect, whichever is
sooner.

Hearing Date: July 30, 2008
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Scope Statements

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Subject

Revises Chapter ATCP 149, relating to Wisconsin’s Potato
Marketing Order.

Objective of the Rule

The Wisconsin Potato Board, a semi−autonomous
marketing board administers the potato marketing order
subject to the terms of the marketing order and other
applicable statutes and rules.  Board members are elected by
affected potato growers by district.  The Board spends
producer assessments, collected under the marketing order,
for purposes specified in the marketing order. Under the
current marketing order the assessment on potato producers
used to fund market development, research and educational
programs currently has a cap of $0.06 per hundredweight of
potatoes.

The rule may increase the cap on assessments to enable the
Board to effectively promote the Wisconsin potato industry,
and may alter the district representation to insure fair
representation to affected potato growers.

Policy Analysis

DATCP may adopt marketing orders for agricultural
commodities under ch. 96, Stats., and ch. ATCP 140, Wis.
Adm. Code.  DATCP adopts and amends marketing orders by
rule.  Marketing orders, and marketing order amendments,
must be approved in a referendum of affected producers.

A semi−autonomous marketing board, elected by affected
producers, administers each marketing order (subject to the
terms of the marketing order and other applicable rules).  The
marketing board spends producer assessments, collected
under the marketing order, for purposes specified in the
marketing order.

DATCP has adopted a Potato Marketing Order under ch.
ATCP 149, Wis. Adm. Code. The Wisconsin Potato Board, a
producer−elected marketing board, administers the Potato
Marketing Order.  Under the marketing order, potato
producers pay assessments on all potatoes produced and sold
into commercial channels.  Handlers, who purchase potatoes
from producers, collect the assessments and pay them to the
Wisconsin Potato Board.  The Board uses the assessments to
fund market development, research and educational programs
related to potatoes.

The Wisconsin Potato Board has asked DATCP to amend
the current Potato Marketing Order.  In response to that
request, DATCP proposes to consider the following
amendments to the current marketing order:

� Increase of the cap assessments to enhance market
development, research, and education related to potatoes.

� Changes to the election districts and number of members
elected per district in order to assure fair representation for
potato growers.

Policy Alternatives

If DATCP takes no action, the current Potato Marketing
Order will remain in effect.  The current election districts need

to be altered to insure fair representation for potato growers
and the increase in the cap on assessments is needed to enable
the Board to meet the goals of improving the quality and
promote the marketing of potatoes and the potato industry.

Statutory Authority
Sections 96.05 through 96.08, Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule
The entities directly affected are the potato growers who

elect the members of the Wisconsin Potato Board and who pay
assessments.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
There is a federal potato research and promotion plan

administered by a National Potato Promotion Board that is
appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture.  The purpose
of the federal program is to conduct promotion and research
nationwide and to increase the export of potatoes.  The
authority for the federal program is 7 USC 2611−2627 and
7401.  The federal program is supported by assessments of
handlers and importers.  The federal and the state marketing
order program cooperate with and complement each other.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
DATCP estimates that it will use approximately 0.4 FTE

staff to develop this rule.  Staff time includes time involved in
establishing a producer list, drafting rules, communicating
with affected parties, holding public hearings, preparing
documents and conducting a producer referendum.  DATCP
will use existing staff to develop this rule.

Commerce
Fee Schedule, Ch. Comm 2

Licenses, Certifications and Registrations, Ch. Comm 5

Subject
Revises Chapters Comm 2 and 5, relating to fees.

Objective of the Rule
One objective under this project is to establish a fee for the

department review of continuing education courses which
fulfill license renewal obligations for a variety of individual
license renewals under chapter Comm 5.

Another objective is to analyze the existing fees charged
under various program services to ensure equity within the
program and among the various programs.

The objectives of this rule project may be incorporated into
more than one rule package and may include revisions to other
chapters affected by the proposal.

Policy Analysis
Section 101.19, Stats., requires the Department to fix and

collect fees by rule which shall, as closely a possible, equal the
cost of providing services such as plan examination,
inspections, and permits to operate.  The fees for these
services provided by the Safety and Buildings Division are
contained in chapter Comm 2.  The fees involved in the
issuance of licenses, certifications and registrations are
contained in chapter Comm 5.
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Currently, the department does not charge fees for the
review of continuing education courses that fulfill license
renewal obligations under chapter Comm 5.  Costs associated
with such reviews are currently covered by credential fees.
The proposed concept of charging specific course review fee
is considered to be a more equitable way of covering the costs
associated with the course review.  Not charging a review fee
would maintain the status quo, resulting in a less equitable fee
collection system.

The analysis of program service fees is an issue of equity,
so that one regulated group is not subsidizing the department
services provided to another group.

Statutory Authority

Chapters 101 and 145, Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule

The rule will potentially affect a wide variety of individuals
and entities that utilize the Safety and Building Division’s
services.  The Division is involved in the oversight of
commercial buildings, new one− and 2− family dwellings,
blasting, amusement rides, fireworks manufacturers, boilers,
electric wiring, plumbing, public swimming pools, private
onsite wastewater treatment systems, passenger ropeways,
elevators, escalators, mines, pits and quarries and
manufactured homes.  The people affected by the rule would
include building owners, designers and contractors and
owners of the various mechanical devices.  Under chapter
Comm 5 the division issues licenses, certifications and
registrations to approximately 65 different types of trade
practices typically related to building construction.  For
example, the Division issues credentials to blasters,
electricians and inspectors.  The rules would not affect
credential fees established by the statutes, such as license fees
for plumbers and automatic fire sprinkler system installers.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

An internet−based search of the Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR) and the Federal Register did not find any
federal regulations relating to the licensing and continuing
education activities to be regulated under the rules.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The department estimates approximately 200 hours will be
needed to perform the review and develop any needed rule
changes.  This time includes forming and meeting with
advisory councils, if necessary, drafting the rule changes and
processing the changes through public hearings, legislative
review, and adoption.  The department will assign existing
staff to perform the review and develop the rule changes, and
no other resources will be needed.

Commerce
Fee Schedule, Ch. Comm 2

Licenses, Certifications and Registrations, Ch. Comm 5
Flammable and Combustible Liquids, Ch. Comm 10

Subject

Revises Chapters Comm 2, 5, and 10, relating to training
of operators of underground storage tank systems.

Objective of the Rule

The proposed rules would primarily implement the
operator−training requirements issued by the United States

Environmental Protection Agency in response to the federal
Energy Policy Act of 2005.

Policy Analysis

The Department currently has rules for construction,
maintenance and abandonment of storage tank systems for
flammable, combustible or hazardous liquids – and has
credential rules for several categories of contractors who
perform those activities.  However, those rules do not require
any training for operators of these tank systems.

The proposed rules are expected to address (1) the
operator−training requirements issued by the US EPA in
response to the federal Energy Policy Act of 2005; (2) any
corresponding changes that are needed in chapters Comm 2,
5 and 10 to effectively apply these requirements in Wisconsin;
and (3) any other changes that may be needed in Comm 2, 5
or 10 as a follow−up to repealing and recreating Comm 10 in
2008.

The alternative of not promulgating these rules would
conflict with a directive in Section 9010(b)(2) of the federal
Solid Waste Disposal Act, as enacted in the federal Energy
Policy Act of 2005, to develop these state−specific
requirements; and would conflict with a US EPA mandate to
develop these requirements by August 8, 2009.

Statutory Authority

Sections 101.09 (3) (a) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule

The proposed rules would affect all or nearly all entities
that operate underground storage tank systems for flammable,
combustible or hazardous liquids; and may affect entities that
operate aboveground storage tank systems for these liquids.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

The operator−training requirements in Section 9010 of the
federal Solid Waste Disposal Act, and the US EPA
requirements issued in conjunction with Section 9010,
establish three classes of operators; i.e., Class A operators
have primary responsibility for on−site operation and
maintenance of underground storage tank systems, Class B
operators have daily on−site responsibility for the operation
and maintenance of underground storage tank systems, and
Class C operators have daily on−site responsibility for
addressing emergencies presented by a spill or release from an
underground storage tank system.  The US EPA criteria
further specify (1) which facilities are subject to the training
requirements, (2) who is subject to the training requirements,
(3) minimum components of the training programs for each
class of operator, (4) a 3−year timeframe for completing the
training of all the operators, (5) establishment of a state−level
system for ensuring all operators are trained in accordance
with the requirements, (6) methods for states to demonstrate
compliance with the requirements, and (7) methods the US
EPA will use to enforce state−level compliance with the
requirements.

The proposed rules are expected to match or otherwise
comply with these federal requirements.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The staff time needed to develop the rules is expected to
range from 200 to 400 hours, depending upon the associated
complexity.  This includes research, rule drafting, and
processing the rules through public hearings, legislative
review, and adoption.  There are no other resources necessary
to promulgate the rules.
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Commerce
Licenses, Certifications and Registrations, Ch. Comm 5

Subject

Revises Chapter Comm 5, relating to registration of
building contractors and subcontractors.

Objective of the Rule

The objective of this project is to require contractor
registrations for businesses engaged in building construction.
The contractor registrations would be for those building
construction disciplines not currently required to have a
license, certification or registration under chapter Comm 5.

The objectives of this rule project may be incorporated into
more than one rule package and may include revisions to other
chapters affected by the proposal.

Policy Analysis

Chapter Comm 5 establishes licensing, certification and
registration programs for a variety of building trades, both for
individuals and businesses.  Currently under ch. Comm 5,
with the exception of dwelling contractors, electrical
contractors, elevator contractors, and HVAC contractors, the
department does not have a registration program for
businesses engaged in building construction as contractors
and subcontractors.

Under the statutory authority of chapters 101 and 145,
Stats., the department has the responsibility to protect public
health, safety and welfare in the design and construction of
public buildings, places of employment and one− and 2−
family dwellings.  The department has established building
codes that establish minimum standards for the protection of
public health, safety and welfare.  Compliance with the
building codes is a shared responsibility involving building
owners, designers and contractors.  The proposed registration
of building contractors and subcontractors is to enable the
department to better communicate with such contractors and
facilitate code compliance.

Not registering building contractors and subcontractors
would be a lost opportunity to facilitate improved
communication and code compliance for the construction of
buildings.  A possible alternative would be to credential the
individuals who actually perform the work.

Statutory Authority

Chapters 101 and 145, Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule

It is anticipated that at least the following businesses and
individuals would be affected by the rules: all contractors and
subcontractors associated with building construction other
than those already credentialed by the department.  This
would include general contractors, excavating contractors,
fire alarm contractors, drywall contractors, insulation
contractors, finish carpentry contractors, flooring
contractors, framing carpentry contractors, glass and glazing
contractors, equipment contractors, fire sprinkler contractors,
masonry contractors, painting and wall covering contractors,
plumbing contractors, poured concrete foundation and
structure contractors, roofing contractors, siding contractors,
structural steel and precast concrete contractors, and tile and
terrazzo contractors.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

An internet−based search of the Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR) and the Federal Register did not find any

federal regulations relating to the licensing and continuing
education activities to be regulated under the rules.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
The department estimates approximately 200 hours will be

needed to perform the review and develop any needed rule
changes.  This time includes forming and meeting with
advisory councils, if necessary, drafting the rule changes and
processing the changes through public hearings, legislative
review, and adoption.  The department will assign existing
staff to perform the review and develop the rule changes, and
no other resources will be needed.

