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SURVEY
The Legislative Reference Bureau is considering changing to an Internet−based publishing system
for the Wisconsin Administrative Code and Register.  Please complete this survey to help us decide.

YOU MAY TAKE THIS SURVEY ONLINE AT
http://www.legis.wi.gov/lrb/survey

OR

COPY THIS PAGE AND MAIL
THE COMPLETED SURVEY TO

Bruce Hoesly
P. O. Box 2037
Madison, WI 53701−2037

 
 

1. Would you prefer an enhanced, free online version of the Administrative Code and Register
instead of the current fee−based paper subscription service?

 

�  Yes �  No �  No preference

2. Would you want to receive the Register by RSS feed?

�  Yes �  No

3. Which of the following free e−mail notice services would you use? Check all that apply:

�  A service that provides notices of all actions and document filings related to rule making
whether those items are currently listed in the Administrative Register or in legislative jour-
nals.

�  A service that provides links within a notice that direct users to the documents about which
the notice relates.

�  A service that allows the user to limit notices received according to which agency, code
chapter, or individual rule that interests the user.

 

4. Any comments?

THANK YOU !
___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___   ___

The Wisconsin Administrative Register is published twice
monthly by the Legislative Reference Bureau.

 
Questions, comments, or corrections should be directed to:

Bruce Hoesly (608) 266−7590
Email: bruce.hoesly@legis.wi.gov

 
The Wisconsin Administrative Register and Administrative Code

may be obtained from the
Department of Administration

Office of Document Sales
(608) 266−3358

and may be accessed on the Internet at:
http://www.legis.wi.gov/rsb/code.htm
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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.  This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Beginning with rules filed with the Legislative Reference
Bureau in 2008, the Legislative Reference Bureau will assign
a number to each emergency rule filed, for the purpose of
internal tracking and reference.  The number will be in the
following form: EmR0801.  The first 2 digits indicate the year
of filing and the last 2 digits indicate the chronological order
of filing during the year.

Children and Families
Family and Economic Security, Chs. DCF 101−153

EmR0906 — Rule adopted revising ss. DCF 120.05,
120.07 and 120.08, relating to emergency assistance for
needy families.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Children and Families finds that an

emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The recent large increase in foreclosures has caused tenants
living in rental properties that are in foreclosure to lose their
housing. Under the current rule, these tenants are not eligible
for Emergency Assistance due to impending homelessness
and would only be able to receive assistance if they became
homeless.  This emergency rule will allow these tenants to
receive assistance for impending homelessness and avoid the
additional expense and trauma of homelessness.

The current maximum payment amounts for Emergency
Assistance due to homelessness and impending homelessness
are insufficient to allow a smaller family to obtain or retain a
permanent living accommodation.  Increasing the payments

for smaller households immediately will help them obtain or
retain a permanent living accommodation with fewer
resources from other sources and may prevent homelessness
for these families.

The current rule has no maximum payment amount for
Emergency Assistance due to an energy crisis.  All other
categories of assistance have a maximum payment based on
group size.  This emergency rule requires that families first
exhaust resources available through the Wisconsin Home
Energy Program and sets a maximum payment amount for
assistance available for Emergency Assistance due to energy
crisis to make better use of the program’s limited funds.

Publication Date: April 9, 2009
Effective: April 22, 2009 through

September 18, 2009
Hearing Date: June 11, 2009

Children and Families
Family and Economic Security, Chs. DCF 101−153
Early Care and Education, Chs. DCF 201−252

EmR0908 — Rules adopted amending s. DCF 101.09 (3)
(b) and creating ss. DCF 101.09 (3) (b) 1. b., 101.26 (3), and
201.08 (2) (g), relating to Wisconsin Works and Wisconsin
Shares disregard of temporary census income.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Children and Families finds that an

emergency exists and that the rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Disregarding income earned from temporary employment
with the U.S. Census Bureau in determining Wisconsin Works
and Wisconsin Shares eligibility and child care copayments is
necessary for the public welfare to ensure Wisconsin has a
broad pool of available workers to help ensure an accurate
Census count, particularly in historically undercounted
low−income neighborhoods.  Census work is currently
ongoing.

Publication Date: May 28, 2009
Effective: June 1, 2009 through

October 28, 2009

Commerce
Fee Schedule, Ch. Comm 2

EmR0837 — Rule adopted revising s. Comm 2.68,
relating to public swimming pool and water attraction plan
review and inspection fees.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of an
emergency rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of
the public health, safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows.

1. Implementation of the federal Virginia Graeme Baker
Pool and Spa Safety Act necessitates most existing public
swimming pools and water attractions to undergo physical
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modifications to reduce the risk of entrapment at suction
outlets.

2. The Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act has
a compliance date of December 19, 2008.

3. The department estimates that 3,700 existing pools and
water attractions will need to be modified in order to comply
with the federal act.

4. The current department plan review fees and inspection
fees under s. Comm 2.68 reflect an estimated average time
and cost to provide those services.  For the types of pool and
water attraction modifications necessary to comply with the
Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act, the
department believes that the time and cost to provide the
service will be below the averages reflected under the current
fee structure of section Comm 2.68.

5. The department believes that a temporary fee reduction
to facilitate plan review and inspection relative to the Virginia
Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act is in alignment with
the direction provided under s. 101.19, Stats., of keeping fees
consistent with the costs of providing service.

Publication Date: December 15, 2008

Effective: December 15, 2008
through May 13, 2009

Hearing Date: January 8, 2009
Extension Through: July 12, 2009

Commerce
Licenses, Certifications and Registrations, Ch. Comm 5
Wis. Commercial Building Code, Chs. Comm 60−66

EmR0904 — Rule adopted revising ss. Comm 5.30 and
61.295, relating to building contractor registration.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of an
emergency rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of
the public health, safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows:

1.  Under Chapter 560 of the Statutes, the department of
commerce is charged with facilitating the establishment and
retention of business enterprises in Wisconsin, and with
seeking closer cooperation and coordination between units of
state government, so that the economy of the state may
continue to develop fully and meet citizen and community
needs.

2. Under Chapters 101 and 145 of the statutes, the
department of commerce has oversight over the design,
construction, alteration and maintenance of public buildings
and places of employment, one− and two− family dwellings,
public swimming pools and public water attractions in order
to protect public safety, health and welfare and the waters of
the state.

3.  The department has proposed an administrative rule that
would require the registration of various types of building
contractors not already credentialed by the department under
existing administrative rules.  Under the proposed rules
contractors must be registered with the department by January
1, 2010.  A public hearing on that proposal was held on
January 21, 2009.

4.  The proposed rule has three main benefits to Wisconsin:
first, it will enhance the department’s ability to communicate
with and educate building contractors throughout the state
about their obligations to limit safety and health risks for the

citizens of Wisconsin; second, it will enhance the ability of the
department to cooperate and coordinate with the Department
of Workforce Development relative to their administration of
unemployment insurance and workers compensation
insurance programs; and third, it will enhance the ability of
the department to cooperate and coordinate with the
Department of Revenue relative to their administration of the
state income tax program.

5.  Due to the current economic circumstances, the
department has determined that the implementation for
building contractor registration should be July 1, 2009 in
order for the benefits to be in effect for the 2009 building
construction season.

Publication Date: March 2, 2009
Effective: March 2, 2009 through

July 29, 2009 
(except ss. Comm 5.30 (1)  and 61.295 (2)

Effective: July 1, 2009 through
November 27, 2009

Hearing Date: March 31, 2009

Commerce
Elevators, Escalators and Lift Devices, Ch. Comm 18

EmR0901— Rule adopted repealing s. Comm 18.1702
(8), relating to a wear and fatigue monitoring system and a
device that protects against suspension loss for electric
traction elevators that use smaller sized wire ropes.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of an
emergency rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of
the public health, safety and welfare. A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows.

1. The recent revision of chapter Comm 18, Elevators,
Escalators and Lift Devices, references and adopts the 2007
edition of the national standard ASME A17.1, developed by
the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Effective
January 1, 2009, the regulations include a provision, s. Comm
18.1702 (8), that requires a wear and fatigue monitoring
system and a device that protects against suspension loss for
electric traction elevators using smaller sized wire ropes.

2. The department included the wear and fatigue
monitoring system and protection device requirements in
anticipation that the next edition of the national ASME A17.1
standard would incorporate a similar provision. The
department developed s. Comm 18.1702 (8) based on code
language being proposed by the national standard ASME
A17.1 Committee.

3. The wear and fatigue monitoring system and the device
to protect against suspension loss were not incorporated into
the next version of the ASME A17.1. The ASME A17.1
Committee withdrew the section because of implementation
concerns, and at this time it is unclear what the final section
on suspension ropes and their connections in elevators will
include.