Health Services
(Formerly Health and Family Services)

Health, Chs. HFS 110—

Subject
Revises Chapter HFS 131, relating to hospices.

Policy Analysis
The Department proposes to update ch. HFS 131 to align

the rule with revised federal Medicare regulations, eliminate
outdated regulations and to reflect current professional
standards of practice.  The Department also proposes to make
minor, technical changes that will have little or no substantive
effect on the entities regulated.  The proposed changes are not
expected to compromise the health, safety, and welfare of
hospice patients.

On June 5, 2008 the Centers for Medicare Medicaid
Services (CMS) published revised Medicare Hospice
Conditions of Participation.  The revised regulations become
effective on December 2, 2008.   Through this rulemaking
initiative, the Department proposes to eliminate the
inconsistencies between ch. HFS 131 and the federal
regulations to allow for more efficient and effective
regulation of hospices.   The Department anticipates that the
proposed modifications will include revisions to s. HFS
131.32 (3) concerning universal precautions, s. HFS 131.42
(3) concerning the plan of care and s. HFS 131.43 (2)
concerning the core team.

Chapter HFS 131 has not been substantially revised since
initially promulgated in 1992.  The Department proposes to
eliminate outdated regulations and adopt current professional
standards of practice.   The Department anticipates that the
proposed revisions will include the right of patients to receive
effective pain management and symptom control and current
infection control measures as recommended by the U.S.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Statutory Authority
The Department’s authority to promulgate rules is under ss.

50.95 (1), (2), (4), (5), and (6) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Entities affected by the proposed rule include hospices that

are state licensed only and hospices that are both state licensed
and certified for Medicare.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
Title 42 CFR 418 contains the Federal Medicare Hospice

Conditions of Participation.  These regulations establish
conditions and standards for the operation of hospices that
primarily provide palliative and supportive care to an
individual with terminal illness where he or she lives and if
necessary arranges for or provides short−term inpatient care
and treatment or respite care.  State regulations are
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comparable and the intent of these regulations is to foster safe
and adequate care and treatment of patients by hospice
agencies.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The Department estimates that it will take 1,000 hours to
draft the rulemaking order.  In drafting the rule, the
Department will seek the participation of Hospice
Organization and Palliative Experts (HOPE) of Wisconsin,
hospices and hospice consumers.

Contact Information
Pat Benesh
608−264−9896

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board

and Psychology Examining Board

Subject

Revises section MPSW 1.11, regarding psychometric
testing.

Objective of the Rule

The Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board, as well as the
Psychology Examining Board, propose to amend s. MPSW
1.11 regarding psychometric testing.  Currently, the Marriage
and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social
Work Examining Board rules define psychometric testing and
provide guidelines as to how licensees of the Marriage and
Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work
Examining Board (e.g., licensed marriage and family
therapists, licensed professional counselors, and licensed
clinical social workers) may be trained for and have access to
psychometric testing instruments.

The goal is to amend the existing rule in order to clarify the
definition of psychometric testing, to better determine who
may have access to psychometric tests and other testing
instruments, and to determine who may supervise the
individuals who administer these tests.

Policy Analysis

Psychometric testing is authorized under s. 457.033, Stats.
Under that section, the Marriage and Family Therapy,
Professional Counseling and Social Work Examining Board
are required to jointly promulgate rules that specify the
different levels of psychometric testing that an individual who
is certified or licensed under ch. 457, Stats., is qualified to
perform.  The statute also directs that the resulting
administrative rules are to be consistent with guidelines of the
American Psychological Association or other nationally
recognized guidelines.  Both examining boards have agreed
to initiate the rule−making process.

Statutory Authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 457.033, Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule

Licensed marriage and family therapists, licensed
professional counselors, and licensed clinical social workers.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

There is no existing or proposed federal legislation that is
intended to address the activities to be regulated by the rule.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
160 hours.

Transportation
Subject

Revises Chapter Trans 276, relating to highways on which
long combination vehicles may operate.

Objective of the Rule
A group of trucking companies led by LCK Transport LLC

of Rosholt, Wisconsin, have petitioned the Department to
consider amendments to ch. Trans 276, which establishes a
network of highways on which long combination vehicles
may operate, by adding two highway segments to the
network.  The actual segments being proposed are:

STH 66 from the west side of Rosholt to CTH A east of
Rosholt; and

CTH A in Portage County from STH 66 near Rosholt to
USH 10 in Amherst

Policy Analysis
Federal law requires the Department of Transportation to

react within 90 days to requests for changes to the long truck
route network.  Wisconsin state law requires that the
Department use the administrative rule process to make
changes to the long truck route network.  Chapter Trans 276
is an existing rule set up for long truck routes.  The
Department has received a request from LCK Transport LLC,
of Rosholt, WI, to add these highway segments.  Seventeen
other individuals and businesses have signed the petition.

Current law limits straight trucks on STH 66 through
Rosholt and on Portage County Highway A to 40 feet in length
and combination vehicles to 65 feet in length. Double bottom
trucks are currently not permitted on these stretches of
highway.

Designating these particular highways as “long truck
routes,” would lift all limits on overall truck length and permit
double−bottom trucks to be operated on these highway
segments, provided that the trailer on a combination vehicle
does not exceed 53 feet in length and no trailer on a double
bottom exceeds 28 feet in length.  This proposed rule change
would not permit overweight loads.

Increasing overall vehicle length raises two primary safety
concerns on any highway.  First, whether the physical
geometrics of the highway will permit longer vehicles to
operate upon it.  That is, “will the vehicles physically fit on the
highway?”  Sharp corners, for example, can make it
impossible for a long vehicle to navigate a route while
remaining within its lane of travel.  Second, longer vehicles
are more difficult for traffic to pass.  This is especially true on
2−lane roads.

Statutory Authority
Section 348.07 (4), Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule
The rule will affect the requester of the route to be

designated, other operators of commercial motor vehicles,
and residents and businesses along STH 66 in Rosholt and
along Portage County CTH A.  Permitting long trucks on the
route will necessarily affect all persons operating vehicles on
or using those highways.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
In the Surface Transportation Assistance Act of 1982

(STAA), the federal government acted under the Commerce
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clause of the United States Constitution to provide uniform
standards on vehicle length applicable in all states.  The length
provisions of STAA apply to truck tractor−semitrailer
combinations and to truck tractor−semitrailer−trailer
combinations.  (See Jan. 6, 1983, Public Law 97−424, § 411)
The uniform standards provide that:

� No state shall impose a limit of less than 48 feet on a
semitrailer operating in a truck tractor−semitrailer
combination.

� No state shall impose a length limit of less than 28 feet on
any semitrailer or trailer operating in a truck
tractor−semitrailer−trailer combination.

� No state may limit the length of truck tractors.

� No state shall impose an overall length limitation on
commercial vehicles operating in truck
tractor−semitrailer or truck tractor−semitrailer−trailer
combinations.

� No state shall prohibit operation of truck
tractor−semitrailer−trailer combinations.

The State of Wisconsin complied with the federal
requirements outlined above by enacting 1983 Wisconsin Act
78 which amended § 348.07(2), Stats., and § 348.08(1), Stats.
This act created §§ 348.07(2)(f), (fm), (gm) and 348.08(1)(e)
to implement the federal length requirements.  In 1986 the
legislature created § 348.07(2)(gr), Stats., to add 53 foot
semitrailers as part of a two vehicle combination to the types
of vehicles that may operate along with STAA authorized
vehicles.  (See 1985 Wisconsin Act 165)

The vehicles authorized by the STAA may operate on the
national system of interstate and defense highways and on
those federal aid primary highways designated by regulation
of the secretary of the United States Department of
Transportation.  In 1984 the USDOT adopted 23 CFR Part
658 which in Appendix A lists the highways in each state upon
which STAA authorized vehicles may operate.  Collectively
these highways are known as the National Network.  In 1983
Wisconsin Act 78, the legislature enacted § 348.07(4), Stats.,
which directs the Wisconsin Department of Transportation to
adopt a rule designating the highways in Wisconsin on which
STAA authorized vehicles may be operated consistent with
federal regulations.

The Department of Transportation first adopted ch. Trans
276 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code in December of
1984.  The rule is consistent with 23 CFR Part 658 in that the
Wisconsin rule designates all of the highways in Wisconsin
that are listed in 23 CFR Part 658 as part of the National
Network for STAA authorized vehicles.  The federal
regulation does not prohibit states from allowing operation of
STAA authorized vehicles on additional state highways.  The
rule making authority granted to the Wisconsin Department
of Transportation in § 348.07(4), Stats., allows the DOT to
add routes in Wisconsin consistent with public safety.  The
rule making process also provides a mechanism to review
requests from businesses and shipping firms for access to the
designated highway system for points of origin and delivery
beyond 15 miles from a designated route.  A process to review
and respond to requests for reasonable access is required by
23 CFR Part 658.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

It is estimated that state employees will spend 40 hours on
the rule−making process, including research, drafting and
conducting a public hearing.

Transportation
Subject

Amends Chapters Trans 325, 326, and 327, relating to
motor carrier safety and hazardous material transportation
safety.

Objective of the Rule
The objective is to bring the rules into conformance with

changes to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
(FMCSR’S) and the Hazardous Material Regulations
(HMR’s) which are currently in effect at the federal level.
Amendment of these rules will assure State Patrol inspectors
and troopers are enforcing the most current FMCSR’s for
interstate carriers and HMR’s for both interstate and intrastate
carriers of hazardous material.

Trans 325 (Motor Carrier Safety Regulations) − interstate.
Amend the rule to include all changes currently in effect at the
federal level.  Changes have been made to the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Regulations 49 CFR, Parts 390 through 397
regulating interstate motor carrier operations.  In addition it
is necessary to adopt 49 CFR Part 385 Subpart C,
Certification of Safety Auditors, Safety Investigators, and
Safety Inspectors, and 49 CFR Part 387 as it pertains to the
financial responsibility requirements applicable to
commercial motor vehicles subject to the provisions of 49
CFR 392.9a.   Amendment to this rule will bring state
regulations into compliance with current federal interstate
regulations.

Trans 326 (Motor Carrier Safety Requirements for
Transportation of Hazardous Materials) − for interstate and
intrastate operations.  Amend the rule to include all changes
that have been made to federal Hazardous Material
Regulations 49 CFR, Parts 107, 171, 172, 173, 177, 178, and
180.  In addition it is necessary to adopt 49 CFR Part 385
Subpart E, Hazardous Material Safety Permits.  Amendment
to this rule will bring state regulations, interstate and
intrastate, into compliance with current federal regulations.

Trans 327  The rule making will also amend ch. Trans 327
relating to intrastate motor carrier safety regulations to bring
it into compliance with the most recent changes to the Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations which are currently in
effect.  In addition, it is necessary to adopt 49 CFR Part 385
Subpart C, Certification of Safety Auditors, Safety
Investigators, and Safety Inspectors.  Amendment of this rule
will assure State Patrol inspectors and troopers are enforcing
the most current Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
applicable to intrastate carriers.

These proposed rule changes will bring the Department
into compliance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Regulations and the federal Hazardous Material Regulations
as necessary to qualify for continued Motor Carrier Safety
Assistance Program (MCSAP) funding.

Policy Analysis
Trans 325 The Department is updating ch. Trans 325 to

keep current with the most recent changes and revisions to the
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. The revisions
allow state inspectors and troopers to enforce the most current
safety regulations already in effect for interstate motor
carriers.  The rule will continue to reference the use of the
most recent North American uniform out−of−service criteria
for placing vehicles and drivers out−of−service.

Trans 326  The Department is updating ch. Trans 326 to
keep current with the most recent changes and updates to the
federal Hazardous Material Regulations. The revisions will



Page 16 Mid−October 2008WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 634

allow state inspectors and troopers to enforce the most current
Hazardous Material Regulations already in effect for
interstate and intrastate carriers.

Trans 327  The Department is updating ch. Trans 327 to
keep current with the most recent changes to the Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, including 49 CFR Parts 40,
390 to 393, and 395 to 397.

Statutory Authority
Trans 325 − Section 110.075 and Chapter 194, Stats.
Trans 326 − Sections 110.07, 194.38, 194.43 and 346.45

(4), Stats.
Trans 327 −  Sections 110.07, 110.075, 194.38 and 194.43,

Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule
Interstate and intrastate motor carriers and law

enforcement will be affected by this rule.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
Trans 325 Trans 325 (Interstate Motor Carrier Safety

regulations) adopts Federal regulations 49 CFR Parts 390 to
393 and 395 to 397. In addition to the currently adopted
regulations, it is necessary to adopt 49 CFR Part 385 Subpart
C (Certification of Safety Auditors, Safety Investigators and
Safety Inspectors).

Trans 326  Trans 326 (Motor Carrier Regulations for the
Transportation of Hazardous Materials) adopts 49 CFR Parts
107, 171, 172, 173, 177, 178, and 180. In addition to the
current adopted regulations, it is necessary to adopt 49 CFR
Part 385 Subpart E (Hazardous Materials Safety Permits).

Trans 327 The Department updates Trans 327 to keep
current with the most recent changes to the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Regulations, 49 CFR Parts 40, 390 to 393, and
395 to 397. In addition to the currently adopted regulations,
it is necessary to adopt 49 CFR Part 385 Subpart C
(Certification of Safety Auditors, Safety Investigators and
Safety Inspectors).

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

100 hours
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Submittal of Rules to Legislative Council Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Chiropractic Examining Board
CR 08−093

On September 29, 2008, the Department of Regulation and
Licensing submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed order revises Chapters Chir 1, 2, 3, and 5,

relating to continuing education and requirements for
proficiency in the use of automated external defibrillators.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on November
20, 2008.

Contact Information
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Office of Legal Counsel
608−266−0495
Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Commerce
Licenses, Certifications and Registrations, Ch. Comm 5

CR 08−092

On September 29, 2008, the Department of Commerce
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed order revises Chapters Comm 5, 40, and 65,

relating to retail liquefied gas suppliers.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is scheduled for November 4, 2008.  The
Department’s Division of Safety and Buildings is responsible
for promulgation of the rules.

Contact Information
James Quast, Program Manager
608−266−9292
jim.quast@wisconsin.gov

Regulation and Licensing
CR 08−094

On September 29, 2008, the Department of Regulation and
Licensing submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order revises Chapter RL 161, relating to
examinations for substance abuse professionals.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on November
11, 2008.

Contact Information
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Office of Legal Counsel
608−266−0495
Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Hearing
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

(Reprinted from September 30 Register)

CR 08−090

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will hold a
public hearing on rules revising Chapter ATCP 30, relating to
expanding and joining two current atrazine prohibition areas
near Poynette in Columbia County.

Hearing Information
DATCP will hold the public hearing at the time and

location shown below.

Date and Time Location
October 23, 2008
Thursday
3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. and
6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

MacKenzie Environmental
   Center
Badger Den Conference Rm.
W7303 Co. Hwy CS
Poynette, WI  53955

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by October 16, by writing to Claire Fried, Division
of Agricultural Resource Management, P.O. Box 8911,
Madison, WI 53708−8911, Claire.Fried@wisconsin.gov,
telephone (608) 224−4523.  Alternatively, you may contact
the DATCP TDD at (608) 224−5058.  Handicap access is
available at the hearings.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

In order to protect Wisconsin groundwater, the Department
of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (“DATCP”)
administers rules that limit atrazine herbicide application
rates throughout the state, and prohibit atrazine applications
in areas where groundwater contamination levels attain or
exceed state enforcement standards adopted by the
Department of Natural Resources.  Based on new
groundwater test data, this rule will expand and join two
current atrazine prohibition areas in Columbia County.

Statutes interpreted
Sections 94.69, 160.19 (2), and 160.21 (1), Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 93.07 (1), 94.69 (1), 160.19 (2), and 160.21 (1),

Stats.

Explanation of statutory authority
DATCP has broad authority, under s. 93.07 (1), Stats., to

adopt rules to implement programs under its jurisdiction.
DATCP has authority to adopt pesticide rules under s.
94.69(1), Stats.  Under ss. 160.19 (2) and 160.21 (1), Stats.,
DATCP must regulate pesticide use, as necessary, to prevent
groundwater contamination and restore groundwater quality.
Related rules or statutes

Under the state groundwater law, ch. 160, Stats., DATCP
must regulate pesticide use as necessary to prevent
groundwater contamination and restore groundwater quality.

DATCP has adopted general rules for its groundwater
protection program under ch. ATCP 31, Wis. Adm. Code.
DNR has adopted groundwater enforcement standards and
preventive action limits for atrazine and its metabolites under
NR 140, Wis. Adm. Code.

This rule is consistent with the state groundwater law (ch.
160, Stats.) and DATCP’s general groundwater protection
rules (ATCP 31), and is designed to attain compliance with the
groundwater enforcement standards and preventive action
limits specified by DNR rules (NR 140).
Background

Atrazine is a widely used agricultural herbicide that has
been found in groundwater throughout the state.  Current
DATCP rules under ch. ATCP 30, Wis. Adm. Code, limit
atrazine application rates throughout the state to � the current
federal label rate.  The current rules also prohibit the use of
atrazine where atrazine contamination of groundwater has
attained or exceeded the state groundwater enforcement
standard under ch. NR 140, Wis. Adm. Code.  Current rules
prohibit atrazine use in 102 designated areas, including major
prohibition areas in the lower Wisconsin River Valley and
much of Dane and Columbia counties.
Rule content

Based on new groundwater sampling data, this rule
expands and joins two current atrazine prohibition areas in
Columbia County.  The expansion will increase the total
statewide acreage of atrazine prohibition areas by
approximately 1,830 acres. By joining two prohibition areas,
this rule will reduce the total number of prohibition areas from
102 to 101. This rule includes maps describing the revised
prohibition areas.

Within every prohibition area, atrazine applications are
prohibited.  Atrazine mixing and loading operations are also
prohibited unless conducted over a spill containment surface
that complies with s. ATCP 29.45, Wis. Adm. Code.
Comparison with federal regulations

Pesticides and pesticide labels must be registered with the
federal Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”).  Persons
may not use pesticides in a manner inconsistent with the
federal label.

The maximum atrazine application rate in Wisconsin is �

of the maximum federal rate.  However, the current
federally−registered atrazine label suggests that atrazine
should not be used on permeable soils with groundwater near
the soil surface.  Wisconsin has clear, definite restrictions on
atrazine use, based on actual findings of groundwater
contamination in this state.

EPA is proposing federal rules that would require states to
have pesticide management plans for pesticides that have the
potential to contaminate groundwater.  Wisconsin’s current
regulatory scheme for atrazine pesticides would likely
comply with the proposed federal rules.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Wisconsin atrazine regulations are stronger than those in
adjacent states:
� Iowa restricts atrazine application rates to 1/2 the federal

label rate in 23 counties (7 with county−wide restrictions
and 16 with restrictions in some townships).
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� Minnesota has a program of voluntary use limitations
when surface water or groundwater contamination
exceeds a level of concern.  This program suggests
pesticide use restrictions or management practices to
reduce surface water or groundwater contamination.  To
date, this program has not been implemented anywhere in
Minnesota.

� Illinois and Michigan have no atrazine regulations.

Data and analytical methodologies

This rule is based on groundwater sample results for
atrazine and atrazine metabolites obtained from the affected
areas during the past year.  Groundwater samples contained
atrazine contamination in excess of 3.0 ug/L (the state
enforcement standard established by DNR groundwater rules
under ch. NR 140, Wis. Adm. Code).

Preliminary contamination findings were based on
groundwater samples analyzed by the University of
Wisconsin – Stevens Point.  DATCP confirmed the existence
of groundwater contamination, in excess of the state
enforcement standard, based on DATCP analysis of
groundwater samples collected by DATCP.  DATCP collected
and analyzed the samples using official collection and
analytical methods.

Small Business Impact

This rule will affect four or five farmers, in the expanded
prohibition areas, who currently use atrazine to control weeds
in corn.  Those farmers, who are “small businesses,” will no
longer be able to use atrazine.  However, other effective weed
control products are available, so the rule will not have a
significant impact on the affected farmers.  This rule may also
have a slight impact on distributors and applicators of atrazine
herbicides, crop consultants and equipment dealers, but the
impact will not be significant.

This rule will not have a significant adverse impact on
small business, and is not subject to the delayed small
business effective date provided in s. 227.22 (2) (e), Stats.

Fiscal Estimate

Administration and enforcement of this rule will involve
some new costs for DATCP.  Staff time will be needed to
monitor compliance (0.1 FTE, cost approximately $7,800).
Compliance monitoring will be coordinated with current
compliance monitoring activities.  Soil sampling and testing
may be used to monitor compliance, and may require an
estimated $1,000 in analytical services.

Total costs are estimated at $8,800.  DATCP expects to
absorb these costs within its current budget.  There will be no
additional costs to any other state agencies or local
governments.

Submission of Written Comments

DATCP invites the public to attend the hearing and
comment on the rules.  Following the hearing, the hearing
record will remain open until November 7, 2008 for
additional written comments.  Comments may be sent to the
Division of Agricultural Resource Management at the address
below, by email to Rick.Graham@wisconsin.gov or online at
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, you may also contact DATCP’s small business
regulatory coordinator Keeley Moll at the address below, or
by emailing to Keeley.Moll@wisconsin.gov or by telephone
at (608) 224−5039.

Copies of Proposed Rule
You may obtain free copies of the proposed rule by

contacting the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection, Division of Agricultural Resource
Management, 2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911,
Madison, WI 53708.  You may also obtain copies by calling
(608) 224−4502 or emailing Rick.Graham@wisconsin.gov.
Copies will also be available at the hearing.  To view the
proposed rule online, go to: https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/
admrules/public/Home.

Agency Contact Person
Questions and comments related to this rule may be

directed to:
Rick Graham
Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911
Madison, WI 53708−8911
Telephone (608) 224−4502
E−Mail:  rick.graham@wisconsin.gov

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

Licenses, Certifications and Registrations, Ch. Comm 5
CR 08−092

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 101.02
(2) and (15) and 101.16,  Stats., the Department of Commerce
will hold a public hearing on proposed rules under Chapter
Comm 5, relating to retail liquefied gas suppliers and
affecting small business.

Hearing Information
The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time: Location:
November 4, 2008
1:00 p.m.

Conference Room 3B
Thompson Commerce Center
201 W. Washington Avenue
Madison

This hearing is held in an accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or contact through Wisconsin Relay at
least 10 days prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such
as interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.