4. Because the department adopts by reference the national
standard ASME A17.1, it recognizes that without
promulgating this emergency rule, there could be confusion
in what constitutes recognized safe practices for a monitoring
system and protection again suspension loss for electric
traction elevators. The department believes that repealing s.
Comm 18.1702 (8) will keep the Wisconsin code in alignment
with the most current edition of ASME A17.1 and still
promote safety.
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Publication Date: February 5, 2009

Effective: February 5, 2009 through
July 4, 2009

Hearing Date: March 2, 2009

Commerce
Uniform Dwelling, Chs. Comm 20−25

Wisconsin Commercial Building Code, Chs. Comm 60−66

EmR0826 — Rules adopted to renumber s. Comm
66.0911; to amend s. Comm 20.24 (1) and (2); and to create
ss. Comm 21.095, 20.24 Table 20.24−14, 62.1200, 62.3500
(3) (e), 66.0911 (title) and (2), relating to carbon monoxide
alarms and affecting small business.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Under the nonstatutory provisions of 2007 Wisconsin Act

205, the Department of Commerce is directed to issue
emergency rules that implement provisions of the Act.  The
Act specifically states:  “Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1)
(a) and (3) of the statutes, neither the department of commerce
or the department of health services is required to provide
evidence that promulgating rules under this subsection as
emergency rules is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for the rules promulgated under this
subsection.”

The Act mandates the installation and maintenance of
carbon monoxide alarms in buildings accommodating certain
types of residential occupancies and within which fuel
burning appliances are located.  Residential occupancies
include tourist rooming houses, bed and breakfast
establishments, and any public building that is used for
sleeping or lodging, such as, hotels, motels, condominiums,
apartment buildings, dormitories, fraternities, sororities,
convents, seminaries, community based residential facilities,
home shelters, but not hospitals and nursing homes.  The Act
requires the installation of carbon monoxide alarms in new
buildings as of October 1, 2008.  The owners of existing
buildings will have until April 1, 2010 to install the carbon
monoxide alarms.  The Act also provides for the omission of
carbon monoxide alarms in certain instances which are
further clarified by the administrative rules.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008

Effective: October 1, 2008 through
the date permanent rules
become effective

Hearing Date: October 14, 2008

Financial Institutions — Banking

EmR0907 — Rule adopted to create Chapter DFI−Bkg
47 and to repeal Chapter DFI−Bkg 41, relating to the
transition from a registration system to a license system.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The legislature by section 9117 of 2009 Wisconsin Act 2

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.

Publication Date: May 4, 2009
Effective: Section 1: 

5−4−09 through 7−1−11
Section 2: 
9−1−09 through 7−1−11
Section 3:
1−10−10 through 7−1−11

Hearing Date: June 10, 2009)

Government Accountability Board
EmR0902 — Rule adopted amending s. GAB 6.05,

relating to filing campaign finance reports in electronic
format.
Finding of Emergency

The Government Accountability Board amends s. GAB
6.05, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to filing campaign finance
statements in electronic format.  The amended rule creates a
uniform requirement and restricts registrants to an “electronic
format” compatible with the Board’s electronic filing system
for filing campaign finance reports.

Pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., the Government
Accountability Board finds an emergency exists because the
Board’s January 18, 2008 decision to implement the use of a
new electronic filing system, and the technical requirements
thereof, conflicts with the technical electronic format filing
permitted by the previous rule.  In effect, the current
electronic filing system cannot work without a uniform and
restricted electronic format that is compatible with the new
electronic filing system.

The Board adopts the legislature’s policy findings of s.
11.001, Stats., emphasizing that one of the most important
sources of information to voters about candidates is available
through the campaign finance reporting system.  The Board
further finds that it is necessary to codify a uniform electronic
format filing requirement to ensure the proper operation of the
current electronic filing system so that the campaign finance
information is available to voters.  The amended rule, GAB
6.05, must be adopted immediately to ensure the public peace
and welfare with respect to the administration of current and
future elections.

Publication Date: February 5, 2009
Effective: February 5, 2009 through

July 4, 2009
Hearing Date: March 20, 2009

Health Services (2)
(Formerly Health and Family Services)

Management & Technology & Strategic Finance, 
Chs. HFS (DHS) 1—

1. EmR0832 — Rule adopted to repeal s. HFS (DHS) 12.03
(15) and to create ss. HFS (DHS) 12.03 (20m), 12.115
and Table HFS (DHS) 12.115, relating to background
checks of individuals who provide personal care services,
and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health Services finds that an

emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
health, safety and welfare.  The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:
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2007 Wisconsin Act 172 requires the department to specify
by rule, the crimes, a conviction of  which an entity must
disclose to a client or a client’s guardian before the caregiver
provides the client with personal care services in the client’s
home.  Act 172 also requires the department to define the term
“substitute caregiver”.  Under s. 50.065 (2m) (d), Stats., as
created by 2007 Wisconsin Act 172, the department created
a list of crimes required and also as required defined the term
“substitute caregiver”.

Effective November 1, 2008, entities, including home
health agencies and temporary employment agencies, are
required under s. 50.065 (2m) (d), Stats., to disclose to the
client or the client’s guardian, the assigned caregiver’s
convictions of crimes specified by the department by rule.

Publication Date: October 20, 2008

Effective: November 1, 2008 through
March 30, 2009

Hearing Date: January 6, 2009

Extension Through: June 30, 2009

2. EmR0834 — Rules adopted amending s. HFS (DHS)
10.23 (2) (d) 2., relating to confidentiality requirements of
the Family Care program that prohibit benefit specialists
from disclosing personally identifying information about
a client without the client’s informed consent, unless
required by law.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health Services finds that an

emergency exists and that adoption of an emergency rule is
necessary for the immediate preservation of the public health,
safety and welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are
as follows:

Chapter HFS 10 is the department’s rule that guides the
implementation of the department’s Family Care program.
Included in these provisions are standards for confidentiality
which prohibit disability benefit specialists from disclosing
personally identifying information about a client without the
client’s consent unless required by law. Because disability
benefit specialists are permissive reporters, and thus not
required to report abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation of
elder adults and adults at risk under ss. 46.90 (4) (ar) and
55.043 (1m) (br), Stats., s. HFS 10.23 (2) (d) 2., effectively
prevents disability benefits specialists from making such
disclosures.

Amending s. HFS 10.23 (2) (d) 2., to allow disability
benefit specialists to report abuse, neglect, or financial
exploitation under ss. 46.90 (4) (ar) and 55.043 (1m) (br),
Stats., would help to ensure that elder adults and
adults−at−risk who may have been abused, neglected, or
financially exploited are brought to the attention of the abuse,
neglect and exploitation response systems outlined under ss.
46.90 and 55.043, Stats.

Publication Date: November 3, 2008

Effective: November 3, 2008 through
April 1, 2009

Hearing Date: January 27, 2009

Extension Through: June 30, 2009

Pharmacy Examining Board
EmR0903 — A rule adopted repealing s. Phar 4.02 (2),

relating to the practical examination.
Finding of Emergency

The Pharmacy Examining Board finds that, under s. 227.24
(1), Stats., the repeal of s. Phar 4.02 (2) is required for the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety and welfare.

Currently, under s. Phar 4.02 (2), the board administers a
practical examination to determine an applicant’s competence
in compounding and dispensing medications, which includes
consultation of patients.  The board has determined that this
examination is no longer needed because the competencies
tested in the examination are also tested in two other national
examinations that applicants are required to take in order to
obtain a license in Wisconsin.  The board has also determined
that the practical examination requirement may contribute to
the shortage of pharmacists in Wisconsin.

First, under s. Phar 4.02 (1) and (3), an applicant is required
to take and pass the Multi−State Pharmacy Jurisprudence
Examination (MPJE) and the North American Pharmacist
Licensure Examination (NAPLEX).  Both of these
examinations test competencies that relate to subject areas
that are also tested in the practical examination.  As a result,
applicants are required to take an additional examination, and
pay an additional examination fee.  In some instances, this
step may also result in a delay in the processing of applications
for licensure.

Second, in reference to the shortage of pharmacists in
Wisconsin, the board has found that populations in rural areas
and in certain city neighborhoods are underserved.  The board
believes that, because of its practical examination
requirement, potential applicants from other states are
declining to seek licensure in Wisconsin.  Wisconsin is one of
only four states that require a practical examination.  None of
the states that border Wisconsin have a practical examination
requirement.

Publication Date: February 28, 2009
Effective: February 28, 2009 through

July 27, 2009
Hearing Dates: April 8, 2009

Regulation and Licensing (2)
1. EmR0827 — Rule adopted creating s. RL 91.01 (3) (k),

relating to training and proficiency in the use of automated
external defibrillators for certification as a massage
therapist or bodyworker.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.
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Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective: September 10, 2008 

through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Dates: November 26, 2008
April 13, 2009

2. EmR0828 — Rules adopted to amend s. RL 181.01 (2)
(c); and to create ss. RL 180.02 (1m), (3m) and (11),
181.01 (1) (d), (2) (c) 1. and 2., relating to training and
proficiency in the use of automated external defibrillators
for licensure as a licensed midwife.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Section 41 (2) (b) of the nonstatutory provisions of 2007

Wisconsin Act 104 provides that notwithstanding section
227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of
regulation and licensing is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule as an emergency rule is necessary for
the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare
and is not required to provide a finding of emergency for a rule
promulgated to implement 2007 Wisconsin Act 104.
Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes, these
emergency rules will remain in effect until the date on which
the final rules take effect.

Publication Date: September 10, 2008
Effective: September 10, 2008 

through the date on which
the final rules take effect

Hearing Date: November 26, 2008

Revenue
EmR0820 — Rule adopted creating ss. Tax 8.03 and 8.05,

relating to the registration of wine collectors, establishing
standards of eligibility for registration as a wine collector,
specifying the form and manner of notice required prior to the
sale of wine by a wine collector, and the creation and
organization of small winery cooperative wholesalers.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The legislature by Section 50 of 2007 Wisconsin Act 85

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.

Publication Date: June 26, 2008
Effective: June 26, 2008 through 

July 1, 2010 or the date on
which permanent rules
take effect, whichever is
sooner.

Wisconsin Technical College System Board
EmR0905 — Rule adopted revising Ch. TCS 17, relating

to training program grant funds appropriated in 2009
Wisconsin Act 2.

Finding of Emergency
The Wisconsin Technical College System Board finds that

an emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for
the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety
or welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting an emergency
is:

The 2009 Wis. Act 2 (the 2007−09 budget repair bill)
provided an additional $1,000,000 GPR to the existing annual
appropriation of $3,000,000 GPR for the training program
grants authorized in Wis. Stats. ss. 20.292 (1) (eh) and 38.41.
These funds were provided to address a critical need of
Wisconsin employers for skills training and education
necessary to protect the state’s economic vitality and health,
with a special emphasis on advanced manufacturing and
welding.

The Act requires the WTCS Board to award these funds by
June 30, 2009 or the end of the current 2008−09 fiscal year.
In addition, TCS 17.06 (1), Wis. Adm. Code, requires that
district boards or employers receiving skills training or
education under the grant shall contribute matching funds,
other than in−kind matching funds, equal to at least 25% of
total approved project costs.

Due to declining economic conditions and reduced
business revenues, technical college districts report that
employers are withdrawing participation in approved training
grants because of an inability to fund the 25% match.
Therefore, to ensure that business and incumbent workers in
need of skills training and other education may access these
services and that appropriated funds are distributed to
technical college districts for this purpose before the end of
the fiscal year, emergency administrative rules eliminating
the 25% match requirement must be established immediately.

Publication Date: March 20, 2009

Effective: March 20, 2009 through
August 16, 2009

Workforce Development
Public Works Construction Contracts, 

Chs. DWD 290−294

EmR0838 − Rules adopted revising s. DWD 290.155 (1),
relating to the adjustment of thresholds for application of
prevailing wage rates.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Adjusting the thresholds for application of the prevailing
wage rate requirements by emergency rule ensures that the
adjustments are effective on a date certain that is prior to the
time of year that project requests are generally submitted to
the Department and applicability of the prevailing wage law
is determined. The adjustment avoids imposing an additional
administrative burden on local governments and state
agencies caused by an effective decrease of the thresholds due
solely to inflation in the construction industry. If these new
thresholds are not put into effect by emergency rule, the old
thresholds will remain effective for approximately six to
seven months, until the conclusion of the permanent
rule−making process. The thresholds are based on national
construction cost statistics and are unlikely to be changed by
the permanent rule−making process.

Publication Date: December 29, 2008

Effective: January 1, 2009 through
May 30, 2009

Hearing Date: February 12, 2009
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Scope Statements

Transportation

Subject
Amends Chapter Trans 114, relating to the Uniform Traffic

Citation, to eliminate figures 1−6, and also clarify that the
automated citation must be in a format prescribed by the
Department.

Policy Analysis
During the last audit of our Commercial Driver Licensing

program in 2007, the reviewers indicated “The boxes on the
uniform citation to identify CMV and hazmat involvement
are not consistently and appropriately used by law
enforcement for the DMV to identify and impose the
appropriate disqualification action.”

We have met with the Uniform Traffic Citation Council,
and they have agreed to the changes.  As such, we plan to
remove the fields related to license class and endorsements,
and vehicle class and endorsements, and replace them with
yes or no indicators for CMV Operation and Hazmat
Operation.  The change to the CMV/Hazardous materials
reporting portion of the citation involves no issue of policy;
it is simply made to hopefully improve the reliability of the
data provided by officers.

Requiring the date and time of appearance to be shown on
the citation is simply codifying procedures that should
already be mandated by courts processing citations.  A person
who is being issued a citation should be notified of the time
and place he or she is required to appear in court as part of that
process.  All persons have a fundamental due process right to
notice of the time and place their case will be heard.

In addition, the 2007 CDL Compliance Review included
the following finding:

“Wisconsin only receives 35% of convictions
electronically and, as a result, will be hard−pressed to meet
deadlines imposed by MCSIA for the timely posting of
convictions (within 30 days by September 30, 2005, and
within 10 days by September 30, 2008). Wisconsin must
address the timeliness associated with the processes currently

in place by which convictions are reported and processed, if
Wisconsin is to meet the initial 30−day requirement of the
MCSIA by July 2005 and fully comply with the 10−day
posting requirement of MCSIA by July ‘08.”

Our plan to address this finding was to expand the use of
automated citations.  To achieve this goal, we would like to
clarify that the Department must prescribe the automated
citation form to ensure that all law enforcement agencies are
using the same document.  This will eliminate confusion and
increase efficiency, and all law enforcement agencies in the
state will be using the same format, as they are today.

Statutory Authority

Section 345.11, Stats.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

The purpose of making changes to the citation form related
to CMV use or the transportation of hazardous materials is to
improve compliance with federal CDL laws and regulations.
Federal law requires Wisconsin to:

� Notify the licensing jurisdiction within 10 days if one of
its drivers is convicted of a CDL offense in Wisconsin.

� Post convictions on Wisconsin driving records within 10
days of their conviction.

Section 345.48 (1m), Stats., requires courts to report
convictions to DMV within 5 working days.  By having
consistent information regarding CMV use or hazardous
materials transportation, as well as a consistent automated
citation format, DMV should be more consistent in
processing reported convictions within the 10−day federal
time limit.

Entities Affected by the Rule

Law enforcement agencies, Wisconsin Judicial System,
and third party vendors such as the vendor who keys paper
citations.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

80 hours
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Submittal of Rules to Legislative Council Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Corrections
CR 09−039

On May 28, 2009, the Department of Corrections
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The proposed order repeals and recreates Chapter DOC
346, relating to secure detention facilities and juvenile
portions of a county jail.

The Department of Corrections is authorized under s.
301.37, Stats., to develop “reasonable standards and
regulations” for facilities, including secure detention
facilities.  The last revision of the current rule was in 1994.
Subsequent changes in the law and accepted correctional
practices necessitate revisions to DOC 346, including new
standards.

The rule addresses three primary needs:

1.  Repeal and recreate ch. DOC 346 to update, renumber
and reorder for clarity.  The Department is seeking revision of
DOC 346, which not only reflects changes in law and
correctional practice, but also clarifies existing standards.
Since the last revision, it became apparent that clarification of
many sections was necessary.

2.  Bring the rule into conformity with ch. 938, Juvenile
Justice Code, Wis. Stats.  In 1996 the WI legislature created
the Juvenile Justice Code (Chapter 938), which provided new
direction in the ways juveniles would be managed in the
juvenile justice system.  Ch. DOC 346 was not changed at the
time.  The Department seeks to change DOC 346 to better
reflect the changes in the law.

3.  Bring the rule into conformity with the federal Juvenile
Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on June 26,
2009.  The Department’s Office of Detention Facilities is
primarily responsible for this rule.

Contact Information
Kathryn R. Anderson, Chief Legal Counsel
Department of Corrections
3099 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 7925
Madison, WI 53707−7925
telephone: (608) 240−5049
FAX:  (608) 240−3306
email: kathryn.anderson@wisconsin.gov

Government Accountability Board
CR 09−040

On May 29, 2009, the Government Accountability Board
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order amends section GAB 6.05, Wis. Adm.
Code, relating to the filing of campaign finance reports in the
electronic format of the internet−based Campaign Finance
Information System.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be scheduled at a later time.  The
Government Accountability Board is primarily responsible
for preparing the proposed rule.
Contact Information

Shane W. Falk, Staff Counsel
Government Accountability Board
212 E. Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 7984, Madison, Wisconsin 53707−7984
Phone:  266−2094
Email:  Shane.Falk@wisconsin.gov

Insurance
CR 09−038

On May 25, 2009, the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance submitted a proposed rule−making order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order creates section Ins 6.90, relating to the
use of designations or certifications purporting to
demonstrate special expertise in the financial or retirement
needs of seniors.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is scheduled for July 6, 2009.
Contact Information

Holly L. Strop
Phone: (608) 261−8283
Email: holly.strop@wisconsin.gov

Transportation
CR 09−041

On June 1, 2009, the Department of Transportation
submitted a proposed rule−making order to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed order creates Chapter Trans 206, relating to
the Local Roads Improvement Program.
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Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and are scheduled for July 20
and 22, 2009.  The Division of Transportation Investment
Management is primarily responsible for promulgation of the
rule.

Contact Information
Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
(608) 267−3703
julie1.johnson@wisconsin.gov
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Hearing
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

(Reprinted from May 31, 2009 Register)

CR 09−037
The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and

Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will hold a
public hearing on a proposed amendment to Chapter ATCP
91, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to selling commodities by
weight, measure or count.

Hearing Information
June 23, 2009
Commencing at 9:30 AM
WI Dept. of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive — Board Room, 1st Floor
Madison, WI  53718

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by Monday, June 15, 2009, by writing to Michelle
Reinen, Division of Trade and Consumer Protection, P.O. Box
8911, Madison, WI 53708−8911, michelle.reinen@wi.gov,
telephone (608) 224−5160.  Alternatively, you may contact
the DATCP TDD at (608) 224−5058.  Handicap access is
available at the hearings.