Analysis Prepared by Department of Commerce
Statutes interpreted

Section 101.16, Stats., as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act
203.
Statutory authority

Sections 101.02 (1) and (15), and 101.16 (2), Stats., as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 203.
Explanation of agency authority

Under the statutes cited, the Department of Commerce
protects public health, safety, and welfare by promulgating
comprehensive requirements for design, construction, use
and maintenance of public buildings and places of
employment.  Under section 101.16, Stats., the Department
has the responsibility for developing rules specifically for
minimum safety standards for the design, construction,
installation, operation, inspection, repair and maintenance of
liquefied petroleum gas systems.
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Related statute or rule
Chapter Comm 40, Gas Systems
Chapter Comm 65, Fuel Gas Appliances

Summary of proposed rules
The proposed rules establish administrative procedures for

licensing of liquefied gas suppliers as mandated by 2007
Wisconsin Act 203.
Comparison with federal regulations

An internet search on U.S. federal regulations and U.S.
federal register yielded no results regarding the licensing of
liquefied gas suppliers.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

An Internet−based search of liquefied petroleum gas
suppliers in the states of Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and
Minnesota found that none of the states have specific rules or
programs regarding these types of grants.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing the
provisions under 2007 Wisconsin Act 203 in conjunction with
the current licensing rules relating to businesses under ch.
Comm 5.

Small Business Impact

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The proposed rules implement the licensing mandates
imposed by 2007 Wisconsin Act 203.  The primary businesses
affected by these licensing mandates are suppliers who fill
propane gas cylinders. This would include bulk gas suppliers,
cooperatives, hardware stores and camp grounds.  The
department does not believe that the proposed rules will
increase the effect on small businesses over that imposed by
the Act.

An economic impact report has not been required pursuant
to s. 227.137, Stats.
Initial regulatory flexibility analysis

Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rules
The proposed rules implement the licensing mandates

imposed by 2007 Wisconsin Act 203.  The primary businesses
affected by these licensing mandates are suppliers who fill
propane gas cylinders. This would include bulk gas suppliers,
cooperatives, hardware stores and camp grounds.
Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required for
compliance with the rules

The Act under s. 101.16 (3r), Stats., requires the licensed
gas suppliers to maintain proof of financial responsibility.
The financial amounts vary with the type of tanks to be filled.
Types of professional skills necessary for compliance with the
rules.

No other types of professional skills are necessary for
compliance with the rules
Rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses?

No.

Environmental Impact
In accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are

a Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have
the potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions

exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
The proposed rules implement the licensing mandates

imposed by 2007 Wisconsin Act 203 relating to businesses
which supply/fill liquid petroleum gas cylinders.  The primary
businesses affected by these licensing mandates would
include bulk gas suppliers, cooperatives, hardware stores and
camp grounds.  The department estimates there would be 600
suppliers who would be required to obtain licenses.  The
department proposes to charge $60 for a license and $40 for
a restricted license which would be limited to filling only
DOT cylinders.  The department also anticipates that a
majority of the suppliers would obtain the restricted licenses.
The department estimates that it would realize approximately
$26,000 in revenue for the two−year licenses or $13,000
annually.  The department anticipates that workload
associated with this licensing can be absorbed within current
resources and staff levels.
State government fiscal impact

Increase existing revenues.
Increase costs − may be possible to absorb within agency’s

budget.
Local government fiscal impact

None
Fund sources affected

PRO
Long−range fiscal implications

None are anticipated

Submission of Written Comments
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until November 14, 2008, to
permit submittal of written comments from persons who are
unable to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement
testimony offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be
submitted to James Quast, at the Department of Commerce,
P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at
jim.quast@wisconsin.gov.

Copies of Proposed Rules
The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules

are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email
at roberta.ward@wisconsin.gov, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or contact through Wisconsin Relay.  Copies will
also be available at the public hearing.

Agency Contact
James Quast, Program Manager, telephone (608)

266−9292 or Email at jim.quast@wisconsin.gov.
The small business regulatory coordinator for the

Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
carol.dunn@wisconsin.gov.
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Notice of Hearing
Commerce

Financial Resources for Businesses and Communities,
Chs. Comm 104—

Housing Assistance, Chs. Comm 150—
EmR0831

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to section
560.032 of the Statutes, the Department of Commerce will
hold a public hearing on emergency rules under Chapters
Comm 113 and 154, relating to allocation of volume cap on
tax−exempt private activity bonds.

Hearing Information

The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time: Location:
October 27, 2008
Monday
at 10:00 a.m.

Thompson Commerce Center
Third Floor, Room 3B
201 West Washington Avenue
Madison, Wisconsin

This hearing will be held in an accessible facility.  If you
have special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call Sam Rockweiler at (608) 266−0797 or contact through
Relay at least 10 days prior to the hearing date.
Accommodations such as interpreters, English translators, or
materials in audio tape format will, to the fullest extent
possible, be made available upon a request from a person with
a disability.

Analysis Prepared by Department of Commerce

Statutes interpreted
Section 560.032.

Statutory authority
Section 560.032, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Section 560.032 of the Statutes requires the Department to

promulgate rules for establishing and administering a system,
under 26 USC 146, for allocating the federal volume cap on
tax−exempt private activity bonds, as defined under 26 USC
141 (a), among various Wisconsin issuers, including the
Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority
(WHEDA).

Related statute or rule
The Department has statutes and rules for several programs

associated with housing assistance and community
development – such as chapter Comm 154, Small Cities
Community Development Block Grants for Housing; and
chapter Comm 108, Community Development Block Grant
Program – but only chapter Comm 113 contains rules relating
to allocating a volume cap on tax−exempt private activity
bonds for housing.

Plain language analysis
The rules in this order allocate to WHEDA for calendar

year 2008 the one−time additional $175.4 million in
tax−exempt bonding authority that has been awarded to
Wisconsin for single−family and multifamily housing
activities, under section 3021 of the federal Housing and
Economic Recovery Act of 2008. 

Comparison with federal regulations
Section 3021 of the federal Housing and Economic

Recovery Act of 2008 amends subsection (d) of section 146
of the Internal Revenue Code to create a special one−time
increase in the allocation of volume cap for calendar year
2008, to be used for the issuance of single−family housing
bonds and multifamily bonds.  Notice 2008−79 from the
Internal Revenue Service specifies the amount of the increase
that is allocated to each State.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Michigan.  According to staff in the Michigan Department of
Revenue, Michigan has statutes that address allocation of
their volume cap for tax−exempt private activity bonds, and
they are administering the allocation directly under those
statutes rather than under corresponding rules.  Consequently,
no rulemaking is anticipated for administering their
one−time, 2008 volume cap increase of $315.4 million.

Minnesota.  According to staff in the Minnesota Department
of Finance and Employee Relations, Minnesota has statutes
that address allocation of their volume cap for tax−exempt
private activity bonds, and they are administering the
allocation directly under those statutes rather than under
corresponding rules.  Consequently, no rulemaking is
anticipated for administering their one−time, 2008 volume
cap increase of $162.7 million.

Iowa.  According to staff in the Iowa Finance Authority, Iowa
has statutes and corresponding rules that address allocation of
their volume cap for tax−exempt private activity bonds, and
they are administering the allocation under those statutes and
rules.  However, no rulemaking is anticipated for
administering their one−time, 2008 volume cap increase of
$96.6 million.

Illinois. Section 30 ILCA 345 of the Illinois statutes
designates the Governor’s Office as the entity charged with
allocating their volume cap for tax−exempt private activity
bonds, and specifies that the guidelines and procedures which
are issued by the Governor’s Office govern and control the
administration of the allocation process in accordance with
section 30 ILCA 345.  The one−time, 2008 volume cap
increase for Illinois is $402.4 million.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The data and methodology for developing these rules were

derived from and consisted of reviewing the criteria in section
3021 of the federal Housing and Economic Recovery Act of
2008; a summary of the Act, from the National Council of
State Housing Agencies; and Notice 2008−79 from the
Internal Revenue Service.  

Small Business Impact

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The primary documents that were used to determine the
effect of the rules on small business were the federal Housing
and Economic Recovery Act of 2008; a summary of the Act,
from the National Council of State Housing Agencies; and
Notice 2008−79 from the Internal Revenue Service. 

No economic impact report was prepared.
Summary

The rules are expected to result in only beneficial effects on
small business because the rules only address a temporary
increase in WHEDA bonding authority for single−family and
multifamily housing activities.
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Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Types of small businesses that will be affected by the rules
Businesses that receive payments from funds which

become available because of the rules.
Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required for
compliance with the rules

No new reporting, bookkeeping or other procedures are
necessary for compliance with the rules.
Types of professional skills necessary for compliance with the
rules

No new professional skills are necessary for compliance
with the rules.
Rules have a significant economic impact on small businesses

No

Environmental Impact
In accordance with chapter Comm 1, the rules are a Type

III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
The rules are not expected to have a significant fiscal effect

on the Department because they simply allocate new
tax−exempt bonding authority of $175.4 million to the
Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority
for calendar year 2008.

The rules are likewise not expected to impose any
significant costs on the private sector.
State government fiscal impact

None
Local government fiscal impact

None
Long−range fiscal implications

None known

Submission of Written Comments
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

present comments on the emergency rules.  Persons making
oral presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing, via e−mail.  Persons submitting comments will not
receive individual responses.  The hearing record on this
rulemaking will remain open until November 1, 2008, to
permit submittal of written comments from persons who are
unable to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement
testimony offered at the hearing.  E−mail comments should be
sent to srockweiler@commerce.state.wi.us.  If e−mail
submittal is not possible, written comments may be submitted
to Sam Rockweiler, Department of Commerce, Division of
Environmental and Regulatory Services, P.O. Box 14427,
Madison, WI 53708−0427.

Copies of Emergency Rules
The emergency rules and an analysis of the rules are

available on the Internet by entering “Comm 113” in the
search engine at the following Web site:
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Paper copies may be
obtained without cost from Sam Rockweiler at the

Department of Commerce, Division of Environmental and
Regulatory Services, P.O. Box 14427, Madison, WI 53707, or
at srockweiler@commerce.state.wi.us, or at telephone (608)
266−0797.  Copies will also be available at the public hearing.

Agency Contact Person
Tarna Gahan−Hunter, Wisconsin Department of

Commerce, Bureau of Policy and Budget, P.O. Box 7970,
Madison, WI, 53707−7970; telephone (608) 267−9382;
e−mail tarna.gahanhunter@wisconsin.gov.

Any inquiries for the small business regulatory coordinator
for the Department of Commerce can be directed to Sam
Rockweiler, as listed above.

Notice of Hearing
Financial Institutions − Securities

EmR0829 and Permanent Rule
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Division of

Securities of the Department of Financial Institutions will
hold a public hearing to consider the adoption of emergency
and permanent rules revising Chapters DFI−Sec 4, 5 and 10,
relating to making it a dishonest or unethical practice for
securities licensees to make use of misleading designations or
certifications purporting to demonstrate special expertise in
the financial or retirement needs of seniors.

Hearing Information
The public hearing will be held:

Date and Time Location
November 18, 2008
Tuesday
 at 10:00 a.m.

Hearing Room
411 South, State Capitol 
Madison

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Financial
Institutions − Division of Securities

Statutes interpreted
Under current Chapter 551: Section 551.34 (1) (g), Stats.
Under 2007 Wis. Act 196: Section 551.412 (4) (m), Stats.