Copies of Proposed Rule
You may obtain a free copy of this proposed rule by

contacting the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection, Division of Trade and Consumer
Protection, 2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison,
WI 53708.  You may also obtain copies by calling (608)
224−5160 or emailing michelle.reinen@wi.gov.  Copies will
also be available at the hearing.  To view the proposed rule
online, go to:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.

Appearances at the Hearing and Submission of Written
Comments

DATCP will hold the public hearing at the time and
location shown above.  DATCP invites the public to attend the
hearing and comment on the rule.  Following the hearing, the
hearing record will remain open until Friday, July 3, 2009 for
additional written comments.  Comments may be sent to the
Division of Trade and Consumer Protection at the address
above, by email to michelle.reinen@wi.gov or online at
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, you may also contact DATCP’s small business
regulatory coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, or
by emailing to Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by
telephone at (608) 224−5039.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (DATCP) currently regulates methods of sale of
commodities (including required methods of sale by weight,
measure or count).  The current rules are designed to ensure
fair competition, to prevent unfair and deceptive sales

practices, and to facilitate value comparisons by consumers.
Current DATCP rules are contained in ch. ATCP 91, Wis.
Adm. Code.

This rule changes current rules to make them consistent
with standards published by the National Institute of
Standards and Technology (“NIST”) and adopted by 45 other
states.  This rule also updates and clarifies current rule
coverage.
Statutes interpreted

Sections 98.06, 98.07 and 100.20, Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 93.07 (1), 98.07 (3) and (4), and 100.20(2), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

DATCP has authority to regulate methods of competition
and trade practices in business under s. 100.20, Stats.  DATCP
also administers laws, including ss. 98.06 and 98.07, Stats.,
related to the pricing and sale of commodities by weight,
measure or count.

DATCP has general authority, under s. 93.07 (1), Stats., to
interpret laws under its jurisdiction.  DATCP may adopt rules
(general orders) under s. 100.20 (2), Stats., to regulate
methods of competition and trade practices in business.
DATCP may also adopt rules under s. 98.07(3) and (4), Stats.,
related to the pricing and sale of commodities by weight,
measure or count.
Related statutes or rules

Statutes
Chapter 97, Stats., regulates the sale and labeling of food,

and ch. 98, Stats., regulates commercial weights and
measures.  Various statutes specify methods of sale for
specific commodities.  See, for example, the following
statutory sections:
� 97.177, Stats. (cheese).
� 97.176 and 97.18, Stats. (butter and margarine).
� 98.06, Stats. (berries and small fruits).
� 98.12, Stats. (frozen desserts).
� 98.21, Stats. (bread).
� 98.225, Stats. (deliveries of liquid fuel).
� 98.245, Stats. (LP gas).
� 98.246 and 100.18(6) and (8), Stats. (petroleum products

and motor fuel).
Administrative Code

DATCP has adopted a number of rules affecting the method
of sale of commodities.  See, for example, the following
chapters of the Wisconsin administrative code:
� ATCP 55 (meat and meat food products).
� ATCP 75 (retail food establishments).
� ATCP 81 (cheese grading, packaging and labeling).
� ATCP 85 (butter grading and labeling).
� ATCP 88 (egg grading and labeling).
� ATCP 90 (fair packaging and labeling).
� ATCP 92 (weights and measures).
� ATCP 109 (freezer meat and food service plans).
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Rule background
Current DATCP rules (ATCP 91) regulate the sale of

commodities by weight, measure or count.  The current rules
spell out general standards for all commodities, and more
specific standards for some commodities.  The current rules
do all of the following:

� Require liquid commodities to be sold by liquid measure
and nonliquid commodities by weight, with certain
exceptions.

� Regulate price declarations by weight, to facilitate
accurate price comparisons.

� Specify methods of sale for various food commodities
including fruits and vegetables, meat, poultry, cheese,
frozen desserts, pizza and “ready to eat” foods.

� Specify methods of sale for various non−food
commodities including firewood, roofing material,
polyethylene sheeting, potpourri and petroleum products.

NIST has published model method−of−sale standards,
which are designed to promote reasonable and uniform
standards between the states.  However, the NIST standards
do not have the force of law unless adopted by the states.  At
least 45 states have adopted some or all of the NIST standards.

Current DATCP rules are, in some respects, inconsistent
with NIST.  The Wisconsin statutes also include some
requirements that differ from NIST.  Within statutory limits,
this rule modifies current DATCP rules (ATCP 91) to make
them more consistent with NIST.  This rule also makes
non−substantive changes to reorganize and clarify current
rules.

Rule content

Standards for Specific Commodities
NIST has published specific method−of−sale standards for

certain commodities (these standards typically address
consumer protection or fair competition issues that have
arisen in connection with those particular commodities).  This
rule incorporates current NIST standards for the following
commodities (subject, in some cases, to exceptions required
by Wisconsin law):

Food products

� Meat, poultry, fish and seafood.
� Dairy products.
� Fresh fruits and vegetables.
� Butter, margarine and like spreads.
� Flour, corn meal and like products.
� Pickles and pickle relish.

Non−food products
� Fence wire.
� Coatings.
� Fireplace and stove wood.
� Peat and peat moss.
� Prefabricated utility buildings.
� Roofing and roofing material.
� Sealants.
� Sod and turf.
� Softwood lumber.
� Carpet.
� Hardwood lumber (retail)
� Polyethylene products.

� Insulation.
� Precious metals.
� Mulch.
� Liquefied petroleum gas.
� Liquid oxygen for respiration.
� Animal bedding.
� Wiping cloths.
� Baler twine.
� Potpourri.
� Communication paper.
� Bulk sand, rock, gravel and stone.

General Standards
This rule incorporates the following general NIST

standards (or makes DATCP rules more consistent with those
NIST standards):

� Price declarations for food commodities sold from
bulk by weight (must be shown per whole unit, not
fractional unit, of weight).

� Price presentation (showing fractions of a cent).
� Combination quantity declarations.
� Vending machine labeling.
� Railroad car tare weights.

Comparison with federal regulations
States have the primary responsibility for regulating

methods of sale of commodities.  The federal government
(NIST) has published model method−of−sale standards, to
promote effective state regulation and interstate uniformity.
But those standards are not legally binding unless adopted by
the states.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

All surrounding states have adopted the NIST standards
that DATCP proposes to adopt in this rule.
Standards incorporated by reference

This rule incorporates, by reference, standards contained in
NIST Handbook 130 (2009 edition), published by the national
institute of standards and technology, United States
department of commerce.  Pursuant to s. 227.21, Stats.,
DATCP has requested permission from the Wisconsin
Department of Justice to incorporate the standards by
reference in this rule.  Copies of the standards will be kept on
file with DATCP and the Legislative Reference Bureau.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

This rule is based on standards published by NIST, and are
based on NIST data and analytical methodologies.

Small Business Impact
This rule will benefit businesses that sell commodities in

more than one state, because it incorporates many of the NIST
model standards and thus makes Wisconsin standards more
consistent with standards used in 45 other states.  This rule
also reorganizes and clarifies current rules, so they will be
easier to read and understand.

This rule adds some new standards to current rules.
However, those standards are based on NIST standards with
which most affected businesses are already complying.  This
rule will not have any significant adverse impact on small
business or other affected businesses.

Fiscal Estimate
This rule will have no significant fiscal impact on DATCP

or local units of government.
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Notice of Hearings
Corrections
CR 09−039

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to section
227.11 (2), Stats., the Department of Corrections will hold
public hearings to consider repealing and recreating Chapter
DOC 346, relating to secure detention facilities and juvenile
portions of a county jail.

Hearing Information
Date and Time Location

June 26, 2009 Conference Room 5 (3rd Floor)
9:30 a.m. Portage County Annex

1462 Strongs Avenue
Stevens Point, Wisconsin 54481

June 26, 2009 Conference Room 1M−B (1st Floor)
2:00 p.m. Department of Corrections

3099 East Washington Avenue
Madison, Wisconsin 53704

The public hearing sites are accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you have special needs or circumstances that
may make communication or accessibility difficult at the
hearing, please contact Kathryn Anderson, DOC, P.O. Box
7925, Madison, WI 53707−7925, email:  kathryn.anderson@
wisconsin.gov, telephone (608) 240−5049 by June 19, 2009.

Appearances at the Hearings and Submission of
Written Comments

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Written comments on the proposed rule will be
accepted into the record and receive the same consideration
as testimony presented at the hearing if they are received by
Friday, July 10, 2009.   Written comments should be addressed
to: Kathryn R. Anderson, DOC, P.O. Box 7925, Madison, WI
53707−7925, or by email kathryn.anderson@wisconsin.gov.

Copies of Proposed Rule
The proposed rule and an analysis of the proposed rule are

available on the Internet at the Department of Corrections
Web site at www.wi−doc.com .  Paper copies may be obtained
without cost from Kathryn R. Anderson, at the Department of
Corrections, P.O. Box 7925, Madison, WI 53707−7925, or by
email at kathryn.anderson@wisconsin.gov, or by telephone
(608) 240−5049.  Copies will also be available at the public
hearing.

Analysis Prepared by Department of Corrections

Statutes interpreted
Sections 301.36, 301.37 and 938.209, Stats., and 42 USC

5601 to 5761 and 28 CFR Part 31.
Statutory authority

Sections 227.11 (2) and 938.22 (2) (a), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

The Department of Corrections is responsible for
establishing standards for and inspecting juvenile detention
facilities and juvenile portions of a county jail.
Related statute or rule

Subchapter IV of Chapter 938, Stats., (Taking a Juvenile in
Custody), and Chapter DOC 346, Wis. Adm. Code.

Plain language analysis
The rule:
1. Reorganizes and renumbers the existing chapter DOC

346.
2. Updates citations to include references to chapter 938,

Wis. Stats.
3. Updates citation to the federal Juvenile Justice and

Delinquency Prevention Act, 42 USC 5601 to 5761,
and its regulations, 28 CRF Part 31, to indicate
Wisconsin’s compliance with the current version of
the act and regulations.

4. Creates definitions for the following terms:
construction plans, facility program and officer.

5. Amends definitions for the following terms: family,
juvenile, multi−purpose space, and undergarments.

6. Amends the requirements for the operational plan to
include policies and procedures concerning
disciplinary hearings, release, and searches.

7. Creates a requirement that the facility shall maintain
a record of the proceedings for the annual meeting.

8. Amends the information which the facility is required
to maintain on an admitted juvenile to include date and
time of admission, authority for admission, and date
and time of release.

9. Amends the timeframe for reporting to the department
major occurrences from 48 to 24 hours.

10. Amends the reporting requirement for suicide
attempts to those situations where the juvenile is
admitted to a hospital or if the juvenile is treated for a
life−threatening injury.

11. Clarifies that juveniles may only be admitted to secure
detention based on enumerated statutory provisions.

12. Eliminates the reference to the intake worker as a step
in the admission process for a secure detention facility.

13. Prohibits the holding of a person who is 18 years of age
or older in a secure detention facility or a juvenile
portion of a county jail.

14. Deleted requirement to report to the department
violations of s. 938.067, Wis. Stats., powers and duties
of intake workers.

15. Creates a requirement that facilities develop policies
and procedures addressing the release of juveniles
from the facility.

16. Clarifies the procedure for the submission and
approval of construction plans.

17. Limits the use of receiving cells not to exceed 72
continuous hours.

18. Limits the use of holding rooms not to exceed 24
continuous hours.

19. Requires facilities which are newly built or
substantially remodeled after the effective date of the
rule to install anti−rollout plates on all upper bunks.

20. Creates a requirement for storage space and visiting
space but does not impose any dimensional
requirements.

21. Creates a requirement for classroom space which
complies with local or state requirements.  This
requirement only applies to facilities that are newly
constructed or substantially remodeled after the
effective date of the rule.
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22. Creates a requirement that if medical or dental services
are provided in the facility, there shall be sufficient
space, equipment, supplies and materials for the
performance of the services in a confidential and
private manner.

23. Creates a minimum dimensional requirement for
outdoor recreation space if a facility provides for
outdoor recreation.

24. Reduces the frequency of fire inspections from
semi−annually to annually.

25. Requires specific training on the subjects of suicide
prevention, mental health, crisis intervention,
medication, use of restraints and control devised, and
communication skills.

26. Requires that 8 hours of the current annual 24−hour
recertification training address suicide prevention,
mental health, crisis intervention, and medications.

27. Requires that the second staff person on duty must be
an officer, not an administrative or clerical person.

28. Requires that a facility include a policy and procedure
on the issue of delivery of medications.

29. Permits a facility to create a policy for the supervised
self−administration of insulin injections.

30. Requires TB testing for juveniles who are held beyond
one week if prescribed by a medical professional.

31. Permits a juvenile to abstain from eating foods which
violate the juvenile’s religion and requires the facility
to substitute from other available food from the menu
served at the meal as long as the substitution is
nutritious and meets generally accepted nutritional
standards.

32. Prohibits audio monitoring of professional visits.

33. Clarified language regarding the observation of
juveniles.

34. Creates requirement for facilities to develop policies
and procedures relating to searches (juveniles, staff,
and property).

35. Amends the list of restraints and control devices to
include restraint chairs.

36. Creates a subchapter which addresses the use of
juvenile portions of a county jail.

37. Clarifies that juveniles may only be admitted to a
juvenile portion of a county jail for limited periods of
time.

Comparison with federal regulations
Wisconsin opted to come into compliance with the federal

Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Act (JJDPA), 42 USC 5601,
et seq., and the implementing regulations (28 CFR Part 31),
thereby making certain funds under the Act available to
Wisconsin counties.  In 1990 the federal Office of Juvenile
Justice and Delinquency Prevention approved Wisconsin’s
Revised Jail Removal Plan.  This plan permitted an exception
to the JJDPA provision prohibiting co−location of juveniles in
adult jails.  In order to come into compliance with the JJDPA
and the Wisconsin Jail Removal Plan, the Department of
Corrections revised chapter DOC 346, Wis. Adm. Code,
which governs juvenile detention facilities, in 1992 and 1994.
The level of compliance with the JJDPA may affect the level
of funding available to Wisconsin.

In general the JJDPA and its regulations generally prohibit
sight and sound contact between juveniles and adults.  A

facility may achieve sight and sound separation through
architectural or procedural means.  Sight or sound contact is
permitted if it is both brief and inadvertent or accidental.
Contacts must be reported as violations of the JJDPA.  The
JJDPA permits the transfer or placement of adjudicated
delinquents in adult facilities once the juvenile has attained
the age of full criminal responsibility under State law (17
years of age for Wisconsin).   (42 USC 5633 (a) (11), (12), and
(13))

The JJPDA also regulates co−located facilities, that is,
adult and juvenile facilities which are in the same building
complex.  The JJDPA requires sight and sound separation of
juveniles and adults through architectural or procedural
means.  (42 USC 5633 (a) (11), (12), and (13))

The JJDPA also limits the amount of time that a juvenile
may be held in an adult jail or lockup.  (42 USC 5633 (a) (11),
(12), and (13))
Comparison of rules in adjacent states
Illinois:

The Illinois Department of Corrections oversees county
juvenile detention facilities.  The standards are found in Title
20: Corrections, Criminal Justice, and Law Enforcement;
Chapter 1: Department of Corrections; Subchapter f: County
Standards; Part 702, County Juvenile Detention Standards.

The WI DOC and the IL DOC have similar minimum
standards for juvenile detention facilities, including staff
training, reporting requirements, strip searches, admission
and release procedures, clothing, personal hygiene and
grooming, food service, sanitation, classification, fire safety,
discipline, mail, telephone, visiting, programs (recreations,
religion, etc.), and design and construction of new or
substantially remodeled facilities.

Like Wisconsin, Illinois requires that a superintendent be
appointed to oversee the facility.  However, Illinois also
requires that an assistant superintendent be appointed in
facilities with a rated capacity of 25 or more.  Illinois also
requires that there be 3 persons on duty per shift, Wisconsin
requires only two.

Illinois requires an initial orientation conducted by a
caseworker or supervisor which is not required by Wisconsin.
Illinois prohibits newly admitted juveniles from being placed
in isolation pending a routine medical examination by a health
care professional or as a cooling off period.

Illinois requires 70 square foot for single cells, while
Wisconsin requires 54 square feet.  For multiple occupation
cells or rooms Illinois maintains the 70 square foot
requirement, regardless of the number of occupants.  Illinois
requires 30 square feet per juvenile living space per cluster of
cells.  Wisconsin requires 35 square feet per juvenile based the
rated capacity of the adjacent cells.

Illinois requires that all juveniles who are held for more
than 7 days be given a medical screening by a health care
professional.  This appears to be in addition to the intake
screening.

Illinois requires outdoor recreations space of 200 square
feet per occupant with a minimum size of 3,000 square feet.

Illinois has established minimum standards.  In addition, in
the rules, Illinois provides further recommendations with
regard to specific areas. The Illinois requirements may be
waived for existing facilities.

Iowa:
The Iowa Department of Corrections does not oversee

county juvenile detention facilities or establish standards.
The Iowa Department of Human Services performs those
functions.  The standards are found in IAC Human Services
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Title XII (Licensing and Approved Standards) Chapter 105
(County and Multi−county Juvenile Detention Homes and
County and Multi−county Juvenile Shelter Care Homes).

The WI DOC and IA Department of Human Services have
similar minimum standards for juvenile detention facilities,
including written policy and procedure manual, intake
procedures, educational and other daily programming,
recreation, health care, restraints, cell confinement, juvenile
facility handbook, and clothing.

Iowa provides that adequate storage be provided for each
juvenile in their sleeping room.  (Wisconsin provides for
storage of juvenile personal property but does not require that
the storage be in the cell.)  Iowa provides a minimum of 60
square feet/child for multiple occupancy and 80 square
feet/child for single occupancy rooms.  (Wisconsin provides
70 square feet for double cells, 54 square feet for single cells
and 70 square feet of combined sleeping and day room square
feet per juvenile for dormitories.)  In addition, Iowa provides
for single and double cells but does not provide for
dormitories.