Statutory authority
Under current Chapter 551: Sections 551.63 (1) and (2),

Stats.
Under 2007 Wis. Act 196: Sections 551.605 (1) (b), (2) and

551.608 (1), (2) and (3) (i), Stats.
Plain language analysis

The rule−making procedures under Chapter 227 of the
Wisconsin Statutes are being implemented for the purpose of
adopting permanent rules to be in effect upon expiration of
emergency rules issued by the Division on September 11,
2008  to protect seniors in Wisconsin from being misled
through the use by securities licensees of designations and
credentials that imply or represent that a person has special
expertise, certification, or training in financial planning for
seniors, but where such designations and/or credentials are
either non−existent or do not involve significant education,
testing, training or experience, and in reality are marketing
ploys.

The Division’s rulemaking is based on a “Model Rule On
the Use of Senior−Specific Certifications and Professional
Designations,” developed by the North American Securities
Administrators Association, Inc. (”NASAA Model Rule”),
and adopted by the NASAA membership, including
Wisconsin, with an effective date of April 1, 2008.  The
Wisconsin rule−making involves amending the list of
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“dishonest or unethical business practice” provisions
applicable to broker−dealers, agents, investment advisers and
investment adviser representatives to provide that the
misleading use by licensees of senior designations or
certifications  −−  as particularized in the rules −− can be a
basis for denial, censure, suspension or revocation of a
license.

Because the “senior designation/certification problem” is
current and ongoing, and represents a serious source of
potential harm for seniors in Wisconsin, the Division used the
emergency rule−making procedures to adopt the NASAA
Model Rule to be able to have such rule in place immediately
to protect Wisconsin seniors, rather than using the regular,
permanent rule−making process which requires a 5−6 month
process to complete.

Additional justification for this rule−making action relates
to the discussion in the following paragraphs which describes
the need for acting on a uniform, Model NASAA Rule basis,
and the involvement of U.S. Senator Herb Kohl who has
expressed interest in this problem and has introduced federal
legislation to promote action by individual states to adopt the
uniform, NASAA Model Rule.

The background of the discovery by NASAA of the current
and ongoing “senior designation” problem and development
of the NASAA Model Rule began in 2004 when licensing
examiners for the Securities Divisions in a number of states
across the U.S., including Wisconsin, noted while conducting
office examinations of securities professionals that some
securities agents and advisers were using sets of various, new
acronyms in their marketing materials. Such acronyms relate
to numerous different certifications or designations to make
it appear that the salesperson has special qualifications or
specialized education in addressing the needs of senior
citizens or retirees in areas of finance, financial planning,
estate planning, or investing, and thus are used by those
licensees to provide an edge in attracting seniors who are
nearing retirement, or are in retirement, to become
clients/customers.

Summary of the rule.  The NASAA Model Rule being adopted
in Wisconsin covers a broad array of practices. It prohibits
licensees from using any non−existent or self−conferred
certification.  Also prohibited would be any designation that
“indicates or implies a level of occupational qualification
obtained through education, training, or experience” that the
person doesn’t actually have.  Furthermore, the proposed rule
would disallow designations obtained from organizations that
are “primarily engaged in the business of instruction in sales
and/or marketing.” Additionally, reasonable standards for
competency would be required, along with monitoring
designees and minimum continuing−education standards.
Also included is a listing of nationally recognized accrediting
agencies whose accreditation of an organization would not be
disqualified under the Model Rule.

Comparison with federal regulations
There currently are no federal statutes or regulations

dealing with this specific issue.  However, shortly after
NASAA detected the misleading senior
certifications/designations problem that was occurring on a
multi−state basis, Senator Herb Kohl of Wisconsin, who
chaired (and continues to chair) the US Senate Committee on
Aging, called a series of hearings in 2006 on various aspects
concerning older investors, one of the results of which was
Senator Kohl’s interest in creating federal legislation to limit
the use of misleading certification/designations.  However,
based upon NASAA’s intent to create a model rule for its
members to adopt on a uniform basis throughout the states, the

Senator instead drafted legislation that recognizes the need
for developing a uniform, model rule, and which rewards
individual states for adopting such a model rule. The
legislation, S. 2794, the Senior Investor Protection Act of
2008, would establish a grant program under which a State
may receive a grant of up to $100,000 per year if it has
“adopted rules on the appropriate use of designations in the
offer or sale of securities or investment advice, which …
conform to the minimum requirements of the NASAA Model
Rule.”
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Currently, no states adjacent to Wisconsin have adopted the
NASAA Model Rule.  However, the need for uniform
treatment in dealing with the problem was highlighted by a
few states who undertook separate rule−making actions using
divergent approaches in 2007 (before the NASAA Model
Rule was completed), thus creating difficulties for large
securities firms with brokers and advisers across the country
trying to comply with non−uniform approaches to the
problem.  Those firms, justifiably, have asked for a single,
uniform rule that would make it possible to design systems to
facilitate compliance throughout all state jurisdictions.
Several non−adjacent states have already adopted the
NASAA Model Rule, including Virginia, Washington, New
Hampshire, Alabama and California.

Small Business Impact

Initial regulatory flexibility analysis

Types of small businesses that could be affected by the
proposed rules

Broker−dealer and investment adviser registrants under the
new Wisconsin Uniform Securities Law (2007 Wisconsin Act
196) with fewer than 25 full−time employees who meet the
other criteria of sec. 227.114 (l) (a), Wis. Stats.  However, the
proposed Prohibited Conduct rule provisions are made
applicable equally to all broker−dealers and investment
advisers −− irrespective of the size of the firm −− because the
requirements involved are for the protection and benefit of
Wisconsin customers of those firms. All Wisconsin customers
of securities broker−dealers and investment advisers are
entitled to the public investor protection benefits of such
Prohibited Conduct rule requirements, irrespective of the size
of the firm providing the securities services.
Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required for
compliance with the rules

No new or additional reporting, bookkeeping, or other
procedures are contained in the proposed rules.

Fiscal Estimate

State government fiscal impact
None

Local government fiscal impact
None

One−time revenue fluctuations
None

Long−range fiscal implications
None

Submission of Written Comments
Written comments in lieu of public hearing testimony may

be submitted which must be received no later than the hearing
date and should be addressed to the Administrator of the
Division of Securities, 345 West Washington Avenue, PO Box
1768, Madison Wisconsin, 53701.
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Copies of Proposed Rule and Agency Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rules and fiscal

estimate may be obtained from:
Randall E. Schumann (608) 266−3414
Legal Counsel for the Division of Securities
Department of Financial Institutions
345 West Washington Avenue, 4th Floor
P. O. Box 1768
Madison, WI 53701
Additionally, the full text of the proposed rules is available

at the DFI Website:  www.wdfi.org/securities&franchising.

Notice of Hearing
Government Accountability Board

CR 08−078
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 5.05 (1)

(f) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and pursuant to a written request
from Paul Malischke and more than 35 other electors of
Wisconsin, the Government Accountability Board will hold
a public hearing to consider adoption of a rule to repeal and
recreate Chapter GAB 5, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to ballot
security.

Hearing Information
The  public hearing will be held at the time and location

shown below.

Date and Time Location
November 11, 2008
 at 9:30 a.m.

Board’s offices
201 W. Washington Avenue
Madison

Analysis Prepared by the Government Accountability
Board

Statutes interpreted
Sections 5.84, 5.86, 5.87, 5.90, 5.905, 5.91, 7.23, 7.51, and

9.01, Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 5.05 (1) (f), 5.93 and 227.11 (2) (a).
Explanation of agency authority

The Government Accountability Board’s rule on ballot
security, under ss.7.23 and 7.51, Stats., has become outdated
because of advances in technology and because of heightened
administrative and public  concerns about ballot security in
light of recent security and chain−of−custody problems in
elections both in Wisconsin and in other states.  To address
those concerns and to update ballot security in Wisconsin, the
Board proposes to repeal and recreate chapter GAB 5, the
ballot security rule.
Related statute or rule

Sections 5.66, 5.85, 5.86, 5.87, 5.90, 7.10, 7.15, 7.24, 7.37,
7.53, 9.01, and 12.13, Stats.
Plain language analysis

The proposed rule provides the requirements for
maintaining the security of ballots that are cast at an election
and maintaining the integrity of the tabulation of those ballots
in the canvass of an election.
Comparison with federal regulations

Federal law does not apply to the preparation, printing, or
security of ballots.  Federal law does require that materials,
including ballots, relating to any election in which a federal

office is on the ballot, must be preserved for not fewer than 22
months.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, and Minnesota all statutorily
require that after ballots have been counted, they shall be
secured in a sealed envelope or other container in such a
manner that no ballot may be removed without breaking the
seal on that container.  The ballots and other election
documents in those sealed containers are returned to the
custody of the local election official who will hold them until
they may be destroyed under state and federal law.

Generally, unlike Wisconsin’s rule, the law in all four states
provides for the retention of unused ballots until destruction
of all ballots is authorized by state and federal law.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

Adoption of the rule was predicated on federal and state
mandate rather than on any factual data or analytical
methodology.

Small Business Impact
 The creation of this rule will have no effect on small

business, nor any economic impact.

Fiscal Estimate
The creation of this rule has no fiscal effect.

Submission of Written Comments
Written comments should be sent to the Government

Accountability Board, 17 West Main Street, P.O. Box 2973,
Madison, WI 53701−2973; email: elections.state.wi.us.  The
deadline for submitting written comments that will be
included in the rule−making record is November 18, 2008.

Agency Contact Person
George A. Dunst, Staff Counsel
Government Accountability Board
17 West Main Street, P.O. Box 2973
Madison, Wisconsin 53701−2973
Phone: 608−266−0136
Email: george.dunst@wisconsin.gov

Text of Proposed Rules
SECTION 1.  Chapter GAB 5 is repealed and recreated to
read:

Chapter GAB 5
Ballot and Electronic Voting System Security

GAB 5.01 Ballot security.  (1) In this section:
(a) “Board” means the government accountability board.
(b) “Certificate of performance compliance” means the

document provided by voting equipment vendors certifying
that the equipment complies with the performance
requirements of s. 5.91, Stats.

(c) “Chain−of−custody” means the recorded movement
and location of election ballots from the time of delivery of the
ballots to the municipal clerk or board of election
commissioners until the destruction of the ballots is
authorized under s. 7.23, Stats.

(d) “Custodian” means the election official who is
authorized by chs. 5 to 12 to take possession and control of the
ballots from the time of delivery of the ballots to the clerk or
board of election commissioners until destruction of the
ballots is authorized under s. 7.23, Stats.

(e) “Electronic voting system” has the meaning given in s.
5.02 (4m), Stats.

(f) “Firmware” means the computer software stored in
read−only memory or programmable read−only memory.
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(g) “Modem” means a device for transmitting data between
two computers over telephone or other communication lines.

(h)  “Results report” means the print−out of voting data by
a piece of electronic voting equipment.

(i)  “Software” has the meaning given in s. 5.905 (1), Stats.
(2) Within the requirements of s. 7.51 (3), Stats., the terms

“secure” and “seal” shall be interpreted together to mean that
the voted ballot container must be closed in such a manner that
no ballot may be removed, nor any ballot added, without
visible evidence of interference or damage to the ballot
container.