Iowa provides more detail regarding employment
standards and records and the maintenance of those records.
Iowa requires that there be a minimum of two staff members
for six of more juveniles.  (Wisconsin requires two staff
members are on duty at all times and the ratio is a minimum
of one staff member to 15 juveniles.)  Iowa requires visual
observation of juveniles every half hour.  (Wisconsin has a
similar requirement.  However, Wisconsin also requires an
every 15 minute check for juveniles in higher security level.)

Iowa does not address some issues which the Wisconsin
standards do, specifically suicide prevention, mental health
care, mail, telephone, access to religion, searches,
classification plan and visitation.

Iowa addresses some issues which the Wisconsin standards
do not, specifically, child abuse or mistreatment.  Iowa also
has a broader, more specific provision addressing
documentation of the juvenile case file.

Michigan:
The Michigan Department of Corrections does not oversee

county juvenile detention facilities or establish standards for
those facilities.  The MI Department of Consumer and
Industry Services, Division of Child Welfare Licensing
performs those functions.  The standards are found in MI Rule
400.10101, et seq.

The WI DOC and MI Department of Consumer and
Industry Services have similar minimum standards for
juvenile detention facilities, including reporting
hospitalization and injury or death of a juvenile, clothing,
personal hygiene, nutrition, discipline, cell confinement,
bedding and linen, construction, variances, training, mail
(regular and privileged), visitation, religious programming,
resident records and admission information, construction
plans review and approval.

The WI Department of Commerce rules address with
specificity fire detection standards.

There are differences between the standards in the
following areas:  staffing (WI ratio is 1:15, the MI ratio is 1:8;
WI establishes dimensions and standards for single, double
occupancy cells and dormitories (3 juveniles or more), MI has
established dimensions and standards for single occupancy
and multi−occupancy (WI provides for single cells to be a
minimum of 54 sq. ft., double cells minimum of 70 sq. ft., and
dormitories minimum of 70 sq. ft. combined day room and
sleeping space; MI  70 sq. ft. single cell; 45 square feet in
multi−resident sleeping rooms); grievance procedure; use of

cell confinement for discipline purposes (WI up to 6 hours
before administrator approval, MI up to 72 hours before
supervisory approval); restraints (WI requires facilities to
establish policies and procedures, MI has provided specific
standards); inspection and approval required before
occupancy.

Minnesota:
The Minnesota Department of Corrections establishes

minimum standards and inspects county juvenile detention
facilities.  The standards are found at Minnesota Rules,
Chapter 2960.

The WI DOC and MN Department of Corrections have
similar minimum standards for juvenile detention facilities,
including admission criteria, property, intake screening, rules,
discipline and due process, religious services, exercise and
recreation, education, health and hygiene, food service,
clothing, bedding, laundry, visitation, mail, staff training,
staffing plan, staffing plan, and a classification plan.

There are differences between the Wisconsin and
Minnesota standards:  Minnesota requires a staffing ratio of
one staff member to 12 juveniles when the juveniles are awake
and one staff member to 25 juveniles when the juveniles are
asleep.  (Wisconsin requires a staffing ratio of 1 staff to 15
juveniles.  Wisconsin does not differentiate between juveniles
who are awake or asleep.)  Minnesota requires that facilities
with more than 24 juveniles have a full time program director.

Minnesota has established several different types of secure
facilities: 24 temporary hold over facility, 8 day temporary
hold over facility, and a secure detention facility.  (Wisconsin
only has secure detention facilities.)  Depending on the
facility, some of the requirements and standards differ.  For
example, staff training for a MN 8 day facility is 24 hours
annually, but for a secure detention facility the training is 40
hours.  (Wisconsin requires 24 hours of training for facility
staff.  Under the proposed rule, Wisconsin will specify 8 hours
of the 24 hours required training shall address the care and
custody of juveniles, suicide prevention, mental health, crisis
intervention, medication, and use of restraints and control
devices.)
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

This rule does not affect small businesses.  The rule
establishes minimum standards for county secure detention
facilities.
Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses

No economic impact report was required.

Small Business Impact
There is no expected effect on small businesses under s.

227.114, Stats.

Fiscal Estimate
Summary

Although the Department anticipates it will have some
additional workload related to policy and procedure
development, any additional costs that would be generated
should be able to be absorbed within the Department’s budget.

Some counties may need to re−write their policies and
procedures. Costs to individual counties cannot be
determined at this time, but it is estimated that they will be
minimal.
State fiscal effect

Increase in costs that may be possible to absorb within the
agency’s budget.
Local government fiscal effect

Increase in costs.
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Types of local governmental units affected
Counties.

Long−range fiscal implications
Indeterminable.

Agency Contact Person

Kathryn R. Anderson, Chief Legal Counsel
Department of Corrections
3099 East Washington Avenue
P.O. Box 7925
Madison, WI 53707−7925
Phone: (608) 240−5049
FAX:   (608) 240−3306
Email: Kathryn.Anderson@Wisconsin.gov

Notice of Hearing
Insurance
CR 09−038

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the
authority granted under s. 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth in s. 227.18, Stats., the Office of the
Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) will hold a public hearing
to consider the adoption of rules creating section Ins 6.90,
Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the use of designations or
certifications purporting to demonstrate special expertise in
the financial or retirement needs of seniors.

Hearing Information

Date:  July 6, 2009

Time: 10:00 a.m., or as soon thereafter as the
matter may be reached

Place: OCI, Room 227, 2nd Floor 
125 South Webster St.
Madison, WI

Submission of Written Comments

Written comments can be mailed to:
Holly L. Strop
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 690
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
Holly L. Strop
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 690
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:
Holly L. Strop
holly.strop@wisconsin.gov

Comments submitted through the Wisconsin Administrative
Rule Web site at: http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the
proposed rule will be considered.

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
14th day after the date for the hearing stated in this Notice of
Hearing.

Copies of Proposed Rule and Contact Person
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis, and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting:

Inger Williams
OCI Services Section
Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster St. – 2nd Floor

Madison WI 53703−3474
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)
Statutes interpreted

Sections 600.01, 601.41 (3), 628.34 (12), Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3), 601.42, 628.34 (12), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

The proposed rule is promulgated under the
Commissioner’s authority to prescribe misleading, deceptive
and prohibited practices for insurers and insurance
intermediaries.
Related statutes or rules

The proposed rule relates to existing statutes and rules
defining misleading, deceptive and prohibited practices for
insurers and insurance intermediaries under ch. 628, Wis.
Stats., and s. Ins 6.60, Wis. Adm. Code.
Plain language analysis

Chapter Ins 6, Wis. Adm. Code, sets forth general
information regarding prohibited business practices insurers
and insurance intermediaries.  Recently, states have identified
a possible fraudulent marketing and sales activity related to
the use of senior−specific certifications in the sale of
insurance products to seniors.  In 2008, the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) created a
committee to establish a model rule setting standards for the
use of senior specific certifications and professional
designations by insurance producers in the sale of life
insurance and annuities to all consumers regardless of age.
The NAIC Model Rule was adopted in July of 2008.  The
proposed Wisconsin rule follows the NAIC Model with two
exceptions.  First, the proposed rule adds the term advertising
to the list of practices and conduct to which the rule applies.
Second, the proposed rule adds health insurance to life
insurance an annuity products in the list of insurance products
to which the rule applies.
Comparison with federal regulations

The North American Securities Administrators
Association (NASAA) Model Rule, adopted March 20, 2008,
addresses the use of senior specific certifications or
designations by any person in connection with the offer, sale,
or purchase of securities.  The NAIC Model Rule, adopted in
September of 2008, addresses the use of senior specific
certifications and professional designations by insurance
producers in the sale of life insurance and annuities.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

To date, Iowa is the sole state, adjacent to Wisconsin to
adopt the NAIC Model Rule.  Nationally, several
non−adjacent states have adopted the NAIC Model Rule,
including, California, Kentucky, Missouri, New Hampshire,
New Jersey, and Utah.  Similar legislation is pending in
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Alaska, Arkansas, Florida, Oklahoma, Ohio, Rhode Island,
and Virginia.  The degree to which each state’s regulations
track the Model Rule varies widely.  Utah and Ohio also
expanded the scope of the regulation to include health
insurance.
Illinois:  n/a

Iowa:
Iowa Administrative Code 191−10.19, tracks the NAIC

Model Rule.

Michigan:  n/a

Minnesota:  n/a

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
OCI review of complaints, NAIC models, similar

legislation in other states, and insurer’s financial information.
Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses

This rule relates to prohibited business practices of
insurance intermediaries and there is no significant effect on
small businesses.

Small Business Impact
This rule does not impose any additional requirements on

small businesses and will have little or no effect on small
businesses.

The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and
may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov

Fiscal Estimate

State or local government fiscal effect
There will be no state or local government fiscal effect.

Private sector fiscal effect
This rule change will have no significant effect on the

private sector regulated by OCI.

Notice of Hearings
Transportation

CR 09−041
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 85.16

(1), 86.31 (6) and 227.11 (2), Stats., the Department of
Transportation will hold public hearings at the following
locations to consider the creation of Chapter Trans 206,
relating to the local roads improvement program.

Hearing Information

Monday, July 20, 2009 — 1:00 PM
Department of Transportation
Hill Farms State Transportation Building
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 144−B
Madison, WI

Wednesday, July 22, 2009 — 12:00 Noon
North Central Technical College
1000 W. Campus Drive, Main Building
Room E101
Wausau, WI

An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on
request for this hearing.  Please make reservations for a
hearing interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible
entrance are available.