(3) Within the requirements of s. 7.51 (3) (a), Stats., a ballot
container shall be considered “sealed” or “locked,” only if no
voted ballot may be removed from or deposited into the
container, and no other form of access to the ballots inside
may be gained without leaving visible evidence of that entry
or access into the container.  Ballot bags shall be sealed with
a tamper−evident, serialized numbered seal.  The serial
number shall be recorded on the signed ballot container
certification (EB−101) attached to the bag.  Serial numbers of
the seals also shall be recorded on the Inspectors’ Statement
(EB−104).  Ballot boxes or containers shall have all potential
openings secured in such a manner that no ballot may be
removed, nor any ballot added, without visible evidence of
interference or damage to that ballot container.  Ballot boxes
or containers shall have attached a signed ballot container
certification (EB−101).

(4) A sealed ballot container shall not be considered
“secured” unless it is stored in a manner in which access to the
container is limited only to the clerk of the election district,
board of election commissioners, or to persons authorized by
the clerk or the board of election commissioners, and access
to which is not available to any other person.

(5) Whenever the custodian is required to open the ballot
container and unseal the ballots as part of a central count
proceeding under s. 5.86, Stats., board of canvass proceeding
under Ch. 7, Stats., audit of electronic voting equipment after
an election under s. 7.08 (6), Stats., recount or an appeal of a
recount under s. 9.01, Stats., or as part of a public records
request under s. 19.35, Stats., before opening the container the
custodian shall record in the minutes of the proceeding
whether the container is sealed and shall record the serialized
number of the seal.  The custodian shall make a record of the
entry and of the ballot review.  Upon completion of the review,
the custodian shall re−secure them in the manner provided in
s. 7.51, Stats., unless destruction is authorized under s. 7.23,
Stats.

(6) Security of the ballots and the ballot container shall be
maintained as provided under s. 7.51, Stats., until destruction
of the ballots is conducted under s. 7.23, Stats.  Destruction of
the ballots authorized under s. 7.23, Stats., requires shredding,
incineration, or some other form of obliteration of the ballots.

(7) At the time of a recount, the serial numbers on the seals
of the ballot container shall be compared with the serial
numbers written on the signed ballot container certification
(EB−101).  All containers shall be compared in a recount.  The
ward numbers and the results of the serial number verification
shall be recorded in the minutes of the recount.

(8) The municipal clerk or board of election commissioners
shall securely maintain all ballots from the time of receipt
from the printer or county clerk through delivery to the polling
place.

5.02 General electronic voting system security
procedures. (1) These procedures apply to all electronic
tabulating voting equipment memory devices, including

prom packs, memory cards, or any other removable memory
devices that can be programmed or functioned to store and
transfer ballot images or tabulation data.

(2) Throughout the life of the electronic voting system, the
municipal or county clerk shall maintain control of all
memory devices in a secure manner at all times.  With the
agreement of the municipal clerk or board of election
commissioners, the county clerk or county board of election
commissioners may store memory devices in a secure
location.  The municipal clerk or board of election
commissioners shall secure all keys to the electronic voting
equipment.

(3) For each election, there shall be a separate, written
chain−of−custody record for each programmed memory
device used with an electronic voting system.  Each transfer
shall be logged in the written chain−of−custody record.

(4) Each programmed memory device shall have or be
assigned a unique and permanent serial number.  If the
memory device does not have a permanent serial number
affixed by the manufacturer, a clerk shall, if possible, affix to
the device a serial number or unique identifier.

(5) The municipality shall use controlled, serialized seals
that are tamper−evident and resistant to accidental breakage
along with a written record of all seals and associated serial
numbers.

(6) For each election, the municipal clerk shall record on
the Inspectors’ Statement (EB−104),   which memory devices
and which serialized tamper−evident seals are assigned to
particular voting stations or units.
5.03 Pre−election procedures. (1) The clerk who has
possession of the electronic voting systems or memory
devices shall ensure that the equipment and memory devices
have been secured properly since the previous election.

(2) Memory devices shall be programmed to print a list of
the software and firmware versions of the electronic voting
system on each beginning−of−election−day zero report under
s. 5.84 (2), Stats.  For electronic voting systems that cannot
accommodate this requirement, the software and firmware
information shall be recorded from the system start−up
screen, either by municipal or county staff during the
pre−election testing under s. 5.84 (1), Stats., or by election
inspectors on Election Day under s. 5.84 (2), Stats.

(3) The records for the pre−election test under s. 5.84,
Stats., pre−recount test under s. 5.90, Stats., and Election Day
reports under ss. 7.51 and 7.53, Stats., must be maintained by
the appropriate clerk or board of election commissioners.

(4)  Except when necessary to program, test, or operate the
electronic voting and/or programming equipment, any point
by which access can be gained to the system controls must be
closed and locked or secured with a tamper−evident seal that
can be tracked using a unique and permanent serial number.
The appropriate clerk shall maintain a written record of the
serial numbers required by this subsection.

(5) After a memory device is programmed, tested, and
delivered to the municipal clerk for the election, it shall be
immediately and continuously maintained in a secure location
with controlled access limited only to users authorized by the
clerk or board of election commissioners.

Upon insertion of a memory device into its assigned unit,
it shall be sealed against unauthorized access with a serialized,
tamper−evident seal that can be tracked using a unique and
permanent serial number.  The municipal clerk or board of
election commissioners shall record the serial numbers on the
Inspectors’ Statement (EB−104).

(6) When applicable, for each election the municipal or
county clerk or board of election commissioners shall obtain
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a signed “Certificate of Performance Compliance: Memory
Device Security” from each voting equipment manufacturer
that provides programming services or memory devices to the
municipality or county.

(7) The municipality shall take reasonable precautions to
ensure the security of the equipment between the time it
leaves the possession of the clerk or board of election
commissioners to be delivered to the polling place, and the
time the chief inspector assumes possession at the polling
place on Election Day.

5.04 Election−day procedures.  (1) Before any ballots are
cast on any piece of voting equipment, the integrity of the
tamper−evident seals shall be verified by the chief election
inspector verifying that the tamper−evident seal serial number
on the Inspectors’ Statement (EB−104) matches the
tamper−evident seal serial number contained on the electronic
voting equipment.  Any irregularity or discrepancy between
the two numbers shall be reconciled before using the
equipment.

(2) After the polls have opened, ballot removal from an
optical scan machine or paper roll removal or replacement on
a direct recording electronic (DRE) machine shall be
conducted with at least two election inspectors (or other
sworn election team members appointed by the municipal
clerk or board of election commissioners) present.  The
removal process, the names of the election inspectors or
sworn election team members, and the time of removal must
be recorded on the Inspectors’ Statement (EB−104).

(3)  After the polls have closed, election officials shall print
a results report before breaking any seal on the equipment and
before the removal of the memory device from any piece of
voting equipment.  If additional reports other than the results
reports are required, these reports shall also be printed before
breaking any seal on the equipment and before the removal of
the memory device.

(4) The chief election inspector shall compare the serial
numbers of all security seals, then verify by initialing the
Inspectors’ Statement (EB−104).  Any additional seals used
during the election must also be recorded on the Inspectors’
Statement (EB−104).

(5) The memory device shall be secured in a separate,
tamper−evident sealed container or envelope by the chief
election inspector.  The memory devices shall be promptly
returned to the municipal or county clerk or board of election
commissioners.

(6)  If vote results are transmitted by modem, the municipal
clerk or board of election commissioners may access the
memory device for transmission of those results, but shall
reseal the memory device in a secured envelope or container.

(7)  If removal of the memory device is not required, the
device may remain sealed in the voting equipment.  The serial
numbers of the security seals shall be verified and initialed on
the Inspectors’ Statement (EB−104).

5.05 Post election procedures. (1) After each election, the
clerk or board of election commissioners responsible for
storing the voting equipment shall conduct an inspection to
ensure all system access points are closed, locked, and
secured.

(2)     At each post−election meeting of the municipal board
of canvassers, the members shall verify that the
tamper−evident serial numbers from the voting equipment
have been recorded on five Inspectors’ Statements (EB−104)
or 10% (whichever is greater) of the total statements, and have
been initialed by the Chief Election Inspector.  The county

board of canvassers shall verify ten Inspectors’ Statements.
All Inspectors’ Statements (EB−104) shall be verified by the
appropriate board of canvassers in a recount.  Proper
documentation shall be maintained.
5.15 Alternate security procedures.  (1)  The Government
Accountability Board recognizes the need for flexibility when
implementing these procedures, and acknowledges that
alternative means may be used to achieve and ensure an
acceptable level of electronic voting equipment security.

(2)  The Board will consider requests from counties to
implement alternative security procedures.

(a) The county clerk, or the municipal clerk or board of
election commissioners through the county clerk or county
board of election commissioners, shall submit a written
request to implement alternative security procedures to the
Board’s director and general counsel.

(b) The request shall describe the proposed security
procedures in detail and include any documentation such as
logs, flow charts, and certification forms.

(c)  The director and general counsel may approve the use
of alternative security procedures for one election cycle.

(d) The Board shall review the director and general
counsel’s approval of any alternative security procedures and
may authorize continued use of those procedures.

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining Board
CR 08−088

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5)
(b), 227.11 (2) and 457.03 (1), Stats., the Professional
Counselor Section of the Marriage and Family Therapy,
Professional Counseling and Social Work Examining Board
will hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated
below to consider an order to amend sections MPSW 11.01 (1)
(b), 12.01 and 14.01 (2) (intro.); and to create section MPSW
12.01 (3) and (4), relating to supervised practice, training
licenses and academic programs for professional counselors.

Hearing Information
Date: October 27, 2008
Time: 9:15 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted
Sections 457.12 and 457.13, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 457.03 (1), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining Board has the
authority under s. 457.03, Stats., to promulgate rules.
Related statutes or rules

There are no other related statutes or rules other than those
listed above.
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Plain language analysis
One of the requirements for becoming licensed as a

professional counselor is the accrual of 3,000 hours of
supervised practice.  The addition of s. MPSW 12.01 (3) and
(4) is intended to permit applicants who are interested in
becoming licensed in Wisconsin as professional counselors to
use supervised professional counselor practice hours that
were accrued in another state.  The existing rules do not allow
the professional counselor section to consider supervised
practice hours that were obtained out−of−state.  These
changes are intended to remedy that situation and will likely
result in more clinicians being eligible to practice in
Wisconsin.

SECTION 1 adds the acronym “CORE” for the Council on
Rehabilitation Education, to make it consistent with the rest
of the paragraph.

SECTION 2 provides for an exception to the requirement that
applicants obtain their supervised professional counseling
practice in another state.  It also amends the section to make
it clear that a training license is required in order to begin
accruing supervised professional counseling hours.

SECTION 3 allows applicants who obtained their supervised
professional counseling practice hours in another state to be
given credit for those hours provided they are sufficiently
clinical in nature and are completed under the direction of a
supervisor acceptable to the professional counselor’s section.

SECTION 4 clarifies that a single counseling theory course is
required.  It also eliminates the requirement that certain
courses be a minimum of three credits, instead allowing for
multiple courses to count towards the required credit amount.