Copies of Proposed Rule
A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained upon request

from Lori Richter, Department of Transportation, Bureau of
Transit, Local Roads, Railroads & Harbors, Room 951, P. O.
Box 7913, Madison, WI 53707−7913.  You may also contact
Lori by phone at (608) 266−0254 or via e−mail:
lori.richter@dot.state.wi.us.

Agency Contact Person and Submission of Written
Comments

The public record on this proposed rule making will be held
open until August 5, 2009, to permit the submission of
comments in lieu of public hearing testimony or comments
supplementing testimony offered at either hearing. Any such
comments should be submitted to:

Lori Richter, Department of Transportation
Bureau of Transit, Local Roads, Railroads & Harbors
Room 951
P. O. Box 7913
Madison, WI 53707−7913.
Phone:  (608) 266−0254
e−mail: lori.richter@dot.state.wi.us.

To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the
current rule, and submit written comments via
e−mail/internet, you may visit the following website:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/rulenoti
ces.htm.

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of
Transportation

Statutes interpreted
Sections 86.31(1) (am), (b) and (c), (2) (a), (b), (d) and (e),

(3g), (3r) and (6) (d), (f), (g) and (h), Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 85.16 (1), 86.31 (6) and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

Chapter Trans 206 interprets and administers s. 86.31,
Stats., the local roads improvement program.  Section 86.31
was revised in 1999 Wis. Act 9 (eff. October 29, 1999), in
2001 Wis. Act 16 (eff. September 1, 2001), in 2003 Wis. Act
33 (eff. July 26, 2003), and in 2005 Wis. Act 25 (eff. July 27,
2005).  The proposed rule will incorporate these statutory
revisions and other related changes.
Related statute or rule

Sections 84.01 (9) and 84.02 (11), Stats.
Plain language analysis

1997 Wis. Act 27, s. 86.31 (3g), Stats., incorporates the
county highway improvement discretionary program
(CHIP−D) for high cost county highway projects of at least
$250,000 in eligible total project costs.  This proposed rule
making creates procedures and criteria for the selection of
projects.

1999 Wis. Act 9, s. 86.31 (3r), Stats., created a new
Municipal Street Improvement Discretionary Program
(MSIP−D) to fund a competitive, municipal street
improvement program similar to the existing discretionary
programs for high−cost town roads and county highways.  It
specified that eligible projects must have a total estimated cost
of at least $250,000.  This proposed rule making creates
procedures and criteria for the selection of projects.



Page 19Mid−June 2009 WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 642

This proposed rule making amends s. Trans 206.03 (14) to
indicate that it applies to recipients of entitlement projects
only; it does not apply to recipients of CHIP−D, TRIP−D or
MSIP−D projects.

1999 Wis. Act 9 requires the Department to amend ch.
Trans 206, relating to the Local Roads Improvement Program
(LRIP), to incorporate the changes set forth in the Act
regarding the provisions for projects that can be done by
county highway departments and the solicitation and
awarding of bids for town projects.

1999 Wis. Act 9 eliminates the provisions set forth in
s. 86.31 (2) (d) 1., 2. and 3., Stats., that restrict the amount of
work on county trunk highways that may be done by county
highway departments under the county highway
improvement program (CHIP) and CHIP−D.

1999 Wis. Act 9 provides that county highway departments
may do work under the basic county highway improvement
program or the discretionary county highway improvement
discretionary program if they demonstrate that doing so will
be cost−effective, provided that each county highway
department uses competitive bidding for the funds provided
by the state under the CHIP and the CHIP−D programs.

The Act eliminates the provision that requires each county
highway improvement district committee to ensure
compliance with the provisions related to the amount of work
that may be done by county highway departments and,
instead, requires these committees to:  (1) review each project
proposed by a county highway department and to determine
if it would be cost−effective for the county highway
department to perform the work; and (2) to approve the
proposed project prior to its being performed by the county
highway department.

The Act modifies the membership of each county highway
improvement district committee to specify that it shall be
composed of the highway commissioners from each county in
the Wisconsin County Highway Association district.

The Act requires DOT to amend the existing rule to
include:  (a) criteria for determining whether a project can be
done cost−effectively by county highway departments; and
(b) procedures for departmental review of disputes relating to
whether proposed work by a county highway department is
cost−effective.

The Act eliminates the provision in s. 86.31 (2) (b), Stats.,
that allows towns to contract with counties to perform work
under the town road improvement program and the town road
improvement discretionary programs (TRIP and TRIP−D) if
the town does not receive a responsible bid on a project.
Instead, the Department must amend ch. Trans 206 to include
criteria and procedures for determining when a contract for a
project under the TRIP and TRIP−D programs may be
awarded to a county.  The criteria must include: (a) a
requirement that a written and sealed estimate of the cost of
the improvement that includes the source of the estimate be
prepared prior to the time set for the opening of bids for the
improvement and not be opened until after the opening of all
bids; (b) a requirement that all bids may be rejected and the
contract awarded to a county for the improvement if the
lowest bid exceeds the cost estimate by at least 10% and the
town board notifies the lowest two bidders or, if only one bid
was received, the single bidder, to provide information on the
accuracy of the cost estimate; (c) a requirement that the
amount of the contract with a county for the improvement be
at least 10% below the lowest bid received for the
improvement; and (d) a provision that permits re−bidding if
the amount of the proposed contract with a county for the

improvement is less than 10% below the lowest bid received
for the improvement.

The proposed rule limits the number of times a project may
be substituted under the LRIP program to one, requires county
highway commissioners to review and maintain required
documents for project approved within their counties, except
for applications from cities or villages with populations of
20,000 or more.  It also requires funds committed under the
LRIP to be reimbursed within three biennia of when the funds
were originally committed.  It also requires that the number
of projects that can be submitted in a given biennium for
funding under TRIP and MSIP less than 20,000 in population
is not to exceed one half of the number of towns or eligible
cities or villages.
Comparison with federal regulations

This is a state program for local governments assisting in
the improvement of deteriorating local highways, streets and
roads.  There are no existing or proposed federal regulations.
Comparison with rules in the following states
Michigan:

No similar program.

Minnesota:
 Minnesota has a local roads program, but the State

provides grants rather than reimbursement.

Illinois:
No similar program.

Iowa:
No similar program.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
This proposed rule implements statutory changes and

clarifies program policies, procedures and requirements
related to the Local Roads Improvement Program.  The
Department’s implementation is the same as the Department
applies to its other local programs under ch. 86, Stats.,
Miscellaneous Highway Provisions.
Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small businesses

This proposed rule pertains to a state program for local
governments entering into a state municipal agreement with
the Department for partial reimbursement of costs related to
deteriorating local highways, streets and roads.  The program
does not provide any direct reimbursements or assess any fees
to any small businesses.

Small Business Impact
The proposed rule will have no adverse impact on small

businesses.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be

contacted by e−mail at ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by
calling (414) 438−4585.

Fiscal Estimate
The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal

impact on the liabilities of any county, city, village, town,
school district, vocational, technical and adult education
district, sewerage district, or federally−recognized tribes or
bands.

Under 1997 Wis. Act 27, s. 86.31 (3g), Stats., the
Department allocates $5,000,000 annually, beginning in
fiscal year 2001−02, to fund county highway improvement
projects with total eligible costs of $250,000 or more from the
discretionary LRIP appropriation. This funding is in addition



Page 20 Mid−June 2009WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 642

to the allocation of funds available to counties through the
formula generated entitlement program.

Under 1999 Wis. Act 9, s. 86.31 (3r), Stats., the
Department allocates $1,000,000 annually, beginning in
fiscal year 2001−02, to fund municipal street improvement
projects with total eligible costs of $250,000 or more from the
discretionary LRIP appropriation. This funding is in addition
to the allocation of funds available to cities and villages
through the formula generated entitlement program.

The proposed rule defines and incorporates the sunset on
funds policy recommended by the LRIP study group.  This
policy is intended to ensure the timely use of program funds,
within three biennia of programming.

The proposed rule also defines and incorporates the
program review process recommended by the LRIP study
group. The process includes a mechanism for assessing
sanctions and provides the community with an opportunity

for appeal.
The proposed rule updates language related to engineering

certification to be consistent with statutory language.
The proposed rule updates administrative costs to be

consistent with administrative policy and clarifies several
issues in the current rule relating to the definition of eligible
project and utilities.

The proposed rule clarifies the role of the county highway
commissioner, detailing the responsibility for the
commissioner to ensure adherence with statutory law and
program rules and required recordkeeping.  It requires the
commissioner to submit entitlement applications totaling no
more than one−half the available funds in any given year.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector

The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal
impact on private sector revenues or liabilities.
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to the Legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings — Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
CR 09−009

A rule−making order to revise Chapter ATCP 70, relating
to food processing plants.

Insurance
CR 09−027

A rule−making order to revise section Ins 2.81, relating to
use of the 1980 CSO Standard Ordinary Life Valuation

Mortality Table in determining the minimum standard of
valuation reserves and the minimum standard nonforfeiture
values for preneed funeral life insurance products.