Comparison with federal regulations
There is no applicable existing federal legislation.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Minnesota.  Minnesota requires a 48 credit minimum master’s
or doctoral degree in counseling.  The degree must be from a
regionally accredited institution or the degree program
accredited through the Commission for Accreditation of
Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP).
The board requires specific topic areas, similar or equivalent
to that of Wisconsin’s, however will automatically accept
CACREP as meeting the standards in the statutes.

If the applicants graduated prior to 2003 and they hold a
master’s degree with 5 years of experience, they are exempt
from the 48 credit or CACREP requirement (experience
counselor transition language found in the statutes).

Interestingly, a license applicant may apply and receive the
license only after completing 12 semester hour graduate
credits with the qualification that they complete the remainder
in 4 years.

The supervised practice requirement is post licensure (first
2,000 hours).

Iowa.  Iowa licenses mental health counselors rather than
professional counselors.  To qualify for licensure in Iowa, an
applicant must either demonstrate that they hold a master’s or
doctoral degree in counseling with a mental health counseling
concentration from a CACREP accreditation specifically in
mental health counseling (CACREP accredits both
community counseling and mental health counseling).  If they
do not have a CACREP mental health counseling degree, they
must submit a “content equivalent degree of at least 45 hours
over a number of counseling specific areas (similar to
Wisconsin).  The courses in the program must be made up of
3 semester hour courses.

Iowa requires 2 years of supervised clinical practice
completed post coursework and practicum (but the applicant
may start to accumulate hours prior to their thesis – curious).
There does not appear to be a training level or limited
credential to practice under while accumulating the hours.  It
appears that Iowa MHC is envisioned as “clinical” licensure
meaning expectations for DSM IV diagnosis and treatment of
mental health disorders rather than the more common
community counselor level.  This is evident in the
requirement for CACREP mental health counselor
accreditation and the psychopathology requirement in the
equivalency.

It is not clear that Iowa approves programs or approves
applicants on an as reviewed basis (though from the
application materials and the lack of an approval list, it
appears through the latter).

Iowa considers applicants who have obtained Certified
Clinical Mental Health Counselor status with the National
Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) as having met the
educational and clinical experience requirements necessary
for licensure.
Illinois.  Licensure requires a master’s or doctoral degree in
counseling, psychology or rehabilitation counseling.  Illinois
will also accept a bachelor’s degree in the aforementioned
programs along with 5 years of supervised practice.

Beginning January 1, 2005, the Illinois licensing division
approves programs that are 48 hours minimum in length with
at least one course in each of the 13 identified content areas.
After January 1, 2008, Illinois is requiring that the courses
submitted be at least 3 semester hours in length (similar to
Wisconsin’s equivalency standards).

It appears that Illinois preapproves programs on a per
school basis.  All Master’s Degree programs that are
CACREP or Council on Rehabilitation Education (CORE)
accredited are automatically considered approved.  All
Doctoral degree programs in psychology of the APA or the
Council for the National Register of Health Service Providers
in psychology are preapproved.

For those who graduate in a program that has not been
approved, they will have to submit their transcripts and
program materials to the board for review.
Michigan.  Professional Counseling Licensure requires a
master’s or doctoral degree in counseling or student personnel
work in a program approved by the board.  The license also
requires 3,000 hours of supervised practice.  Effective
January 1, 2005, the supervision shall begin upon the issuance
of a limited license.

The board has program approval standards that describe
the approval of counselor training programs which includes
a minimum of 48 hours over a number of specified topic areas
without any minimum credit hour per course requirement.
The board shall also accept any programs accredited by
CORE or CACREP as automatically approved.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The Professional Counselor Section is amending their
degree equivalency rules which require a minimum of a one
3−credit semester hour or 4−quarter hour course in a number
of “topic areas” to eliminate the minimum 3−credit−course
requirement.  The section has found that applicants denied for
licensure based on the 3−credit−course requirement for
degree equivalency are licensable in other states and have
been practicing successfully in Wisconsin under the
exemption in the statutes allowing psychotherapeutic practice
in s. HFS 61.96 certified clinics.  In addition, the Council for
Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education
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Programs (CACREP), a nationally recognized accreditation
body, does not specify a 3−credit−course minimum.

The section is also amending their rules to include a
requirement to hold a professional counselor training license
in order to accrue hours of supervised professional counseling
practice towards licensure.  The practice of professional
counseling is a protected practice (pursuant to s. 457.04 (6),
Stats.); however, the requirement to hold a training license in
order to accrue supervised professional counseling practice
hours is not found explicitly in the rules.  The section has
found that people practicing professional counseling without
training certification or licensure may constitute a violation of
law and could pose a significant risk to the health, safety and
well−being of the public.  In addition to adding the
requirement for accruing supervised hours while holding the
training license, the section has determined that due to
increased mobility, such rules should also include flexibility
in considering practice hours gained out of state if those hours
are substantially equivalent to practice hours gained in other
states.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The changes proposed should not provide substantial
negative effect on small business in terms of increased
operating costs.  Since approximately 2004, the section has
attempted to advise those entering the field that in order to
practice and train for full licensure, one needs to accrue hours
under a training license.  The cost to obtain a training license
is $53 and expires after four years (and is renewable at the
discretion of the section).  The benefit of a training license is
that it assures the trainee that their supervisor is approved.
The benefit to the public is that they can be assured that the
training license holder has met certain standards required for
safe practice under supervision – including that they hold an
approved master’s degree in professional counseling and they
have passed the State ethics examination – and that they are
required to observe their code of conduct, violation of which
opens practitioners to disciplinary action.

The additional changes, including changes for purpose of
clarification, elimination of minimum credit per course
requirements and acceptance of supervised hours gained
out−of−state will make it easier for applicants to achieve state
licensure thus helping to assure availability for the workforce
and does not without compromising public safety.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Small Business Impact

These proposed rules will have no significant economic
impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at
larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling 608−266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary

The department estimates that this rule will require staff
time in the Office of Legal Counsel, Office of Exams, and the
Division of Professional Credentialing.  The total one−time
salary and fringe costs are estimated at $2,533.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.

Submission of Written Comments
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of
Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email to pamela.haack@
drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received on or before
November 10, 2008 to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708; telephone 608−266−0495; email at pamela.haack@
drl.state.wi.us.

Text of Proposed Rules

SECTION 1.  MPSW 11.01 (1) (b) is amended to read:
(b)  Verification that the institution which awarded the

degree was a regionally accredited college or university, or
accredited by the commission for accreditation of counseling
and related educational programs (CACREP), or the council
on rehabilitation education (CORE) at the time the applicant
graduated from the school, or that a degree awarded by a
foreign institution of higher learning has been determined by
the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) or by
another organization approved by the section to be equivalent
to a degree from a program accredited by CACREP.  If the
applicant’s education was not received in English, the
applicant must demonstrate proficiency in English by
achieving a score of 550 (or 213 on the computer−based
exam) or above on the Test Of English as a Foreign Language
(TOEFL) or an equivalent score on an equivalent
examination.
SECTION 2.  MPSW 12.01 is amended to read:

MPSW 12.01 Supervised practice requirement.  An
Except as provided in sub. (3), an applicant for licensure as a
professional counselor under s. 457.12, Stats., shall complete
a period of supervised practice to become while holding a
training license before being eligible for the license licensure.
Supervision of the practice of professional counseling
undertaken to meet the pre−licensure requirement may be
exercised by a person other than an employment supervisor.
The supervisor may exercise discretion as to the frequency,
duration, and intensity of the supervision sessions to meet an
average of one hour of supervision per week during the
supervised practice period.

SECTION 3.  MPSW 12.01 (3) and (4) are created to read:
(3)  An applicant who has received a master’s degree in

professional counseling or its equivalent and has completed
any portion of his or her 3,000 hours of supervised
professional counseling practice in another state shall be
given credit for those hours provided they included at least
1,000 hours of face−to−face client contact, or a proportionate
number thereof, and are completed under the supervision of
a supervisor acceptable to the professional counselor section.
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(4)  An applicant who has received a doctoral degree in
professional counseling or its equivalent and has completed
any portion of his or her 1,000 hours of supervised
professional counseling practice in another state shall be
given credit for those hours provided they are completed
under the supervision of a supervisor acceptable to the
professional counselor section.
SECTION 4.  MPSW 14.01 (2) (intro.) is amended to read:

(2) (intro.)  The course work included successful
completion of at least 3 semester hours or 4 quarter hours
academic credit in a supervised counseling practicum; at least
3 semester hours or 4 quarter hours academic credit in a single
counseling theory course; and at least one course of at least 3
semester hours or 4 quarter hours academic credit in at least
6 of the following 8 topic areas; and the course work included
a total of at least 42 semester hours or 63 quarter hours of
academic credit in counseling related courses distributed
among at least 6 of the following 8 topic areas:

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining Board
CR 08−089

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority
vested in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5)
(b), 227.11 (2) and 457.03 (3), Stats., the Social Worker
Section of the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board will hold a
public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider an order to amend ss. MPSW 3.09 (3) and 3.13 (3)
(a); and to create s. MPSW 3.09 (7), relating to practice hours
and internship for social workers.

Hearing Information
Date: October 29, 2008
Time: 9:15 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted
Sections 457.08 (4) and 457.09 (4) (b) 1., Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 457.03 (3), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
The Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining Board has the
authority under s. 457.03, Stats., to promulgate rules.
Related statutes or rules

There are no other related statutes or rules other than those
listed above.
Plain language analysis

Among the requirements for becoming licensed in
Wisconsin as a clinical social worker is the completion of at
least 3,000 hours of supervised clinical practice, including
1,000 hours of face−to−face client contact.  Currently, the
social worker section cannot consider those hours that were
accrued out−of−state, despite the fact that the applicant may

have met all of the other requirements for licensure.  As a
result, the section is amending its rules to permit
consideration of clinical social work practice hours accrued
out−of−state under an appropriate supervisor.  It is also adding
a provision to its rules for social worker training certificates
to ensure that applicants have completed a human services
internship under the auspices of an accredited college or
university.

One of the requirements for becoming licensed as a clinical
social worker is the accrual of 3,000 hours of supervised
practice.  The changes to s. MPSW 3.09 are intended to permit
applicants who are interested in becoming licensed in
Wisconsin as clinical social workers to use supervised clinical
social work practice hours that were accrued in another state.
The existing rules do not allow the social worker section to
consider clinical hours that were obtained out−of−state.
These changes are intended to remedy that situation and will
likely result in more clinicians being eligible to practice in
Wisconsin.

The section is also modifying s. MPSW 3.13 (3) (a) to
clarify that a human services internship used to meet one of
the requirements for an entry−level social work credential be
completed under the auspices of an accredited college or
university.
SECTION 1 provides for an exception to the requirement that
applicants obtain their supervised clinical social work
practice in another state.  It also amends the term
“pre−certification” to “pre−licensed.”

SECTION 2  allows applicants who obtained their supervised
clinical social work practice hours in another state to be given
credit for those hours provided they are sufficiently clinical in
nature and are completed under the direction of a supervisor
acceptable to the social worker section.

SECTION 3 requires that a human services internship be
completed under the auspices of an accredited college or
university.