Public Instruction
CR 09−011

A rule−making order to revise Chapter PI 22, relating to
precollege scholarships.
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Rule Orders Filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Legislative Reference Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.  Contact the Legislative Reference Bureau at bruce.hoesly@legis.wisconsin.gov or (608) 266−7590 for updated
information on the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
CR 08−067

Revises Chapter ATCP 123, relating to customer access to
subscription video services.
Effective 8−1−09.

Commerce
Elevators, Escalators and Lift Devices, Ch. Comm 18

CR 09−012
Revises Chapter Comm 18, relating to suspension ropes

and their connections serving elevators.
Effective 7−1−09.

Insurance
CR 09−004

Revises sections Ins 17.01 (3) and 17.28 (3) (c) and (6),
relating to the annual injured patients and families
compensation fund fees and medical mediation panel fees for
the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2009.
Effective 7−1−09.

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — Air Pollution Control, 

Chs. NR 400—
CR 08−102

Revises Chapters NR 422, 423, 439, and 484, relating to the

application of reasonably available control technology
emission limitations to sources of volatile organic compounds
in ozone non−attainment counties, and affecting small
business.
Effective 8−1−09.

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — Air Pollution Control, 

Chs. NR 400—
CR 08−104

Revises Chapters NR 419 and 484, relating to VOC
emission controls for industrial wastewater collection and
treatment operations.
Effective 8−1−09.

Natural Resources
Environmental Protection — Air Pollution Control, 

Chs. NR 400—
CR 08−114

Amends section NR 439.075 (2) (c) 3. j. and creates section
NR 421.07, relating to the application of reasonably available
control technology for volatile organic compound emissions
from certain operations within the synthetic organic chemical
manufacturing industry.
Effective 8−1−09.
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Public Notices

Department of Health Services

Birth to 3 Program OPT OUT Policy

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) Section 612(a)(19)
and 34 CFR §303.110 – 34 CFR §303.112, the Department of Health Services will hold a public hearing to consider
a state policy allowing families the ability to “opt out” of the required LEA Notification process while participating
in the Birth to 3 Program.

Hearing Date and Locations

Date and Time Location

June 30, 2009  3:00 PM – 6:00 PM UW−Waukesha
Room C103
1500 University Drive
Waukesha  WI  53188

UW−LaCrosse
Communications Bldg. — Wing 102
1725 State Street
LaCrosse  WI  54601

UW−Menasha Fox Valley
Room 1838
1478 Midway Rd.
Menasha  WI  54852

UW−Wausau Marathon County
Room 218
518 S. 7th Avenue
Wausau  WI  54401

UW−Madison
Pyle Center — Room 227
702 Langdon Street
Madison  WI  53706

Accessibility

English

DHS is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you need accommodations because of a disability
or need an interpreter or translator, or if you need this material in another language or in an alternate format, you may
request assistance to participate by contacting Lori Wittemann at 608−267−5150.   You must make your request at
least 7 days before the activity.

Spanish

DHS es una agencia que ofrece igualdad en las oportunidades de empleo y servicios.  Si necesita algún tipo de
acomodaciones debido a incapacidad o si necesita un interprete, traductor o esta información en su propio idioma o
en un formato alterno, usted puede pedir asistencia para participar en los programas comunicándose con Lori
Wittemann al número 608−267−5150.  Debe someter su petición por lo menos 7 días de antes de la actividad.
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Hmong

DHS yog ib tus tswv Hadj lwm thiab yog ib qhov chaw pab cuam uas muab vaj huam sib luag rau sawv daws.  Yog
koj xav tau kev pab vim muja mob xiam oob qhab los yog xav tau ib tus neeg pab txhais lus los yog txhais ntaub ntawv,
los yog koj xav tau cov ntaub ntawv no ua lwm hom lus los yog lwm hom ntawv. Koj yuav tau thov kev pab uas yog
hu rau Lori Wittemann ntawm 608−267−5150.  Koj yauv tsum thov qhov kev pab yam tsawg Kang 7 hnub ua ntej
qhov hauj lwm ntawd.

Place Where Written Comments May be Submitted

Written comments may be submitted at the public hearing or submitted to the contact person listed below.
Comments may also be made using the DHS Birth to 3 Website at www.B3wisconsin.org .  Click on the link, “2009
Proposed Wisconsin Opt Out Policy.”

Deadline for Comment Submission

Comments may be submitted from May 19, 2009 through June 30, 2009 at 4:30 PM.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health Services

Explanation of agency authority

Under the IDEA section 637(a)(9)(A)(ii)(I), 34 CFR §303.148(b)(1), and the Office of Special Education
Program’s 2004 Letter to Elder, the lead agency must disclose limited child find information (i.e. child’s name, date
of birth, parent contact information) to the local education agency (LEA) where the child resides unless the lead
agency has adopted an opt out policy and the parent opts out. The lead agency may not require affirmative parental
consent for this limited disclosure.

To adopt an opt out policy for parents participating in the Birth to 3 Program, IDEA section 612(a)(19) and 34 CFR
§303.110 – 303.112 requires States to post the policy, accepting public comment including through a public hearing.

Plain language analysis

Families with children who have delays or disabilities and are under the age of three may be eligible for services
through the federal and state mandated program called Early Intervention Services or Birth to 3. This program is
designed to support families in understanding and meeting their child’s needs.  When a child and family transitions
out of the program, families are supported in accessing services the child and family may need.  Children typically
transition out of the program at the age of three.

To increase the opportunities of children transitioning from the B−3 program to receive supports or services from
which the children may benefit, Birth to 3 Programs are required by IDEA to send the child’s name, date of birth, and
parental contact information (limited contact information) to the LEA or school district that serves children over age
three with disabilities.

In Wisconsin, families are an integral part of the transition process.   With this philosophy in mind, the Wisconsin
Birth to 3 Program proposes an opt out policy that allows families that do not want the limited contact information
provided to the LEA to be able to “opt out” of having this information sent.

The Birth to 3 Program staff would provide the family with information about the LEA Notification process early
in the child’s participation in the program.  If the family chooses to “opt out,” they would sign and return the “opt out”
form.  If the “opt out” form is returned to the Birth to 3 Program before the child is 30 months of age, the limited contact
information would not be sent to the LEA.  If the “opt out” form is not received by the time the child is 30 months
of age, then the requirement to send limited contact information to the LEA would be carried out by the Birth to 3
Program.

Overall, the proposed policy allows for those families that choose to “opt out” of limited contact information being
shared with the LEA to document this decision and stop the information being sent to the LEA. For Birth to 3 programs
serving families with children with delays or disabilities participating in early intervention services, the additional
work requirements are limited−−the Birth to 3 programs would assure that families are given the information about
the LEA Notification process and the Opt out option and then, if a parent−signed “opt out” form is received, the Birth
to 3 program would need to document this objection.

Fiscal Estimate

There is no fiscal impact on Birth to 3 Programs as the information is to be incorporated into already existing
processes.
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Text of Proposed Opt Out Policy

IDEA section 637(a)(9)(A)(ii) requires States to have policies and procedures that ensure a smooth transition for
children receiving Part C early intervention services to Part B preschool or other appropriate services.  Policies and
procedures also must include how the Part C lead agency will notify the local education agency (LEA) for the area
in which each child resides that the child will shortly reach the age of eligibility for preschool services under Part B,
as determined by State law.

The WI Birth to 3 Program ensures that each child in the Birth to 3 Program has LEA Notification sent to the local
education agency (LEA) in which the child resides as the child closely approaches the age of eligibility for Part B
services which for the State of Wisconsin is three years old.    LEA Notification is sent to the LEA with the child’s
name, date of birth, and parent’s name and contact information, unless the parents “opt out”.  This information is sent
to the LEA unless the parent indicates in writing on the “Opting Out of LEA Notification” form that they “opt out”
of the LEA receiving identifying information.  This policy and the “Opting Out of LEA Notification” form is given
to the family when a child is determined to be eligible for the Birth to 3 program, after an initial Individualized Family
Service Plan (IFSP) is developed.  If the family “opts out” from this LEA notification, the family is asked to return
the signed ”Opting Out of LEA Notification” form within 10 days after the receipt of the “Opting Out of LEA
Notification” form.  If the parent−signed “Opting Out of LEA Notification” form is not received at the county Birth
to 3 Program by the time a child is 30 months old, LEA Notification is sent to the LEA when the child is 30 months
old.  If a child’s initial eligibility is determined within the six−month period before the third birthday, the county
administrative agency will notify the LEA as soon as possible after determining the child’s eligibility for Part C, unless
the family signs the “Opting Out of LEA Notification” form and returns it within the specified ten days.

In addition, during the Transition Planning Conference or meeting to determine eligibility for special education
services through the LEA, if the family chooses to provide consent for the transfer of additional information in the
child’s record, the family will sign a release that authorizes what additional information is to be shared, which could
include (at the family’s discretion):

1.  Services child received while in the Birth to 3 program

2.  Where the Birth to 3 program provided those services

3.  Exit data on child outcomes

4. The developmental concerns the Birth to 3 program has regarding the child

5.  The Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP)

6.  Progress Reports/Plan of Care

7. Evaluation Reports from:  speech therapists, occupational therapists, physical therapists, 
special education teachers and others, as indicated

Agency Contact Person

Lori Wittemann
Department of Health Services/Birth to 3 Program
1 W. Wilson St., Room B138
PO Box 7851
Madison, WI  53707
Lori.wittemann@wisconsin.gov
608/267−5150
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