Comparison with federal regulations
There is no existing or proposed federal regulation for

summary and comparison.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Iowa.  Iowa has two levels of master’s level social work
licensure, the licensed master social worker (LMSW) and the
licensed independent social worker (LISW).  The LISW is the
highest−level of social work licensure and requires a master’s
or doctoral degree in social work and 4,000 hours of
supervised practice.  There does not appear to be any explicit
requirement that a person hold the Iowa LMSW before
accumulating the supervised practice experience.  (Wisconsin
rules explicitly require applicants to achieve certification as
an advanced practice social worker or independent social
worker prior to accumulating supervised practice hours
toward clinical social work licensure.)  Iowa’s rules do require
that before applying for the LISW, the “social worker” must
have received a master’s or doctoral degree in social work and
practiced at that level.

As to the proposed changes to the internship requirements
under the social worker training certificate, Iowa does not
have a training certificate or equivalency process for
converting a health services degree into a bachelor’s degree
in social work.

Iowa’s administrative rules for licensure of social work are
found under chapter 280 of Iowa administrative rule.
Illinois.  Illinois has two levels of social work licensure, the
licensed social worker and licensed clinical social worker.
The clinical license requires 3,000 hours of supervised
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practice before being eligible for clinical licensure.  There
does not appear to be any explicit requirement that a person
hold the social worker license before accumulating the
supervised practice experience.  (Wisconsin rules explicitly
require applicants to achieve certification as an advanced
practice social worker or independent social worker prior to
accumulating supervised practice hours toward clinical social
work licensure.)  There are explicit provisions in Illinois
administrative code which would allow applicants to count
hours gained in other jurisdictions outside of Illinois towards
clinical licensure.

As to the proposed changes to the internship requirements
under the social worker training certificate, Illinois does not
have a training certificate or equivalency process for
converting a health services degree into a bachelor’s degree
in social work.

Illinois’ administrative rules for licensure of social work
are found under Title 68, Part 1470.

Michigan:  Michigan has a master’s level social work license,
aptly entitled Master’s Social Work License.  An applicant for
the license must indicate the area of intended practice on the
application, which includes a license designation of “macro”
or “clinical.”  The macro designation, also known as an
administrative designation, is similar to the Wisconsin
independent social worker certification and denotes advanced
generalist practice of social work.  The clinical designation is
similar to the Wisconsin clinical social work license and
denotes therapeutic clinical practice.  The clinical designation
requires at least 4,000 hours of supervised practice under the
supervision of a Michigan−licensed master’s social worker or
a person who holds the equivalent license, certificate, or
registration from the state in which the experience was
obtained.  To obtain the supervised practice experience
required for licensure – for Michigan residents – the
administrative rules appear to require that the applicant holds
a limited master’s level social work license, however there are
provisions, as noted above, which allow transference of hours
from jurisdictions outside of Michigan so long as the
supervisor held an equivalent credential to that of a Michigan
licensed master’s level social worker.

As to the proposed changes to the internship requirements
under the social worker training certificate, Michigan does
not have a training certificate or equivalency process for
converting a health services degree into a bachelor’s degree
in social work.

Michigan’s administrative rules for licensure of social
work are found under sections R. 338.2901 to R. 338.2910.

Minnesota:  Minnesota has three levels of master’s degreed
social work licenses, the graduate social worker, independent
social worker and the licensed independent clinical social
worker, the latter license being the most similar to
Wisconsin’s licensed clinical social worker.  To qualify for the
independent clinical social work license in Minnesota
requires 4,000 hours of supervised practice.  The rules require
that Minnesota residents acquire the supervised practice
under the graduate social worker or independent social
worker license.  The rules also specify that that supervised
practice must be acquired under a licensed independent
clinical social worker, a “mental health professional” (under
state regulatory rules of healthcare locations, a mental health
professional includes a certified psychiatric nurse, clinical
social worker, a psychologist, psychiatrist or marriage and
family therapist) or an equivalent mental health professional
who is credentialed by another state, territorial, provincial, or
foreign licensing agency.  This appears to indicate that they
could acquire supervised practice hours outside of Minnesota,
but this is not explicitly indicated in statute.

As to the proposed changes to the internship requirements
under the social work training certificate, Minnesota does not
have a training certificate or equivalency process for
converting a health services degree into a bachelor’s degree
in social work.

Minnesota regulates social work under Minnesota statutes
sections 148D.001 to 149D.290.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

Regarding changes to rules allowing acceptance of hours
gained out of state:  The Social Worker Section has found that
a small number of applicants for clinical social work licensure
have recently located to Wisconsin and have applied to the
Section with supervised practice gained out of state.  The
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and
Social Work Examining Board’s rules require that applicants
for clinical social work licensure acquire supervised practice
while holding a Wisconsin certification as an advanced
practice social worker (APSW) or independent social worker
(ISW) under an approved supervisor; consequently the
Section has denied these applications for licensure on the
grounds that they were not acquired under an appropriate
credential.  The Section, in review of the supervised
experience gained out of state, opines that as the credentialing
authority, they should be able to review supervised experience
gained out of state, and if found adequate, the Section should
be able to accept the applicant’s experience as sufficient for
achieving clinical social work licensure.

Regarding changes to rules specifying internship
requirements for social work training certificate holders:  The
rules specifying the requirements for converting a human
services degree to a bachelor’s degree in social work degree
require that a person complete an approved human services
internship of 400 hours or one year of social work
employment with at least 400 hours of face−to−face client
experience.  Under existing social work programs, human
services internships are structured and concentrated social
work experiences designed to adequately educate and prepare
students for the rigors of professional practice under guidance
of an academic program and are not to be considered as
abbreviated employment.  To compensate for the lack of
academic structure and focus by the academic programs, the
rules also allow for an applicant to submit one full year of
full−time social work practice with at least 400 hours of
face−to−face client contact if they did not have the benefit of
the internship.  In review of internships submitted by
applicants for certification through degree equivalency, the
Section has found instances of self structured internships
which appear to be nothing more than volunteer social work
experiences, essentially unpaid social work employment,
submitted as a human services internship.  These internships
are substantially shorter than the one year of social work
experience, and in some cases substantially shorter than those
human services internships provided by an academic
program; furthermore, they lack benefit of oversight and
guidance provided by an academic institution.  The Section
has found that the current rules do not adequately define the
social work internship, therefore preventing the section from
denying the applications on the basis that their internship was
not provided by an academic institution, and therefore did not
adequately prepare the applicant for meeting the minimum
competencies required for safe practice.
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

Adjusting the rules for accepting supervised hours gained
out of state should not impact small business.  The effect of the
rule change, if effected, will allow a small number of
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applicants that the social worker section has identified as
attempting to transfer their supervised practice gained out of
state to qualify for clinical licensure rather than having to
complete two additional years of supervised practice.  Based
on application reviews, the section estimates this number to
be less than five on an annual basis.

The section anticipates that clarifying the rules regarding
the required human services internship to include a
requirement that the internship be provided by an academic
program or internship to have negligible or no impact on small
business.  Adjusting the internship requirement to require
academic oversight may decrease human services employers
(state certified clinics, community support programs,
correctional institutions) access to free labor; however, the
actual numbers of these applicants appear to be extremely
low, and in recent experience the section estimates
approximately ten or fewer applicants submit volunteer
experiences as internships.  Additionally, increasing
academic oversight should result in better preparation of
social workers.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Small Business Impact
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on a substantial number of small businesses, as defined
in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at larry.martin@
drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608) 266−8608.

Fiscal Estimate

Summary
The department estimates that this rule will require staff

time in the Office of Legal Counsel.  The total one−time salary
and fringe costs are estimated at $16,477.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.

Submission of Written Comments
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of

Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at pamela.haack@
drl.state.wi.us. Written comments must be received by
November 10, 2008, to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935; telephone 608−266−0495; email pamela.haack
@drl.state.wi.us.

Text of Proposed Rule

SECTION 1.  MPSW 3.09 (3) is amended to read:
(3)  An Except as provided in sub. (7), an affidavit that the

applicant, after receiving a master’s or doctoral degree and
after receiving certification as an advanced practice social
worker or an independent social worker, has completed at
least 3,000 hours of clinical social work practice in no less
than 2 years, including at least 1,000 hours of face−to−face
client contact and including DSM diagnosis and treatment of
individuals, under the supervision of a supervisor approved
by the social worker section.  Pre−certification Pre−licensed
supervised practice shall meet the criteria under s. MPSW
4.01.
SECTION 2.  MPSW 3.09 (7) is created to read:

(7)  An applicant who after receiving a master’s or doctoral
degree in social work and completing any portion of their
3,000 hours of supervised clinical social work practice in
another state will be given credit for those hours provided they
included at least 1,000 hours of face−to−face−client contact,
or a proportionate number thereof, and also included DSM
diagnosis and treatment of individuals, completed under the
supervision of a supervisor acceptable to the social worker
section.
SECTION 3.  MPSW 3.13 (3) (a) is amended to read:

(a)  A human services internship of at least 400 hours that
was part of the program leading to the degree the certificate
holder specified to satisfy the requirement in s. 457.09 (1) (c)
and (4m) (b), Stats., or completed while holding the training
certificate, and involved direct practice with clients and that
was supervised by a social worker certified under s. 457.08,
Stats., and who has a bachelor’s or master’s degree in social
work and provides direct, on−site supervision of the intern.
A human services internship shall be under the auspices of an
accredited college or a university.
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Rule Orders Filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.  Contact the Legislative Reference Bureau at bruce.hoesly@legis.wisconsin.gov or (608) 266−7590 for updated
information on the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Commerce
Flammable and Combustible Liquids, Ch. Comm 10

CR 07−029
Revises Chapters Comm 2, 10, 14, 47 and 48, relating to

flammable, combustible and hazardous liquids.
Effective 12−1−08.

Commerce
Amusement Rides, Ch. Comm 34

CR 08−054
Revises Chapter Comm 34, relating to amusement rides.

Effective 1−1−09.

Commerce
Boilers and Pressure Vessels, Ch. Comm 41
Mechanical Refrigeration, Ch. Comm 45

CR 08−028
Revises Chapters Comm 41 and 45, relating to boilers and

pressure vessels and mechanical refrigeration.
Effective 12−1−08.

Government Accountability Board
CR 08−024

Creates Chapter GAB 12, relating to the certification and
training of municipal clerks.
Effective 12−1−08.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 08−010
Revises Chapters NR 20, 21, 22 and 23, relating to fishing

on the inland, outlying and boundary waters of Wisconsin.
Effective 12−1−08 and 4−1−09.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 08−021
Revises Chapters NR 1, 8, 10, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17 and 19,

relating to hunting, trapping, captive wild animals, dog
training, nuisance animal removal, wildlife rehabilitation and
license issuance.
Effective 12−1−08.

Natural Resources
Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—

CR 08−023
Revises Chapter NR 46, relating to the administration of

the forest crop law and managed forest law.
Effective 11−1−08.

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection − General, Chs. NR 100—

CR 07−110
Revises Chapter NR 105, relating to surface water quality

criteria.
Effective 12−1−08.

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection − Water Regulation, 

Chs. NR 300—
CR 07−094

Revises Chapters NR 320, 323, 328, 329, 341, 343 and 345,
relating to general permit criteria requiring decontamination
of equipment for invasive species and viruses.
Effective 12−1−08.

Regulation and Licensing
CR 08−040

Amends section RL 16.06, relating to the usage of
approved forms for the practice of real estate.
Effective 11−1−08.

Veterinary Examining Board
CR 07−051

Revises Chapters VE 1, 7, and 10, relating to continuing
education, informed consent and recordkeeping.
Effective 11−1−08.
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